Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeExclusiveIs Rice Krispies Cereal Gluten Free

Is Rice Krispies Cereal Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Organic Quinoa Cocoa Crisps

Gluten Free Rice Krispies Treats

This crispy and cocoa-forward cereal is a fun substitution for Rice Krispies because of the cocoa flavour, aka has a chocolate-feel

The main ingredient in this cereal is puffed quinoa, which makes it naturally gluten-free.

Puffed quinoa is made by “baking” those small almost seed-like quinoa grains, which makes up them all puff up and out.

Puffed quinoa can be eaten with some milk for a quick breakfast, added to yogurt, used in homemade cereal bars and even in salads for a special crunchy and nutritious touch.

And if you don’t want the “cocoa” taste of this cereal, you can buy plain, crispy puffed quinoa only from GoGo Quinoa or from a bulk food or health food store.

Although quinoa is gluten-free and there’s only the 1 ingredient in puffed quinoa on it’s own, cross contamination with gluten-containing products typically cannot be ruled out in a bulk food store setting.

If you know you’re very sensitive to any cross-mingling with gluten containing ingredients or have celiac disease, you might want to avoid these.

Nutritional Content of Quinoa Cocoa Crisps cereal: For a ¾ cup serving, the nutritional breakdown of this cereal is:

  • 110 calories

Coco crisps are not a significant source of any vitamins or minerals, including iron.

Ingredients in Quinoa Cocoa Crisps cereal:

Quinoa flour*, Sugar* , Brown rice flour*, White rice flour*, Inulin* , Cacao powder*, Pea protein*, Oat flour*.

*Organic ingredients

Taste Test of Quinoa Cocoa Crisps: I give this cereal an A-

When Crisp Rice Cereal Isnt Just Rice Rice Krispies Cereal Isnt Gf

Since rice is naturally gluten free, you might wonder, are Rice Krispies are gluten free ? Conventional Kelloggs Rice Krispies are made with malt syrup, derived from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain. They are most definitely not gluten free.

In 2011, though, Kelloggs introduced a gluten free variety of their famous snap, crackle and pop Rice Krispies that was sold in conventional grocery stores all over the U.S. However, they were discontinued in the U.S. just a few years later. The gluten free variety is, however, still available in Canada.

When they were first available in the U.S., my gluten free son had only had Erewhon brand crisp rice cereal, and theyre great. Ive used them for baking for years.

But I had a fondness for Kelloggs brand, as I grew up eating them, so I bought a box. They were, well, pretty much the same as I rememberand tasted very similar to 3 of the 5 brands below.

How To Make Rice Krispie Treats

First, gather and measure ingredients. Keep the extra marshmallows separate, youll be adding them in at the end and will want to have them handy.This recipe comes together quickly so youll want to have everything ready.

Lightly grease your pan. I really like the brand Good Cook and almost always use their 9 x 13 pan and wooden spoon for this recipe. I linked to both in the recipe card below if youre interested in ordering either from Amazon.

Melt butter and marshmallows together. Stir with a sturdy spoon until everything is melted and smooth.

Remove the pan from heat and stir in the vanilla and extra marshmallows. Because the mixture is now starting to cool off, these marshmallows wont melt completely, leaving small pieces of soft marshmallows throughout your rice krispie treats. This step really takes the recipe up a notch!

Add crispy rice cereal . Go ahead and dump it all in, then stir with a sturdy spoon until its thoroughly combined.

Spread into prepared pan, pressing down gently. Dont pack it in, you want these bars to be nice and gooey and light.

Rice Krispie Treats can be enjoyed right away, but they will be easier to cut if you allow them a few minutes to cool.

Store any leftovers in an airtight container or wrapped tightly in plastic wrap.

This rice krispie treats recipe is so easy, there really isnt a way to mess it up. But let me tell you that adding the extra marshmallows in the end makes allllll the difference!

Dont Miss: Panko Breadcrumbs Walmart Aisle

Recommended Reading: Blood Test For Gluten Intolerance

Why Is Sugar Not Considered Vegan

Some sugar is vegan. Those that use a bone char process are not considered to be ethically vegan. Bone char is a process of using charcoal made from animal bones to make sugar white. Beet and coconut sugars do not use a bone char process and therefore are vegan. If sugarcane granules or powder is bright white this indicates that a bone char process was used in the making of it. This means that almost all white cane sugar is not vegan.

Human Right Violations Of Palm Oil In 2016

Kellogg

According to Amnesty International in 2016, Kelloggs palm oil provider Wilmar International profited from 8 to 14-year-old child labor and forced labor. Some workers were extorted, threatened or not paid for work. Some workers suffered severe injuries from chemicals such as Paraquat. Kelloggs alleged not being aware of the child abuses due to traceability Amnestys human rights director replied that Using mealy-mouthed excuses about traceability is a total cop-out.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Corn Muffin Mix

Best Option For Gluten

Alright, so when it comes down to finding a substitute for gluten-free rice krispies, in my opinion, here’s the best options:

In first place: Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Brown Rice. If you’re looking for a straight-up replacement for regular rice krispies, this is a great gluten-free rice krispie option.

In second place, I’d put Kellogg’s Gluten-Free Rice Krispies. Mainly because of the availability issue. They’re hard to find outside of Canada.

And in third, my vote goes to Chex, the cinnamon variety. They have a great taste and are fortified like other cereals so you’re still getting the nutrition you expect from a boxed cereal.

Now, let’s go make some gluten-free rice krispie treats because yes, marshmallows are gluten free

~April

Are Rice Crispy Treats Dairy

Most rice crispy treats contain dairy in the form of butter. If you make your own rice crispy treats at home, butter is one of the three main ingredients in this recipe.

If you buy Kelloggs rice krispy treats from the store, these also contain dairy in the form of natural and artificial butter flavor. You can see the full list of ingredients in this product on their website.

You can make your own rice crispy treats at home to be dairy-free by swapping out the butter for vegan butter or coconut oil in any traditional recipe. Ive done this in my gluten-free rice krispie treat recipe thats also dairy-free.

Don’t Miss: Is Yoplait Yogurt Gluten Free

Are Kelloggs Rice Krispies Treats Gluten Free

Today were going to be taking a look at whether Kelloggs Rice Krispies Treats are gluten-free or not. Well also be taking a look at alternative gluten-free rice krispy-style treats. Kelloggs Rice Krispies Treats are an extremely popular lunchtime favorite. Theyre gooey rice and marshmallow goodness. Perfect to start off your day or as a snack and definitely a household name.

Are Fruity Pebbles Gluten Free

Gingerbread Rice Krispie (gluten-free)

Yes, Fruity Pebbles are gluten free and labeled as such too. The Gluten Free label is seen on the side panel of the cereal box and under the ingredient list.

Fruity Pebbles are made from rice, sugar, oil and a whole bunch of food dye. No gluten in sight, and Nima is all smiles, assuring me that its gluten free.

Please note that Cocoa Pebbles are also labeled gluten free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Alternative To Couscous

Read Also: Easy Gluten Free Lunch Ideas

One Degree Veganic Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps

This cereal ismade from non-gluten ingredients including organic sprouted brown rice, organic coconut palm sugar, unrefined salt, and tocopherols. The box states that the cereal is gluten-free.

However, the smaller print indicates that it is manufactured in a facility that uses wheat, soy, tree nuts, and dairy. As a result, the potential for cross-contamination exists and those with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity should be cautious.

Does Buckwheat Flour Have Gluten

Despite the word wheat in its name, buckwheat is a naturally gluten-free food that is related to the rhubarb plant. Its a versatile grain that can be steamed and eaten in place of rice, or the whole seeds can be ground into a fine flour. Buckwheat has high levels of fiber and is a great source of protein.

Don’t Miss: Nothing Bundt Cakes Gluten Free Options

What Brands Make Gluten

Kelloggs stopped selling gluten-free versions of Rice Krispies a few years ago because of low sales.

Fortunately, however, other brands make gluten-free rice cereal treats. Popular options include Back to Nature Gluten-Free Sprout and Shine Cereal, Malt-O-Meal Crispy Rice Cereal , and Millville Crispy Rice Cereal .

Other brands that make gluten-free rice cereal include:

  • One Degree Organic

Is Aldi Cereal Healthy

Rice Krispies Gluten Free

Unfortunately, even though the store is the ideal stop for countless grocery items, most of Aldis cereals are very high in sugar. In fact, Choice reviewed 170 kinds of cereals including several from Aldi. Most kinds from Aldi were ranked around 2.5 out of 5. Two Aldi cereals were healthy enough to get a 5-star rating.

You May Like: Sabatinos Paleo Chicken Sausage Recipes

Don’t Miss: Is Oatly Oat Milk Gluten Free

Are Kelloggs Rice Krispies Gluten

No. In the U.S., Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal is NOT gluten-free. Its made with malt syrup, which is made from barley and contains gluten. It is not safe to eat for individuals with gluten intolerance or Celiac disease.

For a while, Kelloggs DID carry a variety of gluten-free Rice Krispies, but they discontinued them, reporting difficulty of making it and low interest.

Can You Freeze Rice Krispy Treats

Yes, you definitely can. Place a layer of parchment paper between the layers and store them in a freezer bag or container. Can be frozen for up to 2 months.

Thaw on the countertop. These are also really good while they are still slightly frozen.

More ways to make rice krispies: I have two more ways for you to make gluten-free rice krispie treats that are a little fancier. See the recipe card below for directions.

Read Also: Gluten Free Sugar Free Granola

Is Aldi Oat Milk Gluten

Oat milk: 89p

This milk isnt gluten-free as it uses regular oats, but I thought Id give it a mention anyway as I know some of my readers are just wheat-free. Its literally just oats and water as the ingredients, which is so refreshing compared to some brands which add sugar and lots of emulsifiers.

Recommended Reading: Publix Pizza Dough Ingredients

How To Make Rice Krispie Squares

Gluten Free Rice Krispie Squares

First, melt butter in a large pot or skillet. Add the marshmallows and continue to heat, stirring until they have completely melted. Stir in the vanilla.

Then, remove from heat and stir in the cereal until it has been evenly coated.

Next, gently spread the cereal mixture into a prepped casserole dish. Press gently to even the mixture out, if the mixture is too compact it will be hard to eat.

Finally, allow to cool for about before cutting.

Scroll down to the printable recipe card toward the bottom of this article for ingredient measurements and detailed cooking instructions.

Melt butter, marshmallows, and vanilla together. Stir in cereal, then gently press into a lined pan. Allow to set.

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Giant Pasta Shells

Does Ice Cream Have Gluten

Ice cream can be gluten-free depending on its ingredients and how it’s processed. Common, single flavor ice creams such as strawberry, vanilla, chocolate, or coffee are often gluten-free. … Ice cream cones typically contain gluten unless labelled otherwise. Many toppings can also contain gluten, such as cookie crumbles.

History Of Kellogg’s Rice Krispies

It all started with 3 words: Snap, Crackle, Pop!

Just picture your 7 year old self: You get the cereal in the bowl, you pour the milk overtop , and you get your ear over that giant mound of Rice Krispies.

And what do you hear? SNAP, CRACKLE and POP of course!

Okay, 80s food icons aside, Rice Krisipies have been around for a loooong time. First introduced in 1928, Kellogg’s Rice Krispies have had quite the ride.

If you really want to go down a cereal-inspired rabbit hole, this page on Wikipedia goes through the complete history of the cereal, the scandals , and the different pronunciations of SNAP, CRACKLE, POP in various countries.

You know what? I’ll save you a few minutes out of your day and just give you this fun fact about the cereal: in 1963, The Rolling Stones recorded a short song for a Rice Krispies television advertisement!

Now, how many puffed rice cereals have that as part of their marketing history?!

Read Also: Gluten Free Brownies From Scratch

Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Rice

Nature’s Path has a brand of gluten-free rice krispies that they describe as “delicious whole grain brown rice crisps”.

It’s a naturally gluten-free cereal, lightly sweetened, and according to Nature’s Path, “is a great pantry staple for morning routines and adding crunch to your baking and cooking.”

This cereal is Certified Gluten Free, Non-GMO verified and certified organic.

Nutritional Content of Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Brown Rice

For every ¾ cup of cereal, this one provides 110 calories and is low in fat, sodium and sugar. One serving provides 24 grams of whole grain carbohydrates and 2 grams of that is fibre. The cereal alone provides 2 grams of protein.

Unlike fortified cereals, like Kellogg’s Gluten-Free Rice Krispies, Nature’s Path version of gluten-free rice krispies is not fortified, which means it doesn’t provide any significant source of vitamins or minerals.

It does provide 6% Daily Value of iron but that’s naturally occurring from the molasses used for colour and sweetness.

Here’s the nutritional info for this gluten-free rice krispie option :

  • 110 calories

Ingredients in Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Brown Rice

Brown rice flour, cane sugar, sea salt, molasses.

Taste Test of Nature’s Path Organic Crispy Brown Rice: I’m giving them a solid B.

Pros: This gluten free rice krispie option is a crunchy and light cereal. Great texture and mouthfeel. Would be good for making rice krispie squares too.

Is Puffed Rice The Same As Crisp Rice

Kellogg

NO! Puffed rice or rice puffs are NOT crispy at all. Its simply been heated until it puffs . Its full of air, but it does NOT have the same texture as crisp rice or Rice Krispies that have been baked or toasted. Puffed rice is NOT a good substitute in any recipe that calls for crisp rice cereal or Rice Krispies.

Recommended Reading: Is Olive Oil Gluten Free

Ingredients You Need To Achieve The Best Rice Crispy Treats Ever

These rice crispy treats are also very allergy-friendly! This recipe is gluten and dairy free, as those fit into my dietary restrictions.

Crispy Rice Cereal: My pick for this recipe is the Natures Path Organic crispy rice. It is certified gluten-free which I appreciate. Its sad that the original Kelloggs Rice Krispies are not gluten-free, as they contain malt flavouring which is made from barley. This is very unfortunate because I think it would be quite simple to not include this one ingredient. It is just a rice cereal after all. Anyways, I love this Natures Path Organic cereal. It tastes the same as the original, just with the gluten-free, organic price tag. Mini Marshmallows: Any brand of mini marshmallows will do for this recipe, but it is important that theyre mini. They melt faster and I love the texture of having some whole marshmallow chunks in the treats. Adding additional mini marshmallows in with the rice cereal is the way to do it.

All you would have to do to make these treats vegan is sub in a vegan marshmallow. Ive seen Dandies in several stores near me, however I have not tried them. I cannot for sure recommend a 1:1 swap for this recipe, so if you try them, let me know!

Vanilla Extract: Optional, but it really makes the treats sing. Just a splash of vanilla extract enhances the sweet marshmallow flavour and will take these rice crispy treats to the next level.

Arent Kelloggs Rice Krispies Just Made From Rice

You may think that classic Kelloggs Brand Rice Krispies are gluten-free because rice is a naturally gluten-free grain, but they are made with malt flavoring. The malt is derived from barley which is a gluten-containing grain. Therefore, they are definitely NOT gluten-free.

When my daughter was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease back in 2011, Kelloggs did have a GF version or rice crispies, but it was discontinued not too long after.then for years I used Erewhorn brand, but they have been discontinued also. It can be very frustrating to find gluten-free products you love, and then no longer be able to find them.

Thankfully, there are plenty of brands creating delicious gluten-free rice crispy substitutions to help you recreate this classic treat!

You May Like: Tonyas Gluten Free Kitchen Soft Pretzels

Are Cheerios Gluten Free

Im often asked if Cheerios are gluten free because there is a lot of confusion about the brand. A lot of people with celiac disease refuse to eat it.

Cheerios are not only labeled gluten free, but also each packaging also displays, Proud sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation. As you know, when the Celiac Disease Foundation accepts money from Cheerios, it is clearly endorsing the product as safe for people with celiac disease.

On top of the gluten-free label and the endorsement from the Celiac Disease Foundation, I independently tested Cheerios for hidden gluten. The Nima Sensor did not detect any gluten .

Still, some people in the celiac disease community are wary of Cheerios. I have been skeptical myself, although I think that feeling is waning. To be honest with you, I believe everyone should be able to make their own decision about the safety of Cheerios without being judged or shamed.

The reason many people in the celiac disease community are skeptical of Cheerios is because General Mills uses commodity oats to make its cereal. Oats, while naturally gluten free, are often cross contaminated with gluten throughout the harvesting and manufacturing processes. You can read more about it in this article, Are Oats Gluten Free?

General Mills, like other companies, optically or mechanically sorts its commodity oats to remove the oat grain from any potential gluten grains that might have contaminated the crop.

  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -