Two Cereal Brands That You Think Are Gluten
When researching for this post, we were surprised by a few boxes we assumed are gluten-free. If youre looking for gluten-free cereal, wipe away those tears and say good-bye to these childhood favorites.
Rice Krispies, the most famous rice cereal of all rice cereals, does not comply with a gluten-free diet. Although the main ingredient is rice, the malt flavoring is not gluten-free. Were not sure you would want it anyway: Rice Krispies brings in 16 grams of carbs and 2 grams of sugar per serving. Kelloggs sister product, Cocoa Krispies, brings in 15 grams of sugar and 35 grams of total carbs.
What Is The Healthiest Vegan Cereal
Youre going to need some milk for all this cereal, so check out this hearty list of plant-based milk brands, too.
Fruity Pebbles And Cocoa Pebbles
Post Foods earned kudos from those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity when it announced that it had made its popular Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles cereals gluten-free .
The company also said it was responding to health concerns by lowering the sugar content of its cereals to nine grams per serving.
Although most people think of Pebbles cereals as a kids’ product, I’ve known plenty of adults who like them. Gluten-free consumers can find Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles in most supermarkets.
Also Check: Is Fish Sauce Gluten Free
Kellogg’s Smart Start Original Antioxidants
Per 1 cup: 190 calories, 1 g fat , 200 mg sodium, 43 g carbs , 4 g protein
What’s so smart about a high-sugar, low-fiber cereal? This box from Kellogg’s hijacks the claim, “antioxidants”which are plant-based compounds that mop up inflammatory, cancer-causing free radicalsmaking the cereal sound healthier than it is. In reality, their box contains an inexcusable 14 grams of sugar per serving, as well as artificial flavors, colors, and potentially carcinogen-containing BHT. According to Lisa Moskovitz, RD, CDN, “BHT is still highly controversial and limited research exists on whether it is harmful to the body or carcinogenic,” but she added, “it is still recommended to avoid consuming large quantities.”
How I Determined If A Cereal Is Gluten Free
To determine if a cereal is gluten free, I looked at the following criteria:
Read Also: Gluten Free Red Velvet Cupcakes
Are Cheerios Gluten Free
Im often asked if Cheerios are gluten free because there is a lot of confusion about the brand. A lot of people with celiac disease refuse to eat it.
Cheerios are not only labeled gluten free, but also each packaging also displays, Proud sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation. As you know, when the Celiac Disease Foundation accepts money from Cheerios, it is clearly endorsing the product as safe for people with celiac disease.
On top of the gluten-free label and the endorsement from the Celiac Disease Foundation, I independently tested Cheerios for hidden gluten. The Nima Sensor did not detect any gluten .
Still, some people in the celiac disease community are wary of Cheerios. I have been skeptical myself, although I think that feeling is waning. To be honest with you, I believe everyone should be able to make their own decision about the safety of Cheerios without being judged or shamed.
The reason many people in the celiac disease community are skeptical of Cheerios is because General Mills uses commodity oats to make its cereal. Oats, while naturally gluten free, are often cross contaminated with gluten throughout the harvesting and manufacturing processes. You can read more about it in this article, Are Oats Gluten Free?
General Mills, like other companies, optically or mechanically sorts its commodity oats to remove the oat grain from any potential gluten grains that might have contaminated the crop.
- Apple Cinnamon Cheerios
Flax Plus Raisin Bran Flakes 14 Oz
Were sinCEREALy obsessed with creating crunchy organic cereals that dont compromise on taste or ingredients, so your spoonful is not only good for you, but for the planet too!
Reasons to Love It:
- An excellent source of ALA Omega 3s
- High in fiber
Whole wheat meal*, raisins* , wheat bran*, cane sugar*, flax seeds*, oat bran*, barley malt extract*, sea salt, tocopherols . *Organic. Contains wheat. Produced in a facility that uses tree nuts, peanuts and soy.
Don’t Miss: Gluten Free And Sugar Free Desserts
Is This Possibly The Best Gluten Free Bran Muffin Around
There is a small bakery in Seattle called the Dahlia Bakery, that claim to have the best bran muffin recipe. This is quite a claim, and while I have never tasted any of their products because they are full of gluten, I did purchase their cookbook in hopes of converting some of their deliciously tempting recipes to gluten-free. Could I actually create the best gluten-free bran muffin around by making some necessary tweaks to this recipe? My first attempt proved to be profitable. While I dont have the Dahlia Bran Muffin to compare, I can verify that these are unequivocally the best gluten-free bran muffins I have ever tasted. They are moist, have a good rise, and taste perfect for a hearty morning muffin. They must be made 24 hours in advance though, so please plan accordingly!
