Thursday, June 16, 2022
HomeEditor PicksGluten Free Rice Crispy Treats

Gluten Free Rice Crispy Treats

- Advertisment -

How To Make Our Rice Crispy Treats Vegan

Gluten Free Rice Krispies Treats

We used the regular Jet-Puffed mini marshmallows in our rice crispy treats which contain gelatin. But if you want to make our recipe vegan, here are some vegan marshmallow brands you can try instead of regular marshmallows in this recipe.

Please note that we havent tried any of these brands in our recipe, so were not quite sure how they might affect the taste or texture. Make sure to check the labels for allergen cross contamination warnings for each brand since those can change over time.

What Are Rice Crispy Treats Made From

Rice crispy treats are generally made from just three ingredients: crisped rice cereal , marshmallows, and butter.

This is the basic recipe, but you can make this recipe with other ingredients mixed in, like chocolate candies or M& Ms, chocolate chips, sprinkles, food coloring, peanut butter, and almost anything you could think of!

Read on: Are marshmallows gluten-free?

Are Marshmallows Gluten Free

The other key ingredient in traditional Rice Krispies treats is marshmallows and the good news is that, yes, marshmallows are gluten free .

Kraft Jet-Puffed Marshmallows do not have any gluten ingredients on the label.

If you do not eat meat, beware that most marshmallows contain pork gelatin. There are vegan and gluten-free marshmallow options, including the following brands:

  • Dandies vegan marshmallows You will experience a slight texture different with vegan marshmallows, and they are a bit harder to work with, but if youre vegan, its a great option.
  • Trader Joes Trader Joes brand marshmallows are gluten free and vegan, and they come with a great price tag too.

Also Check: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free Options

What Are Rice Krispies

Rice Krispies are a crisped or puffed rice cereal that are manufactured by the Kelloggs brand. Rice Krispies are the name brand of this type of cereal, although other brands of crisped rice or puffed rice cereal are the same thing under a different name.

This cereal is light and fluffy, and usually used as a cereal with milk, but can be made into bars or other dessert treats.

Vegan Rice Crispy Treats Ingredients

Gluten Free Rice Krispies Treats

What are the ingredients for vegan rice krispie squares? Heres what you need:

  • Vegan Rice Crispies
  • Vegan Butter
  • Cooking oil spray

Its not too hard to find vegan rice krispies, depending on how strict you are. Sometimes a bone char filter is used to decolorize cane sugar.

I tested One Degree Organic Foods Sprouted Brown Rice Crisps and 365 Brown Rice Crisp Cereal for this recipe. Both worked out great .

Some other options to try are Natures Path Organic Crispy Rice Cereal, Barbaras Bakery Brown Rice Crisps Cereal, and Trader Joes Crisp Rice Cereal. Please note that these are not the same as the puffed rice cereal thats often sold in bags. For the most authentic tasting rice crispy treats, you need a cereal made with rice and a sweetener.

These are Dandies rice crispy treats because their vegan vanilla marshmallows are easy to find in supermarkets and health food stores. They also sell pumpkin spice vegan marshmallows and peppermint vegan marshmallows if you want to make flavor variations.

Also Check: Can You Use Pancake Mix Instead Of Bisquick

Rice Krispies Treats Add

  • Different gluten-free cereals Substitute other GF cereals, such as chocolate krispies or Fruity Pebbles. If you like to use rice or corn Chex cereal, see the best scotcheroos recipe.
  • Salted rice krispies treats Sprinkle a bit of flaky sea salt on top before they cool completely.
  • Candy bar rice crispy bars Chop 1 cup gluten-free candy bars, such as Milky Way or Snickers. Stir in 1/2 cup with the cereal and sprinkle remaining 1/2 cup on top before they cool.
  • Gluten-Free Oreos rice krispies treats Stir in about 20 crushed gluten-free oreos with the cereal.
  • Vegan Rice Crispy Treats Recipe

    By: Summer Yule · This post may contain affiliate links.

    Are rice krispies vegan? Are rice krispy treats vegan? Kelloggs Rice Crispy Treats are not vegan because they contain gelatin and flavorings from milk. Luckily, it is easy to make homemade vegan rice crispy treats– let me show you how! You only need three ingredients to make the BEST vegan rice krispie treats recipe that is also gluten free and dairy free.

    Vegan and vegetarian rice crispy treats are actually harder to come by than you might think! Heres why:

    • Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal is not vegan because it contains vitamin D3, derived from an animal source.
    • because they contain gelatin, a protein made from boiling animal by-products.
    • Butter is not vegan because it is a dairy product.

    No worries for the plant-based eaters, however! In this vegan rice crispy treats recipe, were using vegan rice krispies, vegan marshmallows, and vegan butter. Im going to tell you exactly what brands to use below to make the best dairy free rice krispie treats ever.

    3 ingredient vegan rice crispy treats will soon be yours with this easy stovetop recipe. And if you really want to make things special, I have four different rice crispy treat flavors to try below. I think youre going to love these twists on a classic childhood treat.

    Get new recipe ideas weekly, our 5-Day Air Fryer Quick Start Guide, and more totally FREE exclusive goodies!

      Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Alcohol Brands

      How To Store And Freeze

      Storing For best results, leave the bars uncut until ready to serve. Store at room temperature, wrapped securely in foil or in an airtight container, up to two days.

      Freezing Rice crispy treats may be frozen as well. Either wrap the entire uncut batch securely in plastic wrap or individual slices. To freeze uncut bars, wrap again in layers of foil. For bars, transfer to a ziplock freezer bag. Freeze up to two months.

      When Crisp Rice Cereal Isnt Just Rice

      Making GLUTEN FREE Rice Krispie Treats

      Since rice is naturally gluten free, you might wonder, are Rice Krispies are gluten free ? Conventional Kelloggs Rice Krispies are made with malt syrup, derived from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain. They are most definitely not gluten free.

      In 2011, though, Kelloggs introduced a gluten free variety of their famous snap, crackle and pop Rice Krispies that was sold in conventional grocery stores all over the U.S. However, they were discontinued in the U.S. just a few years later. The gluten free variety is, however, still available in Canada.

      When they were first available in the U.S., my gluten free son had only had Erewhon brand crisp rice cereal, and theyre great. Ive used them for baking for years.

      But I had a fondness for Kelloggs brand, as I grew up eating them, so I bought a box. They were, well, pretty much the same as I rememberand tasted very similar to 3 of the 5 brands below.

      Fortunately, now there are tons of brands of gluten free crisp rice cereals available for purchase. Some are a little more precious than others and are a bit more expensive.

      Cereal is pretty expensive, in general, though . Ive always found cereal to be a poor investment for the mornings nutrition.

      But its fast and always ready when you are. As long as its low in sugar and high in whole grains, Im fine with it for my kids.

      Also Check: Paleo Diet Gluten Free

      Are Rice Krispies Gluten

      Rice itself is naturally gluten free, but not all rice cereal is. Kelloggs Rice Krispies are currently made with malt syrup, which is derived from barley.

      While the company did start making a certified gluten free version of the cereal, they stopped production of it in 2015.

      What makes Rice Krispies NOT gluten-free is the addition of malt flavor in the cereal. Malt is derived from barley which is a gluten-containing grain.

      TIP: Anytime you see MALT FLAVOR or a barley derivative on rice cereal it is NOT gluten-free.

      However, there are several other brands that make certified gluten free crispy rice cereal. As you can see with the box above there is no malt flavor listed in the ingredients so the cereal is gluten-free.

      Here are some brands of gluten-free crispy rice cereal:

      • Malt O Meal
      • Wegmans

      You also might want to check out this post on are marshmallows gluten-free!

      Natures Path Gluten Free Crispy Rice Cereal

      Like One Degree brand, this Natures Path crisp rice cereal is puffy, not wrinkly. That is not ageist, its just a fact.

      The only really noticeable differences between Natures Path and One Degree are price and availability . Natures Path has two types of sugar and One Degree has only coconut palm sugar, but I dont detect a difference in taste or crispness.

      Here are the other details about Natures Path:

      • Size of package: 10 ounces
      • Price you should expect to pay: about $4.20
      • Availability: Pretty good. I purchased this cereal at Vitacost.com, and have seen it available from Jet.com and iHerb.com. Amazon.com has a terrible price. In the past, Ive seen this product in Whole Foods and in my local natural foods store.
      • Other common allergens: none
      • Ingredients: brown rice flour, cane sugar, sea salt, molasses

      You May Like: Whole Wheat Pizza Dough Publix

      Smores Vegan Rice Crispy Treats

      Use Dandies vanilla mini marshmallows. Let the recipe cool in the pan and cut it into squares.

      Melt ¼ cup vegan semi-sweet chocolate chips with ½ teaspoon of coconut oil. Drizzle the treats with the melted chocolate using a drizzle spoon.

      Top with 18 chocolate Teddy Grahams . Refrigerate the treats to set the chocolate.

      Whats A Good Vegan Butter For Rice Crispy Treats

      S

      There are several options for vegan butter out there depending on which grocery store you frequent. I tested Miyokos Vegan Butter and Earth Balance Vegan Butter for this recipe. Both worked well, as did a 3:2 mix of vegan butter and coconut oil.

      Make sure you get the vegan butter sticks and not the vegan buttery spread for this recipe. The sticks can be used as a 1:1 replacement for dairy butter. Your results may vary if you use a vegan spread, whipped butter, or spreadable margarine instead.

      Don’t Miss: Udi’s Gluten-free Bread Jersey Mike’s

      *** Thanksgiving Recipes ***

      These roasted brussels sprouts get a fair amount of spice from the crushed red pepper flakes, which cuts

      After trying every turkey-roasting method under the sun, Ive finally settled on this as absolutely the

      We love how the cinnamon-scented streusel topping lets the juicy berries peek through.

      Italian sausage and a heap of Parmesan cheese lend signature flair to the easy Thanksgiving dressing

      Its all about the layers and ruffles in this dramatic seasonal pie.

      Poach quince in rosé with a dash of cocktail bitters and a few warm spices, then assemble into a tart

      Leave the sausage, nuts, dried fruit behind in favor of this easy, vegetarian-friendly stuffing recipe

      Alton Browns turkey brine recipe from Good Eats will give you a flavorful Thanksgiving turkey with juicy

      Bone-in turkey breasts are easy to find, and as impressive as a whole bird when you roast them in butter

      This recipe was handed down by my great-grandmother. It is a family favorite that we make every Thanksgiving.

      Cutting leeks into large pieces gives them a presence equal

      This crunchy crumble is the perfect topping for an ice cream sundae, easy apple crumble, or our Build-Your-Own

      Are Rice Krispie Treats Allergy Safe

      Are Rice Krispie Treats Allergy Safe?

      ? **Also, while the well-known Kelloggs brand rice krispies are wheat free, they are not gluten free, as typical and generic brands of rice krispies uses barley in all the brands Ive ran across. If you need wheat AND gluten-free, Ive found Malt-0-Meal & Erewhon are gluten-free substitutions.

      What allergens are in Rice Krispies? Rice Krispies Ingredients

      Are Kelloggs Rice Krispie treats vegan? Speaking of cereal, Kelloggs Rice Krispies Cereal that we use to make our traditional cereal treats is not vegan. The puffed rice cereal contains vitamin D3 derived from animals, so be sure to find a vegan alternative. Puffed rice cereal is not the same.

      You May Like: Gluten Free Measure For Measure Flour Recipes

      How To Make Vegan Rice Crispy Treats

      Time to make vegan rice krispy squares! This is my slight tweak on recipes you can find on the Rice Krispies cereal website, the Dandies marshmallow website and others. One thing I do differently is use a bit more vegan butter.

      I always have problems with the original rice krispies treats recipe sticking to the pot after adding the marshmallow. Increasing the butter to marshmallow ratio largely eliminates this issue.

      This is a treat food, and I want to make it worth the indulgence. So Ive decided some extra vegan butter is worth it. Anyhoo…

      Begin by melting the butter in a pot on the stovetop over medium-low heat. After the butter has melted, add in the marshmallows and stir constantly until theyre completely melted.

      This will take a good 5-10 minutes and will be a mini arm workout. Dont be a quitter!

      Now take the pot off the heat and quickly add in the brown rice cereal, stirring to coat. Spray your square pan with oil and put some oil on your hands as well. Dump the rice and marshmallow mixture into the pan, and press it tightly into the pan with your hands.

      The rice crispy treats should be an even thickness across the pan. Add sprinkles while they are still sticky . Let them chill in the fridge before cutting and decorating.

      You can also microwave the butter and marshmallows, stirring and checking them every 30-40 seconds. This is a good alternative if you dont want to use the stove.

      Gluten Free Rice Krispy Treats

      Tahini Rice Krispie Treats | No-Bake Gluten-Free/Dairy Free Dessert | Jana Eats

      Jodi / /

      Our Gluten-Free Rice Krispy Treats are the best rice Krispy treat recipe around. Packed with marshmallows and gluten-free crispy rice, these can be individually wrapped for lunchboxes or bake sales. Make this no-bake dessert with only 4 ingredients in just 15 minutes!

      Rice Krispy treats were one of the hardest treats to give up after going gluten-free. They are such comfort food. I was thrilled this version is just as good as the original version or even better with all the extra marshmallows!

      For more gluten-free treats that are kid-approved, ourMini Flourless Chocolate Cake, Gluten-Free Apple Cake, Bundt Cake , Gluten-Free Pecan Pieand Gluten-Free Pumpkin Barsare all kid favorites!

      Also Check: Is Hello Fresh Gluten Free

      My Favorite Traditional Rice Crispy Treat Recipe

      I love making Rice Krispy Treats with homemade marshmallows. Theyre always less sweet than those made in a typical way, with melted butter, melted marshmallows and/or marshmallow creme, and I find that they stay fresh longer.

      But sometimes, you just need to whip them up in mere seconds. Below is my favorite traditional way to make gluten free rice krispy treats. I like to mix butter with marshmallow creme, since its easier to melt than whole marshmallows.

      Have you ever tried to make these treats with marshmallows that arent incredibly fresh? It does not go well. But marshmallow creme/fluff is always fresh enough for these treats. I also like to add a few more miniature marshmallows at the last minute, since they keep everything just gooey enough. Using marshmallow creme rather than marshmallows also makes for treats that are still soft the next day.

      If you dont have fresh mini marshmallows, just leave them out. Or add chocolate chips!

      RELATED ARTICLES
      - Advertisment -

      Most Popular

      - Advertisment -