Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeEditor PicksWhat Tequila Is Gluten Free

What Tequila Is Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Is Gin Gluten Free

Ginger Tequila Cocktail – Gluten Free with Alex T

Yes, gin made from potatoes and grapes is gluten free.

Although most gin that is made from wheat, barley, and rye, is made gluten free through distillation, those that are allergic to gluten or live with Celiac Disease tend to react negatively to most gins.

Thats why its advised to stick with gin variations that have been made from grapes and potatoes.

Famous gin brands like Hendricks and Bombay are technically gluten free through distillation, but since they are made with wheat, barley, and rye, these are usually unsafe for those with sensitivities.

Popular Gluten Free Alcoholic Drinks

Here are some awesome articles about some of the best gluten free alcoholic drinks and cocktails you can make with all the gluten free liquors listed above.

Plus, you can generally use this listing as a menu of all potential drinks that you can order at most bars and restaurants.

So with that being said, here are the most popular cocktails that can me made using the gluten free liquor. Just be sure to request one of the alcohols listed above to ensure a truly gluten free experience.

  • Old Fashioned
  • Moscow Mule
  • Mojito

Is Everclear Gluten Free

Yes, Everclear is completely gluten free. Everclear is a rectified spirit, which means it is distilled repeatedly to reach a high degree of concentration.

Itâs also made from corn, which is a type of grain that doesnât have gluten in it. Anyone with celiac disease and those wanting to avoid gluten in general can drink Everclear without concern.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

Gluten Free Alcohol List

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

Finding a safe and delicious gluten free alcoholic beverage has become growingly difficult.

From the ongoing debate about distilled alcohol being gluten free or not to the accidental mix ups by the bartender, its a challenge to find a gluten free alcoholic beverage that works for you and your diet.

Ingredients And Instructions For A Gluten

Gluten Free Tequila List

Ingredients:

  • 4 ounces freshly squeezed orange juice
  • grenadine, to taste and for a pretty color

Garnish:

  • 1 orange slice or pineapple slice

Instructions:

Fill a glass 2/3 of the way full with ice. Add tequila and orange juice and stir to combine. Drizzle in a little grenadine, garnish with an orange slice or pineapple chunk and maraschino cherry. Enjoy!

Read Also: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

Gluten Free Drinks List

It has become easier to find gluten free drinks thanks to several factors. One is the increasing number of gluten free customers and a second is the development and distribution of these products.

Many alcohol manufacturers already create gluten free beverages and make this information available on their websites. If youâre unsure about a drinkâs gluten content, check directly with the manufacturer.

To make your search easier, we researched gluten free brands in beer, whiskey, gin, vodka, and more. The following gluten free drinks list isnât an exhaustive resource but it will point you in the right direction:

What Alcohol Is Gluten Free

Any alcohol that wasn’t made with gluten ingredients or had enough of the protein removed through distillation is gluten free. The ââNational Institute of Diabetes and Digestive and Kidney Diseases states that any alcohol created through a distillation process is gluten free.

Keep reading to find out which brands are outright gluten free and which are a little more complicated.

Also Check: Is Liquid Iv Gluten Free

Gluten Free Alcohol Liquor And Drinks List

Whether youâve tried the diet yourself or know someone who has, chances are youâre familiar with eating gluten free. Gluten is a grain protein that gives bread products their shape and provides a chewy texture.

About 1% of the United Statesâ adult population has celiac disease, which is the term for gluten allergy. This is a little over 3 million people, and the amount of gluten free people increased 238% between 2009 and 2014. About 28% of that 3 million have a gluten sensitivity, whereas the other 72% are simply those not eating gluten products.

Many alcohol products are gluten-based because drinks like lager and stout beer come from grains. Thankfully, thereâs an increasing amount of gluten free alcohol products, including gluten free wine brands. Continue reading to discover which popular alcoholic beverages are gluten free.

Handmade Copper Pot Stills

Gluten Free Tequila Brands

After our open tank fermenting process, Teremana is then distilled using our handmade copper pot stills. These stills were made by a local artisan on the premises of the distillery. The nature of the handmade copper stills not only harkens back to the days of traditional tequila making processes, but also produces a cleaner, smoother tequila.

Also Check: Cauliflower Crust Pizza Publix

Is Amaretto Gluten Free

Yes, most Amaretto is gluten free because the alcohol goes through a distillation process. Other ingredients used in Amaretto like almonds, apricot kernels, and peach stones also have no contact with wheat.

If the Amaretto youâre buying comes from a large facility, double-check that itâs not produced on equipment shared with gluten-related products. Oftentimes, this is the only way to guarantee that there are no gluten ingredients or fining agents in your beverage.

All The Alcohol You Can Drink On A Gluten

You’re not just stuck with wine.

Most ciders are gluten-free since they’re brewed from apples, not wheat like beer. These brands are safe bets: Angry Orchard, Crispin, and Strongbow.

BUY NOWAngry Orchard Crisp Apple Cider, from $2 drizly.com

There’s a major exception here: Vodka distilled from cereal grains is obviously not gluten-free. Look for bottles made from potatoes, grapes, or corn. They’re not as hard to find as you think. Big brands, including Tito’s and CÎROC, offer options.

BUY NOWTito’s Handmade Vodka, from $15 drizly.com

Rum is traditionally made from sugar cane. So while it’s not the healthiest alcohol, it’s often gluten-free. Look for plain bottles and add your own mixers. Flavored rums can sometimes hide ingredients that don’t fit into a gluten-free diet.

BUY NOWCruzan Aged Rum, from $12 drizly.com

Be sure to scout out tequila that’s 100 percent agave, which is naturally gluten-free. The same goes for mezcal, since tequila is actually just a specific type of that alcohol.

BUY NOWJose Cuervo Especial Gold, from $23 drizly.com

Anyone with Celiac disease can still enjoy a glass of vino. It’s made from grapes, which don’t affect people with gluten sensitivities. Red, white, rosé, and champagne all check out just watch for any additives that could trigger symptoms.

BUY NOWCupcake Vineyards Chardonnay, $9 wine.com

BUY NOWSpiked Seltzer, from $13 drizly.com

Read Also: Krusteaz Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

Is There Any Gluten In Blue Agave Tequila

Whenever there are other sources involved, gluten can sometimes enter the picturefor example, wheat can be used to produce glucose syrup. That said, its unlikely that a tequila manufacturer would use a gluten ingredient in this process. However, if you want to exercise an abundance of caution, stick with traditional, 100% blue agave tequila.

Who Are The Main Competitors Of Sauza Tequila

Gluten Free Alcohol List

Sauza lives right next door to its worst enemy. OK, maybe worst enemy is a stretch, and main market competitor is a more accurate term, but like Casa Sauza, we went for juicy. Sauzas La Perseverancia distillery is a mere six-minute walk from Jose Cuervo. And to say Cuervo and Sauza havent mixed well is understatement.

Don’t Miss: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

The Basics Of Tequila

The blue agave plant is a high-sugar plant, and all that sugar goes into making traditional tequila. On the other hand, while “mixto” tequila obtains at least 51% of its sugar from the blue agave, it can get the other 49% from other sources of fructose and glucose.

Whenever there are other sources involved, gluten can sometimes enter the picturefor example, wheat can be used to produce glucose syrup. That said, it’s unlikely that a tequila manufacturer would use a gluten ingredient in this process. However, if you want to exercise an abundance of caution, stick with traditional, 100% blue agave tequila. It’s more expensive, but it’s better to be safe than sorry.

If the tequila bottle does not state “100% agave,” then it’s mixto.

Mixto tequilas won’t be labeled “mixto,”they’ll just say “tequila.” There are many more mixto tequila brands on the shelves than there are 100% blue agave tequila brands. Remember, a tequila that’s made from 100% agave will advertise that fact prominently. Look for those that do.

How To Make Our Paloma Cocktails Twist

When it came to creating our version of the Paloma, I was trying to find a way to make it lighter and refined sugar free. For that we used Grapefruit flavored soda, such as this one from Perrier, agave to sweeten and fresh lime juice, with a splash of bitters of course, because if you live in the land of bitters you might as well use it in everything. And the result was a delicious cocktail that was refined sugar free and just as tasty as the original.

Dont want it sweetened? Simply leave out the agave and youve got a light refreshing treat on these hot Caribbean days that pairs well with our Citrus Sponge Cupcakes.

And if you dont like tequila, try this close relative of the Paloma, the Greyhound which uses grapefruit juice, and either vodka or gin.

Also Check: Gluten Free Bread Crumbs Substitute

Is Vermouth Gluten Free

Yes, vermouth is almost always gluten free. Vermouth is one of many sweet red wine types and has botanicals, spices, roots, and herbs added to it. Since vermouth is made from wine grapes, which arenât grains, thereâs no concern for gluten free individuals.

The only time this differs is if youâre drinking vermouth made in a shared facility or if a gluten-related ingredient was added to the vermouth. You can verify this by contacting the manufacturer of the vermouth and requesting ingredient details.

The Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol List

Gluten-Free and Alcohol

In this gluten free alcohol listing, youll find all the beers, hard ciders, vodkas, rums, tequilas, and other hard liquors that are gluten free. Just note that if a product or brand has its because its not truly safe for anyone with Celiac or a gluten sensitivity. Although those alcohols are gluten free or wheat free there is still a very small trace of gluten in them, even after the distillation process. Although this trace of gluten is microscopic, really sensitive Celiacs or gluten allergenic folks may have a negative reaction to those products.

So just be safe and drink what you think is best for your body.Heres what youll find in this gluten free alcohol listing.

Also Check: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

What To Consider When Starting A Gluten Free Diet

Millions of people are now avoiding gluten. Some people avoid gluten because they have a gluten-related disorder like Celiac Disease. Others avoid gluten because it helps them feel their best. If youre not sure how to get started, check out our Guide to a Gluten-Free Diet.Gluten is found naturally in ingredients like wheat, barley, and rye. It may also be found in other grains like oats due to cross-contamination. If you scan a food product with Fig, it will tell you if an ingredient like tequila naturally has gluten or if it may be at risk of cross-contamination.When searching for gluten free foods, look for a certified gluten free logo. In the United States, this means the product has less than 20 parts per million gluten. Also check allergen statements for the presence of wheat.

Weve done our best to ensure this note on tequila is accurate. When starting a gluten free diet, its generally best to work with a trained dietitian or clinician.

Tequila Is Gluten Free

You May Like: Jason’s Deli Allergy Menu

Is Espolon Tequila Gluten

El Espolón is an award-winning brand of tequila from Campari America. It is produced in the Los Altos region of Jalisco, Mexico which is well known for its cultivation of agave, the key ingredient used to make tequila.

El Espolón Tequilas main markets are the USA and Mexico.

Lets find out if this award-wining tequila is gluten-free.

Gluten Free Tequila List The Ultimate Guide

Is 1800 Tequila Gluten Free?

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

When tequila is made the traditional way with a blue agave plant, it is naturally gluten free.

However, there are cheap brands that contain gluten, which are called mixto.

So to make sure that you tequila is gluten free, be sure that the bottle says 100% agave. That way you know that your tequila is 100% pure and gluten free.

Read Also: Liquid Iv Gluten Free

How To Order Liquor Safely

Even though most liquor is technically gluten-free, it’s still possible to have a gluten-related reaction to the alcohol you drink. This is likely due to the ingredients added after the alcohol is distilled, Jaramillo explains.

So, it’s best to purchase pure alcohol, steering clear of different flavors or mixers. At the store, check for hidden gluten by reading the ingredient list and finding a gluten-free label on the bottle.

Mix your own cocktails at home to avoid any uncertainty with pre-mixed drinks at restaurants. Opting for a bottle of wine is another safe bet, Jaramillo says.

Is Bacardi Gluten Free

Yes, Bacardi rum is gluten free, with the exception of Bacardi Silver. This beverage is malt-based, meaning itâs made with barley which does contain gluten.

Rum is made from molasses and sugarcane, which donât come in contact with wheat ingredients. If you want to be completely sure a Bacardi product is gluten free, review the drinkâs nutrition facts on their website.

Also Check: Publix Vegan Pizza

Lori Welstead Ms Rd Ldn

Lori Rowell Welstead, MS, RD, LDN is a registered dietitian in the Section of Gastroenterology and nutrition advisor for the UChicago Medicine Celiac Disease Center. She sees a variety of adult patients who have gastrointestinal conditions ranging from celiac disease, Crohns disease, and ulcerative colitis to irritable bowel syndrome, fatty liver disease and obesity.

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -