Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeNewsAre Nachos At Taco Bell Gluten Free

Are Nachos At Taco Bell Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Are Taco Bell Refried Beans Gluten

DIY Taco Bell Nacho Fries // Scratch & Hack Recipes

Taco Bell Gluten Free Menu

One of the best gluten-free menu items at Taco Bell is the Power Menu Bowl. Another yummy menu option containing no gluten is black beans & rice, which includes rice, black beans, and a variety of add-ons. Add refried beans for extra protein or hot sauce for a spicy meal!

Does Taco Bell Have Gluten

In short, yes. Taco Bell does have some food options available that do not have any gluten-containing ingredients. However, the preparation method of Taco Bell food means that there is no guarantee that there has been no cross-contact with foods that do contain gluten. They have no separate equipment, which means it is a risk.

Taco Bell state that:

Taco Bell® does not claim gluten-free for any of its food. Some Taco Bell® items are made without gluten-containing ingredients but are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, risking gluten exposure. Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.

They want to protect themselves and us, so are extremely honest in that statement. Some gluten intolerant individuals can consume Taco Bell just fine, but its all down to the individual and how comfortable they feel eating there. You can find their full statement about allergens here.

What Is Gluten Free At Taco Bell

In this article and guide, well highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Taco Bell. Want to learn more nutrition and allergen facts about Taco Bells foods? Check out their page on eating at Taco Bell when youre avoiding gluten.

Check out Taco Bells allergen tool here:

Taco Bell states: Taco Bell® does not claim gluten-free for any of its food. Some Taco Bell® items are made without gluten-containing ingredients but are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, risking gluten exposure. Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free And Dairy Free Desserts

Tips & Tricks For Ordering Gluten

  • Choose crunchy corn tortillas instead of flour tortillas. Chalupas are also made with flatbread that isnt gluten-free.
  • Theres no need to request substitutions to make menu items gluten-free simply stick with the variety of naturally gluten-free menu options.
  • Avoid the nacho cheese sauce which contains modified food starch, which may contain gluten and isnt considered gluten-free on Taco Bells website. Modified food starch is gluten-free if it comes from corn, potato, or other gluten-free sources.
  • Desserts like Cinnamon Twists and Cinnabon Delights arent gluten-free, but the Freezes are gluten-free if you want something sweet.
  • Just because Taco Bells nacho cheese sauce isnt gluten-friendly doesnt mean you have to miss out on chips and dip. Sub the nacho cheese for one of their naturally gluten-free sauces like spicy ranch or guacamole instead.

More Information About Taco Bell

Gluten

Looking for additional information about Taco Bell, their foods, and nutritional/ingredients facts? Here are some resources weve found:

  • Official Taco Bell Menu:
  • How to Avoid Gluten at Taco Bell:
  • Official Taco Bell Allergen Picker:

Also Check: Blood Test For Gluten Intolerance

Is Taco Bell Rice Gluten

Taco Bell rice is considered to not have any gluten ingredients. That said, its not necessarily gluten-free as there is a risk of cross contamination like the rest of the menu items coming from the kitchen in Taco Bell restaurants.

On its own and in Power Bowls, rice is a generally safe option if you know that you can tolerate trace amounts of gluten. If you know you cant, Id avoid this menu item as well as most others from the Taco Bell menu.

Summary Of Gluten Free Menu Options At Taco Bell

Pro tips and a quick summary of everything gluten free at Taco Bell

  • Crunchy tacos and Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Tacos are great options.
  • Tell them you have an allergy or Celiac Disease so they take precautions with your meal.
  • Most meats are gluten free, watch out for cross contamination though.
  • Taco Bell has a lot of low ratings on Find Me Gluten Free indicating a poor experience for most people. This is usually due to staff not understanding the requests. We recommend being careful and only ordering items you deem safe. Or check out a safer place like Chipotle.
  • Dont get the Cheesy Fiesta Potatoes, they contain wheat!
  • Also Check: Gluten Free And Dairy Free Breakfast

    Does Taco Bell Have Gluten Free Food

    First the good news! Taco Bell DOES have some gluten free food options, in that they make food that has no gluten ingredients. So, foods like their hard shell corn tacos are gluten free they are not made with wheat or any other gluten ingredient. But, Taco Bell does not have a gluten free menu. And, they also cannot guarantee that cross contamination does not happen, since they do prepare and cook foods that contain gluten in their kitchens.

    So, if you are Celiac, youll need to be very careful when eating at Taco Bell. They cannot guarantee that any of their food items have not come into contact with gluten, even if the food itself is not gluten-containing.

    How To Make Loaded Nacho Fries

    Taco Bell Steak Nacho Fries Burrito Review

    Pop your fries in the oven on a sheet pan according to the package directions.

    While they are cooking you are going to cook your ground beef and onion in a skillet. Cook until your beef is cooked through and the onion is soft. Drain any fat and return to the skillet.

    Mix in the taco seasoning and salsa. Heat the mix through. Your fries should be about finished.

    When your fries are done, toss them with seasoned salt. Then start layering the ingredients. Top the fries with cheese, then the beef mixture, then some more cheese.

    Return to the oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese and then remove and add your favorite toppings! Serve and enjoy!

    You May Like: Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Cornbread

    Taco Bell Gluten Free Options

    As a Registered Dietitian Nutritionist, Elise enjoys utilizing food and nutrition to help people achieve their best personal health. She has experience with food intolerances, food allergies, and gut health.

    Learn about our Editorial Policy.

    Many people enjoy a quick trip to Taco Bell. However, this Mexican fast food chain is not the safest choice for those with Celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

    Are Taco Bell Power Bowls Gluten

    The Power Bowls from Taco Bell are considered to not contain any gluten ingredients. This includes the chicken, beef, and kalua pork options.

    That said, these are not gluten-free as there is a risk of cross contamination in the kitchen with other gluten containing foods. Be aware of this before you make your decision on whether or not to order this menu item from Taco Bell.

    Recommended Reading: Cascadian Farms Cereal Gluten Free

    Are Taco Bell Doritos Locos Gluten

    These flavor-blasted shells will provide a pleasant kick to your taco and will transform the way you think about non-traditional tacos.

    Their corn tortilla shell and Nacho Cheese Doritos shell are both gluten-free taco shell alternatives.

    You can choose between a crunchy taco, a Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco, or a supreme version of both.

    Seasoned beef, lettuce, and cheese make up the traditional Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco.

    The Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco Supreme is my personal favorite gluten-free taco.

    Seasoned beef, sour cream, lettuce, cheese, and tomatoes are wrapped in a crunchy, cheesy hard shell in this flavor-packed taco.

    What Are Gluten Free Foods

    Gluten Free Nacho Cheese Sauce Recipe

    Gluten refers to the proteins found in wheat, barley, and rye, according to the Mayo Clinic.

    A gluten-free diet basically means avoiding gluten in your diet.

    Gluten is commonly found in processed foods, including bread, cakes, cereal, french fries, pasta, and even salad dressings.

    Some people choose a gluten-free diet because its considered healthy, with purported benefits for weight loss and improved health.

    Some choose to follow a gluten-free diet because it is necessary for people with celiac disease.

    However, there isnt enough scientific evidence to show that a gluten-free diet is healthier outside of people with celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, or other disorders, as reported by the Mayo Clinic.

    Don’t Miss: Types Of Gluten Free Bread

    Tips For Eating At Taco Bell

    Taco Bell actually have a blog post on how to avoid gluten at their stores. You can find that post here. But Ive come up with some tips and tricks of my own!

    • Speak to your server. This is a really important one. Mention the risks, and how dangerous it can be. If you come across a member of staff who is happy to be extra cautious and watch out for any cross-contact risks, itll make the whole experience a lot safer. Most servers will be more than happy to help in any way they can.
    • Dont Assume Foods are Gluten Free. There are some foods that you may think are automatically gluten-free because they should be. Please dont fall into that trap. For example, the cheesy potatoes should only be cheese and potatoes they should be totally safe? They arent, they contain wheat! Wheat sneaks its way into everything.
    • Always Check the Allergen List Beforehand. All foods are subject to change. For example, the Spicy Tostados used to be gluten-free, but were removed in 2020. Before every visit, pull up the allergen info and just double-check that what youre ordering is still safe and does not contain any gluten.
    • Meat and Veggies are the safest option. That being said, the risk of cross-contact is still present and Taco Bell themselves advise that celiacs stay away from their branches.

    What To Know About Cross Contamination At Fast Food Restaurants

    Most fast food restaurants are not considered gluten free establishments so its useful to keep this in mind when making decisions about where to go and what to order.

    Its important to know that even if a fast food restaurant claims that their menu items do not contain gluten, that the possibility and probability of gluten in their products is going to be high if there is even one menu item with gluten available.

    Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, this can be make or break information for you. If you are Celiac and are allergic to trace amounts of gluten, youll likely want to avoid most fast food restaurants that offer any bread products or French fries that are cooked in a shared fryer with other gluten-containing ingredients. The same is true for Mexican fast food restaurants, like Taco Bell who use a lot of flour tortillas in their menu items.

    If you are not sensitive to gluten at the trace level and have adverse reactions to gluten due to a food intolerance, you may decide that these trace amounts of gluten from cross contamination are worth risking for a quick, easy, and convenient food option.

    Being aware of how you have reacted to gluten in your diet in the past and how much gluten it takes for your body to react is useful knowledge when it comes to situations like these. Use your best judgment about what you know about your body, how you react to gluten, and what the risks are for you specifically.

    Don’t Miss: Gluten Free White Cake Mix

    What Are Some Surprisingly Gluten

    As far as being gluten-free goes, Taco Bell is somewhere in the middle. There are certainly a few items you can eat if you’re eating gluten-free, but the list is very limited. Very, very limited.

    You might think that Mexican food would be pretty safe. Even fast food-style Mexican food. After all, apart from a few fried items and the flour tortillas, what really contains gluten?

    Is Taco Bell’s Nacho Cheese Gluten

    MUKBANG EATING Taco Bell Loaded Supreme Grande Nachos, Crunchwrap Supreme, Doritos Tacos

    Unfortunately, Taco Bell’s nacho cheese is not gluten-free.

    You can visit the Taco Bell website to view menu items that contain gluten or certain other ingredients.

    Although Taco Bell does offer some gluten-free items, they say all the foods are prepared in a common kitchen – which increases the risk of gluten exposure.

    Recommended Reading: Is Rice Chex Cereal Gluten Free

    Are Doritos Locos Tacos Gluten

    The Doritos Locos tacos from Taco Bell arent considered gluten-free by the company as there is a high likelihood of cross contamination at their restaurants.

    That said, both the Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco and Nacho Cheese Doritos Locos Taco Supreme are two of the taco options from Taco Bell that do not have any specific gluten ingredients.

    You can decide what works best for your body with the knowledge that these have no gluten ingredients but are prepared in a kitchen that does.

    Eating Fast Food While Gluten

    When you’re on a gluten-free diet, eating out can be difficult. Sometimes it’s impossible. Oh sure, more and more restaurants are identifying allergens or providing lists of ingredients for their customers with special dietary needs, but even when you have such a list, and even when you ask a million questions, you’re still left wondering about how your food will be handled.

    Recommended Reading: Signs Of Gluten Intolerance In Adults

    What Taco Bell Can Do To Expand Its Gluten

    That being said, if Taco Bell truly wants to be competitive and continue moving in the right direction, having more items like the Power Bowl would be a great step. Even offering a “bowl” option for existing burritos, where someone can throw the innards on a bed of rice would give the gluten intolerant so many more options. As it is, knowing for certain that there are a few items I can eat is nice , but they could certainly do better.

    Are Mexican Nachos Gluten

    Gluten

    Cheese and refried beans are seasoned with chili, lettuce, tomatoes, onions, and then fried tortilla chips are topped with them. You should ask for corn tortilla with baked or grilled chicken breast slices that are unmarinated. Place salsa in place of tomato sauce when it has been thickened with flour.

    Read Also: Symptoms Of Being Allergic To Gluten

    What Makes This Recipe So Good

    Cheeze Whiz cheese dip I know, I know. This is not a normal ingredient here at 40 Aprons. However, if you want that real Taco Bell flavor, prepackaged cheese dip is the way to go.Pickled jalapeño juice Brine from a jar of pickled jalapeños gives this sauce a little heat and an extra burst of flavor.Milk Helps make the cheese sauce extra creamy.Cayenne pepper As much or as little as you like for a little peppery spice.

    Gluten Free Foods At Taco Bell

    With the previous warning in mind that any food at Taco Bell may have come into contact with gluten there are some foods that Taco Bell makes that do not contain gluten ingredients. So, you may decide its safe to eat these foods:

    • Cantina Power Bowls These come with different protein options, such as Chicken or Beef. The bowls themselves have seasoned Mexican rice, guacamole, black beans, a ranch dressing and shredded cheese.
    • Nachos Either chicken or steak
    • Triple Layer Nachos
    • Black Beans and Rice
    • Chips and Guacamole

    All of the Taco Bell hot sauces are safe to eat, as well, as they are gluten free.

    Also Check: Is Kraft Singles American Cheese Gluten Free

    What Type Of Chips Are Gluten

    Gluten-Free Chips To Buy

    • The Good Crisp Company Aged White Cheddar Potato Crisps. …
    • Kettle Brand Sea Salt Potato Chips. …
    • Deep River Snacks Original Sea Salt Kettle Chips. …
    • Good Health Avocado Oil Sea Salt Kettle Chips. …
    • UTZ Honey Barbeque Potato Chips. …
    • Cape Cod Original Sea Salt Kettle Cooked Potato Chips.

    What Are The Symptoms Of A Gluten Allergy

    Making Taco Bell Nacho Fries at Home | But Better

    Some readers may be visiting this page because they are concerned about whether or not they have a gluten allergy. Having a gluten allergy is a serious condition and, while some folks are going gluten-free simply as a trend, many people suffer legitimate symptoms due to gluten allergies and gluten sensitivity.

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Sugar Free Brownies

    Taco Bell Allergen Statement

    Taco Bell does a great job disclosing their allergens on their website. They even have a dedicated page for allergen information on their products. You can choose the allergens you want to avoid and it will filter the menu items based on your preferences.

    This is the statement that they share related to allergens in their restaurants on their website:

    Like most restaurants, we prepare and serve products containing egg, milk, soy, wheat or other allergens. The Food Allergy & Sensitivity information on this site is based on standard product formulations and is current as of the last update.

    While a particular ingredient may not contain these allergens, our products may be prepared on the same equipment and in the same kitchen area as those that do. We cannot guarantee that cross contact with allergens will not occur. Neither Taco Bell®, our employees, nor our franchisees assume any responsibility for a persons sensitivity or allergy to any food item provided in our restaurants.

    It goes on to say:

    Taco Bell® does not claim gluten-free for any of its food. Some Taco Bell® items are made without gluten containing ingredients but are prepared in common kitchen areas, including common fryer oil, risking gluten exposure. Taco Bell® does not recommend products for customers with celiac disease. Customers with gluten sensitivities should exercise judgment when ordering.

    Is Taco Bell Tortilla Gluten

    Rather than relying exclusively on flour tortilla, our Chicken Soft Taco in crunchy taco shells can accommodate a diet of made-with-no-gluten. There is no gluten in any of our food, so it is cooked in the same kitchen as us. Celiac disease sufferers should never use our own made-without-gluten versions.

    You May Like: How To Know You Have Gluten Allergy

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -