How To Find Gluten In Foods
Gluten is a protein found in the grains wheat, barley, and rye. These so-called “gluten grains” are everywhere in our food supply, in part because they taste good, and in part because they’re useful in formulating processed foods.
Food manufacturers use gluten in many different ways, some of which are much more obvious than others. For example, many food additives are derived from gluten-containing grains. Food flavorings, artificial and natural colors, and even some vitamin supplements may contain gluten.
The decision to go gluten-free can be daunting because gluten grains are so prevalent. In fact, even foods that don’t directly contain gluten may be subject to cross-contamination because they are manufactured around other foods that do.
If you want to avoid gluten in your diet, you’ll need to check the ingredients of every food product you use. In addition, you’ll need to learn how to identify gluten on food labels and the various places gluten can hide.
It’s certainly possible to follow the gluten-free diet but to do so, you need to know the foods that have gluten.
An Overview Of The Gluten
Robert Burakoff, MD, MPH, is board-certified in gastroentrology. He is the vice chair for ambulatory services for the department of medicine at Weill Cornell Medical College in New York, where he is also a professor. He was the founding editor and co-editor in chief of Inflammatory Bowel Diseases.
After a diagnosis of celiac disease, you will need to go on a gluten-free diet. Gluten,the main protein in kernels of wheat, rye, and barley grainsis what triggers the immune system to attack the lining of the small intestine in this condition, so it must be avoided to manage symptoms.
Gluten is in many foods and it’s extremely difficult to avoid. In fact, the learning curve on a gluten-free diet is equal to or greater than the learning curves on almost any other type of diet. You will get the hang of it eventually, but you’ll learn more about food labeling and ingredient names than you ever thought you would need to know in the process.
You’ll also make mistakes as you learn how to eat gluten-free and may even experience them decades into following the diet.
Do your best to educate yourself about gluten-containing foods to set your gluten-free diet up for success.
Verywell / Brianna Gilmartin
Foods To Avoid With A Gluten Intolerance
We include products we think are useful for our readers. If you buy through links on this page, we may earn a small commission. Heres our process.
Many people avoid gluten, a group of proteins found in grains like wheat, barley, and rye, due to personal preference or a medical condition .
Celiac disease, wheat allergy, and non-celiac gluten sensitivity all involve an adverse reaction to gluten and are treated with a gluten-free diet. These conditions are considered forms of gluten intolerance .
While both celiac disease and NCGS may lead to intestinal damage and cause symptoms like diarrhea, gas, and bloating, celiac is an autoimmune condition linked to other serious health effects, such as anemia, stunted growth, and neurological effects .
Wheat allergy refers to an allergic reaction to wheat proteins, the symptoms of which may be life threatening. This condition is treated with a wheat-free diet, not necessarily a gluten-free diet .
Although people with wheat allergies must avoid wheat, most are able to eat other grains, including gluten-containing ones like barley and rye.
Meanwhile, people with celiac disease and NCGS must avoid all gluten-containing foods to control symptoms. Notably, many healthy foods are naturally gluten-free, and quite a few companies make scrumptious gluten-free products.
Here are 8 foods to avoid if you have a gluten intolerance, as well as 7 you can safely eat.
Recommended Reading: Are Dove Chocolates Gluten Free
What About The Rest Of Your Family
I am often asked if the rest of my family suffers from gluten sensitivity or intolerance and the answer is no. The obvious next question I usually get is do you cook separate meals then or do you just have your whole family follow a gluten free diet? Again, the answer is no. I do not believe that my children or I should avoid gluten without a medical reason to do so. I believe a diet rich in whole grains is important. A New York Times FAQ published last year quoted Michael Pollan as saying that People who eat lots of whole grains are generally healthier and live longer than those who dont. In the same article Pollan also addressed gluten-free diets saying, They are very important if you have celiac disease or cant tolerate gluten. But its hard to believe that the number of people suffering from these conditions has grown as fast as this product category. Gluten has become the bad nutrient of the moment, the evil twin of Omega 3 fatty acids. Could it really be that bread, a staple of Western civilization for 6,000 years, is suddenly making millions of us sick? Im dubious.
Do Bbq Sauces Contain Gluten
I never understood how something that should contain simple, clean ingredients like BBQ sauce could contain gluten, but unfortunately many do.
There are other brands as well and the BBQ sauce market is large and wide so read labels carefully.
You will definitely find a safe, gluten-free BBQ sauce on the shelves of most grocery stores worldwide.
Related Reading: Gluten Sensitivity vs. Celiac Disease
Recommended Reading: Is Dove Dark Chocolate Gluten Free
Katz Gluten Free Everything Bagels
Per 1 bagel : 250 calories, 9 g fat , 150 mg sodium, 47 g carbs , 6 g protein
Eat This: This well-balanced bagel is a great addition to your morning routine, thanks to an impressive 12 grams of fiberjust about 50 percent of your recommended daily intake. Add it to the list of high-fiber foods!
SHOP NOW: $6.19, theglutenfreeshoppe.com
Food Labelling And Gluten
All packaged foods have ingredient labels printed on the box, package or bottle. There are three methods of finding suitable foods by reading the labelling. These include looking for:
- foods carrying the Coeliac Australia Endorsement logo
- foods labelled gluten free’
- foods made for the general market that do not contain ingredients derived from gluten-containing grains.
Under mandatory labelling standards, all ingredients and food additives derived from wheat, rye, barley, or oats must be declared in the ingredient list of foods sold in Australia. The use of an allergen summary statement is also now mandatory gluten must be declared as Contains gluten, if present.
There is an Australian Food Standard for processed foods labelled gluten free. When foods labelled gluten free are tested there must be no detectable gluten.
Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Tostitos
Perdue Simplysmart Gf Breaded Chicken Breast Tenders
Per 4 tenders: 210 calories, 11 g fat , 520 mg sodium, 16 g carbs , 13 g protein
Not That!: They might be called “tenders,” but the part of the chicken which is actually called the “tender” isn’t even used in this product. Instead, it’s chicken breast with rib meat, which is then coated in rice flour and cornmeal. Compared to Ian’s, Perdue’s offering is much higher in sodium, which won’t help you with that belly bloat.
Foods That Have Gluten In Them
Having a gluten intolerance can make eating challenging. Gone are the quick dinners of ordering pizza or indulging in a cheesy lasagna from that wonderful Italian place down the road, since pizza dough and lasagna noodles are loaded with gluten.
There are substitutions of course, and many restaurants are beginning to offer them pizza chains now offer gluten free dough as an option, and while these impostors dont have the taste or texture youre used to from wheat, eventually your palate will get used to it. Knowing which foods contain gluten will make eating out, grocery shopping, and cooking at home much simpler.
Gluten free foods may not be for everybody because they often dont taste that great, but there is enough choice on the market now that if you dig deep, youll find some items that satisfy your requirements.
Read Also: Gluten Free Puff Pastry Brands
What Alternative Gluten
Although its healthy and gluten-free, rice shouldnt be the only grain in your diet. There are many other grain products that you can consume safely. As with rice products, be sure to read food labels to ensure the product is free of gluten and isnt at risk of contamination.
Additional gluten-free grains or carbohydrates that you can use in place of rice include:
- Quinoa: Substitute this for rice in your favorite rice-based salad.
- Corn: Use 100 percent corn tortillas and fill them with your favorite Mexican dish, in lieu of a side of rice.
- Millet: Serve this with your favorite stir-fry.
- Beans and lentils: Pasta products made with bean flour are now available in many grocery stores.
Are Oats Gluten Free
Oats do not technically contain the gluten protein, however, they are grown in rotation with wheat crops using the same fields, equipment, and harvesting tools, thereby cross contaminating oats with wheat.
If you want to enjoy oats, you must look for products using only gluten-free oats.
While the ingredient label may not say gluten-free oats, as adjectives are not allowed in ingredient lists, you can look for gluten-free markings directly on the packaging
I have written extensively about oats in this article, Are Oats Gluten-Free?
You May Like: Gluten Free Jason’s Deli
Duncan Hines Gf Vanilla Creme Cake
Per 1/16 package : 210 calories, 9 g fat , 150 mg sodium, 32 g carbs , 2 g protein
Not That!: Like we said before, “gluten-free” should not be synonymous with “healthy.” This is the perfect example of that. Duncan Hines’ cake mix is gluten-free, but that doesn’t erase the negatives of stuffing a cake full of shortening, sugar, inflammatory carrageenan, artificial flavor, and artificial dyes Yellow 5 and Yellow 6.
Tips For Following A Gluten
Here are steps to take when getting gluten out of your diet.
Rethink your grains:
Avoid all products with barley, rye, triticale , farina, graham flour, semolina, and any other kind of flour, including self-rising and durum, not labeled gluten-free.
Be careful of corn and rice products. These dont contain gluten, but they can sometimes be contaminated with wheat gluten if they’re produced in factories that also manufacture wheat products. Look for such a warning on the package label.
Go with oats. Recent studies suggest you can eat oats as long as they are not contaminated with wheat gluten during processing. You should check with your healthcare provider first.
Substitute potato, rice, soy, amaranth, quinoa, buckwheat, or bean flour for wheat flour. You can also use sorghum, chickpea or Bengal gram, arrowroot, and corn flour, as well as tapioca starch extract. These act as thickeners and leavening agents.
Become a label expert:
Know terms for hidden gluten. Avoid einkorn, emmer, spelt, kamut, wheat starch, wheat bran, wheat germ, cracked wheat, and hydrolyzed wheat protein. Stay away from emulsifiers, dextrin, mono- and di-glycerides, seasonings, and caramel colors because they can contain gluten.
Check the labels of all foods. Gluten can be found in food items youd never suspect. Here are some likely to contain gluten:
Beer, ale, and lagers
Cold cuts, hot dogs, salami, and sausage
You May Like: Gluten Free Lasagna Noodles Whole Foods
Why Is Gluten Bad
Gluten doesnt get along with every digestive system. Some people have wheat intolerance syndrome. Thats one of three conditions that gluten can trigger:
- Celiac disease: A disorder in which gluten causes your immune system to attack your small intestine over time, the attacks can damage the lining of your intestine.
- Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Also called gluten intolerance, the condition causes celiac symptoms — like stomach pain, bloating, and diarrhea — but doesnt damage your small intestine.
- Wheat allergy: Your immune system fights gluten like a virus or bacteria if you eat it, you may have trouble breathing, a skin reaction, or problems digesting.
Going gluten-free is also a trend among people who dont have medical reasons to avoid the stuff. Some people say they lost weight and gained energy when they cut gluten. But, theres not much scientific evidence to prove that a gluten-free diet offers health benefits to people who can tolerate the ingredient.
Prepared Foods Soups And Sauces
Sauce mixes, gravy mixes, cream sauces made with a roux, and spice mixes that you buy at your local grocery store may contain gluten, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation. Also, canned soups may use flour often as a thickener instead of cream, rendering them unsafe for those avoiding gluten. Boullion or stock cubes may also be a source of gluten.
Side dishes that contain cream sauces may contain gluten as well as frozen dinners . Imitation meat and seafood products such as imitation crab meat and seitan usually contain gluten. And some rotisserie chicken may contain gluten, depending on the seasoning used to prepare it.
Any processed meals that contain MSG may contain gluten. And surprisingly, salad dressings are another potential gluten-containing food. Many condiments, like ketchup, mayonnaise and mustard are usually gluten-free, but it is important to check labels.
Recommended Reading: Is Wishbone Italian Dressing Gluten Free
Thoughts On Top Foods To Avoid On A Gluten Free Diet
Thanks, I havent been dizzy in the kitchen or anywhere else for a week or so!
I have severe reactions to gluten. If I get even the tiniest bit, I have horrible aura migraines where I lose my site for a few minutes and vertigo, as well as severe stomach stabbing, cramps and discomfort. I never have vertigo or those type of migraines unless I accidently ingest gluten. I had only had severe and painful migraines before I removed gluten, but once I removed gluten, any type of accidents after removing it now causes the vertigo and aura migraine attacks. I originally removed it because of bloating, skin rashes and migraines, and now am so thankful because I did not realize what it was doing to my body. Luckily, 2 years after removing it from my diet, I am in excellent health
Hi Carrie. Thanks for sharing, sorry to hear about your difficulties !! I have been gluten intolerant for 10 years.. Sadly it does not get any better with time. I have had skin rashes lately, and headaches.. I am traveling for work, and for breakfast, the hotel I am staying in serves a great grab and go breakfast, and it contains sausage. Bad Bad Bad.. Headaches, bloating, skin rashes, digestive discomfort.. I am glad youre healthy again ! Thanks for your post take care