Saturday, November 26, 2022
HomeNewsHoney Nut Cheerios Gluten Free

Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

How I Determined If A Cereal Is Gluten Free

Gluten Free Cheerios Review – Honey Nut Cheerios

To determine if a cereal is gluten free, I looked at the following criteria:

  • Packaging: I first looked at the product packaging. Does it have any gluten-free claims on the packaging?
  • Ingredient List: Next, I looked at the ingredient list. Does the ingredient list contain wheat, barley, rye, oats or derivatives of these ingredients such as malt .
  • Research: If I still questioned if a cereal was gluten free, I researched the brand online, carefully inspecting the companys website.
  • Nima Sensor Test: Finally, I used my Nima Sensor to test each cereal.
  • Are Honey Nut Cheerios Vegan

    Honey Nut Cheerios contain honey, an animal product. If you are vegan, you will likely want to steer clear of this flavor of Cheerios and opt for the original flavor.

    If you are a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios, I hope this post has helped you get the information youre looking for to help you decide whether or not to include this food in your gluten-free diet. Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free and dairy-free, but are not vegan.

    If you loved this post, I hope that youll share it with your friends on and pin it for future reference on .

    Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios Are Here

    We finally found the Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios today! In the past 2 weeks Ive looked in every grocery store, Wal-Mart and Target Ive gone by looking for the Gluten Free Yellow Box and Honey Nut Cheerios.

    When I found them today I cried, right there in the cereal aisle! I was so happy to be able to myself eat them again but most importantly share them with our three-year old twins, who have NEVER had Cheerios due to being Gluten Sensitive.

    There was even an older lady that walked by me and seemed very concerned. I let her know that I was ok, just happy. Apparently normal people dont cry in the cereal aisle:)

    Needless to say we got 4 boxes of the Gluten Free Honey Nut Cheerios. As soon as we got to the car I opened a box, grabbed a handful and cried again. I then handed the open box to our twins, but they each wanted their own box! So they each stuck there little hands into their own box of Cheerios. For a Gluten Free mom there was so much joy for me in this moment.

    I then proceeded to eat half a box while I drove an hour to my MILs house for Sunday lunch. I ate more on the way home. The twins each ate TWO bowls for dinner.

    We welcome the new Gluten Free Cheerios and I cant wait to introduce the twins to good ole Yellow Box! I will continue to check every grocery store I pass until I find them!

    Read Also: Publix Pizza Dough Reviews

    Are Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten

    Find out if Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free and fit into a gluten-free diet. Plus find out if theyre dairy-free and vegan.

    Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.

    Are you a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios and love to grab a quick bowl of cereal in the morning to get out the door? This sweetened version of Original Cheerios is popular among kids and adults alike.

    With a sweet and nutty flavor, Honey Nut Cheerios are one of the Cheerios brands most popular products.

    If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that you need to be careful about what foods and ingredients you add to your diet. So in this post, were going to talk about this flavor of Cheerios and find out if its gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan.

    Well also talk about which of the Honey Nut Cheerios spin-off products, their Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch and Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars are gluten-free.

    Bee Happy Bee Healthy

    General Mills, Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free Breakfast ...

    You already know that Honey Nut Cheerios® Naturally Flavored has the irresistible taste of golden honey, making it a family favorite. But did you know that each little o also contains soluble fiber from whole grain oats? As part of a heart-healthy* eating plan, eating Honey Nut Cheerios each day can help lower your cholesterol. Made with whole grains and low in fat, Cheerios also provides 12 essential vitamins and minerals. Thats something that everyone can smile about!

    Contains almond ingredients

    • Helps reduce the risk of heart disease*
    • Check mark icon

    Also Check: Are Dove Ice Cream Bars Gluten Free

    Ccas Position On The Safety Of Oats

    The CCA relies on advice from our Professional Advisory Council and other scientific experts for recommendations on the safety of oats for people with celiac disease. The PAC Position statement on consumption of oats by individuals with celiac disease indicates the need for evidence-based, peer reviewed, published data that demonstrates the levels of gluten in oats that have been cleaned using mechanical and/or optical sorting procedures .

    There are three product brands currently on the market made with gluten-free oats that are manufactured in facilities certified by the CCAs Gluten-Free Certification Program :

    Holy Crap Plus Gluten Free Oats

    Quaker Oats

    Nairn

    These companies have demonstrated to independent parties, trained GFCP auditors and GFCP technical personnel, that both their processed oats and finished products meet Health Canadas standard for gluten free and are safe for individuals with celiac disease.

    What Is The Problem And What Is Being Done About It

    The U.S. Food and Drug Administration is investigating reports of adverse reactions associated with eating original Cheerios and Honey-Nut Cheerios labeled as gluten-free and working with General Mills to facilitate their voluntary recall of these products. We recognize the importance of this issue to people with celiac disease, wheat allergy, and gluten sensitivity, and we will continue to provide updates and advice as needed.

    After learning of these adverse reactions, the FDA tested 36 samples of Cheerios products labeled as gluten-free from different manufacturing facilities and lots. Although most of the samples met the definition for gluten-free, one sample of General Mills Honey Nut Cheerios labeled as gluten-free contained 43 parts per million of gluten. This exceeds one of the criteria for FDAs gluten-free definition, that the food contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.

    General Mills has voluntarily recalled 13 production lots of Honey Nut Cheerios labeled as gluten-free and 4 production lots of original Cheerios labeled as gluten-free due to the presence of wheat flour . As with all recalls, the FDA will work to ensure the recall is effective and the underlying cause is identified and addressed.

    Also Check: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

    Are Fruity Pebbles Gluten Free

    Yes, Fruity Pebbles are gluten free and labeled as such too. The Gluten Free label is seen on the side panel of the cereal box and under the ingredient list.

    Fruity Pebbles are made from rice, sugar, oil and a whole bunch of food dye. No gluten in sight, and Nima is all smiles, assuring me that its gluten free.

    Please note that Cocoa Pebbles are also labeled gluten free and safe to consume on a gluten-free diet.

    Gluten Free Watchdogs Updated Position Statement On Cheerios

    Honey Nut Cheerios, Gluten-Free Just Got More Delicious

    This position statement may not be reposted without the express written permission of Gluten Free Watchdog, LLC.

    ***Note: What follows is the opinion of Gluten Free Watchdog. Whether or not you choose to eat Cheerios is your personal decision and you do not owe anyone an explanation. Please make decisions based on the totality of information available to you, including the position of Gluten Free Watchdog, the statement at the end of this post from General Mills, and Gluten Free Watchdogs updated position statement on oats.***

    BOTTOM LINE

    General Mills has always been transparent with Gluten Free Watchdog about the protocols used for gluten-free Cheerios. And for this, we are truly appreciative. However, Gluten Free Watchdog cannot in good conscience recommend gluten-free Cheerios. This is due largely to the testing protocol followed by General Mills versus our recent test results. Because General Mills uses sorted oats*, testing protocols take on added importance as a benchmark of oat safety. We truly wish General Mills would adopt a testing protocol similar to the one followed by Quaker Oats, another manufacturer also using sorted oats in labeled gluten-free foods.

    *Sorted oats are traditionally grown oats that undergo a mechanical and or optical screening at the mill to remove gluten-containing grain based on a variety of grain properties .

    THE DETAILS

    Test results:

    Yellow box/Original Cheerios

    You May Like: What Does Gluten Free Mean

    Are Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal Good For You

    Each little “o” contains soluble fiber from whole grain oats. You can feel good knowing whole grain is the first ingredient in Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal. All General Mills Big G Cereals contain more whole grain than any other single ingredient. It’s a smart way to start your day. Honey Nut Cheerios Cereal is low in fat and provides 12 essential vitamins and minerals including vitamin C, iron and zinc. Additionally, its ingredients do not include high fructose corn syrup or artificial flavors or colors. That’s something everyone can smile about.

    As part of a heart-healthy* eating plan, eating Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten-Free Cereal each day can help lower your cholesterol and helps reduce the risk of heart disease*.

    Is Crispix Gluten Free

    Crispix cereal is made of crunchy corn on one side and crispy rice on the other. Its not labeled gluten free.

    Crispix ingredients include rice, milled corn, sugar, salt, molasses, brown rice syrup, baking soda, and turmeric extract. None of the ingredients noted seem to contain gluten, however, brown rice syrup may contain gluten despite its innocuous name.

    Learn more about why brown rice syrup may contain gluten in my article, Is Yeast Extract Gluten Free and 20+ Other Confusing Ingredients.

    Sure enough, Crispix tested positive for gluten when put to the Nima Sensor test. See that wheat symbol and Gluten Found message? That means Nima found gluten.

    Heres an upclose picture of the Nima Sensors Gluten Found message.

    Recommended Reading: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free

    Are Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free

    Yes, according to General Mills, Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten free. They currently have no ingredients in them that contain gluten. Manufacturers recipes can change. ALWAYS READ YOUR PACKAGING to be safe.

    Cheerios are made with oats. Even though they are marked gluten free, some people are still sensitive to them. This is because oats are one of the grains that sometimes come in contact with other grains, like wheat, during processing.

    Cheerios Pie Crust Tips

    Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal, 27.2 oz Box ...

    In addition to using any flavor of Cheerios you choose. Here are few other recipe tips.

    The Sugar Use brown sugar or white granulated sugar in this recipe.

    The Amount of Cheerios Adjust the amount of Cheerios used depending on the desired crust thickness.

    Butter Amount Adjust the butter amount a little up or down if you find the mixture does not stick together or is too sticky when mixed.

    Crushing Cheerios If you dont own a food processor, use a large resalable bag and rolling pin, meat mallet, or heavy sauté pan to crush the Cheerios.

    For those of you that eat Cheerios as part of your gluten free lifestyle, I hope you make Cheerios Pie Crust and give it a try. Its that graham cracker crust texture without the graham crackers.

    You May Like: Is Wishbone Zesty Robusto Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    General Mills Honey Nut Cheerios Has More Sugar Per Serving Than Froot Loops

    Despite the differences in their ingredient profiles, General Mills positions both cereals as part of a happy, heart-healthy lifestyle:

    THE “CHEERIO” PART OF HONEY NUT CHEERIOS IS NOT THE SAME AS ORIGINAL CHEERIOS > > HONEY NUT CHEERIOS HAVE ADDED OIL AS INGREDIENT. Sweeteners aside, Honey Nut Cheerios has oil not found in original Cheerios > > rice bran oil and/or canola oil.

    THE CASCADIAN FARM ORGANIC BRAND IS ALSO OWNED BY GENERAL MILLS: They produce organic versions of many of the GM products under the Cascadian Farm brand. In this case, they make an organic version of Honey Nut Cheerios called Honey Nut Os.

    More Gluten Free Dessert Recipes

    Cookies and Cream Fudge A fudge recipe that combines sweetened condensed milk, chocolate, and gluten free chocolate sandwich cookies for an easy recipe rich and decedent.

    No Fuss Gluten Free Banana Pudding Banana Pudding is mostly gluten free. Swap the vanilla wafers out for gluten free ones and youve got an easy no fuss dessert perfect for potlucks, picnics and more.

    Gluten Free Apple Crisp Apples and warm spices get topped with a slightly sweet and buttery oat topping.

    Honey Nut Cheerios Brownies Honey Nut Cheerios make a great blond style brownie by providing great texture to this sweet treat.

    No Bake Peanut Butter Bars A favorite flavor combination together in one gluten free dessert bar.

    Follow me on for even more gluten free recipes.

    Also Check: Gluten Free Graham Crackers Walmart

    How Do I Help Get The Message Out That Gluten Free Must Mean Safe For Celiac Disease

    This is an issue of significant concern to the Canadian Celiac Association.

    1. Contact General Mills Canada Customer service and tell them that you would like to eat Cheerios, but not until you are sure the product is safe for people with celiac disease. http://consumercontacts.generalmills.com/ConsolidatedContact.aspx?page=http://www.lifemadedelicious.ca& js=True& language=en

    2. Contact Health Canada and tell them that you want gluten free to mean safe for people with celiac disease so that you do not have figure out if the test protocols used by a particular manufacturer are adequate to detect gluten contamination. Please copy the CCA on your messages to Health Canada. http://www.hc-sc.gc.ca/contact/fnan/hpfb-dgpsa/bcs-bipc-eng.php

    Notes:

    1. Health Canada study of oat levels in commercial oats available in Canada. http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3118497/

    2. Canadian Celiac Association Professional Advisory Council position statement on consumption of oats by individuals with celiac disease. https://www.celiac.ca/?page_id=2831

    Are Reeses Puffs Gluten Free

    Recall Issued Over Not-So-Gluten-Free Cheerios – Newsy

    Reeses Puffs cereal is made of sweet and crunchy corn puffs coated with peanut butter. Obviously if you have a peanut allergy, you should avoid this cereal.

    The cereal box isnt marked gluten free, however, the ingredient list, which includes whole grain corn, sugar, Reeses peanut butter, dextrose, corn meal, corn syrup, oil and artificial flavors, does not include any gluten-y ingredients.

    I tested Reeses Puffs for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor, and Nima came back with a smile .

    Don’t Miss: Is Wishbone Zesty Robusto Italian Dressing Gluten-free

    How To Make Cheerios Brownies Your Way

    Here are a few ideas to make it YOUR way.

    • Add Nuts Try adding a cup of Chopped Pecans or Walnuts
    • Swap the Chips Are Semi-Sweet Chips not your thing? Try Milk Chocolate, Butterscotch or White Chocolate Chips instead.
    • Not Enough Chips So you want more chips in your brownies? Add them. Whats the worst thing that can happen? You get more chocolate?

    Gluten Free Baking means baking out of the box to get something tasty. In this case, cereal to make Honey Nut Cheerios Brownies is the box to work out of!

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -