Saturday, May 25, 2024
HomeEditor PicksIs Whole Wheat Gluten Free

Is Whole Wheat Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Comparison With Other Staple Foods

Hearty Whole Grain Bread ~ Gluten Free

The following table shows the nutrient content of wheat and other major staple foods in a raw form on a dry weight basis to account for their different water contents.

Raw forms of these staples, however, are not edible and cannot be digested. These must be sprouted, or prepared and cooked as appropriate for human consumption. In sprouted or cooked form, the relative nutritional and anti-nutritional contents of each of these staples is remarkably different from that of the raw form, as reported in this table.

In cooked form, the nutrition value for each staple depends on the cooking method .

Nutrient content of 10 major per 100 g dry weight,


Best Overall: Cappellos Almond Flour Fettuccine

  • Texture is similar to regular pasta

  • Also compatible with paleo diets

  • Ready to eat in 90 seconds

  • Expensive

The owners of Capellos set out on a mission to create pasta that could be enjoyed by all discerning pasta lovers, regardless of dietary restriction and they found their answer in one main ingredient: almond flour. Capellos pasta combines almond flour with a handful of other recognizable ingredientscage-free eggs, tapioca flour, xanthan gum, and sea saltto create a gluten-free, grain-free pasta that is beloved by customers.

Many of these customers give this fettuccine top marks for its taste and texture, which they say could go head to head with any regular semolina wheat pastabut is suitable for more restrictive diets. In addition to fettuccine, Cappellos also offers spaghetti, lasagna sheets, and gnocchi, in a regular or sweet potato version.

Unlike the other dry pastas on this list, Capellos, which feels the closest to homemade pasta, is kept frozen until youre ready to eat it. But the good thing about this that many people also highlight: Once you put it in the boiling water, its ready to go in 90 seconds.

Base Ingredient: Almond flour | Net Weight: 9 ounces | Protein: 6 grams per serving | Fiber: 3 grams per serving

Which Foods Contain Gluten

Gluten is the sticky protein that gives bread, muffins, and pastries their ability to stretch and pull apart, which makes it easy to differentiate them from gluten-free grains. For example, a light, fluffy croissant will stretch apart when you break off a piece for your friend because gluten gives it the desirable stretchy properties.

On the other hand, a piece of gluten-free rice bread or a gluten-free pastry will be dense and crumble when you try to pull it apart .

Aside from wheat, gluten is found in other grains such as kamut, spelt, barley, and rye. Oats are naturally gluten-free, but often become contaminated with gluten when theyre processed. This is why oats should always be assumed to contain gluten unless theyre certified gluten-free on the label.

The tricky thing about gluten is that its not just found in grains, but many processed foods, sauces, and condiments. This can make it difficult to avoid if youre not sure where to look for it. Here are a few other foods gluten hides in:

Gluten isnt just limited to food sources either. Body care products and cosmetics contain gluten, which can be absorbed through your skin and produce the same reaction as if youd eaten it.

Also Check: Are Rice Chex Gluten Free

What Is A Gluten

This is essentially a diet that removes all foods containing or contaminated with gluten. However, since gluten-containing whole grains contain fiber and nutrients including B vitamins, magnesium, and iron, its important to make up for these missing nutrients. Along with consuming naturally gluten-free foods in their whole form like fruits, vegetables, legumes, nuts, seeds, fish, eggs, and poultry, the following whole grains are also inherently gluten-free:

Its also key not to rely on processed gluten-free foods that may be high in calories, sugar, saturated fat, and sodium and low in nutrients, such as gluten-free cookies, chips, and other snack foods. Often, these foods are made with processed unfortified rice, tapioca, corn, or potato flours.

Risks And Side Effects

The Health

Its important to find out if you have celiac or a sensitivity if you suspect you have problems with gluten. There are tests that your general practitioner or nutritionist can run to ensure you are not gluten-intolerant. Make sure to pay close attention to any allergic reactions that may occur when eating any foods that contain gluten, and know your labels.

As noted above, gluten is found in many foods. Its not easy to avoid if you arent paying attention however, with practice, it can be avoided given the numerous options available today.

Recommended Reading: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

Whole Wheat Vs Whole Grain: What You Should Know

Whole wheat is a whole grain, but not all whole grains are whole wheat, says Krista Maguire, RD, CSSD, Beachbodys Nutrition Manager. In fact, some whole grains contain no wheat at all.

Say what?

Thats perhaps the most confusing thing about these terms. Heres how it works: Whole grains contain all three edible parts of the grain: the outer bran, the germ, and the endosperm.

On the other hand, refined or processed grains lack at least one of these layers and therefore nutrients.

Some common whole grains include:

  • amaranth
  • wild rice
  • wheat

While some of these grains end up processed before you find them on supermarket shelves, they start out life as whole grains.

Now that you know what whole grains are, you can probably guess what whole wheat is.

One-hundred percent whole wheat means the bran and germ of the wheat grain are left intact, which increases the fiber and nutrient contents of the grain, explains Cynthia Sass, MPH, RD, a nutritionist who runs a private practice specializing in plant-based diets and performance.

What Can You Eat On A Gluten

A gluten-free diet may sound restrictive, but it really just comes down to eating fewer processed foods and grains and focusing on whole foods like fruits, vegetables, healthy fats, and lean proteinwhich is the best way to support your overall health anyways.

  • Gluten-Free Grains: brown rice, buckwheat, jasmine rice, quinoa, teff, amaranth, wild rice, and nut flour such as coconut and almond flour
  • Condiments: coconut aminos , most varieties of regular mustard and Dijon mustard, most natural brands of ketchup are gluten-free
  • Sweeteners: raw honey, pure maple syrup, green leaf stevia, coconut sugar, date sugar

Since gluten hides in most processed, boxed, and packaged foods, its easiest to follow a gluten-free diet when you prepare your meals at home where you can control exactly which condiments, sweeteners, and grains go into your meals .

And lets not forget: gluten-free isnt just a buzzword anymore. With the increasing sensitivities, many restaurants and grocery stores have gluten-free options available.

Note: Although many packaged and pre-prepared foods have a gluten-free label, keep in mind that gluten-free doesnt always mean healthy. Most processed foods still contain high amounts of refined sugar, food additives, and preservatives.

Read Also: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix

Little Northern Bakehouse Seeds And Grains Bread

Price: $

Little Northern Bakehouse is a gluten-free, plant-based bakery that produces products in a facility that has been audited and certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Program and GFCO.

In addition to being gluten-free, all of its products are non-GMO-verified and free of major allergens, including eggs, soy, dairy, tree nuts, and peanuts.

Its Seeds and Grains Bread has an overall short ingredient list that includes a mixture of gluten-free flours, whole grains, and seeds, including flax, chia, and pumpkin seeds.

One slice provides approximately 85 calories, 2.5 grams of fat, less than 0.5 grams of saturated fat, 110 mg of sodium, 16 grams of carbs, 2 grams of fiber, 4 grams of sugar, and 1 gram of protein .

Little Northern Bakehouse Seeds and Grains Bread can be stored at room temperature for up to 9 days. However, for longer periods of storage, its recommended to keep the bread in the freezer for up to 6 months.

In addition to sandwich bread, the company offers gluten-free bagels and hamburger buns, both of which are likewise made with high quality ingredients and free of major allergens.

Flour Isn’t Always Wheat

What is Buckwheat? An Intro to this Gluten Free Whole Grain

Although most flour is made from wheat, flour doesn’t have to be made from wheatby definition, “flour” is simply a powdery substance made by grinding a starch. The starch is usually a grain, but not always.

You can make flour from almonds, chestnuts, and even potatoes in addition to different types of grains, and many companies sell these specialty flours. People following a low-carb diet often use almond flour in place of grain-based flours, for example.

Flours made from a starch other than wheat, barley, or rye are usually gluten-free . If a label says “gluten-free”, it complies with the Food and Drug Administration’s gluten-free guidelines and should be safe for those on gluten-free diets to eat.

When you’re reading ingredient labels, you’ll see that flour made from anything other than wheat always will be identified as suchfor example, it will be listed as “rice flour,””soy flour,””chestnut flour,””almond flour” or ” flour” instead of just as “flour.”

You May Like: Kraft Italian Dressing Gluten Free

Difference Between Gluten Free And Wheat Free

There are a few differences between gluten free and wheat free. One note to make is that it is possible for someone to be on a wheat free diet and not need to be on a gluten free diet. However, if someone is on a gluten free diet for health issues, it is also necessary for them to be on a wheat free diet. ALL wheat has gluten in it.

A gluten free diet is necessary for people suffering from Crohn’s Disease, Celiac Disease, Irritable Bowel Syndrome , bloating, gas, and allergic reactions to gluten. A wheat free diet is usually associated with an allergic reaction to wheat itself. A wheat allergy might include skin irritations, rashes, hives, nasal congestion, and digestive tract issues among other symptoms.

Because gluten is in all wheat products, anyone with digestive problems related to gluten should also avoid wheat products. Some of the benefits of going gluten free and wheat free are better digestion, weight loss, more energy, and a potential reduction in inflammation caused by rheumatoid arthritis and fibromyalgia. A gluten free diet has also been shown to help some children with autism.

Gluten Free Products from Food for LifeFood for Life has many gluten free and wheat free products available. Some of the most popular Gluten Free and Wheat Free foods include:

When Gluten Is A Problem

Whats not great about gluten is that it can cause serious side effects in certain individuals. Some people react differently to gluten, where the body senses it as a toxin, causing ones immune cells to overreact and attack it. If an unknowingly sensitive person continues to eat gluten, this creates a kind of battle ground resulting in inflammation. The side effects can range from mild to severe as seen in the autoimmune disorder celiac disease. Estimates suggest that 1 in 133 Americans has celiac disease, or about 1% of the population, but about 83% of them are undiagnosed or misdiagnosed with other conditions. Research shows that people with celiac disease also have a slightly higher risk of osteoporosis and anemia infertility nerve disorders and in rare cases cancer. The good news is that removing gluten from the diet may reverse the damage. A gluten-free diet is the primary medical treatment for celiac disease. However, understanding and following a strict gluten-free diet can be challenging, possibly requiring the guidance of a registered dietitian to learn which foods contain gluten and to ensure that adequate nutrients are obtained from gluten-free alternatives. Other conditions that may require the reduction or elimination of gluten in the diet include:

Does gluten cause brain fog?

Read Also: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Gluten Free

Who Should Follow A Gluten

Of course, anyone whos been medically diagnosed with celiac disease should follow a gluten-free diet to avoid coming into contact with gluten. But what if you dont have celiac disease? Should you still go gluten-free?

With the growing number of suspected gluten sensitivities, anyone who has gluten in their diet and experiences symptoms such as digestive discomfort, bowel irregularity, skin problems, brain fog, bloating, or fatigue, may benefit from a gluten-free diet, even if they dont have a true gluten allergy. Anyone with leaky gut syndrome should also avoid gluten.

Leaky gut syndrome is also a digestive condition thats been shown to be caused and worsened by gluten . This is because gluten triggers the release of a protein called zonulin, which breaks apart the tight junctions in the digestive tract when overproduced . Over time, this exact mechanism is what allows small holes to form in the intestinal lining, causing it to become leaky.

Since leaky gut is now being recognized as an underlying cause of autoimmune conditions, inflammatory skin conditions, and digestive symptoms, removing gluten from your diet may not only improve your symptoms, but also prevent you from developing leaky gut down the road .

Step #1: Try completely eliminating gluten from your diet for at least 3 weeks, and closely tracking your energy levels, mood, digestion, and any other symptoms in a food and symptom journal .

Gluten Free Diet: Building The Grocery List

The Health

Gluten is a type of protein found in wheat, barley and rye, as well as foods made from these grains. Consuming even the smallest amounts can damage the intestines of someone with celiac disease. Because of this, individuals with celiac disease must follow a strict gluten-free diet. Here are a few tips on building a grocery list and navigating the aisles.

Build Your Grocery List

There are many grains and flours available that dont have gluten. Some safe choices to add to your grocery list include rice, wild rice, corn , sorghum, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, amaranth, teff, Indian rice grass and gluten-free oats*. These grains may be found intact, like when you buy a bag of rice, or ground into a flour. Some other gluten-free flours you may come across include sago, soy, potato, tapioca, garbanzo bean and arrowroot.

Other foods that are naturally gluten-free include single ingredient foods like fresh fruits and vegetables, milk, butter, eggs, lentils, nuts and seeds, fish and poultry, honey and water.

*Oats are, by nature, gluten-free. However, they are often contaminated with other gluten-containing grains during processing. Many individuals with celiac disease are able to tolerate about a ½ cup of dry gluten-free oats per day.

Keep It Off the List

In the Aisles

Finally, don’t hesitate to speak to your grocer about grains you would like to have available in your store.


Read Also: Is Kraft Ranch Dressing Gluten Free

The Bottom Line On Wheat Gluten And Grains

To sum up the research on gluten currently, a gluten-free diet is only clinically indicated for those with celiac disease or true non-celiac gluten sensitivity. Evidence does not support gluten-free diets for any other condition including hypothyroidism, PCOS, IBD, arthritis, autism, ADHD, or anything else despite what you may have heard.

And its definitely a bad idea for healthy adults, given what weve learned about the detrimental effects of a low-fiber diet.

So to recap:

  • Whole-grain consumption is consistently associated with reduced rates of chronic diseases.
  • Eating whole grains supports a healthy microbiome, which has widespread benefits for health.
  • Most people dont have an allergy or an intolerance to gluten.
  • Those who think they may be gluten sensitive may actually be reacting to another component of wheat called fructans.
  • Eating sprouted or long-fermented grains reduces fructans which may cause digestive distress.
  • People with celiac disease who follow a gluten-free diet should pay close attention to their fiber intake and fill their plate with plenty of gluten-free grains, beans, nuts, seeds, fruits, and vegetables to ensure theyre getting enough fiber on a daily basis.
  • I hope this info allows you to enjoy your sprouted grain tempeh lettuce and tomato sandwich in peace.

    PIN the post! > >

    Weigh-in: Have you ever avoided wheat, gluten, or grains because you heard they were bad for health?

    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -