Tuesday, September 27, 2022
HomeNewsSalt Water Taffy Gluten Free

Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Famous Salt Water Taffy Brands

taste test snack thursday salt water taffy

Here are some best salt water taffy brands that you can try if you havent already-

Here is another gluten free, nut free, and soy free taffy by Sassy Town. Each package comes with flavors like orange, green apple, cherry, grape, and raspberry.

You May Also Like
Is Fish Sauce Gluten Free? How To Find Out?
Is Evaporated Milk Gluten Free? Here Is How.

Best Boxed: Fralinger’s Original Salt Water Taffy

Courtesy of James Candy Company

Fralingers is a classic old-fashioned salt water taffy shop that was opened on the Atlantic City Boardwalk in 1884 by Joseph Fralinger. He began offering molasses-flavored salt water taffy by 1885, followed soon by the invention of a total of 25 flavors, the largest selection available in Atlantic City at the time. An astute marketer, he was also the first to pack his salt water taffy in 1-pound oyster boxes with souvenir decals to take home after a day at the beach and boardwalk.

This is a replica of the original 1920s salt water taffy souvenir box filled with 1 pound of pulled individually wrapped stick-shaped pieces of salt water taffy. You can choose to fill the box with assorted flavors, choose your own variety, or pick a single flavor taffy from 13 different flavors.

If youre looking for a true old-fashioned salt water taffy experience, Shrivers Salt Water Taffy has the texture, look, and taste. Looking for a salt water taffy that’s sugar-free, gluten-free, dairy-free, vegan, and kosher? Zollipops Zaffi Taffy Clean Teeth Taffy is definitely a great choice.

Enjoy The Best Salt Water Taffy Delivered Right To Your Door

Karen is a freelance writer who covers food and drinks for The Spruce Eats. Her work has appeared in Lucky Peach, Edible Manhattan/Brooklyn/Queens, Chowhound.com, Frenchly, PasteMagazine.com, and more.

We independently research, test, review, and recommend the bestproductslearn more about our process. If you buy something through our links, we may earn a commission.

The Spruce Eats / Sabrina Jiang

Salt water taffy is a candy with a personality all its own. It reminds us of sunny days at the beach, walking in our flip flops up the boardwalk, looking at all the amazing things we can eat. It’s one of those treats that we equate with summer and lazy days. Right up there with the smell of salty air and sunscreen, hot dogs, and french fries is the sticky smell of sugar being cooked to be made into fresh salt water taffy.

One of the greatest things about salt water taffy is that it holds any flavor the cook chooses. The flavors range from the very basic to indulgent, inspired concoctions in taste.

Here, weve found the best salt water taffy that can be ordered right to your home so you can enjoy the flavor of beach days and summer, wherever you are.

Also Check: Who Sells Gluten Free Cheesecake

Best Spicy And Sweet: Taffy Town Chili Mango Saltwater Taffy

Courtesy of Amazon

Were obsessed with this chili-mango saltwater taffy that blends these two flavors that work so well together in a sweet, soft candy thats irresistible for those who love sweetness and spice in the same bite. Taffy Town, a taffy-flavor innovator, makes this salt water taffy and packages it in a 2.5-pound bag, which holds approximately 150 bonbon-shaped individually wrapped pieces. Soft in texture, it has a nicely layered flavor profile in taste.

Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free

Zeal, Salt Water Taffy

Published: by Sandi Gaertner · · This post may contain affiliate links

Chewy and sweet, everyone loves salt water taffy! It is an iconic penny candy that comes in many bright colors and fun flavors. You can find it for sale online, and in many candy stores. Is saltwater taffy gluten free?

Recommended Reading: Is Mccormick Taco Seasoning Gluten Free

What Is Salt Water Taffy

Salt water taffy is a candy that originated around 1817. It is a boiled candy that is made on large taffy pulling machines. These machines pull the taffy, stretching it with butter and adding air into the candy. This air makes the candy lighter and chewier by stretching the candy out.

Salt water taffy is said to have got its name when a candy store in Atlantic City was flooded by salty ocean water. The store owner made a joke about only selling salt water taffy, and it seems that name stuck. Today you can buy salt water taffy, though it is good to know that salt water taffy doesn’t really use ocean water.

As a child, I remember walking past candy stores in Maine. They had incredible big taffy-pulling machines in the windows. They would pull taffy to lengths over 5 feet long! Stores would have wooden barrels filled with different flavors of salt water taffy.

If you love sweets as much as I do, check out all of my research to see what candy is gluten free.

Shrivers Salt Water Taffy

Ingredients:

Instructions:

  • Grease a large platter with some butter or margarine.
  • Mix the sugar, corn syrup, vinegar, and salt together in a saucepan over low heat, and stir it frequently until all the sugar is dissolved. Bring the mixture to a boil by increasing the heat. Slowly pour in the evaporated milk, making sure to not stop the mixture from boiling.
  • Put a candy thermometer in the pot, and keep stirring. Youll cook this constantly until the temperature of the thermometer gets to 248F. Using a pastry brush, dip it in water and brush it along the sides of the pot to get the crystals back into the mixture. Youll do this a couple of times while the mixture is cooking.
  • When the mixture reaches the temperature, remove the pot from the heat, take out the thermometer. Dont scrape the sides or the bottom of the pan, while you pour the mixture onto the large platter.
  • Allow the taffy to cool until you can handle it. Put butter or margarine on your hands and then start to pull the taffy. Take a small amount of it, using only the tips of your fingers, and begin to pull it. It will become white in color and no longer be sticky when you have pulled it enough.
  • Twist each strip and put it on wax paper. Cut the strips into 1-inch pieces, wrap each piece in wax paper and twist the end. Store it in a tight-fitting lidded container.
  • Recommended Reading: Is Sola Bread Gluten Free

    Gluten Free Salt Water Taffy

    Its Tuesday, and its already a crazy week for us! I thought I would do a little post on a fun food we were introduced to at the Gluten Free Expo we attended earlier this month. I heard someone say, do you miss licorice?and immediately I thoughtomg, yes I do!! Then a nice lady from Taffy Tree handed me a piece of their licorice salt water taffy, and I was in love. They have tons of wonderful gluten free flavors that are similar to foods we miss, like licorice and frosted cupcake..the one pictured is chocolate chip, I believe, and it tasted like a little chocolate chip cookie. I saved it after the expo and ate it a few days later, when I was really needing something tasty.

    Since the holidays are coming up, I thought I would share!!

    Have a great Tuesday!

    Sweet’s Original Salt Water Taffy

    Dolles Salt Water Taffy: 12 Flavors of Taffy including the NEW Birthday Cake!
    • Serving Per Container about 16

      Amount Per Serving
      Iron0%
      IS or Contains: Kosher,Soy,Tree Nut,Egg,Gluten Free
      *Percentage Daily values are based on a 2,000 calorie diet.Your Daily values may be higher or lower depending on your calorie needs

    Sweet’s amazing 10 flavor assortment of Salt Water Taffy combines top flavor picks all in one bag.

    Sweet’s taffy is soft, and non-sticky, and bursting with flavor.

    Try a bag, share with friends or save for later!

    Ingredients Corn Syrup, Sugar, Coconut Oil, Contains 1% or Less of: Egg Whites, Natural and Artificial Flavors, Salt, Malic Acid, Yellow 5, Red 40, Blue 1, Red 3, Yellow 6, Caramel Color, Blue 2 Lake, Yellow 6 Lake, Red 40 Lake, Titanium Dioxide, Soy Lecithin .

    Also Check: Gluten Free Crock Pot Meals

    Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free Guide To The Truth

    The chewy soft, colorful candies you see in candy stores have been a favorite for ages. Salt water taffies are not actually made of sea salt instead, its a mix of sugar, butter, corn syrup, added color, and flavor. What is the gluten status of salt water taffies? Is salt water taffy gluten free?

    All ingredients in salt water taffy are gluten, but the candy contains added flavorings that may contain gluten. If youre celiac or gluten intolerant, you might want to watch out for this. Besides, if the salt water taffy brand does not label it as gluten free, its not safe for you.

    There is more to know about salt water taffy, how much gluten it may have, if it falls under FDA gluten free guidelines a lot more. We will talk about everything here in this salt water taffy guide, so keep scrolling through.

  • 7.4 What taffies are gluten free?
  • Why Trust The Spruce Eats

    Karen Resta is a writer specializing in food culture and history, cooking, pastries, and restaurants. She’s also a former pastry chef and has traveled to Budapest, Kyiv, and Paris during their Fashion Weeks as a photographer and writer, always finding the best authentic pastries along the way. She now spends a lot of her free time baking at home and always recommends quality within your given budget. Native to New England, she prefers the traditional, baton-shaped, pulled salt water taffy over the whipped bonbons, but has been known to quickly eat many pieces of the bonbon type if nobodys looking.

    Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Sugar Free Bread

    Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free

    Does Salt Water Taffy Go Bad

    Gluten Free Salt Water Taffy

    The general answer to this question is: No, it cant go bad. It can, however, melt if left at high temperatures, and if left for many months or years the flavors can become less intense and the texture of the candy can become harder. There are some salt water taffies being made that have ingredients that are not in the traditional recipes, such as egg whites or milk powder. These products have the potential to degrade more quickly than the traditional taffies.

    Read Also: Are Kodiak Cakes Gluten Free

    Necco & Spangler Candy

    To be confident that you are getting an allergen-free Spangler candy item, check the back of the item you are purchasing for the allergen statement. Spangler Candy bags manufactured and packaged in our facility will have all of the following identifiers:

  • Current Spangler allergen statement: This product does not contain peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, wheat, or gluten. It has been manufactured on dedicated equipment.
  • Address line on the back of the bag: Manufactured by Spangler Candy Company, Bryan, Ohio, 43506 USA.
  • UPC code begins with 0 30800. This is the code for our manufacturing facility.
  • Best Sour Assortment: Taffy Town Sassy Taffy Sour Fruits

    Taffy Town, a candy manufacturing company near Salt Lake City, Utah, was founded more than 100 years ago, and it originally made many kinds of candy. One day, the founder decided to focus only on creating taffy excellence,” and its been a great success. Creating new taffy flavors is something Taffy Town does exceptionally well: This collection of sour fruit flavors is both delicious and unusualand for taffy lovers, pretty exciting. It comes packaged in a 30-ounce bag holding approximately 120 pieces of whipped taffy.

    Don’t Miss: Bob’s Gluten Free Flour

    Fun Filled Centers Of Taffy

    Filled Centers Salt Water Taffy is made with the same great Salt Water Taffy that made us famous.

    We fill each flavor of taffy with a different center of coconut, jelly, or nut. Filled Center flavors are Chocolate with a Fudge Center, Vanilla with a Fudge Center, Banana with a Nut Center, Lemon with a Lemon Jelly Center, Lime with a Lemon Jelly Center, Molasses with a Nut Center, Orange with a Coconut Center, and Strawberry with a Coconut Center.

    Truly a unique taste sensation. Try them today!

    Item Number: 110-0945, 110-0945-2 Gluten Free: YesAllergen Statement: Our production facilities share common processing equipment. All of our products may contain traces of the following: peanuts, soybeans, milk, eggs, tree nuts, fish, and/or wheat.

    Illinois Nut & Candy/raising The Candy Bar

    Salt Water Taffy From Phillips Candies in Seaside, Oregon, USA
    • Passover Chocolate Locust
    • Passover Chocolate Mousse Cup
    • Passover White Baking Bar
    • Passover Chocolate Mousse Cup: There are no gluten ingredients in this product, but the product was manufactured in a NON-GLUTEN FREE facility.
    • Passover Green Frogs: There are no gluten ingredients in this product, but the product was manufactured in a NON-GLUTEN FREE facility.
    • Wild Beasts: There are no gluten ingredients in this product, but the product was manufactured in a NON-GLUTEN FREE facility.
    • Passover Frogs: There are no gluten ingredients in this product, but the product was manufactured in a NON-GLUTEN FREE facility.
    • Chocolate Seder Plate: There are no gluten ingredients in this product, but the product was manufactured in a NON-GLUTEN FREE facility.

    Don’t Miss: Hilltop Hearth Gluten Free Buns

    Answer: Is Salt Water Taffy Gluten Free

    I am happy to say, salt water taffy is gluten free! It shouldn’t have any cross-contamination because nothing but taffy is made on the machines. Just to be safe, I do recommend you always checking the ingredients.

    Red flag ingredients to look out for include caramel color, anything labeled cookie dough, apple pie, etc that could have hidden gluten ingredients.

    Salt water taffy is typically made with glycerine, sugar, corn syrup, corn starch, butter, salt, flavoring, and coloring. In many beach towns, you will often see fresh salt water taffy for sale on the East Coast.

    Try This Salt Water Taffy Recipe At Home

    If you like experimenting with different recipes in your kitchen, you will definitely love this salt water taffy recipe. Ive been making this candy for a long time, and my kids cant stop praising it. Here is the recipe with all ingredients-

    • 2 drops food color
    • ½ tsp flavored extract

    Method

  • Take a large pot with a candy thermometer and add sugar to it.
  • Add cornstarch into the sugar and whisk until mixed well.
  • Add all other ingredients- butter, corn syrup, salt, flavor extract and mix everything together.
  • Cook in medium heat until the temperature reaches 250°F.
  • Add food coloring and whistle well again.
  • Grease a heat-proof dish, transfer the candy, and let it cool down.
  • When it gets a bit harder, roll the taffy about 2cm thick and 76cm long.
  • Make small bite-size pieces from it and wrap them in parchment paper.
  • Your homemade salt water taffy is ready.
  • Nutritional info of homemade salt water taffy

    Calories

    Recommended Reading: What Is Gluten Made Of

    Best Gluten Free Taffy Candy You Are Looking For

    Is Sweet’s salt water taffy gluten-free?

    Salt water taffy is gluten-free. It usually contains ingredients such as sugar, cornstarch, corn syrup, butter, glycerine, water, salt and natural or artificial colors or flavors.

    Thereof, is sweets taffy gluten-free?

    Mix of 10 super popular and yummy salt water taffy flavors. Blue raspberry, peach, chocolate, cinnamon, black licorice, Neapolitan, orange/vanilla, peppermint, pear, strawberry/banana. Approximately 70 pieces. Gluten free.

    Beside this, does taffy candy have gluten?

    Laffy Taffy candy is considered safe for a gluten and dairy-free diet, as it contains no gluten or dairy ingredients.

    Best Overall: Shriver’s Salt Water Taffy

    Zeal, Salt Water Taffy

    Courtesy of Amazon

    What do buyers say? 80% of 400+ Amazon reviewers rated this product 4 stars or above.

    Shrivers Salt Water Taffy and Fudge opened in 1898 on the Ocean City Boardwalk and has been making salt water taffy there ever since. This 1-pound box has a neat old-fashioned look. It holds 40 to 42 individually wrapped stick-shaped pieces of taffy in an astonishing 17 different flavors, so theres something for everyone.

    Family operated for three generations, Shrivers has the taste and texture of traditional hand-pulled taffy, reviving memories of days at the beach that ended with a box of salt water taffy to take home as a delightful souvenir.

    Recommended Reading: Is Gluten Free Pizza Low Carb

    But Is Saltwater Taffy Gluten

    The answer to this question is a little complicated. Saltwater taffy does not contain any gluten-containing ingredients.

    So, Yes, salt water taffy is typically gluten-free. The main ingredients in saltwater taffy are sugar, cornstarch, corn syrup, glycerine, water, butter, salt, natural or artificial flavor, and food color. None of these ingredients contain gluten.

    However, many manufacturers do not have dedicated gluten-free facilities and there is a risk of cross-contamination. Additionally, some brands add flavorings to their saltwater taffy that may contain gluten.

    So, if you are celiac or have a severe gluten allergy, it is best to check with the manufacturer to be sure or avoid saltwater taffy unless you can confirm that the brand you are eating is 100% gluten-free.

    If you are looking for a delicious and safe gluten-free saltwater taffy, we recommend checking out one of these products:

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -