Do Graham Crackers Contain Dairy
Most graham crackers do not contain dairy, milk, or lactose. Out of 57 graham cracker products checked, only 6 products contained dairy ingredients. Furthermore, none of those 6 products were your typical style of graham crackers.
Here are the six products that contained dairy, from the ones I checked:
- Annies Neapolitan Bunny Grahams *
- Keebler Deluxe Grahams
- Pamelas Gluten-Free Honey Grahams
- Pamelas Gluten-Free Cinnamon Grahams
- Pamelas Gluten-Free Chocolate Chip Grahams
- Trader Joes Dark Choc. Covered Honey Grahams w/ Sea Salt
So youve got two of the fudge-covered grahams, one brand of gluten-free grahams, and then a random flavor of Annies Bunny Grahams with dairy. All the other graham crackers I checked were dairy-free.
Note = Annies Neapolitan Bunny Grahams do not contain an allergy warning for milk. However, they contain Natural Butter Flavor. I suspect this ingredient is derived from dairybut admittedly, Im not sure.
How To Make Graham Crackers From Scratch + Video
While this recipe was originally created for crackers, I also discovered that the same ingredients can be used as a tasty cookie dough recipe! No matter how you choose to eat it, the instructions are the same. To learn how to turn it into extra crispy crackers, be sure to keep reading!
To start, preheat the oven and line a baking sheet with parchment paper. Then, in a large bowl or stand mixer whisk together the oat flour, almond flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Add the sugar and cinnamon, and whisk again.
Next, add the chopped cold butter, and mix until a mealy flour is formed. Add the cold milk, honey, and vanilla, and mix until well combined. Using your hands, form the dough into a ball, wrap it in plastic wrap, and let it sit in the fridge for 30 minutes to chill.
Once chilled, roll the dough out into a large rectangle using a rolling pin. Carefully, flip the dough onto a baking sheet, and use a sharp knife to cut it into 3×3 inch squares. Remove any excess dough, and use a fork to poke holes about halfway through the squares. For an added touch of sweetness, sprinkle the squares with sugar.
Place the baking sheet in the middle rack of the oven for 7 minutes before flipping it around and cooking the crackers for an additional 7-8 minutes. Allow the crackers to cool, and enjoy!
Are Pamelas Honey Grahams Vegan
Pamels Honey Grahams are not vegan, as all flavors contain butter and honey. If youre looking for a gluten-free graham cracker that is vegan, check out the gluten-free flavors of Annies Bunny Grahams.
Here are the exact flavors of Pamelas that I was able to check:
Are Pamelas Honey Grahams Vegan?
Recommended Reading: Sprinkles Vegan Red Velvet Cupcake Recipe
Who Invented Graham Crackers Anyway
Sylvester Graham was a presbyterian minister who believed that eating a vegetarian diet rich in whole grains and living a lifestyle abstinent of pleasure brought one closer to god. I picture Sylvester Graham as a lean, mean man with thin lips and permanent RBF, perpetually scowling at those around him enjoying their lives. An extra-hearty form of whole wheat flour graham flour was named for Mr. Graham and used to make breads and crackers that he and his followers devoured.
Sylvester Graham was onto something when it came to the health benefits of whole grains, but he got the whole self-deprivation thing wrong in one glaring respect. Whole grain flours taste BETTER than their bland, white counterparts. Delicious, in fact. Once you taste baked goods made with flavorful flours such as oat, teff, buckwheat, chestnut, and sorghum, you’ll become spoiled and snobby like I did when I wrote Alternative Baker. You’ll find conventional, refined baked goods lacking.
Here’s hoping Sylvester Graham knew exactly what he was up to, and secretly savored his tasty carbs. Otherwise, he’s definitely rolling over in his grave at this luxurious version of his precious crackers.
How To Make Gluten
The nice cracker-like texture of a graham cracker comes from both the baking powder and the way the fat is cut into the dough. Kind of like a pie crust, you want to work the fat into the dough quickly. I think a food processor is the best tool for the job. If you dont own one, use a pastry cutter or two butter knives. Be sure to keep the fat, butter or shortening, cold before adding it to the dough.
Read Also: Gluten Free Breakfast For Toddlers
Are Honey Maid Graham Crackers Gluten Free
The Honey Maid Graham Crackers are sweet-flavoured crackers that originated in the early 1880s.
It is eaten as a snack food, usually honey or cinnamon-flavored, and is used as an ingredient in some foods, like SMORES!
Lets find out if these graham crackers are free from gluten and wheat ingredients.
Are Nabisco Graham Crackers Vegan
Nabisco Original Grahams are vegan graham crackers. They do not contain honey or any other animal products.
Below are the full ingredients. As you can see, instead of honey, they just have sugar and molasses for sweetening:
Nabisco Original Grahams Ingredients:Unbleached Enriched Flour , Graham Flour , Sugar, Canola Oil, Molasses, Palm Oil, Leavening , Salt.
Also Check: Gluten Free Jason’s Deli
Which Flours Make The Best Gluten
Inspired by a wheat and teff flour graham cracker recipe in Good to the Grain by Kim Boyce, I use a mix of teff, oat, and sweet rice flours in my gluten free graham crackers.
- Teff flour is rich in protein and that protein helps baked goods hold together, just like gluten does.
- Soft, starchy oat flour helps these gf grahams bake up light and tender, adding a creamy, mellow taste similar to whole wheat.
- Sweet rice flour is stickier than regular white rice flour and creates structure, while cornstarch keeps them crisp and delicate.
These three flours can be found at natural food stores or ordered online, but I’ve given suggestions for alternatives in the recipe headnote below.
Can Graham Crackers For Smores Be Prepped Ahead Of Time & How To Store Them
Not only can these Gluten Free Graham Crackers be prepped ahead of time, I recommend doing so! After all, you never know when that craving for smores will strike. To keep your crackers fresh, be sure to let them cool completely after baking. Then, store them in an airtight container at room temperature.
If you opt for the fluffier version and choose not to dry out your crackers, they will stay crispy for roughly 2 days. However, if you dry your graham crackers, they will stay fresh for up to 2 weeks!
For even longer storage times, you can also freeze your graham crackers. Personally, I like to keep the dough on hand. However, they store well when baked, too. Both versions will stay fresh for up to 4 months in the freezer.
Recommended Reading: Is Klondike Bars Gluten Free
Why Make Homemade Graham Crackers
ONE – Well first of all, there are NO good store bought gluten free graham crackers on the market. The ones that are available are full of sugars, dairy and contain so many processed ingredients, preservatives and fillers that can destroy your gut and your immune system. So I had to make my own!
TWO – I love doing copy cat recipes, its so hard not being able to eat these fun foods, especially during the holidays and summertime. Now you can join with a just as good/healthier version. Hello campfire cooks!
THREE – They are fun to make and so rewarding seeing these few ingredients become your favorite honey cracker…. err, biscuit? Cookie? After 6 attempts, I finally got the recipeWHEW. But you are going to love these.
Can You Use A Different Sweetener
Sorry, I dont recommend swapping out the sweetener here. You need Besti Brown Monk Fruit Allulose Blend to get that classic brown sugar flavor, and since its moist like brown sugar, it impacts the recipe moisture level as well. I have tried other brands of keto brown sweetener, and find that they either dont have the right moisture or the right sweetness, or they crystallize.
You can get Besti Brown Sweetener here, or if its not available for shipping to your location, when it is.
Don’t Miss: Wholly Gluten Free Pizza Crust
How Do You Make Gluten
How To Store Homemade Gluten
Have you ever grabbed a box of graham crackers from your pantry only to open them and find that theyre completely stale and soft? So disappointing!
Just like the boxed crackers, these homemade graham crackers are best stored in an airtight container at room temperature. Be sure to keep the container sealed at all times to ensure that they stay as crisp as possible. If excess moisture gets into the container, youll end up with stale crackers before you know it.
Your homemade gluten free graham crackers should stay fresh for up to 5 days, so plan to use them quickly!
Read Also: Publix Pizza Dough Reviews
What Gives Graham Crackers Their Flavor
Typically, store-bought graham crackers and other homemade graham cracker recipes contain molasses, a super thick and syrupy by-product from sugarcane processing, which is the ingredient that gives graham crackers their earthy, somewhat smoky flavor.
Oftentimes, graham cracker recipes also call for graham flour, a course whole wheat flour that gives graham crackers their recognizable bran-like texture and crispy crunch.
In this gluten free graham cracker recipe, the sorghum flour does double duty, adding both texture and flavor. Sorghum juice is a substance that is similar to molasses in flavor and consistency, so its the perfect ingredient for these homemade graham crackers.
How To Make Homemade Graham Crackers:
Whisk dry ingredients: In a large bowl, whisk together the dry ingredients.
Mix wet ingredients: In a smaller bowl, stir together the wet ingredients.
Combine: Add the wet ingredients into the dry and mix until combined. It will be a stiff dough, so you may need to get in there with your hand, mixing until there are no visible streaks of flour.
Roll: Place the dough between two sheets of parchment paper and roll into a ¼-1/8th inch thickness.
Cut into squares: Peel off the top layer of parchment and square off the edges so you have one large rectangle. Cut the dough into 2 x 3 inch rectangles and prick each rectangle with a fork or bamboo skewer.
Bake: Gently pick up the bottom piece of parchment and transfer thh graham crackers to a baking sheet. Bake until golden.
Also Check: Are Spiked Seltzers Gluten Free
How To Use Low Carb Graham Crackers
Besides the obvious of just snacking on these keto-friendly graham crackers, Ive got a few other ideas for you:
- Smores Is there anything that goes together more perfectly than a fluffy sugar-free marshmallow, a crunchy cinnamon graham cracker, and dark chocolate?
- Pie Crust If youre looking to use the graham crackers in a pie crust, try gluten-free pumpkin pie cheesecake. Its easy to make it low carb by using these sugar-free graham crackers and swapping the sugar with a keto sweetener.
- Graham crackers crumbs Crumble the crackers and use the crumbs for topping your favorite keto desserts. I particularly love it over keto ice cream.
- Dunk them in milk While regular milk is not keto, they are perfect with almond milk.
The Many Ways To Use Gluten Free Graham Crackers
- Smores of course! Try it with these vegan marshmallows and this dairy-free milk chocolate.
- Slathered with nut butter, topped with banana and drizzled with honey for a quick afternoon snack.
- Use them to make a gluten free graham cracker crust!
- Like cereal broken into bite sized pieces with milk. Quite possibly my all time favorite snack/dessert!
You May Like: Publix Better Than Bouillon
How To Vegan Make Graham Crackers Extra Crispy
If you like your graham crackers on the softer side or want this recipe to be more cookie-like, follow the instructions as they are listed. However, if you want to add a bit more crunch, make sure to roll out the batter extra thin. For the best results you want it to be about 1/16th inch thick.
Or, if youd like a thicker cracker that still has a nice crunch, you can simply dry them out after baking. To do this, place them in a warm oven at a temperature between 190-200 degrees Fahrenheit for about an hour. Then, remove the crackers, and let them cool before serving.
Whichever method you choose, you should be left with golden-brown and perfectly crispy squares.
Annies Gluten Free Bunny Grahams
Annies doesnt have the traditional flat graham crackers, but they do have certified gluten-free Bunny Grahams! If you just like snacking on graham crackers, pick up one of Annies two certified gluten-free graham cracker snacks: Cocoa & Vanilla Bunny Grahams or SnickerDoodle Bunny Grahams.
Look for these products at Walmart, Target, Sprouts, Publix, Kroger, and more! Use their store locator to find products near you.
See More Gluten-Free Pantry Items:
You May Like: Dove Milk Chocolate Gluten-free
Other Ways To Use Gluten Free Graham Crackers
In addition to eating homemade graham crackers by the square as a healthy treat, there are lots of different ways to use graham crackers in baking.
Try crushing your graham crackers into crumbs and using them to make a pie crust. My maple pumpkin pie recipe would be delicious with a gluten-free graham cracker crust in place of the traditional gluten-free pie crust.
You could also swap gluten-free graham cracker crumbs for the chocolate cookies in my dairy-free salted caramel ice cream pie.