Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeEditor PicksIs Captain Crunch Gluten Free

Is Captain Crunch Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Oat Flour And Cross Contamination Both Bad Signs

Cotton Candy Cap’n Crunch Cereal Review

There are two big reasons why Captain Crunch shouldnt be considered gluten-free by any stretch of the imagination.

For starters, every type of Captain Crunch, including its basic cereal and the other flavors that come out seasonally or in small batches, uses oat flour as one of its primary ingredients. But wait a minute, you might ask isnt oat flour supposed to be gluten-free?

Well, yes and no. Oat flour by itself doesnt normally include any gluten. However, for oat flour to truly be gluten-free, it must be made with certified gluten-free oats. As you might have guessed, Captain Crunch doesnt make its cereal with gluten-free oats, so the oat flour used in its cereal products is unfortunately not safe if you follow the gluten-free diet.

On top of that, Captain Crunch cereal is made in a factory environment with the potential for cross-contamination. This means that other cereal products, many of which may contain wheat or other gluten particles, could get into any given batch of Captain Crunch.

So even though Captain Crunch might one day become gluten-free if the brand starts using certified gluten-free oats, its not a good choice for your breakfast at the moment. On the other hand, if you need a good vegan cereal, Captain Crunch is great its totally vegan, as we break down here!

Is Granola Gluten Free

The answer is, most of the time. There are brands of granola that have added wheat to help hold the granola clusters together. Always check labels to make sure no gluten ingredients were added to the granola and that the granola was processed on dedicated equipment.

Try my Gluten Free Granola for a quick, healthy breakfast.

Is Crispix Gluten Free

Crispix cereal is made of crunchy corn on one side and crispy rice on the other. Its not labeled gluten free.

Crispix ingredients include rice, milled corn, sugar, salt, molasses, brown rice syrup, baking soda, and turmeric extract. None of the ingredients noted seem to contain gluten, however, brown rice syrup may contain gluten despite its innocuous name.

Learn more about why brown rice syrup may contain gluten in my article, Is Yeast Extract Gluten Free and 20+ Other Confusing Ingredients.

Sure enough, Crispix tested positive for gluten when put to the Nima Sensor test. See that wheat symbol and Gluten Found message? That means Nima found gluten.

Heres an upclose picture of the Nima Sensors Gluten Found message.

Also Check: Is Wishbone Zesty Robusto Italian Dressing Gluten-free

Capn Crunch Marshmallow Treats Recipe

Did you make this recipe or have questions? Let me know by leaving a comment and rating the recipe below.

  • Begin melting the butter in a saucepan set over low heat.
  • Then add the marshmallows and stir occasionally until about 75% of the marshmallows are melted.
  • Remove the pan from the heat and continue to stir, smashing the marshmallows using a rubber spatula or the back of a wooden spoon, until the marshmallows completely melt and become smooth.
  • Stir in the Cap’n Crunch Berries Cereal.
  • Pour into a well-buttered 8-inch or 9-inch square pan.
  • Allow to cool for at least 1 hour before cutting into rectangles or squares.

Microwave Method:

  • Combine the butter and marshmallows in a large microwave-safe bowl.
  • Heat on high power for 1 minute then remove and stir until the melted butter blends with the marshmallows.
  • Keep stirring until the marshmallows melt.
  • If needed, reheat for 15-second increments, stirring after each, until the marshmallows are fully melted.
  • Stir in the Cap’n Crunch Cereal then spread into a well-buttered 8-inch or 9-inch square pan.
  • Give the cereal treats time to cool before cutting.

Is Captain Crunch Gluten

captain crunch ingredients gluten free

Caption:

We’ve also compiled a List of Unsafe Non-Gluten-Free Breakfast Cereals.

Celiac.com Sponsor :We’ve also fielded some questions about individual cereals, like Trix, and Corn Pops. But, the questions keep coming, especially about some of the most popular cereals that are not gluten-free.

The number of popular breakfast cereals that are not gluten-free is too long to count, but we get a lot of questions about Cap’n Crunch. One question we get a lot is about Captain Crunch, or, actually, because people don’t realize that the cereal uses a unique spelling, the question we get is usually written as: Is Captain Crunch gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease? The short answer is no. Because Cap’n Crunch contains a non-gluten-free version oat flour , it is not considered to be gluten-free and not safe for celiacs.

The sad answer to that question is ‘No.’ However you spell it, Cap’n Crunch cereal is made with regular oat flour which may be contaminated with gluten. That means Cap’n Crunch is not considered gluten-free and is not safe for children with celiac disease.

Because oats are regularly cross-contaminated with small amounts of wheat, rye or barley, products made with oats that are not certified gluten-free are not considered gluten-free for people who have celiac disease or gluten intolerance.

Edited

You May Like: Gluten Free Bread Crumb Substitute

Does Captain Crunch Have Gluten Can I Eat It If I Have A Gluten Allergy

The anwer to this one is it depends. Capn Crunch technically does not contain any gluten ingredients, as it uses oat flour and corn flour as the major components of its cereal. BUT, that oat flour is not verified gluten free and the box of cereal itself is not labelled as gluten free. If you have a mild intolerance, you might decide that its safe for you to eat this cereal, since there are no gluten ingredients in it. But there is a definite chance of cross contamination something for you to keep in mind to prevent getting sick.

Are Cheerios Gluten Free

If you’re wondering if Cheerios are gluten free I’m going to tell you that’s up for debate. Cheerios mechanically sorts their oats and Cheerios claims that their cereal tests under 20ppm. Cheerios isn’t allowed to use the gluten free label on their packaging in some countries. It’s up to you if you want to eat them, but I personally don’t consider them safe for my family.

You May Like: Dove Chocolates Gluten Free

Is Captain Crunch Vegan

Capn Crunch cereal is considered vegan as it contains no animal products or milk products, however there are some controversial ingredients in the product. To learn more about this, check out this useful post.

If you loved Captain Crunch as a kid or even now as an adult and have been wondering if it fits in with your gluten-free diet, I hope you got all the information you need to make an informed decision thats right for you.

Captain Crunch likely has gluten from cross contamination with oats during the manufacturing process. There are other gluten-free alternatives to Captain Crunch that are just as delicious without any gluten.

If you loved this post, I hope that youll share it with your friends on and pin it for future reference on .

Are Lucky Charms Gluten Free

Puffins (Gluten Free) Cereal Taste Test | I Can’t Eat It!

Yes, according to the Lucky Charms website, the Original Lucky Charms cereal is gluten free even though the cereal contains commodity oats. Again, while oats are naturally gluten free, they are highly cross contaminated with wheat during the harvesting and manufacturing processes.

Lucky Charms says, First, we check the oats after sifting to make sure they contain less than 20 parts per million of gluten. Then, we check it again after the oats are milled into flour. We always ship the flour to our plants in our fleet of dedicated gluten-free trucks and rail cars. Lastly, after the flour is baked into Original Lucky Charms cereal, we check one last time to ensure gluten-free.

The inside Original Lucky Charms are gluten free too. Did you know you could just buy a bag of the Lucky Charm marshmallows?

I put Lucky Charms to the Nima Sensor test, and Nima was all smiles, again, telling me it didnt find any hidden gluten.

Please note that Chocolate Lucky Charms and Fruity Lucky Charms are NOT gluten free. General Mills only guarantees that its Original Lucky Charms will contain less than 20 ppm of gluten. Look for the gluten-free claim on individual packages of Original Lucky Charms.

You May Like: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

A Note About This Gluten Free Cereal List

Nowadays theres no shortage of gluten free cereals.

Like most foods, the foods on this gluten free cereal list come in all levels of nutritional value high fiber, low carb, whole grain pretty much any dietary criteria you can think of. That said, gluten free or not, most cereals are loaded with carbohydrates and sugar. In fact, 1 cup of 44 varieties of childrens cereal has more sugar that three Chips Ahoy cookies!

If youd like to avoid sugary cereals, check out some of these options:

Is Captain Crunch Cereal Gluten Free

Oh, were on to a big bowl of breakfast! Captain Crunch is a very popular breakfast cereal. Id say its especially popular with kids, and has been for decades. But, is this popular sweet treat of a breakfast a gluten free option for Celiacs and others who must avoid gluten? We researched to find out!

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

Oops All Berries Treats

You can buy boxes of just the berry-flavored round puffs of Capn Crunch cereal.

You can use the same ratio of marshmallows, butter, and cereal if you use Capn Crunch Oops All Berries Cereal instead of Capn Crunch Berries Cereal.

Just follow the recipe below and swap out the cereal.

Treats made using this cereal are brightly colored and fruit-flavored.

Captain Crunch Is Not Gluten

captain crunch ingredients gluten free

The Capn Crunch products line contains oat flour. Unless certified as gluten-free oats which is not the case with Capn Crunch oat flour is usually contaminated with wheat, making it unsuitable for celiac and gluten-intolerant consumers.

On its official website, the manufacturer clearly explains the reasons why their products are not labeled as gluten-free. According to them, their suppliers handle and transport oats in bulk, raising the chances of cross-contamination.

If the vehicles have previously transported gluten-containing grains, the oats may contain trace amounts of the respective grains. Even if Caps Crunch doesnt use rye, wheat, and barley, their products cannot safely be labeled as gluten-free.

Read Also: Are Jelly Belly Gluten Free

Are Fruity Pebbles Gluten Free

Yes, Fruity Pebbles are gluten free and labeled as such too. The Gluten Free label is seen on the side panel of the cereal box and under the ingredient list.

Fruity Pebbles are made from rice, sugar, oil and a whole bunch of food dye. No gluten in sight, and Nima is all smiles, assuring me that its gluten free.

Please note that Cocoa Pebbles are also labeled gluten free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.

How I Determined If A Cereal Is Gluten Free

To determine if a cereal is gluten free, I looked at the following criteria:

  • Packaging: I first looked at the product packaging. Does it have any gluten-free claims on the packaging?
  • Ingredient List: Next, I looked at the ingredient list. Does the ingredient list contain wheat, barley, rye, oats or derivatives of these ingredients such as malt .
  • Research: If I still questioned if a cereal was gluten free, I researched the brand online, carefully inspecting the companys website.
  • Nima Sensor Test: Finally, I used my Nima Sensor to test each cereal.
  • Also Check: Gluten-free Desserts Recipes Real Simple

    The Best Healthy Cereal

    Cereal is one of the easiest and yummiest ways to start the day, but it’s no secret that it isn’t always the healthiest option. Typically cereal is loaded with sugar and has no real benefits.

    So I put together this list of cereals with over 30 healthy options! And there are a ton of different types of cereal, so I guarantee there’s something here for you.

    Plus, a bunch of these are excellent choices as a healthy cereal for kids. So, if you’ve got picky eaters at home, these will be great for them too.

    Anyway, I broke all of the healthy breakfast cereal options into 5 categories – keto cereal, sugar free cereal, high fiber cereal, protein cereal and gluten free cereal – so whatever you’re looking for, you’ll find it here!

    Avoid These Cereals That Contain Gluten

    Paleo Coconut Flakes Cereal -Review (Low Carb, Gluten Free & Paleo)

    Cereals that state they contain gluten, and should be avoided, include:

    • Apple Jacks
    • CapN Crunch or Captain Crunch
    • Cinnamon Toast Crunch
    • Cocoa Puffs
    • Corn Flakes
    • Corn Pops
    • Cream of Wheat
    • Frosted Flakes avoid)
    • Frosted Mini Wheats
    • Fruit Loops
    • Honey Bunches of Oats and non-GF oats)
    • Kashi
    • Life
    • Lucky Charms
    • Raisin Bran
    • Rice Krispies
    • Shredded Wheat
    • Special K

    Recommended Reading: Ice Cream Brands Gluten Free

    Is Captain Crunch Healthy

    Captain Crunch is touted to be a great-tasting cereal that supplies grains, an excellent source of vitamins and minerals, but that doesnt make it healthy.

    Even though has several vitamins and minerals, is low in fat , and contains 1 gram of fiber, it all goes down the drain when you look at the amount of sugar it contains.

    1 cup is equivalent to 33g of carbohydrates, of which 17 grams are added sugars.

    Naturally, this means that a lot of these cereals are actually sugar bombs that should only be consumed sporadically .

    Is Captain Crunch Gluten Free What Is Captain Crunch

    Around since 1963, Capn Crunch is produced by Quaker Oats Company, which has become a division of PepsiCo in 2001. The product line consists of delicious corn and oat breakfast cereals that are produced using an innovative baking process.

    Though an impressive number of consumers define Captain Crunch as the best-tasting cereals ever, if you suffer from celiac disease or gluten intolerance, you should avoid this brand.

    Don’t Miss: Is Olive Garden Salad Dressing Gluten Free

    Are Reeses Puffs Gluten Free

    Reeses Puffs cereal is made of sweet and crunchy corn puffs coated with peanut butter. Obviously if you have a peanut allergy, you should avoid this cereal.

    The cereal box isnt marked gluten free, however, the ingredient list, which includes whole grain corn, sugar, Reeses peanut butter, dextrose, corn meal, corn syrup, oil and artificial flavors, does not include any gluten-y ingredients.

    I tested Reeses Puffs for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor, and Nima came back with a smile .

    Is Kix Gluten Free

    Is Captain Crunch Gluten

    Kix cereal is basically a slightly sweetened crispy corn puff. While Kix is not labeled gluten free, nor could I find any gluten-free information about Kix on the Kix website, it doesnt look like Kix contains any gluten-y ingredients.

    Kix is made from whole grain corn, corn meal, sugar, salt, brown sugar syrup, and baking soda. As you can see, Nima is all smiles, which means the device did not find any hidden gluten.

    You May Like: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -