Wednesday, September 28, 2022
HomeAre Chipotle Chips Gluten Free

Are Chipotle Chips Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

What Are Chipotle Chips Made Of

How to Eat Gluten-Free & Vegan at Chipotle

You may be wondering what Chipotle tortilla chips are made from. The truth is, they don’t use many ingredients at all! And the best part is, they’re made fresh in their dedicated gluten free fryers to order. The main ingredient in their chips is corn masa flour. But they also include water, sunflower oil, lime juice and kosher salt.

A Celiac Walks Into A Chipotle

When I was first diagnosed with Celiac Disease I was happy that I apparently had at least some options at Chipotle Mexican Grill. After all, the only gluten containing food item on the menu are the flour tortillas. Bowls and corn hard shell tacos are both viable gluten free options. Yay, tasty food!

As I learned about Celiac disease, food preparation and my own symptoms I started re-thinking how I order at Chipotle.

The most well trained Chipotle employees will immediately wash their hands and change their gloves when you identify yourself as a Celiac Disease sufferer. If they are well trained they will also follow you down the line to complete your order. That minimizes cross contamination risks and means not every single person needs to wash hands and change gloves.

The question that I asked myself is what good does it do if they wash their hands and change their gloves? The only thing that really helps with is when they touch the bowl when they first pick it up or move it. Theyre still using the spoons and the same tubs of ingredients.

The next thing that Ive heard is ask them to change spoons. Okay, another step forward. There could be something stuck to the spoon that gets on the persons hand or drops into your food. Were still left with possible prior cross contamination of food thats on the line.

Lets face it even though theres only a single gluten containing ingredient gluten is getting into everything on the serving line.

Are Chipotle Chips Healthy

Although your palate will find Chipotle chips appetizing, they arent the best choice if youre very concerned about your health. Chipotle chips contain high amounts of calories and unsaturated fats.

Per serving, Chipotle chips contain 540 calories, the total carbohydrate stands at 73 grams, 25 grams of fat, and 390 grams of sodium.

Additionally, these high levels of calories, fat, and sodium is a result of the making process. The deep-frying and repeated tossing in lime and kosher salt increase the level of nutrients which is consequently harmful to the health.

SEE: Read This to Know If AirHeads Candies Are Safe for Your Gluten Sensitivity

Don’t Miss: Individually Wrapped Gluten Free Snacks

Chipotle Gluten Free Menu Items And Options

Chipotle is a popular fast casual restaurant chain from America. Known for their burritos, tacos, and guacamole, Chipotle is a popular destination for many people. They have locations across the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, Germany, France, and more. Their company values state: Chipotle was born of the radical belief that there is a connection between how food is raised and prepared, and how it tastes. Real is better. Better for You, Better for People, Better for Our Planet. It may be the hard way to do things, but its the right way.

Chipotle Gluten Free Menu:

Siete Chipotle BBQ Grain

Everything is safe except the Burrito Size Flour Tortilla and the Taco Size Flour Tortilla! So, you can enjoy everything else on the menu with no concern! In fact, they even offer brown rice which is my favorite, and it is also gluten free.

Always ask the staff to change their gloves to fresh gloves and you can also ask for fresh serving tools too. I personally ask them to use a clean tool when they add my meat just to be safe. They are always kind about switching it for me and it is possible they use a fresh container.

As always there is concern with dining out however this is one of the best options for me in terms of fast food that is gluten free.

Here are our Gluten Free Dining Reviews. Hopefully it will help you on your gluten free journey. Visit this extensive list of Gluten Free Restaurant Menus.

  • Easy Pineapple Upside Down Cake
  • 15 Slow Cooker Freezer Meals in 90 minutes
  • 20 Slow Cooker Freezer Meals in 4 Hours
  • Crockpot Ranch Chicken
  • How To Do Weight Watchers For Free
  • Easy 3 Ingredient Banana Bread

You May Like: All Trumps High Gluten Flour

Eating Out With Celiac Disease Is Stressful The Gluten Dude App Lists Only Restaurants That Have Been Personally Vetted So You Can Spend Less Time Worrying And More Time Enjoying Yourself

I can understand feeling a bit overwhelmed by the extra attention..maybe go in to have a talk with the manager one day while not ordering to explain? Especially because its a safe haven for you, why give it up? Our family eats at Chipotle as well, which is comforting since my son is allergic to peanuts, eggs, uncooked dairy, watermelon, shellfish and has a gluten intolerance. I appreciate the fact that since the first time we went in to try it out, the manager remembers us every single returning visit and gets my son a sealed sauce from the back and makes sure we are taken care of. He doesnt stop the line but we are grateful that they are so on top of things.

Are Doritos Chips Gluten

According to the Frito Lay website, Doritos parent company, the Simply Organic White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips are gluten-free.

Other flavors of Doritos are not considered gluten-free, but do not contain gluten-containing ingredients. This means that while they do not contain gluten, they may be processed on the same equipment as gluten ingredients, and therefore have a risk of cross contamination.

These flavors are :

  • DORITOS® Cool Ranch® Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Dinamita® Chile Limón Flavored Rolled Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Flamas Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Flamin Hot® Limon Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Flamin Hot® Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Flavor Shots Fiery Habanero Triangles
  • DORITOS® Nacho Cheese Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Poppin Jalapeño Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Salsa Verde Flavored Tortilla Chips*
  • DORITOS® Simply Organic Spicy White Cheddar Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Spicy Nacho Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Taco Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Tangy Pickle Flavored Tortilla Chips*
  • DORITOS® Tapatio® Flavored Tortilla Chips
  • DORITOS® Twisted Lime Flavored Tortilla Chips

Read more: Are Doritos gluten-free?

You May Like: Gluten Free Pie Crust Kroger

The Potential For Cross Contamination At Chipotle

While much of the menu at Chipotle is considered gluten free , this doesnt mean you can eat at the restaurant free and clear.

In fact, the flour tortillas are a key ingredient in the large burritos Chipotle makes for its customers, and the flour from those tortillas can get everywhere.

This is why the main point of concern when eating at Chipotle is cross contamination. Cross contamination occurs when a gluten-free item comes in contact with bits of gluten during the preparation or handling process.

To minimize your risk of cross contamination at Chipotle, follow these precautions:

  • Ask the server to change his or her gloves. Once they change gloves, make sure they dont handle the flour tortillas.
  • Order a bowl vs. burrito. You can enjoy a hearty burrito bowl or light salad. Avoid the burritos, tacos, or anything that would be prepared in the tortilla press.
  • Ask for fresh ingredients. The staff can help you get fresh, untouched ingredients for your bowl. Im usually fine with them scooping all sorts of ingredients into my bowl, but what Im not fine with is the cheese and lettuce. Have you ever noticed how they grab those items with their hands vs. spoons? Request fresh lettuce and cheese taken from untouched containers. They always have containers of fresh ingredients in the back they can pull from.
  • Are Corn Tortillas Gluten

    corn tortilla chips (vegan & gluten-free) Something Vegan homemade chipotle week

    Yes, corn tortillas are made using corn, which is a naturally gluten-free food. Since corn itself doesnt contain gluten, and most tortillas dont contain other sources of gluten, corn tortillas are safe for a gluten-free diet.

    As with any food, its important to check ingredients lists and look for any hidden names of gluten just to be safe.

    Read on: Are flour tortillas gluten-free?

    Don’t Miss: Is Gluten Free Carb Free

    This Post Is For Informational Purposes Only

    Menus, ingredients, kitchen procedures, management, food sourcing, and restaurant protocols are subject to change at any time. Always read the menu and discuss your dietary needs with the staff before ordering. Make sure they can accommodate your situation. This post is for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as advice.

    There is always a risk for potential cross-contamination of allergens in any commercial kitchen. If cross-contamination is an issue for you, always speak with the manager to ensure that your meal can be safely prepared. Listings here do not guarantee that a restaurant is safe enough for your individual needs. Only you can make that decision.

    Each location of a chain restaurant has different management and staff, and some might have different owners. This means differences in processes, ingredients used, menu options, and food sourcing can occur. Always verify the safety of your order for your needs at your current location.

    Chipotle Gluten Free Menu

    These are all the gluten free options we could find at Chipotle. Note all items listed below do not contain wheat or gluten, based on Chipotles Allergens Guide. These items still have the potential for cross contamination and other traces of gluten, so please keep that in mind.

    Notice anything missing or incorrect? Leave a comment below. This article was last updated:

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies

    Are Chipotle Chips Gluten Free

    Chipotle tortilla chips are one of their most popular menu items. Lets be honest chips and dip go perfectly with just about any main. And guess what? Chipotle chips are completely gluten-free! They are made from corn and are also cooked in a dedicated gluten-free fryer. This means that the chance of cross-contact when it comes to their tortilla chips is very low! Chipotle tortilla chips are considered safe for those with gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

    What Is Gluten Free At Chipotle

    Siete Grain

    In this article and guide, well highlight all the gluten free menu items, sides, and other gf options available at Chipotle. Want to learn more nutrition and allergen facts about Chipotles foods? Check out their Nutrition Calculator.

    Using the Nutrition Calculator you can filter out all products with gluten, sulphites, soy, dairy, and more! You can view Chipotles full allergy statement here.

    Chipotle has this statement about Gluten Intolerance and Celiac Disease on their Allergens page: If you avoid gluten, dont eat our flour tortillas. If you are highly sensitive to gluten and would like us to change our gloves, just let us know at the start of your order. You should be aware items containing corn, including corn tortillas and corn salsa, may have trace amounts of gluten from potentially co-mingling with gluten-containing grains in the field.

    Read Also: Is Campbell’s French Onion Soup Gluten Free

    Are Chipotle Chips Gluten

    Chipotle is one of those restaurants that consider customers diets. For instance, you can always let a waiter know that youre gluten intolerant while you make your order. Most of the items on the Chipotle menu are gluten-free and this includes the chips.

    If youre gluten intolerant, you want to cross-examine the ingredients in your favorite snack before you take a bite. So, before you decide to become a regular at Chipotle, read this.

    Gluten Free At Chipotle

    The following below has been updated with new information provided by Chipotle as of 5/25/17Wheat Flour Desserts Important Notice: Corn items from Chipotle are already unsafe for those with celiac disease or a gluten intolerance

    This information on corn currently applies to every Chipotle.The following below only applies if Chipotle desserts are being sold at your restaurant location Chipotle chips will no longer be gluten-free:

    The New Chipotle Dessert Unveiled

    Risk for other potential cross contaminated items: How to still eatsafely at Chipotle:Note: Unfortunately, foods at Chipotle are not targeted to the gluten-free consumers but they have been “naturally gluten-free”. It does not look like Chipotle will plan on accommodating to the gluten-free consumer for these desserts in the near future. To read more about the desserts, . If you want to voice your concern, try contacting Chipotle through the “contact us” page.

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Dairy Free Frozen Pizza

    Whats Gluten Free At Chipotle

    Chipotle is one of my favorite restaurants. I eat there all the time without compromising my gluten-free diet. Its easy to get a tasty, gluten-free meal at Chipotle, but you still must take a few precautions to avoid getting glutened. In this post, Ill share whats gluten free at Chipotle and how to successfully place your order. Ill also share the results of my hidden gluten test with the Nima Sensor. This post contains affiliate links. Please see my disclosures.

    I often find myself at Chipotle. I love the food and my kids love it too. Its an easy, go-to place that our entire family enjoys, both gluten-free eaters and gluten-eaters alike.

    There are plenty of gluten-free options at Chipotle, and, with a little knowledge and know-how, you can mitigate your risk of cross contamination when eating at the fast casual restaurant.

    While I eat at Chipotle often and feel fine, I decided to put the restaurant to the gluten detecting test with my trusty Nima Sensor.

    In 2020, the Nima Sensor went out of business, but in September 2021, a new company revived the beloved gluten-detecting device, which can test a small portion of your food for hidden gluten.

    I encourage you to learn more about the Nima Sensor before investing in one, as well as learn more about a few new gluten-detecting devices coming to market in 2022 ALLIS Sensor and The Allergy Amulet.

    Are Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

    Gluten Free Chipotle Fish Tacos

    Since tortilla chips are made from corn tortillas, and these are most always gluten-free, we can confidently say that most tortilla chips are gluten-free.

    Depending on what other flavorings are added or other ingredients are added to the chips, they may not be gluten-free. Youll want to look for a gluten-free label, which indicates there is less than 20ppm of gluten in the product as required by the FDA, before purchasing.

    You May Like: Vegan Gluten Free Meal Plan

    How To Make Sure Your Tortilla Chips Are Gluten Free

    The best way to determine if the tortilla chips youre buying are gluten-free is to look for two things:

  • The ingredients list. Look for tortilla chips that contain only corn tortillas, salt, and oil. If there are more ingredients, be sure they are not hidden names of gluten.
  • A gluten-free label. As required by the FDA, any package that contains less than 20ppm of gluten can have a gluten-free label. It doesnt have to be certified gluten-free , any gluten-free label must meet these requirements.
  • If you are Celiac, look for a gluten-free label AND a processed in a gluten-free facility note on the packaging. This will ensure that there is no risk of cross contamination in the product.
  • One of my little secrets is that I carry around a copy of my GFDF Take Along Cards so that I always have a point of reference when I can sneak a peek at the ingredient list of a food.

    What Are Chipotle Chips

    Chipotle is an American chain of restaurants that serve Mexican cuisine. The name was coined from the Nahuatl name for smoked jalapeno pepper, chipotle. Chipotle is known for its burritos and tacos. However, their chips also come out nice and are suitable for people on a gluten-free diet.

    These restaurants offer a menu that is free of ingredients that are likely to trigger allergies. Chipotle does not use eggs, shellfish, fish, peanuts, and tree nuts in any of their food. This way, you can be sure that your meals are free from any allergens.

    In addition, Chipotle is the place to visit if youre looking for a gluten-free menu. Almost all their meals and sides are gluten-free.

    SEE: Find Out Why the Delicious Chipotle Mexican Grill Menu Is Just for You

    Recommended Reading: What Snacks Are Gluten Free

    Are All Tortilla Chips Gluten Free

    Unfortunately, some tortilla chips do contain gluten, meaning you cant just grab a bag of chips off the shelf of the grocery store and assume they are gluten-free.

    Some brands use both corn and wheat flour in their tortilla chip recipes, meaning they arent safe for a gluten-free diet.

    As mentioned already, be sure to look for a gluten-free label or review the ingredients list. You can also look for a note on the package that states the product has been produced in a gluten-free facility.

    Be aware that cross contamination may occur if you find a brand of tortilla chips that have no gluten-containing ingredients, yet also dont have a gluten-free label on the package.

    Depending on your level of sensitivity to gluten, you may decide this is okay for you and your body or you may not.

    Is Chipotle Safe For Celiacs

    Delicious!! Maple Chipotle Sweet Potato Chips... GMO Free &  Gluten Free ...

    Unfortunately, Chipotle is not 100% safe for celiacs. This is because their food is not certified gluten-free, and does not make any gluten-free claims. They list which of their products do contain gluten and clarify that they will take extra precautions when preparing any gluten intolerant order. However, because their kitchens do handle foods that contain gluten, there is always a small chance of cross-contact.

    It all depends on how comfortable you feel taking that risk. As long as youre upfront and honest with your server, it can be absolutely fine to eat in Chipotle as long as you avoid the flour tortillas!

    Read Also: Best Digestive Enzymes For Gluten Intolerance

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -