HomeFoodWhat Are Some Gluten Free Foods

What Are Some Gluten Free Foods

- Advertisment -

What Is A Gluten

WHY I’M GOING GLUTEN FREE SOME AWESOME GLUTEN FREE FOODS | AmyCrouton

Before tackling the gluten-free diet, let’s get to know our culprit. Gluten is a specific type of protein, but one you won’t find in meat or eggs. Instead gluten is found primarily in wheat, rye, and barley. Going gluten-free means avoiding these grains. A gluten-free diet is essential for most people with gluten allergies or celiac disease, a condition which causes intestinal damage when gluten is eaten.

Will I Go Through Gluten Withdrawal If I Start Eating Gluten

Theres no scientific evidence to suggest that people actually go through withdrawal when they stop eating gluten. Some people report feeling dizziness, nausea, extreme hunger and even anxiety and depression when they suddenly go from eating a lot of gluten to being gluten-free. These symptoms usually go away after a few weeks on a gluten-free diet, but talk to your health care provider if they persist.

What To Do If You Have Symptoms

If you have diarrhoea or you are vomiting, its important to keep yourself well hydrated by drinking lots of water.

Some people find that taking medication to treat constipation, diarrhoea or headaches can ease symptoms, but check with your pharmacist or GP.

The most important thing is to get back onto your gluten free diet to try to prevent further symptoms.

If your symptoms are very severe or do not improve, speak to your GP.

Coeliac UK support gluten free food safety for people with coeliac disease and gluten related conditions. To find out more, click here.

Recommended Reading: Where Are Graham Crackers In Walmart

Sauces Spices And Condiments That Need A Second Look:

  • Ketchup and Worcestershire sauce: Both of these condiments can be made using malt vinegar, which is not gluten-free. Double-check the ingredients.
  • Barbecue sauce: Avoid BBQ sauces made with barley-based beer, soy sauce, malt vinegar, barley malt flour and possibly bourbon , as these typically contain gluten.
  • Soy sauce: Soy sauce is traditionally made with wheat, so it usually is not gluten-free unless otherwise marked.
  • Malt vinegar: Malt vinegar isn’t just a French-fry dipper. It’s also found in some salad dressings and sauces and it’s not gluten-free. However, white vinegar, distilled vinegar and apple-cider vinegar are all gluten-free.

Hit Or Miss: How Do I Know Gluten Is Affecting Me

What Can I Eat On A Gluten Free Diet?

Enough science talk. How do you know if gluten is affecting you? Since everyone responds to gluten differently, you could experience one or multiple symptoms.

  • Canker sores
  • Tingling in the hands and feet

Of course, the best way to find out if you struggle with gluten is to see your doctor. Otherwise, remove it from your diet and see if you start to feel better!

Recommended Reading: Jasons Deli Gluten Free Bread

Breads Snacks Cereals Cakes And Pastas

  • Almost anything you buy in these categories should be specifically labeled “gluten-free,” including cereals, breads, and snack foods.
  • Most grocery stores carry a few of these gluten-free staples, and somelike Whole Foods and Fresh Market may boast a wider selection. But you may find the best selection online.

Perdue Simplysmart Gf Breaded Chicken Breast Tenders

Per 4 tenders: 210 calories, 11 g fat , 520 mg sodium, 16 g carbs , 13 g protein

Not That!: They might be called “tenders,” but the part of the chicken which is actually called the “tender” isn’t even used in this product. Instead, it’s chicken breast with rib meat, which is then coated in rice flour and cornmeal. Compared to Ian’s, Perdue’s offering is much higher in sodium, which won’t help you with that belly bloat.

You May Like: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins

Bisquick Gluten Free Pancake Mix

Per 1/3 cup mix: 140 calories, 0.5 g fat , 340 mg sodium, 31 g carbs , 2 g protein

Eat This: We love a store-bought product with an ingredient list that’s limited to foods you can find in your pantry. Bisquick’s Gluten Free Pancake mix fits the bill and is much lower in carbs and sodium than our “Not That!” pick.

Gluten Free Chex Granola Mix: Honey Nut

Healthy Gluten Free Foods my favorite Gluten Free treats!

Per cup: 130 calories, 4 g fat , 35 mg sodium, 20 g carbs , 2 g protein

Not That!: It might be lower in calories, but Chex’s gluten-free granola is also lacking where it matters: on the protein and fiber front. We’re also not pleased by Chex’s addition of BHT: University of California-Berkeley researchers say this petroleum-derived antioxidant is linked to an increased risk of cancer in animals. It’s hard to say whether these effects would be prevalent in humans, but experts say to avoid it as much as possible to err on the side of caution.

You May Like: Cauliflower Pizza Publix

Baking Mixes And Supplies

  • Any baking mix you purchase should be specifically labeled “gluten-free.” Remember that white flour is made from wheat, which is one of the three gluten grains.
  • When you’re purchasing alternative grain flours like buckwheat , soy and rice flour, make sure they’re specifically labeled gluten-free .
  • Many baking supplies, such as baking soda, sugar and cocoa, are considered gluten-free, but you always should check ingredients to make certain.

What To Avoid When Shopping For Fruits And Vegetables:

  • Hydrolyzed wheat protein
  • Modified food starch: If the label doesn’t specify what type of starch is used, check with the manufacturer, as it may be wheat.
  • Malt: Including malt syrup, malt vinegar, malt extract, malt flavoring
  • Gluten stabilizer
  • Maltodextrin: This is OK when made from corn, potato or rice starch. If it’s made from wheat, it will be labeled: you may have a reaction, though many claim the gluten is destroyed in processing.

Don’t Miss: Kraft Italian Dressing Gluten-free

Experiment And Have Fun

It may still take some work to really ensure that your diet is totally gluten-free, but with this gluten-free grains list, it should be a little simpler.

If youre just starting the switch to gluten-free, here are some tips:

  • Read those ingredient labels to prevent slip-ups
  • Start enjoying more fruits and vegetables
  • Experiment with cooking whenever possible
  • Focus on what you can have instead of what you cant.

Its easy to get discouraged, but use your new diet as an opportunity to try new things, revamp your diet, and become the healthiest version of yourself yet.

Pop The Champagne For Gf Grains

Check Out The Dos And Donts Of A Gluten

For the longest time I had no idea grains could be gluten-free. I mean, come on, it sounds like a total contradiction.

But but but!

There are some grains that are naturally gluten-free…who wouldve thought?

Of course, its always a great idea to double check labels when purchasing grains, as they can be processed in the same facility as typical gluten grains.

Also Check: What Does Gluten Free Mean

Is Sourdough Bread Gluten

No unless made with a gluten-free flour. Sourdough made from a gluten-containing grain, such as wheat or rye, is not gluten-free.

A 2012 study suggested that sourdough made from gluten-free flour using a gluten-free starter may be a beneficial inclusion in the diet of those with coeliac disease. This is because the sourdough fermentation process appears to enhance the healing of the gut lining following the inflammatory reaction typical of coeliac disease.

People With Celiac Disease

A gluten-free diet is necessary for people with celiac disease, an autoimmune response to gluten that causes the body to attack the small intestine, causing belly pain, nausea, bloating or diarrhea. People with celiac disease cant tolerate gluten in any form, and need to follow a gluten-free diet for the rest of their lives. If you have celiac and accidentally eat gluten, youll probably experience the same symptoms you did before you went gluten-free.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix

Udi’s Gf Three Cheese Pizza

Per ½ pizza : 360 calories, 15 g fat , 570 mg sodium, 45 g carbs , 12 g protein

Eat This: Pick up this gluten-free standard, made with brown rice flour and a blend of mozzarella, fontina, and romano cheeses, from the freezer section. If you’re not concerned with blood-pressure and see a brand known as Smart Flour, we’d also recommend their pick, but it’s a little higher in sodium.

Ingredients Beware Heres What To Avoid On Food Labels

Most Dangerous Foods for Gluten Sensitivity, Celiac Disease, Gluten-free Diet #5 – Millet

If youre one of the lucky gluten-free gals, youll need to become aware of what ingredients to stay away from, especially if you buy a lot of processed goods.

But dont worry!

Its not as overwhelming as it seems, especially if you stick to whole foods.

In the meantime, start getting used to reading food labels before you purchase, and look for trigger ingredients like wheat, barley rye, triticale, and wheat varieties like durum, einkorn, emmer, kamut, spelt.

Expert tip:

Wheat flours can have different names based on how the flour was milled. All of these flours have gluten in them:

  • Self-rising flour, also called phosphate flour
  • Semolina, the part of wheat used in couscous and pasta
  • Enriched flour
  • Farina, usually found in hot cereals
  • Graham flour, a whole wheat flour

We made this simple graphic so you and your loved ones can remember what foods to avoid:

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Italian Dressing

Happy Campers Hemp Hemp Hooray

Price: $

Happy Campers is a small company that bakes gluten-free breads in its dedicated gluten-free, Oregon-based bakery.

All of Happy Campers bread products are certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization , certified organic by the United States Department of Agriculture , non-GMO-verified, vegan-friendly, and free of all major allergens. Theyre also free of added sugars.

Its Hemp Hemp Hooray bread is one of the best gluten-free sandwich breads, as it has a pleasant nutty flavor and is made with high quality ingredients and several whole grains, including millet, sorghum, buckwheat, quinoa, and amaranth.

It also contains ground hemp seeds, which are a good source of fiber, antioxidants, and polyunsaturated fats, including plant-based omega-3 fatty acids .

One slice provides approximately 90 calories, 2 grams of fat, 0 grams of saturated fat, 111 mg of sodium, 17 grams of carbs, 3 grams of fiber, and 2.5 grams of protein .

In addition to its high quality ingredients and pleasant taste, reviewers like that this bread freezes well and is enjoyable as part of a toasted sandwich or topped with a spread.

Nature’s Path Gf Waffles

Per 2 waffles : 210 calories, 7 g fat , 460 mg sodium, 34 g carbs , 1 g protein

Not That!: Sure, Nature’s Path uses all organic ingredients in these homestyle waffles, but they’re a little too high in sugar compared to other products on the market. While you’re picking out your perfect waffle, make sure you also choose the best maple syrup by consulting our top condiment picks.

Read Also: Red Wine And Gluten

Gluten Free Food List: Herbs And Spices

Fresh herbs and spices are a great addition to the list of naturally gluten free foods. Buying fresh herbs and spices like basil and ginger are safe additions to the celiac diet, but packaged products can be a little trickier.

It is possible for packages spices and herbs to be contaminated with gluten or even intentionally mixed with wheat for cost reduction.

Seasonings are different than herbs and spices because they are not naturally gluten free. Seasonings are a blend of herbs or spices often combined with an absorptive carrier agent along with an anti-caking agent. These agents can be hidden sources of gluten for celiacs. Carrier agents can be salt, flour, starch, sugar or wheats.

What can you do to ensure the best experience when buying herbs and spices?

  • Buy fresh herbs and spices whenever possible.
  • Never buy from bulk bins due to cross contamination.
  • Read ingredient labels when buying packaged herbs and spices. Only buy seasonings labeled gluten free.

I use Spicely seasonings and spices which are certified gluten free and are in grocery stores near me.

Is Baking Powder Gluten

What Are Some Gluten Free Foods

Sometimes but you should check the label. Wheat starch may be added to baking powder to prevent it clumping together if this is the case, the product will not be gluten-free. But, there are plenty of gluten-free products available that contain corn or potato starch instead, which will be suitable for those on a gluten-free diet.

Recommended Reading: Krusteaz Gluten Free All Purpose Flour

Condiments Sauces And Spices

Many products in this category contain gluten ingredients, and even single-ingredient products like spices can be subject to significant gluten cross-contamination.

  • For spices, Spicely is certified gluten-free, and McCormick’s will clearly label any gluten-containing ingredients, but does not test for cross-contamination.
  • Heinz ketchup and French’s yellow mustard are considered gluten-free, as are some popular salsa brands.
  • Salad dressing can contain gluten ingredients, although many do not. Organicville salad dressings are certified gluten-free.
  • Don’t buy soy sauce unless it’s specifically labeled “gluten-free.”

Are There Risks To Trying A Gluten

If you cut all gluten out of your diet, theres a risk that you could miss out on nutritious whole grains, fiber and micronutrients. Getting enough whole grains in your diet is especially important if youre at risk for heart disease or diabetes. Whole grains can lower cholesterol levels and even help regulate your blood sugar. In addition, some gluten-containing foods are sources of important vitamins and minerals, such as B vitamins, iron and magnesium.

Keep in mind that some processed gluten-free foods contain high amounts of unhealthy ingredients such as sodium, sugar and fat. Consuming these foods can lead to weight gain, blood sugar swings, high blood pressure and other problems. So, a gluten-free label doesnt necessarily make a food healthy.

If you dont have celiac disease or gastrointestinal irritation, Rajagopal recommends removing highly processed foods from your diet before removing gluten. Add in more fruits, vegetables, whole-grain bread or pasta, and lean proteins. Many people find they feel better just by eating better, not by removing gluten.

You May Like: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins

Our Beginners Guide To Gluten

Going gluten-free? Well show you what to eat, what to avoid and more to help you navigate this diet.

    Youre about to try a gluten-free diet, but youre not sure where to start. What is gluten, anyway? And what can you eat? Worry not were here to help with resources that will set you up for success.

    Why Do I Need To Avoid Oats

    Gluten Free Foods 2020 – Favorite Gluten Free Alternatives – Best Gluten Free Foods 2020

    Research by our patron Dr Robert Anderson has shown that approximately one in five people with coeliac disease react to pure, uncontaminated oats.

    Since we cannot determine who the one in five is, who reacts to pure oats and we know that gut damage can occur even without symptoms the advice of both Dr Anderson and Coeliac New Zealand is that oats should not be consumed.

    The only exception is if you receive a gastroscopy/biopsy before commencing eating oats, and after you have been consuming them for a time. This is currently the only test that can say whether it is safe for you to consume oats on a gluten free diet. Talk to your Dr. about whether this could be right for you.

    Once you start your gluten-free diet your symptoms should gradually improve and your gut will start to heal. It can take from 6 months to five years for your gut to fully heal.

    Coeliacs need strict gluten-free diet for life. Eating even small amounts of gluten can trigger your immune system and cause your symptoms to return, so adherence to a coeliac-safe gluten free diet is important for long-term health.

    Recognise the common sources of gluten and what to avoid and always check food labels to ensure the food you are consuming is gluten free. The allergywell.co.nz food finder can also be a helpful guide.

    Don’t Miss: Is Olive Garden Salad Dressing Gluten Free

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -