Monday, September 26, 2022
HomeFactsWhat Does Gluten Free Mean

What Does Gluten Free Mean

- Advertisment -

Difference Between Gluten Free And Wheat Free

What Does Gluten-Free Mean?

There are a few differences between gluten free and wheat free. One note to make is that it is possible for someone to be on a wheat free diet and not need to be on a gluten free diet. However, if someone is on a gluten free diet for health issues, it is also necessary for them to be on a wheat free diet. ALL wheat has gluten in it.

A gluten free diet is necessary for people suffering from Crohn’s Disease, Celiac Disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome , bloating, gas, and allergic reactions to gluten. A wheat free diet is usually associated with an allergic reaction to wheat itself. A wheat allergy might include skin irritations, rashes, hives, nasal congestion, and digestive tract issues among other symptoms.

Because gluten is in all wheat products, anyone with digestive problems related to gluten should also avoid wheat products. Some of the benefits of going gluten free and wheat free are better digestion, weight loss, more energy, and a potential reduction in inflammation caused by rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia. A gluten free diet has also been shown to help some children with autism.

Gluten Free Products from Food for LifeFood for Life has many gluten free and wheat free products available. Some of the most popular Gluten Free and Wheat Free foods include:

Collection Of Known Gluten Free Drugs And Medications

  • Acetaminophen w Codeine 30 mg
  • Aci-Jel
  • Aleve
  • Alka Seltzer Gold
  • Allerclear Loratadine
  • Allopurinol
  • Aspirin Enteric Coated 325mg
  • Aspirin 81 mg chewable
  • Atacand
  • Bufferin-all products
  • Bugs Bunny Chewables
  • Chlortrimeton 8mg and 12 mg extend tabs
  • Chlortrimeton liquid
  • Clarinex Reditabs-company does not know source of starch
  • Claritin
  • Codiclear DH
  • Cognex
  • Crestor-contains no starch but company wont verify
  • that product is GF
  • Dicyclomine
  • Didronel
  • Estratab-possible gluten in active ingredient
  • Estratest-possible gluten in active ingredient
  • Estrostep
  • Extendryl syrup, JR and SR caps

What Does Vegan Mean

To begin with, veganism is not only a diet but an ethical posture. It is seeks to stop all animal exploitation for food, clothing or any other purpose.

Vegans do not eat meat or animals based products such as, dairy, eggs, or honey. As a plant-based diet, veganism doesnt have any concern about gluten. Furthermore, popular gluten-filled foods like bread, pasta, barley, and rye are staples on most vegan diets.

You May Like: Is Sesame Oil Gluten Free

Tip : Know Your Foods

There are plenty of foods unsuspecting gluten intolerant individuals can fall prey to. Its important to know what common foods that contain gluten are, such as salad dressings, tortillas, soy sauce, and even barbeque sauces. Be sure to educate yourself on the key ingredients to look for when checking packages to avoid any possible discomfort associated with consuming foods that contain gluten.

Who Should Follow Gluten Free Diet

What the *bleep* does Gluten

Actually, gluten is not dangerous. It is like the common protein. However, different people may have different immune systems. There are many cases where people have weak immune systems so that they are not tolerant with gluten. In this case, they need to follow a diet that requires them to eat gluten free foods. This diet is called as gluten free diet. That is why you need to understand the topic of what does gluten free mean so that if you find your condition to have gluten intolerant you have to follow this diet.

There are many cases where people need to follow a gluten free diet. The first is those who have celiac disease. It can lead fatigue, weight loss, chronic diarrhea, abdominal pain, bloating, etc. With this condition, they have to meet a doctor and they are usually required to avoid foods with gluten. Besides that, there are many people who have gluten sensitivity condition. They are recommended to follow a gluten free diet. Still related to what gluten free means, people with a gluten intolerance condition have to avoid gluten foods and prioritize gluten free foods.

Also Check: Is There Gluten Free Flour

What Does Gluten Mean

Before we talk more about what is gluten free, it will be better to know what gluten is. Gluten is a kind of protein compound mostly found in oats, rye, barley, and grain wheat. There are many foods that contain gluten. One of them is rice either white rice or brown rice. Besides that, corn or called as maize contain gluten. Quinoa belongs to gluten foods. In addition, gluten foods include potatoes, amaranth, millet, etc. Anyway, you have to be careful with foods that are gluten.

Rationale Behind Adoption Of The Diet

Coeliac disease is a chronic, immune-mediated, and mainly intestinal process, caused by the ingestion of wheat, barley, rye and derivatives, that appears in genetically predisposed people of all ages. Coeliac disease is not only a gastrointestinal disease, because it may affect several organs and cause an extensive variety of non-gastrointestinal symptoms, and most importantly, it may often be completely asymptomatic. Added difficulties for diagnosis are the fact that serological markers are not always present and many people with coeliac may have minor mucosal lesions, without atrophy of the intestinal villi. A 2017 study found that gluten is not related to a risk of coronary heart disease in people without celiac disease.

Coeliac disease with “classic symptoms”, which include gastrointestinal manifestations such as chronic diarrhea and abdominal distention, malabsorption, loss of appetite, and impaired growth, is currently the least common presentation form of the disease and affects predominantly to small children generally younger than two years of age.

Following a lifelong gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment for people with coeliac disease.

Recommended Reading: How To Cut Gluten Out Of Your Diet

The Double Whammy: Wheat Free Vs Gluten Free

Weve learned thus far that, if youre going wheat-free, youre likely to still run into gluten in some way, in some form, if youre not paying attention. But, if youre going gluten-free, youll naturally go wheat-free since youre avoiding most grains. So, if youre looking to go both wheat- and gluten-free, its not as hardcore as you think! Youd simply be gluten-free and, in many cases, better for it.

Fortunately, gluten-free bread is not only delicious but made with safe and healthy ingredients like gluten-free grains, such as brown rice, buckwheat, and nut flours, and natural sweeteners, such as raw honey and pure maple syrup. And Outrageous Baking specializes in making them!

For over 14 years, weve been cooking up a variety of gluten-free and dairy-free sweet breads and other baked goods that can safely be enjoyed by those with food allergies and shared with anyone else. Of course, that means no wheat!

Visit us today to explore our recipes and to have freshly baked gluten-free goodness delivered to your footstep!

Should I Go Gluten Free

What Does “Gluten Free” Really Mean?

For people with a gluten related disorder, eliminating the gluten proteins from their diet is a medical necessity. For the rest, however, its a misguided change in diet that might do more harm than good.

For most people, cutting out gluten from their diet essentially means cutting out wheat. And unless wheat is replaced with another grain, it means a diet lacking in fibre and important nutrients such as vitamin B12, phosphorous and zinc, as several studies have found. It also means missing out on the health benefits of eating whole grains, which have been widely documented.

According to Dr. Zubeda Tumbi, a clinical nutritionist in Mumbai, most people turn to gluten free foods as a quick fix to make them feel better about their choices and weight. Its a mindset as worrying to her as the effects of the diet on people who dont need it.

I meet several clients who have tried a juice cleanse or any of these fad diets , and they come to me for help with repairing the damage, Dr. Tumbi says. Some of them have nutritional deficiencies, or their hair is falling out.

She has seen several clients adopt a gluten free diet in the belief they are eating more healthfully. But upon questioning them, she discovers they are eating gluten free cakes, breads, or biscuits, many of which contain artificial additives, additional sugar, or fat far more unhealthy substances than gluten.

Also Check: Vegan Ice Cream Gluten Free

How Do You Know If You Have A Gluten Problem

Celiac disease is confirmed through a blood test for gluten antibodies and a bowel biopsy. A wheat allergy is diagnosed by undergoing a standard allergy skin prick or blood test. NCGS is confirmed only by eliminating celiac disease and wheat allergy, as there is no biomarker for the disorder.

This very the ambiguity around NCGS has resulted in a large number of people self-diagnosing, without any evidence, giving rise to a myth that gluten is a toxin and must be shunned a recent study found that one-third of Americans aim to go a gluten free for no reason at all. While similar data for India does not exist, the rise of gluten free cafes and supermarket aisles is proof that gluten anxiety is fast taking root.

Why Eat Gluten Free

Some individuals have an intolerance or sensitivity to gluten the most severe intolerance being Celiac disease. Celiac Sprue disease is an immune disorder that mimics several gastroenterology illnesses and has no typical symptoms. Some individuals have no warning signs at all. Diagnosis is often delayed, as much as by ten years or more. Celiac is surprisingly common- one in 250 people in the U.S. test positive for the antibody, and it is thought that actual numbers of people with the disease may be closer to one in 150. Left untreated, there is an increased risk of cancer and other autoimmune disorders. Strong associations with osteoporosis and insulin dependent diabetes have also been found.

Living a completely gluten-free lifestyle is the only known treatment at present. Gluten found in wheat, barley, and rye contain particular amino acid sequences that are harmful to persons with celiac disease. There is also debate as to whether or not the gluten found in oats is damaging to some celiacs.

Those with gluten sensitivities must also beware of labeling often times natural flavors means gluten. Also, commercial products sometimes use gluten as a thickener for instance, popsicles often contain gluten.

To learn more about celiac disease, visit The Celiac Sprue Association.

Also Check: Lactose And Gluten Intolerance Test

Baking Mixes And Supplies

As a gluten-free vegetarian or vegan shopping for baking mixes, youll obviously be going after the gluten-free-marked products. The same way, youll also need to watch out for animal ingredients since many of the options available contain either milk or eggs.

Cherrybrook Kitchen has a full line of gluten-free mixes to be vegan, and most of Pamelas Products mixes also are vegan including cakes, brownies, cookies, and pancakes batter.

Made On Shared Equipment Or Made In A Shared Facility

What It Means to Go Gluten Free: An Infographic  Hi

Advisory warnings such as made on shared equipment or made in a shared facility are common. What do these really mean, and how seriously should you consider them?

The FDA study found that if a food contained an advisory label such as made on shared equipment, 43% of the products contained unacceptable gluten levels. Again, if we take out products containing oats, we are left with only four products to evaluate that contained an advisory label.

This is hardly a large enough sample on which to base a recommendation. On this point, further evaluation is needed. If the risk of cross-contamination is high, such as in a shared facility or production line for baked goods, it is wise to avoid these products. The risk may be lower for non-bakery products, where there is no aerosolized gluten, but it depends on many different factors at the production facility.

Gluten-free shoppers often assume that advisory warnings on labels protect the company from a legal standpoint and are not related to the consumers actual risk. While this may be true in some cases, many companies are doing it to maintain transparency and protect the consumer from real risk.

When possible, it is best to contact the manufacturer to clarify the risk if its not clear. There are many safe gluten-free alternatives today and countless naturally gluten-free foods available. Hopefully, other options will be available if a warning cannot be clarified.

Take home points: Take warning labels seriously.

You May Like: Vegan And Gluten Free Snacks

There’s So Much More To Enjoy

Along with wine, potatoes, and rice, there are even more delicious foods and drinks that are safe to enjoy on a gluten-free diet, such as eggs, fish, meat, fruits, vegetables, and milk products.

A small note: When using frozen or canned fruits and vegetables, check for additives that might contain gluten. The same goes for processed cheese spreads and flavored yogurts.

It Doesnt Necessarily Lead To Weight Loss

Maybe youve heard a friend or a celebrity talk about how much weight theyve lost on a gluten-free diet. In reality, its likely not the absence of gluten that made them drop the pounds.

I think a lot of people find they lose weight, but its probably because theyre cutting out a lot of sugar and processed foods that also contain a lot of calories, Goldhaber says. Its really the calories that are making the difference, not the gluten.

You May Like: How To Get Rid Of Gluten Belly

Tip : Make Your Own Baked Goods

Baked goods are a likely candidate for containing gluten. Its a sad fact of life. Thankfully, many bakeries now recognize the growing trend toward a gluten-free lifestyle and have started to incorporate tasty treats!

If you enjoy baking, then youre in luck too! There are many gluten-free dessert options these days that are just as tasty as their gluten-containing counterparts.

What Is The Best Way To Start Your Day Gluten

What Does Gluten Free Really Mean?

For many, the fight with gluten begins in the morning. Is cereal gluten-free? When you buy your cereal, make sure that it is labelled gluten-free. Then you are definitely on the safe side. Milk and yoghurt are also gluten-free in principle milk substitutes should always be labelled as well. For example, we offer a wide range of gluten-free mueslis, with which you can start the day full of energy and healthy.

Oatmeal, which is becoming increasingly popular as a breakfast, is also ideal for a gluten-free diet. Oats are basically gluten-free. Nevertheless, it is an advantage for people with coeliac condition to buy oats clearly labelled as gluten-free. Oats are often grown and processed together with other gluten-containing products, which can lead to contamination with gluten. You should also make sure that there are no toppings in the porridge that could spoil your plans.

Easy to recognise by the gluten-free seal: our gluten-free Porridges

Maybe a delicious Strawberry-Chia Porridge or our Blueberry-Apple Porridge? A hot breakfast is not only extraordinarily healthy, but also gives you the energy you need to enjoy your day to the full.

Also Check: Gluten And Dairy Free Frozen Meals

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -