Tuesday, June 11, 2024
HomeFactsOrganic Gluten Free Oat Flour

Organic Gluten Free Oat Flour

- Advertisment -

Fact : Oats Are Not Considered A Gluten Source In Many Countries

In the Lab with Grain Millers: Gluten-free Oat Bread

As we mentioned above, oats are not typically placed in the same category as wheat, barley, or rye when it comes to gluten regulations.

Canada, Europe, and many other countries follow a uniform set of guidelines to ensure food safety called Codex Alimentarius Standard_118-1979. The Codex includes oats in its definition of gluten grains. However, in a footnote, the Codex standard states:

Oats can be tolerated by most, but not all, people who are intolerant to gluten. Therefore, the allowance of oats that are not contaminated with wheat, rye or barley in foods covered by this standard may be determined at the national level.

Most European countries allow oats in products labeled gluten-free. Canada issued a Marketing Authorization in 2015 that allows the use of gluten-free claims for gluten-free oats, and foods that contain them, as ingredients. In this case, the oats must be specially grown or processed to ensure that they are gluten-free and are tested to have no more than 20 ppm of gluten grains.

In Canada, the term gluten-free oats must clearly identify the oats wherever they are referenced, including in the list of ingredients. Note that in the U.S., the FDA does not allow any descriptions in the ingredient lists on packaged food labels.

Exceptions to this rule are Australia and New Zealand, two countries that include oats as a restricted grain along with wheat, barley, and rye in any gluten-free products produced or sold in those countries.

Fact : A Thorough Third

The best way to know oats are gluten-free is to look for a third-party gluten-free certification mark, like the one used by GFCO. The requirements of certification are intended to help processors identify and remove potential risks of cross-contact with gluten. Many processors of Purity Protocol and mechanically sorted oats come to GFCO to have their oats certified.

During GFCO certification, all procedures involved in oat processing are audited and oats are tested multiple times to verify that they are gluten-free. Testing alone does not guarantee oats are gluten-free because there are many steps before and after testing where cross-contact could happen if proper procedures arent followed.

The GFCO certification process includes 80 requirements for product certification that apply to any product, including oats and foods containing oats. These requirements include:

  • Supplier review and approval
  • Purchasing protocols to make sure the materials purchased are gluten-free
  • Examination and review of incoming shipments to make sure they are correct and that there has been no gluten cross-contact
  • Correct storage of gluten-free and gluten-containing raw materials
  • Proper facility set-up to avoid cross-contact
  • Cleaning protocols and schedules
  • Visual examinations in addition to testing products
  • Ongoing review of processes, particularly when there are changes in the plant
  • Training of staff on gluten sources and health risks
  • Substitutions You Can Make

    • You can replace the ground almonds with ground sunflower seeds, ground walnuts, ground pumpkin seeds or ground pecan nuts.
    • For a nut-free version, replace the ground almonds with ground sunflower seeds or ground pumpkin seeds.
    • You can replace the apple cider vinegar with lemon juice.
    • If you want to use oat flour instead of making your own, you can use the 300 g oat flour.

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Ready Made Meals

    Are Oats And Oat Flour Gluten

    Oats are a hot button topic within the celiac and gluten-free communities. Oats are not considered a top allergen, and in their pure form, oats are safe for the majority of people with celiac disease. Unlike wheat, barley, and rye, oats are not considered a source of gluten in many countries.

    The concern with oats is that they come into contact with gluten grains from the field to processing. The term for gluten grains getting into non-gluten grains during growth, harvest, transport, or storage is agricultural comingling and the proper term for gluten getting into non-gluten foods during processing is cross-contact . Read more about agricultural commingling in our article, Gluten in Your Food: Cross-Contact or Cross-Contamination?

    Agricultural comingling and cross-contact with gluten are valid concerns with oats, leading to the question Are these oats really gluten-free?

    Heres a breakdown of oats and oat processing to help clear up widespread confusion about the safety of oats as well as oat flour.

    Terms Used In This Article

    Bobs Red Mill Gluten Free Oat Flour 4/22oz  Mill Creek ...

    Agricultural Comingling The inadvertent mixing of different grains due to shared planting and harvesting equipment, shared transportation and storage facilities, and other things like the activities of birds, wind, and weather.

    Cross-Contact The proper term for gluten getting into non-gluten foods during processing is cross-contact .

    Purity Protocol Developed by Montana Gluten Free Processors and later adopted by some U.S. and Canadian oat companies as a way to differentiate their oats from their competitors. Purity Protocol takes place during the growing, harvesting, transporting, storage, processing, and manufacturing of oats.

    Mechanical sorting A specialized process involving a complex system of machines calibrated to find and remove gluten grains. Mechanical sorting takes place in the latter part of oat processing.

    Disclaimer: The information on this website is for educational purposes only. Consult your healthcare team when considering this information.

    Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Desserts Recipes Real Simple

    The Bottom Line About Gluten

    When in doubt about the safety of oats, look for a mark on the packaging that says Certified Gluten-Free for peace of mind or look for the new GFCO certification mark:

    Gluten-free consumers should be cautious of oat products that are not labeled or certified gluten-free. If an oat product is certified gluten-free, the certification mark verifies that the product is safe to eat.

    If someone believes they are sensitive to oats, they should consult with their physician before adding oats to their diet. If someone is sensitive to gluten or has been diagnosed with celiac disease, looking for a reliable certification on an oat product will offer the best assurances available that the product is safe. When ones health is on the line, erring on the side of caution can be the best route, but understanding the science and the facts around gluten-free oats can help put their safety into perspective.

    How To Make Homemade Oat Flour

    How to Make Homemade Oat Flour : a step-by-step tutorial and guide on how to make your own gluten-free oat flour at home. Vegan, Gluten-Free, Dairy-Free.

    Welcome back to the Beaming Baker Baking Basics series!! At least, thats what Im tentatively calling it. Im kinda feeling the alliteration, are you?

    We kicked off this series with How to Make a Flax Egg. I know, super sexy, thrilling stuff. Some of you may have already known how to make a flax egg and just wondered about the nuances, wondered if you could swap one with chia eggs, or were just learning about it for the first time. Either way, it was tons of fun and eye-opening for us all!

    Next up on the basics list: How to Make Homemade Oat Flour. Ive often gotten questions like, Where do I find oat flour? Can I make it at home? What kind of oats do I use?

    Im going to first cover the steps on how to make homemade oat flour, then Ill go over a few frequently asked questions. Sound good? Lets get started!


    Add gluten free rolled oats to a food processor or blender. I like to use a food processor because it can blend more thoroughly and evenly throughout.


    After the first few rounds of blending, the oats will look like this. Some oats are still whole, others are beginning to turn into flour.




    Use it! Make sure to measure the oat flour after youve ground it and not before, when its in whole oat form. Recipes below.

    What is oat flour?

    Don’t Miss: Are Cheerios Oat Crunch Gluten Free

    What Is Gluten And What Does It Do

    Traditional flour is ground wheat that absorbs liquid to produce elastic strands that can be kneaded and prompted to rise during cooking. This is why flour is always a key ingredient of cakes and pastries. The naturally occurring protein that creates flours elastic properties is known as gluten. It is a key building block for grains, wheat, barley and rye.

    Health Benefits Of Oat Flour

    Oat Flour Banana Bread | The Best Gluten-Free Quick Bread!

    1. Reduces Heart Disease Risk

    A epidemiologic study published in the Archives of Internal Medicine looked at the relationship between dietary fiber intake and the risk of coronary heart disease and cardiovascular disease in 9,776 adults . The researchers found that subjects consuming the most fiber, 20.7 grams per day, had 12 percent less CHD and 11 percent less CVD compared to those eating the least amount of fiber.

    The subjects who ate the most water-soluble dietary fiber had even more impressive results with a 15 percent reduction in CHD risk and a 10 percent reduction in CVD risk. Oats contain both soluble and insoluble fiber. This research confirms that eating high-fiber foods, like oat flour, can help prevent heart disease.

    2. Lowers Cholesterol

    Another reason that oat flour is so great for the heart is that its been shown to lower LDL cholesterol. Specifically, its the beta-glucan found mainly in the endosperm cell wall of oats thats believed to be responsible for decreasing total serum cholesterol and LDL cholesterol. How does it work? Well -glucan is a highly glutinous soluble fiber so as it travels through the small intestine, it actually limits the absorption of dietary cholesterol.

    Recent studies have shown that regularly consuming water-soluble, viscous-forming fibers like those found in oat flour can reduce total and LDL cholesterol levels by about 5 percent to 10 percent.

    3. Helps Diabetics

    4. Decreases Blood Pressure

    5. Satiety Star

    Read Also: Krusteaz Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

    History And Flour Comparison

    The oldest known oat grains were likely found in Egypt among remains of the 12th Dynasty circa 2000 B.C. However, these oats were likely weeds that were not cultivated by the Egyptians. Before oats were consumed as a food, they were used medicinally, which they still are today. Some say the oldest known cultivated oats were found in caves in Switzerland from the Bronze Age.

    In the early 17th century, Scottish settlers brought oats to North America. Today, some of the largest commercial producers of oats include the United States, Germany and Poland.

    Oat flour is a perfect gluten-free flour choice when a recipe doesnt require gluten to rise. It adds a rich, nutty flavor to any recipe. For example, its great in cookies and makes them even chewier than normal. Also on the plus side, oat flour tends to make baked goods more moist than wheat flour. It can be equally exchanged in recipes for the following gluten-free flours: rice flour, millet flour and sorghum flour.

    Unfortunately, for baked foods that need to rise, oat flour must be combined with other flours. Spelt flour, on the other hand, is a mild-flavored whole-grain flour that can be substituted in equal amounts for whole-wheat or all-purpose flour in most recipes. Sometimes you may use a little less spelt flour because its more water-soluble. Unlike gluten-free oat flour, spelt flour does contain some gluten , but it does seem to be digested better than wheat or all-purpose flour for a lot of people.

    Gf Oats Oat Flour Has Arrived

    We have been wanting to bring Gluten Free Oat Flour into our product line for many years now, however, with the continued battle with the ability to label any of our products as gluten-free oats due to currently labelling laws. We have held off bringing in gluten free oat flour due to these same labelling laws restricting our ability to communicate until NOW! No, we still have to call the Gloriously Free oat flour instead of gluten free oat flour for the moment.

    People Power Rules:With so many people back in the kitchen during 2020, which is super exciting, as that is my favourite place. Many many people started to asked for Gluten Free Oat Flour, so we listened and now, we have the first beautiful oat flour in traditional and organic varieties. We are very excited by the new packaging but please note it is still labelled as gluten friendly, wheat free, uncontaminated oat flour to comply with the labelling laws. They are immediately available in our online store and will be distributed throughout all good health food and independents throughout Australia, please jump onto our Where to buy tabto find a store near you, so keep an eye out on the shelf wherever our GF Oats is.

    Product Details you will want to know:This beautiful wholegrain oat flour is sourced from our farmers in the US, the product is manufactured from dehulled, cleaned oats at GF Harvest, in their dedicated gluten-free, organic, non-GMO and Kosher certified facilities.

    Also Check: Lactose And Gluten Intolerance Test

    Review For Organic Gluten Free Toasted Oat Flour

  • Rated 5 out of 5

    Diana Remington June 26, 2018

    I have a lot of high allergies, Dairy, Almonds, Legumes, Soy, Eggs, Gluten. Cross contamination seems to be my biggest problems. Because when I buy products I think I can eat they can and most likely are cross contaminated with all of the above. So I am not just getting a small amount of 1 allergen, but a small amount of many allergens, making it almost impossible for me to purchase flours, even many grains. I have not eaten oats in almost 15 years until now. I love your product. Between your oats and cassava flour I think I might actually be able to learn how to bake again.

  • Kristy Makela June 26, 2018

    Diana, we are thrilled you found our flour! We are dedicated to producing safe, allergen free and great tasting food! we do not sell cassava flour only oat and Timtana . I hope you found our recipe page we have filled it with suggestions and delicious recipes for all of our products and for every meal and occasion. Feel free to contact me if you have any questions or concerns. Enjoy your day!

  • Just Natural Organic Gluten Free Oat Flour 500g



    Just Natural Organic Gluten Free Oat Flour is finely ground from the highest quality Finnish wholegrain oats. Higher in protein, fibre, vitamins, and minerals than all-purpose flour, oat flour works great in bread, pancakes and other bakes. And its packed in our 100% plastic free, certified home compostable packaging.

    Country of Origin*


    *Country of origin may vary from time to time and the origin stated in this document is not guaranteed.

    Organic Gluten Free Oat Flour


    Organic , Vegan Society, Coeliac Society

    Serving Requirements

    Great in bread, pancakes and other bakes.

    Shipping:All orders placed via this website will be managed by our distribution partner, CLF Distribution, on our behalf. You will receive email confirmation letting you know when your order has been received, and when the order is being processed, and then shipped.

    Which courier will deliver my order?All UK and EU orders are shipped using our preferred couriers, DPD and the Royal Mail. The Royal Mail deliveries can take place between Monday and Saturday, whilst DPD typically deliver Monday to Friday.

    Just Natural Organic Gluten Free Oat Flour 500g

    You May Like: Is Cream Of Chicken Soup Gluten Free

    Avena Purity Protocol Oats: Start Safe Stay Safe

    Avena Foods is the premier supplier of Purity protocol certified gluten-free oat ingredients to the food and beverage industry. Sustainably grown and harvested from pedigreed non-GMO seed, our pure oat ingredients are fully traceable right back to the farmer and field.

    Avena Foods Purity Protocol milling facility is FSSC 22000 certified with uncompromising food safety and quality programs. These include comprehensive testing protocols for gluten and peroxidase. Micros and nutritionals are tested on request.

    Avena Purity Protocol Gluten-Free Oat Ingredients:

    • Groats
    • Rolled Oats
    • Granola Rolled Oats
    • Hefty Oat Flakes
    • Fine Whole Oat Flour 3/64
    • Whole Oat Flour 5/64
    • Quick Cooking Oats
    • Steel Cut Oats

    Avena Purity Protocol Gluten-Free Oat Ingredients are:

    • Certified gluten-free
    • Produced in a dedicated and certified gluten-free facility
    • Verified non-GMO
    • Available as conventional or certified-organic
    • Packaged in either 2000lb totes or 50lb bags
    • 18 month shelf-life when stored under ambient conditions

    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -