Are Spring Rolls Gluten
It totally depends on what the wrap is made up of. Mostly, the spring roll wraps are made of wheat. Hence, it may not be gluten-free. A lot of spring roll wrappers are available in the market made up of rice paper. These rice paper spring roll wrappers are 100% gluten-free.
You can also find gluten-free spring roll wraps in the market. Fresh Chinese spring rolls are healthy, especially if you make the filling rich in raw vegetables and lean protein. The rice paper or rice spring roll wraps are low in calories and fat, making it extremely healthy. Spring rolls are a staple dish for Chinese holidays. Chinese spring rolls and black tea can be an ideal evening snack.
Make Your Own Chinese Takeout
We still eat out, to be sure, but we tend to stick to the same Celiac-friendly restaurants where we know exactly what my son and I can eat.Chinese takeout, with its noodles, wheat-based sauces and occasional fried offerings is not usually a great choice.
I have taken to making my own Chinese takeout at home to satisfy that craving. Its not quite the same as picking up the phone and making a call, but I was recently told my chicken fried rice gives real Chinese takeout a run for its money! In the spirit of sharing, Im posting it for you here.
What Chinese Food Is Gluten Free
Whether celebrating the Lunar New Year is part of your culture or just a prompt to try a new recipe, you might be wondering what Chinese dishes you can enjoy safely this week.
This Friday, people across the world will be celebrating the Lunar New Year and ushering in the Year of the Ox. Things might be different due to the pandemic, but you can still make amazing gluten free food at home to celebrate! We’ve developed 4 recipe ideas and a guide to gluten free Chinese takeways below.
Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix
Chinese Braised Tofu And Veggie Stir Fry
Notice then that it will have the perfect Chinese braised tofu. So then it has the burst of flavors from the mix of ingredients it has. You will have the vegetable stir fry also to add to the meal.
Notice then that you will enjoy it with the rice or noodles of your choice, making your work much easier.
Here you then have the vegan meal that you will enjoy as part of the major meal. Check this recipe for ideas on how to make the meal perfectly.
The Best Gluten Free Noodles For All That Delicious Lo Mein Sauce
As long as your noodles arent mushy, they should be able to hold the lo mein sauce. And thats their main purpose!
I really like Thai Kitchen brand straight cut wide rice noodles. I often buy them by the case when I find them for a reasonable price online, but theyre often available in regular and sometimes fancier grocery stores like Whole Foods.
If Im not using those broad, flat rice noodles, I usually make lo mein using Barilla brand dried gluten free spaghetti. My kids and I actually really love spaghetti.
Even though all the pasta shapes are made using the same ingredients, somehow spaghetti always gets a yes! at dinnertime.
Read Also: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix
Simply Prepared Meats And Vegetables With Tamari Soy Sauce
Dishes that come with plain meat or vegetables are also generally gluten-free. Look out for dishes with dark sauces, as they often contain gluten.
You may consider ordering simply prepared noodles, vegetables, and meat, then adding your own gluten-free tamari soy sauce or sriracha sauce to the meal.
How Do I Garnish Gluten Free Orange Chicken
If I garnish my gluten free orange chicken, I usually sprinkle with a few thinly sliced green onions, or a sprinkle of sesame seeds.
My mom regularly makes this recipe, and she adds thinly sliced carrots which add a great sweetness and contrasting texture.
After cooking the chicken, but before cooking the sauce, she sautés thinly sliced carrots in a little oil until they are golden on the edges.
Then she adds the sauce to the carrots, and continues the recipe as written from that point.
I think this recipe would also be great with some steamed green beans.
Read Also: Gluten Free Desserts Recipes Real Simple
Gluten Free Vegan Satay Curry
Im not sure how vegan options are at local takeaways these days, but I decided to throw one in!
Mark grew up tasting all the amazing satay flavours in Malaysia and I managed to convince him to show me how to make a really creamy, peanut satay sauce. He did and its amazing!
Sweet potato is such a lovely substitute for chicken in this recipe as it soaks up all the flavour and the sweetness works so well against the spicy sauce.
Did I mention it only takes 15 minutes to cook?! And thats not why its one of the most popular gluten free Chinese takeaway recipes on the blog it tastes out of this world to boot!
Happy Chinese Takeaway Night
Thanks for reading about the 10 gluten free Chinese takeaway recipes you wont believe you can eat! If you make them, Id love to see how they turn out. So absolutely make sure that you send me a pic using my social media links below
Any questions about the recipes? Please do let me know by leaving a comment below or on / /
Thanks for reading,
You May Like: Is Liquid Iv Gluten Free
How To Make Chinese Food Gluten
Not all foods are gluten-free but are loved by all, especially wonton, spring rolls, and dumplings. Although these arent gluten-free, you can surely make these. If you love pizza, you can always make gluten-free bases. You can buy gluten-free flour to prepare the base of these dishes.
Fast-food takeaways are not usually gluten-free. However, certain Chinese restaurants do provide the option of gluten-free foods. If you want to make gluten-free food, you need to purchase gluten-free ingredients.
Is There Gluten In Soy Sauce
No. Soy sauce is not gluten-free. Soy sauce is made up of essential ingredients like soybeans, salt, water, and wheat. Soybeans are cooked with wheat, to which aspergillus mold is added. The mixture is left for fermentation for a few months so that the soy and wheat can break down by hydrolysis.
The soy sauce is hydrolyzed, and the gluten content is broken down into smaller particles, peptides. Soy sauce isnt gluten-free, which is why it is still capable of causing damage to people suffering from celiac diseases.
Is there any alternative to gluten-free Chinese sauces? If youre looking forward to a gluten-free alternative to soy sauce, then you can always choose tamari. Tamari is thick and has a stronger flavor as compared to soy sauce. If youre dining at a restaurant and choosing gluten-free dishes, then you should always check if the dishes contain soy sauce too. A lot of restaurants use soy sauce for deep frying certain dishes.
Recommended Reading: What Does Gluten Free Means
Gluten Free Chinese Food
Gluten is a plant protein that is found in some grains, such as barley, rye and wheat. Over the years, protein has been problematic for patients of celiac disease as well as people with gluten intolerance. Celiac disease is a disorder that can lead to intestinal damage, if the patient consumes food containing gluten. If you are one of such people, it is highly advisable that you avoid gluten containing foods. Currently, there is an array of gluten free Chinese food in Chinese restaurants for such people, some of which will be discussed in this article.
Chinese Dishes That Contain Gluten
When youre trying to avoid gluten, be on the lookout for these different types of dishes on the menu as they very likely contain gluten or wheat.
- Anything with soy sauce, unless made with gluten-free tamari soy sauce
- Anything with dark brown sauces
- Fried rice made with soy sauce
- Breaded meats or other breaded food
- Noodles made from wheat
- Dishes made with broth
Read on: Are udon noodles gluten-free?
As you can see, eating gluten-free Chinese food isnt impossible, but it certainly comes with a lot to think about.
There are options for you, and youll want to do your due diligence in talking to your server, reviewing menus, and asking for dishes to be made without soy sauce.
The very best way to make sure the Chinese food that you are eating is gluten-free is to make your own at home.
No, its not as easy as picking up the phone for takeout or walking into a restaurant, but its the simplest way to be sure you can eat something delicious that suits your bodys needs.
If you have any great tips on ordering Chinese food at restaurants, be sure to share them in the comments section!
Recommended Reading: Are Ezekiel English Muffins Gluten-free
Gf Menu Options Include: Noodles
To Make The Gluten Free Orange Chicken Sauce Youll Need:
- Gluten Free Soy Sauce. I usually use Tamari, but Ive also used Coconut Aminos in this recipe with similar results.
- White vinegar. You can use either a distilled white vinegar, or a rice vinegar. Ive even used apple cider vinegar in a pinch!
- Orange juice and orange zest. This is where you get all the flavor! If you dont have a fresh orange to use for orange zest, it will still taste good but wont have as strong of an orange flavor.
- Water. The sauce will be to strong if you dont add it.
- Brown Sugar. Brown sugar adds sweetness, and also helps to thicken the sauce as the sugars caramelize. Ive also made this recipe using coconut sugar and/or honey if you want a less processed alternative. If you dont have brown sugar, you can use granulated white sugar. It wont add as much flavor, but will get the job done.
- Minced garlic. You can use pressed garlic, or even garlic powder in a pinch.
- Red pepper flakes. You can use more or less to suit your tastes. If you are making it for particularly picky children you can omit all-together. If you dont have red pepper flakes, you can substitute a tiny pinch of cayenne.
Whisk all the ingredients together in a small bowl and pour into the hot pan after you finish cooking the chicken.
There will be just a little cornstarch leftover in the pan.
The cornstarch will help thicken the gluten free orange sauce.
Once the sauce is simmering, add the cooked cornstarch breaded chicken and toss to coat.
You May Like: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free
Do Chinese Dumplings Have Gluten
Dumplings are one of the most loved Chinese dishes. There are certain Chinese etiquettes for the consumption of dumplings. Chinese dumplings are wrapped in wheat dough. Hence, it can be concluded that Chinese dumplings arent gluten-free. Chinese dumplings have fillings wrapped in the tough. The dough is often made of wheat flour, potato, or bread. The filling consists of sweets, vegetables, cheese, meat, and fish.
If you love Chinese dumplings and are gluten cautious, you should refrain from this. The dough is prepared with a combination of tapioca flour and wheat starch. Hence, if youre looking for the answer to are Chinese dumplings gluten-free? sadly, theyre not, but theres always an alternative so that you can savor the delicious Chinese dumplings.
You can always prepare Chinese dumplings from scratch, even if you are on a gluten-free diet. Instead of wheat starch and tapioca flour, you should use gluten-free flour.
Italian Rice Ball Skillet
Cooked noodles are tossed with stir fried chicken and vegetables then tossed with a luscious sauce thats savory from gluten-free Tamari, a little sweet from the addition of gluten-free oyster sauce and a pinch of sugar, then rounded out with sesame oil, chili sauce, and a hit of garlic. This dish is soooo good and you can feel way better about eating a big bowl or two
A few notes:
- I used Kikkoman Gluten-Free Oyster Sauce which I find in the regular Asian foods aisle at the grocery store. Oyster sauce is thick, a little sweet, and ultra concentrated in flavor. I think its what makes this dish Chicken Lo Mein versus if you just tossed the ingredients with gluten-free Tamari or soy sauce.
- Speaking of Tamari, be sure to use LOW-SODIUM gluten-free Tamari or gluten-free soy sauce for this dish, otherwise it will be too salty. I love San-J gluten-free Tamari.
- Customize your lo mein by adding any vegetables you want as long as they amount to 4 cups. I used broccoli, but other great options include red bell pepper, snow peas, carrots, celery, and baby bok choy.
- Be sure to have all the ingredients prepped and measured before turning on the heat. This dish cooks in 5-7 minutes, and on high heat, so theres no time to chop once the ingredients start sizzling.
OK ready to eat?
Add 3 Tablespoons water to the wok then, once simmering, add 4 cups broccoli florets. Cover the pan with a lid then simmer for 1 minute.
You May Like: Substitute For Panko Breadcrumbs Gluten Free
Gluten Free Chicken Lo Mein
No need to order take out when you can make Gluten Free Chicken Lo Mein at home! These saucy, slurpy noodles really satisfy.
The other day I decided the first thing Id eat if I ever got a temporary break from having to eat gluten-free would be Arbys Curly Fries.
As Ive said before, theres a gluten-free version of nearly every gluten-containing food these days, but good ol fashioned battered then fried curly fries? GIMME.
Those and Chocolate Munchkins from Dunkin Donuts, B-Bops Cheeseburgers with extra mayo, Papa Johns Pizza, OP breadsticks, a cinnamon roll the size of my head from literally anywhere, and BEER THAT TASTES LIKE BEER but whos keeping track?
While I find myself dreaming about doughy breadsticks, one thing I dont have to miss out on is Chinese takeoutmade at home, anyway! Mongolian Beef Noodle Bowls, Pot Sticker Noodles Bowls, and Chicken Pad Thai are a few of the ways I keep my take out cravings at bay, and now Ive got another dish to add to the list Gluten-Free Chicken Lo Mein.
Chicken Lo Mein was one of my very favorite Chinese take out dishes prior to having to go gluten-free. Greasy, twirly, greasy, chewy, did I mention greasy? It was SO good, but obviously not so good for you! No problem though, because by making Chicken Lo Mein at home, Im able to control the amount of fat, sugar, and salt in the dish, plus make it gluten-free, too.