Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeTrendingIs Kix Cereal Gluten Free

Is Kix Cereal Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Our Favorite Certified Gluten

REVIEW: The Cereal School Low Carb Cereal | Keto Fruit Loops!

We tasted more than 70 types of certified gluten-free cereal. Everyone on our team has different tastes and opinions when it comes to this morning staple and so there were lots of discussions as we reached consensus. Our top picks are organized by type of cereal and by choiceslightly sweetened or unsweetened for adults and sweetened or fun-flavored for kids. We know that many readers dont feed their kids sugary cereals, so choose the varieties that work the best for your family.

Brands are listed alphabetically within each category. Check our charts for nutritional information on the cereals mentioned.

Is Kix Cereal High In Protein

Kix Cereal provides 3g of protein, which isnt as high as some of its cereal friends. Typically, the healthier cereals will contain close to 10g of protein, sometimes even more! Such as Kashi Go Leans cereal which contains a whopping 11g in protein. Considering kids love this, its more on the sweet side than it is plain.

Is Honey Bunches Of Oats Healthy

Low in fiber and protein The fact that Honey Bunches of Oats contains several whole grains gives the impression that its a healthy, high-fiber cereal. A product is considered a good source of fiber when it contains at least 3 grams of fiber per serving, and high in fiber when it contains at least 5 grams .

Recommended Reading: Where Are Graham Crackers In Walmart

Read Also: Where To Find Gluten Free Oreos

Readers Favorite Gf Breakfast Cereal

Our readers ranked Natures Pathwith its Envirokidz, Qia and Natures Path linesas their best-liked certified gluten-free cereal brand. Natures Path offers more than 23 varieties of gluten-free cereal under three brands, available at natural grocery stores and many traditional grocery stores. Read the packaging closely, as Natures Path also produces some gluten-containing varieties with off-limits grains like kamut, spelt and barley.

GF& M Survey Says

We polled Gluten Free & More readers to see what really matters to them about cereal. Not surprisingly, most want cereal that tastes greatno bland flavors or strange textures.

A sample of what our readers say about cereal:

If I buy one more cereal that tastes like cardboard bits or sawdust, Im going to scream.

It is hard to find gluten-free cereal that is a decent price in smaller towns. Cost plays a huge difference in buying certified gluten-free versus scouring labels to find one that works.

Too many currently available cereals are nutritionally bereft. No fiber, no protein and what little nutrition they do have comes from additives.

The top things our readers care about when choosing a gluten-free cereal are:

#1: Taste#3: Availability

Barbaras Honey Rice Puffins

Kix Breakfast Cereal Crispy Corn Puffs Cereal 18 Oz

Price: $$

Barbaras Honey Rice Puffins cereal is a treat for kids and adults alike.

The base of this cereal is made from whole grain brown rice, and its lightly sweetened with a combination of cane sugar, molasses, and honey.

Each 1/2-cup of cereal provides 1.5 grams of fiber, 1.5 grams of protein, and 3 grams of added sugar. Its also fortified with calcium to support the growth and development of your kids bones.

Note the manufacturer recommends a serving size of 1 cup .

This product is not certified gluten-free by a third-party organization, but Barbaras independently tests all individual ingredients, as well as each product batch to ensure gluten levels do not exceed 20 parts per million .

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Ready Made Meals

Are Fruit Loops Gluten


Fruit Loops is definitely NOT gluten-free as it contains wheat or other gluten-containing ingredients. See our 7 point gluten-free analysis below for more details.

1. Is Product Certified Gluten-Free? NO2. Does Manufacturer Claim Product is Gluten-Free? NO3. Is Wheat Listed as an Allergen? YES4. Does Product Contain Oats*? NO5. Are the Oats Certified Gluten-Free? N/A6. Are Any Other Gluten-Containing Ingredients Present? NO7. Does Manufacturer Claim Product Was Produced on Shared Equipment/Facility? NO

We use our 7 point gluten-free analysis help determine our gluten-free confidence score. While no system is perfect, we feel this is a reliable way to determine whether this product is gluten-free or not. Please use your best judgement.*Unless they are certified gluten-free, oats have a high likelihood of gluten cross-contamination.

Why Kix Cereal Not Labeled As Gluten Free

However, theirs is still a concerning fact we need to look further. If Kix Cereal contain no gluten ingredients, why all Kix Cereal products are not specifically labelled as gluten free cereal products?

General Mills does have several cereal products specifically labelled as gluten free but not Kix Cereal. The manufacturer is committed to always declare any gluten ingredients added to its product, including derivative ingredients.

So, in case of Kix Cereal, the manufacturer guarantees that the products only contain ingredients as declared on packaging information. However, Kix Cereal isnt labeled for two reasons:

  • The first reason is production process of Kix Cereal doesnt use a dedicated gluten free manufacturing facility. That means it shares the same production line, equipment, and machineries with other cereal products including those products using gluten ingredients. Theres risk of cross contamination from gluten residues throughout the production line. While the risk is minimum, General Mills couldnt give assurance that all Kix Cereal products are 100% gluten free.
  • The second reason is the probability that older batch products, that still use oat ingredients, are still circulating on the market. Until all older batch products are no longer available on the market, labeling Kix Cereal as gluten free is defiantly misleading.

So, is Kix Cereal gluten free? We presented all the facts. It is yours to decide.

You May Like: Low Carb Gluten Free Wraps

Trix Cereal Might Be Gluten

According to celiac.com, Trix cereal is most likely gluten free because it does not contain any of the ingredients that would naturally contain gluten, but its not specifically labeled as Gluten-Free. Trix has not yet gone through the testing required to guarantee a specific minimal amount of gluten present. It is always recommended that individuals that are extremely sensitive to gluten should be cautious when eating anything not specifically labeled as Gluten-Free.

What Is Trix Cereal

Healthy Breakfast Cereal Choices – Best & Worst! – Mind Over Munch

According to General Mills, Trix is a fruity flavored blend of whole grain corn and rice flour cereal that is fortified with 12 vitamins and minerals typically aimed towards children. The original flavors of the round puff cereal pieces are raspberry red, lemony yellow, and orangey orange, but the cereal has now expanded to include 6 fruity flavors. Trix states that its a good source of calcium, committed to increasing whole grain consumption, and is dedicated to creating a transparent product.

You May Like: What Kind Of Flour Is Gluten Free

Is Kix Cereal Healthy

Understanding the nutrition label will help you determine if what youre eating is healthy. Typically, anything with artificial flavors isnt good for you. Thankfully, Kix doesnt contain any artificial preservatives or flavors.

Next, you want to look at the number of calories, cholesterol, and fat within the product. Typically, you want to eat food with healthy fats, such as monounsaturated and polyunsaturated fats, and avoid food with trans fat, saturated fat, and high cholesterol. Kix cereal contains 0.5g of polyunsaturated fat and 0g of cholesterol, trans and saturated fat.

Kixs first ingredient is whole grain corn. Having wholesome grains as the first ingredient is essential to maintaining a healthy meal plan. All in all, Kix is a healthy cereal compared to most kids cereal thats usually stuffed with sugar.

Is Gluten Bad For You

Gluten doesnt provide many nutrientsin fact, it provides no essential nutrients. People with celiac disease are unable to process gluten and become sick if they consume these products.

Many people have genetic markers for celiac disease , but few people actually develop the disease . While indigestion or uncomfortable bloating after eaten gluten can indicate some type of intolerance, a blood test is needed to truly diagnose celiac disease.

If you dont have celiac disease, there is little evidence to say that gluten will affect your health in a negative way. While many foods contain gluten, gluten is often present in such small amounts that your body does use it. Gluten is also low in fat and sugar.

Many foods that contain gluten and very nutritious, whole grains being the obvious choice. Whole grains often provide our body with sources of fiber and nutrients, and if we eliminate these sources, it is important to find a replacement to ensure our body has what it needs.

Also Check: Best Gluten Free Meal Delivery

Thrive Market Organic Coconut Flakes

This is a fantastic option for people who like coconut and who want to eat food with few ingredients. Since coconut is the only ingredient, you will feel fuller for a longer period of time thanks to its high-fat content. These coconut flakes taste delicious in a glass of milk thanks to Thrive Markets ability to give the flakes a crunchy cereal texture.

Dietary Information :

  • Calories: 160

Kix Cereal And Gluten Free Ingredients

Berry Berry Kix Breakfast Cereal, 12 oz Box

Kix Cereal is a brand of cereal products manufactured by General Mills. This is among the popular brands in the US market and no wonder many are wondering whether cereal products from this brand is gluten free or not.

While theres no designated label or clear claim from the manufacturer, it doesnt mean you must remove Kix Cereal from gluten free option.

The easiest way to know for sure is by checking its ingredients. Kix Cereal offers three variants:

  • Classic or original Kix
  • and Berry Berry Kix.

All variants used to have oats among the main ingredients but since 2009, General Mills removed oats from the ingredient lists of all Kix Cereal products.

Recommended Reading: What Liquor Is Gluten Free

Top Results For Crispy Brown Rice

Organic Brown Rice Crisps Cereal, 12 Oz Whole Foods Market

Copy the link and share

Sprouted Brown Rice Crispy Treats Against All Grain

Copy the link and share

Crispy Rice Is Simple To Make With A Few Lazy (But

Copy the link and share

Kelloggs® Rice Krispies® Whole Grain

Copy the link and share

Crispy Brown Rice With Deeply Roasted Broccoli, Carrots

Copy the link and share

Brown Rice Crispy Treats | Weelicious

Copy the link and share

You May Like: Kraft Tuscan Italian Dressing Ingredients

Where Does Gluten Show Up In Cereal

Gluten can be found in some cereal products in the form of wheat, wheat flour, wheat starch, malt flavor, or malt barley. You can also find gluten hidden in flavorings in some cereal.

Since gluten can show up under so many different names, its important to read ingredients lists for each cereal you buy. Sometimes one flavor of a cereal is gluten-free, but another from the same brand isnt.

Companies can change their recipes at any time, so its important to do your due diligence before purchasing and look for the gluten-free label on the package or read the ingredients list to make sure that there is no hidden gluten in the cereal.

A gluten-free label indicates that there are less than 20ppm of gluten in the product as per the FDA, ensuring there isnt a chance for a reaction from gluten to the product.

Read on: Is malt gluten-free?

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Dairy Free Meatballs Frozen

List Of Gluten Free Cereals Tested For Hidden Gluten

Looking for a list of gluten-free cereals?Curious what cereals are gluten free? If yes, not only have I researched each cereal brand, but also I tested each brand for hidden gluten. Ill discuss whether Lucky Charms, Cheerios, Kix and Fruity Pebbles are truly gluten free or full of gluten. This post contains affiliate links. Please see my disclosures.

Have you ever wondered which of your favorite cereal brands are still safe to eat now that youre on a gluten-free diet?

Is Raisin Bran gluten free? And what about Special K, Crispix and Cocoa Pebbles?

In this article, I share which mainstream brands of cereal are gluten free, and many of them I put to the hidden gluten test too. I share which cereals are gluten free, and which are full of gluten.

People with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities cannot eat gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley, rye and sometimes oats. Gluten destroys the lining of the small intestine in people with celiac disease, causing nutritional deficiencies and a slew of disorders. It also creates inflammation and leaky gut in the 18 million people suffering from non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

Did you know that gluten creates inflammation in all humans? Its true and you can read more about it in this article, Does Gluten Cause Inflammation in Everyone?

While gluten is clearly found in many cereals you love like Frosted Mini Wheat , its not so clear if its found in products that do not include wheat, barley or rye.

Natures Path Corn Flakes

17 Low Sugar Cereal Options | BEST Healthy Cereal Brands!

Heres who takes the 5th spot on my gluten free cereal list. Growing up as a kid, cornflakes were my best kind of cereal. If you love cornflakes but cant eat the regular cornflakes, you can settle for Natures path corn flakes. It has a powerful crunch and would go so well with the perfect milk. Imagine having this gluten free cornflakes with Fairlife Milk, oh my. So, sweet.

Read Also: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix

Don’t Miss: Jersey Mike’s Gluten Free Subs

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

The other key ingredient in traditional Rice Krispies treats is marshmallows and the good news is that, yes, marshmallows are gluten free .

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows do not have any gluten ingredients on the label.

If you do not eat meat, beware that most marshmallows contain pork gelatin. There are vegan and gluten-free marshmallow options, including the following brands:

  • Dandies vegan marshmallows You will experience a slight texture different with vegan marshmallows, and they are a bit harder to work with, but if youre vegan, its a great option.
  • Trader Joes Trader Joes brand marshmallows are gluten free and vegan, and they come with a great price tag too.

Are Original Kix Gluten Free

Yes! Kix original cereal is gluten free as of 2022. From the General Mills website, Proving that less is more since 1937. Original Kix stays true to the 70-year-old recipe of wholesome grains like whole-grain corn. Generations later, kids still love it and parents still approve.

Ingredients include whole grain corn, corn meal, sugar, salt, brown sugar syrup, baking soda, vitamin e, as well as vitamin C, A, folic acid, and other vitamins and minerals to preserve freshness.

Recommended Reading: Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten Free Options

Erewhon Organics Crispy Rice Cereal

Erewhon was a leader in the organic foods revolution back in the 1960s, and promoting the philosophy that if what you eat is good, and pure, and true to its source, all else will follow. Erewhon offers a light and tasty Crispy Brown Rice cereal that is gluten-free. All of their cereals are USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project verified, and are made in a tree nut and peanut-free manufacturing facility.

Is Kix Cereal A Whole Grain

Kix cereal

In terms of nutrients, Kix is made with whole grain corn and the cereal is fortified with vitamins and minerals, making it an excellent source of iron, and a good source of calcium, fiber, and vitamins C and B6.

Kix also has a very low glycemic index, which means that it doesnt raise blood sugar levels as quickly as other cereals. This makes it a great choice for people who are trying to lose weight, or for those who want to eat a low-glycemic diet.

Don’t Miss: Is Bear Naked Granola Gluten Free

Why Do People Love Trix Cereal

Trix appeals to your inner child with its crunchy fruity puff balls that turn your milk a satisfying array of colored flavors. Trix cereal first hit the shelves in 1954 as the first fruit flavored cereal on the market. Since then, it has continued bringing us back to the early days, when what kind of cereal to eat in the morning, was the pinnacle of our dilemmas for the day.

How I Determined If A Cereal Is Gluten Free

To determine if a cereal is gluten free, I looked at the following criteria:

  • Packaging: I first looked at the product packaging. Does it have any gluten-free claims on the packaging?
  • Ingredient List: Next, I looked at the ingredient list. Does the ingredient list contain wheat, barley, rye, oats or derivatives of these ingredients such as malt .
  • Research: If I still questioned if a cereal was gluten free, I researched the brand online, carefully inspecting the companys website.
  • Nima Sensor Test: Finally, I used my Nima Sensor to test each cereal.
  • Recommended Reading: Is Boar’s Head Gluten Free

    Are Cheerios Gluten

    Cheerios contain no gluten-containing ingredients AND they have a gluten-free label on the packaging. For any food product to have a gluten-free label, it must contain less than 20ppm of gluten.

    We can safely say that Cheerios are gluten-free and safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet.

    Read on: Are Cheerios gluten-free?

    How To Make Gluten

    Protein Pack Cereal Chevdo or Chivda Chewda Making in BulkVideo Recipe | Bhavna’s Kitchen
    • Line a 9-inch x 13-inch pan with parchment paper or grease with gluten-free cooking spray.
    • Measure out 2 cups of the mini marshmallows and set aside to add at the end of the recipe.
    • In a large pot, melt the butter on low heat. Do not turn up the heat or you could brown your butter.
    • Add mini marshmallows and stir until they are completely melted.
    • Add the pure vanilla extract, milk, and salt and stir until fully combined.
    • Turn off the heat or remove the pot from the heat.
    • Add the gluten-free crispy rice cereal and mix until the cereal is completely coated with the marshmallow mixture.
    • Add the remaining 2 cups of mini marshmallows and stir until fully combined and slightly melted.
    • Using a greased spatula, spoon the mixture into the prepared pan. Smooth the mixture to make even.
    • Wet your hands and lightly press the mixture down into the pan.
    • Cover with plastic wrap and allow them to cool at room temperature for 1 hour. You can also place them in the refrigerator to chill for 1 hour.
    • Cut into squares and serve. Enjoy!

    You May Like: Sam’s Choice Gluten Free Bread

    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    Gluten Free Snacks At Walmart

    Gluten Free Diet For Kids

    - Advertisment -