Quaker Corn Bran Crunch
Per 1 cup: 120 calories, 1.5 g fat , 280 mg sodium, 31 g carbs , 3 g protein
It’s not the nutritionals that did Quaker Corn Bran Crunch in. It was their addition of artificial colorsYellow 5, Yellow 6, Red 40, and Blue 1. Red 40 and the two Yellows have both been banned from food products in the UK based on research that has connected the oil-derived colorants with allergies, migraines, headaches, behavioral problems, and hyperactivity among children.
Also Check: Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls Shipped
Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal
By simply removing stray wheat, rye, and barley grains from the Cheerios oat supply, the childhood favorite has the same addictive honey taste but is gluten-free. They taste the same because wheat was never an ingredient in the first place. Also available: gluten-free Original, Multi-grain, Apple Cinnamon, and Frosted Cheerios.To buy: $6 for one 17-ounce box, .
We Dont Like Sugar Or Gluten So We Skipped Them Altogether
If you’re at the grocery store looking for a gluten-free cereal that isnt loaded with sugar, good luck. But don’t worry, we’ll do you one better we’ll bring you that coveted, gluten-free, sugar-free cereal straight to your front door.
Like you, we wanted a healthy, gluten-free breakfast so we decided to make a cereal with zero sugar and just 1 gram of carbohydrates. And then we packed it with 16 grams of protein because we wanted something that tasted good but would actually carry us over to lunchtime.
There’s no need to worry about cross-contamination with Cereal School, because we don’t include rice flour or oat flour in our products. Instead, we use a combination of protein and tapioca fiber, then sweeten it with monk fruit and cinnamon, for the sweetest morning bowl.
If you’re craving that breakfast bowl from your childhood, we promise our Cinnamon Bun and Fruity varieties taste just as good as you remember. Only now you can enjoy it without the junk. But don’t take our word for it try them now and see for yourself.
Don’t Miss: Udi’s Gluten Free Granola
Gluten Free Bran Muffins
These gluten free bran muffins are special in how ordinary, but tender and tasty, they are. Try them with a smear of butter or preserves.
These muffins smell and taste just like you remember really good bran muffins to smell and taste: hearty and sweet, with a tender crumb and a light crispness on the outside.
Gluten free stabilized rice bran is a perfect substitute for the wheat bran in a conventional bran muffin. And of course, it has the added benefit of being gluten free.
I grew up in the 80s, and bran was a very. big. deal. So was margarine, though, so you cant win them all. But I still consider bran to be a nutritional win.
Quaker Oatmeal Squares Golden Maple
Per 1 cup: 210 calories, 2.5 g fat , 190 mg sodium, 44 g carbs , 6 g protein
Don’t let their high fiber and protein counts fool you. These oatmeal squares are full of bad-for-you ingredients yellow 5 and 6 as well as caramel colora chemically-derived additive which commonly contains an artificial form of phosphorous that’s been shown to leach calcium from our bones.
Also Check: Are Blue Diamond Almonds Gluten Free
Increasing Your Fiber Intake
Do it gradually. Start with a small amount and slowly increase it, to prevent major abdominal pain and gas.
Increase consumption of fluids, especially water.
When choosing gluten-free flour mixes or recipes, opt for ones with high-fiber flours and starches, like those shown.
Add oat bran, rice bran, ground flax or mesquite flour to baked products, pancake batter or hot cereals.
Use brown rice, wild rice, buckwheat, quinoa or teff in salads or pilafs instead of white rice.
Add chickpeas , kidney beans or other bean varieties to casseroles and salads.
Make high-fiber soups with lentils, split peas and/or beans.
Choose high-fiber snacks such as nuts, seeds, dried fruits, popcorn, gluten-free snack bars , raw vegetables and fruits.
Add dried fruits, nuts or seeds to hot cereal, salads, stir-fry dishes, muffins, cookies and breads.
Eat whole fruits and vegetables rather than drinking juice.
Shelley Case, RD, is an international celiac nutrition expert, consulting dietitian and author of Gluten-Free: The Definitive Resource Guide. Learn more at ShelleyCase.com. Shelley Case is on the advisory boards of the Canadian Celiac Association, the Celiac Disease Foundation and the Gluten-Free Intolerance Group.
Strictly Necessary Cookie should be enabled at all times so that we can save your preferences for cookie settings.
Quaker Real Medleys Cherry Almond Pecan Multigrain Cereal
Per 1 cup: 320 calories, 9 g fat , 50 mg sodium, 55 g carbs , 7 g protein
At least Quaker realizes the amount of sugar they put in this box, with their tagline “Feed your sweet tooth and your, well, wholesome tooth.” Despite having whole grain rolled oats, wheat, brown rice, and corn flakes, there are only 4 measly grams of fiber per bowl. Plus most of those 7 grams of protein come from whey protein concentrate rather than the almonds or pecans.
Recommended Reading: Fast Easy Gluten Free Meals
Chex Clusters Fruit & Oats
Per 1 cup: 200 calories, 1.5 g fat , 250 mg sodium, 45 g carbs , 2 g protein
General Mills splatters health-sounding claims like “Gluten-Free,” “No Colors from Artificial Sources,” “No Artificial Flavors,” “No High Fructose Corn Syrup” on their box, but they forgot to mention there are 17 grams of sugar in a cup serving. Oops!
Barbaras Honey Rice Puffins
Barbaras Honey Rice Puffins cereal is a treat for kids and adults alike.
The base of this cereal is made from whole grain brown rice, and its lightly sweetened with a combination of cane sugar, molasses, and honey.
Each 1/2-cup of cereal provides 1.5 grams of fiber, 1.5 grams of protein, and 3 grams of added sugar. Its also fortified with calcium to support the growth and development of your kids bones.
Note the manufacturer recommends a serving size of 1 cup .
This product is not certified gluten-free by a third-party organization, but Barbaras independently tests all individual ingredients, as well as each product batch to ensure gluten levels do not exceed 20 parts per million .
You May Like: Snyder’s Gluten Free Pretzel Rods
Erewhon Organics Crispy Rice Cereal
Erewhon was a leader in the organic foods revolution back in the 1960s, and promoting the philosophy that if what you eat is good, and pure, and true to its source, all else will follow. Erewhon offers a light and tasty Crispy Brown Rice cereal that is gluten-free. All of their cereals are USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project verified, and are made in a tree nut and peanut-free manufacturing facility.
Are Fruity Pebbles Gluten Free
Yes, Fruity Pebbles are gluten free and labeled as such too. The Gluten Free label is seen on the side panel of the cereal box and under the ingredient list.
Fruity Pebbles are made from rice, sugar, oil and a whole bunch of food dye. No gluten in sight, and Nima is all smiles, assuring me that its gluten free.
Please note that Cocoa Pebbles are also labeled gluten free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.
Read Also: Best Resistance Bands For Glutes
Bakery On Main Gluten
Bakery on Main offers certified gluten-free granola and gluten-free sprouted grain granola. All of its products are certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization to include fewer than 10 parts per million of gluten, and they’re prepared in a dedicated gluten-free facility.
The company’s corn- and rice-based granola cereals include:
- Cranberry Almond Maple
- Cranberry Cashew with orange flavor
- Extreme Nut & Fruit
- Tropical Nutty Banana
- Walnut Raisin Apple
Its sprouted Organic Happy Granola cereals, which are oat-based, include Blueberry Flax. Organic Oats & Happiness oatmeal cups include Almond & Vanilla, Cranberry Apple Almond, and Walnut Banana.
There’s also Ancient Grain instant oatmeal in five flavors: Apple Pie, Blueberry Scone, Maple Multigrain, Strawberry Shortcake, and Traditional.
Note that some varieties contain oats, so if you’re sensitive to avenin, the protein in oats that’s a close relative to gluten, you should steer clear of those.
Gluten Free Raisin Bran Muffins
These Gluten Free Raisin Bran Muffins are legit just like you would have eaten before eating gluten free. Whip up a batch to enjoy with your breakfast, or your morning coffee break.
In my pre-Celiac days, I loved to bake bran muffins. They were just simple, standard healthy bran muffins with raisins. Even though they were so simple, they were not a boring muffin, they could hold their own during brunch or a snack. Topped with a little butter, and we were set.
I had my simple tried and true recipe that I used every time and it never failed me. Not once.
My husband would take them to work. My daughter gladly took them in her lunch kit to school, and my little man, who seems to think he always needs to eat, would have them as a mid-morning snack. Since going gluten-free, I have occasionally baked those muffins for my family to enjoy, but boy, to see those great muffins sitting there, and not be able to have any, was a sad thing.
So, what do I do? Anything that any muffin-depraved person would do. I take that recipe and convert it to gluten free.
Those muffins converted beautifully to gluten free Raisin Bran Muffins. The texture is bang on, and although the taste is slightly different , the substitutions worked perfectly!
Feel free to substitute the raisins with whatever kind of fruit suits your fancy. Chopped apples and a teaspoon of cinnamon would be a great twist on these. However, I like them just as they are which is nearly just as they were.
Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Dairy Free Breakfast Ideas