Friday, November 18, 2022
HomeMust ReadIs Rice Crispy Cereal Gluten Free

Is Rice Crispy Cereal Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Is Kroger Crispy Rice Cereal Gluten Free

Gluten Free Rice Krispies Treats

Kroger is a large grocery chain with over 2,600 locations in the United States. The cereal comes in two varieties: Crunchy and Crispy. While both come without gluten , the crunchy variety does contain coconut which may be an allergen for some people.

Kroger Crispy Rice Cereal is a gluten-free cereal that can be made with just rice, corn, and tapioca. It is also a good source of fiber and has no artificial flavors or colors. Read more in detail here: crispy rice cereal recipe.

Aldi Crispy Rice Cereal

  • At A Glance: Most affordable of the bunch, darkest color, great crisp texture, does contain corn syrup
  • Price: $1.65
  • Where To Buy: Aldi stores

Do you live by an Aldi? Their store-brand crispy rice cereal is gluten-free! Theirs is a bit sweeter than some of the others, but its tough to beat that price! It might be worth stocking up on, on your next visit.

Are Rice Krispies Vegan And Gluten Free

Transitioning into becoming vegan can be difficult for most, and since being vegan requires one to avoid all animal products- it is often confusing and difficult to do so. Most of our favorite foods, especially snacks, are not vegan, and that can be extremely disappointing.

Sadly enough, the same is true for Americas favorite cereal: Rice Krispies! This chewy, gooey, and satisfyingly crunchy bar made of rice cereal and melted marshmallows has been around for hundreds of years. Released back in the early 1900s, this classic American snack is extremely popular among kids and adults alike! So, this article finally debunks any myths regarding Kelloggs rice Krispies and answers the question of the hour- Are Rice Krispies Vegan?

Also Check: Gluten Free Beer Michigan

Is Puffed Rice The Same As Crisp Rice

NO! Puffed rice or rice puffs are NOT crispy at all. Its simply been heated until it puffs . Its full of air, but it does NOT have the same texture as crisp rice or Rice Krispies that have been baked or toasted. Puffed rice is NOT a good substitute in any recipe that calls for crisp rice cereal or Rice Krispies.

Top Results For Crispy Brown Rice

Kellogg

Organic Brown Rice Crisps Cereal, 12 Oz – Whole Foods Market

Copy the link and share

Sprouted Brown Rice Crispy Treats – Against All Grain …

Copy the link and share

Crispy Rice Is Simple To Make With A Few Lazy (But …

Copy the link and share

Kellogg’s® Rice Krispies® Whole Grain

Copy the link and share

Crispy Brown Rice With Deeply Roasted Broccoli, Carrots …

Copy the link and share

Brown Rice Crispy Treats | Weelicious

Copy the link and share

You May Like: Kraft Tuscan Italian Dressing Ingredients

Nature’s Path Crispy Rice Cereal

This cerealfrom the maker of perennial gluten-free kid cereal favorite Koala Crisp Cerealis certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization , which requires testing to below 10 parts per million of gluten. That’s an important number to know depending on how much gluten can make you sick.

The cereal contains organic brown rice flour, organic evaporated cane juice, sea salt, and organic molasses. Nature’s Path makes this cereal in a facility that also processes tree nuts, peanuts, and soy.

Avoid These Cereals That Contain Gluten

Cereals that state they contain gluten, and should be avoided, include:

  • Apple Jacks
  • CapN Crunch or Captain Crunch
  • Cinnamon Toast Crunch
  • Cocoa Puffs
  • Corn Flakes
  • Corn Pops
  • Cream of Wheat
  • Frosted Flakes avoid)
  • Frosted Mini Wheats
  • Fruit Loops
  • Honey Bunches of Oats and non-GF oats)
  • Kashi
  • Life
  • Lucky Charms
  • Raisin Bran
  • Rice Krispies please note that you can find gluten-free Rice Krispies in Canada. Look for gluten-free labeled boxes.
  • Shredded Wheat
  • Special K

You May Like: Is Mozzarella Gluten Free

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

The other key ingredient in traditional Rice Krispies treats is marshmallows and the good news is that, yes, marshmallows are gluten free .

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows do not have any gluten ingredients on the label.

If you do not eat meat, beware that most marshmallows contain pork gelatin. There are vegan and gluten-free marshmallow options, including the following brands:

  • Dandies vegan marshmallows You will experience a slight texture different with vegan marshmallows, and they are a bit harder to work with, but if youre vegan, its a great option.
  • Trader Joes Trader Joes brand marshmallows are gluten free and vegan, and they come with a great price tag too.

Is Kix Gluten Free

Gluten Free Rice Krispie Squares

Kix cereal is basically a slightly sweetened crispy corn puff. While Kix is not labeled gluten free, nor could I find any gluten-free information about Kix on the Kix website, it doesnt look like Kix contains any gluten-y ingredients.

Kix is made from whole grain corn, corn meal, sugar, salt, brown sugar syrup, and baking soda. As you can see, Nima is all smiles, which means the device did not find any hidden gluten.

Read Also: Best Gluten Free Items At Costco

Ingredients You Need To Achieve The Best Rice Crispy Treats Ever

These rice crispy treats are also very allergy-friendly! This recipe is gluten and dairy free, as those fit into my dietary restrictions.

Crispy Rice Cereal: My pick for this recipe is the Nature’s Path Organic crispy rice. It is certified gluten-free which I appreciate. It’s sad that the original Kellogg’s Rice Krispies are not gluten-free, as they contain malt flavouring which is made from barley. This is very unfortunate because I think it would be quite simple to not include this one ingredient. It is just a rice cereal after all. Anyways, I love this Nature’s Path Organic cereal. It tastes the same as the original, just with the gluten-free, organic price tag. Mini Marshmallows: Any brand of mini marshmallows will do for this recipe, but it is important that they’re mini. They melt faster and I love the texture of having some whole marshmallow chunks in the treats. Adding additional mini marshmallows in with the rice cereal is the way to do it.

All you would have to do to make these treats vegan is sub in a vegan marshmallow. I’ve seen Dandies in several stores near me, however I have not tried them. I cannot for sure recommend a 1:1 swap for this recipe, so if you try them, let me know!

Vanilla Extract: Optional, but it really makes the treats sing. Just a splash of vanilla extract enhances the sweet marshmallow flavour and will take these rice crispy treats to the next level.

Are Fruity Pebbles Gluten Free

Yes, Fruity Pebbles are gluten free and labeled as such too. The Gluten Free label is seen on the side panel of the cereal box and under the ingredient list.

Fruity Pebbles are made from rice, sugar, oil and a whole bunch of food dye. No gluten in sight, and Nima is all smiles, assuring me that its gluten free.

Please note that Cocoa Pebbles are also labeled gluten free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Alternative To Couscous

Is Rice Krispies Cereal Gluten

Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal is not gluten-free because it has malt flavor listed in the ingredients. Malt flavor is made from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain.

The good news is that there are several brands of gluten-free crispy rice cereal. The two brands I used to make these gluten-free rice Krispie treats are Malto O Meal and Natures Path Organic.

The Malto O Meal is a brand made and sold at Walmart and comes in a 36-ounce bag. This brand of crispy rice cereal was the closest to the traditional Kelloggs Rice Krispies.

I bought the Natures Path Organic Crispy Rice at Target, and it was a 26-ounce bag. Natures Path Organic cereal is made with brown rice and was a little different in flavor and texture than the traditional Kelloggs Rice Krispies.

Both brands of gluten-free crispy rice cereals made yummy rice crispy treats.

Are Reeses Puffs Gluten Free

Rice Krispies Gluten Free Cereal

Reeses Puffs cereal is made of sweet and crunchy corn puffs coated with peanut butter. Obviously if you have a peanut allergy, you should avoid this cereal.

The cereal box isnt marked gluten free, however, the ingredient list, which includes whole grain corn, sugar, Reeses peanut butter, dextrose, corn meal, corn syrup, oil and artificial flavors, does not include any gluten-y ingredients.

I tested Reeses Puffs for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor, and Nima came back with a smile .

Read Also: Is Kraft Catalina Dressing Gluten Free

Barbaras Organic Gf Brown Rice Crisp Cereal

Barbaras brand cereal has been around for a long time, and their products used to just say wheat free, and werent necessarily gluten free. This brown rice cereal calls itself gluten free, but it isnt manufactured in a dedicated gluten free facility.

According to the package, the cereal is verified to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. Whether you are comfortable with that or not is a very personal decision. It is last on this list of 5 brands of crisp rice cereal to try for that reason.

The grains of crisp rice in Barbaras, like Erewhon and Back To Nature brands, are wrinkly not smooth and puffy. They stay crisp in milk and are sweetened with fruit juices. That doesnt matter too much to me, though, since sugar is sugar is sugar .

Here are the other details about Barbaras:

  • Size of package: 10 ounces
  • Price you should expect to pay: $4.85
  • Availability: Okay. I purchased this cereal at Vitacost.com, and have seen it at local natural food stores as well as some larger grocery stores. Its also available at iHerb.com.
  • Other common allergens: none
  • Ingredients: organic whole grain brown rice, organic fruit juice concentrate , sea salt

How To Make Rice Krispie Treats

First, gather and measure ingredients. Keep the extra marshmallows separate, youll be adding them in at the end and will want to have them handy.This recipe comes together quickly so youll want to have everything ready.

Lightly grease your pan. I really like the brand Good Cook and almost always use their 9 x 13 pan and wooden spoon for this recipe. I linked to both in the recipe card below if youre interested in ordering either from Amazon.

Melt butter and marshmallows together. Stir with a sturdy spoon until everything is melted and smooth.

Remove the pan from heat and stir in the vanilla and extra marshmallows. Because the mixture is now starting to cool off, these marshmallows wont melt completely, leaving small pieces of soft marshmallows throughout your rice krispie treats. This step really takes the recipe up a notch!

Add crispy rice cereal . Go ahead and dump it all in, then stir with a sturdy spoon until its thoroughly combined.

Spread into prepared pan, pressing down gently. Dont pack it in, you want these bars to be nice and gooey and light.

Rice Krispie Treats can be enjoyed right away, but they will be easier to cut if you allow them a few minutes to cool.

Store any leftovers in an airtight container or wrapped tightly in plastic wrap.

This rice krispie treats recipe is so easy, there really isnt a way to mess it up. But let me tell you that adding the extra marshmallows in the end makes allllll the difference!

Don’t Miss: Panko Breadcrumbs Walmart Aisle

Are Rice Crispy Treats Dairy

Most rice crispy treats contain dairy in the form of butter. If you make your own rice crispy treats at home, butter is one of the three main ingredients in this recipe.

If you buy Kelloggs rice krispy treats from the store, these also contain dairy in the form of natural and artificial butter flavor. You can see the full list of ingredients in this product on their website.

You can make your own rice crispy treats at home to be dairy-free by swapping out the butter for vegan butter or coconut oil in any traditional recipe. Ive done this in my gluten-free rice krispie treat recipe thats also dairy-free.

Read on: Do marshmallows have dairy?

Are Cheerios Gluten Free

Making GLUTEN FREE Rice Krispie Treats

Im often asked if Cheerios are gluten free because there is a lot of confusion about the brand. A lot of people with celiac disease refuse to eat it.

Cheerios are not only labeled gluten free, but also each packaging also displays, Proud sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation. As you know, when the Celiac Disease Foundation accepts money from Cheerios, it is clearly endorsing the product as safe for people with celiac disease.

On top of the gluten-free label and the endorsement from the Celiac Disease Foundation, I independently tested Cheerios for hidden gluten. The Nima Sensor did not detect any gluten .

Still, some people in the celiac disease community are wary of Cheerios. I have been skeptical myself, although I think that feeling is waning. To be honest with you, I believe everyone should be able to make their own decision about the safety of Cheerios without being judged or shamed.

The reason many people in the celiac disease community are skeptical of Cheerios is because General Mills uses commodity oats to make its cereal. Oats, while naturally gluten free, are often cross contaminated with gluten throughout the harvesting and manufacturing processes. You can read more about it in this article, Are Oats Gluten Free?

General Mills, like other companies, optically or mechanically sorts its commodity oats to remove the oat grain from any potential gluten grains that might have contaminated the crop.

  • Apple Cinnamon Cheerios

Recommended Reading: Are Natty Light Seltzers Gluten Free

How To Make Gluten

  • Line a 9-inch x 13-inch pan with parchment paper or grease with gluten-free cooking spray.
  • Measure out 2 cups of the mini marshmallows and set aside to add at the end of the recipe.
  • In a large pot, melt the butter on low heat. Do not turn up the heat or you could brown your butter.
  • Add mini marshmallows and stir until they are completely melted.
  • Add the pure vanilla extract, milk, and salt and stir until fully combined.
  • Turn off the heat or remove the pot from the heat.
  • Add the gluten-free crispy rice cereal and mix until the cereal is completely coated with the marshmallow mixture.
  • Add the remaining 2 cups of mini marshmallows and stir until fully combined and slightly melted.
  • Using a greased spatula, spoon the mixture into the prepared pan. Smooth the mixture to make even.
  • Wet your hands and lightly press the mixture down into the pan.
  • Cover with plastic wrap and allow them to cool at room temperature for 1 hour. You can also place them in the refrigerator to chill for 1 hour.
  • Cut into squares and serve. Enjoy!

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -