Wednesday, June 15, 2022
HomeExclusiveIs Oat Flour Gluten Free

Is Oat Flour Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

How To Make Oat Flour Pancakes

Oat Flour Gluten Free Pancakes | Sona Manukian | EPISODE 014

In a medium bowl, Whisk together oat flour, baking powder and salt in a medium bowl. In a separate bowl or measuring pitcher, whisk together milk and eggs. Pour wet ingredients into a well that you’ve made in the center of the dry ingredients. Stir mixture until no flour remains . Let stand 5 minutes.

Heat oil in a large non-stick skillet over medium heat until hot. Scoop pancake batter in ¼ cupfuls onto skillet and cook until bubbles form flip and cook until fluffy and golden brown . Repeat with remaining batter and serve with butter and maple syrup if desired.

Can You Substitute Some Ingredients

Yes, you can choose different seeds. Or, substitute cassava flour for millet or sweet sorghum flour and maple syrup for honey.

This gluten-free bread dough recipe is my absolute favourite, and it never fails me. The secret? Buttermilk. There is something about buttermilk and oat flour. When you mix the two, they form a perfect bread dough mixture.

Oat Flour And Purity Protocol Oats

Oat flour is finely ground from whole oats. A simple, healthy choice one would think. But what about the biggest challenge of eating gluten free cross contamination. For anyone new to gluten free, manufacturing is a complex process with lots of opportunity for cross contamination. Montana Gluten Free gives a nice explanation of the steps they take to ensure their oats are safefrom Farm to Fork as they say. They use a Purity Protocol and this is the only way to guarantee the oats are safe for anyone on a gluten free diet.

Tricia over at Gluten Free Watchdog shares accurate up-to-date information on all gluten free food products and claims. Oats and oat products is a popular topic for her. I recommend you follow her wherever you follow people.

I think it is safe to say that the future is sure to continue to provide improved labelling and increased confidence for consumers of gluten free products.

This post contains affiliate links. When you purchase using these links your cost is the same, but I receive a few cents for every dollar spent. I appreciate your support for this website.

Also Check: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

What You Need To Make Your Own Oat Flour:

1. ROLLED OR QUICK-COOKING OATS. You can make oat flour easily with rolled oats , or quick-cooking oats. I dont recommend steel-cut oats for making oat flour, as they can strain your blender motor.

2. A BLENDER OR FOOD PROCESSOR. To make oat flour, youll put those oats in a blender or food processor and blend until the oats are a fine powder. Ive used both with good success, but blender is my favorite because it tends to go a bit faster.

THATS IT! Now, youre ready to make your own oat flour

Other Potential Oat Downsides

Bob

A very small number of people with celiac disease may still be unable to tolerate pure, uncontaminated oats.

Pure oats contain avenin, a protein that may cause problems because it has a similar amino-acid structure as gluten.

The majority of people who are sensitive to gluten do not react to avenin. They can eat pure, uncontaminated oats with no problems .

However, a tiny percentage of people with celiac disease may react to avenin. For these few people, even certified gluten-free oats may be unsafe .

One study discovered that most people with celiac disease had the potential to react to avenin. However, only 8% of the participants had an actual response after eating a large amount of oats .

In those cases, the responses were small and did not cause clinical symptoms or relapse. Therefore, the researchers concluded that people with celiac disease could still eat up to 3.5 ounces of pure oats per day .

Additionally, two other small studies found that some people with celiac disease experienced a small immune response and more intestinal symptoms while eating oats than those on a traditional gluten-free diet (

SUMMARY

Oats contain a protein called avenin. A small percentage of people with celiac disease react to avenin and may not be able to tolerate pure oats.

Gluten-free diets often have few food choices, especially in terms of grains and starchy foods.

Including oats and oatmeal can add much-needed variety.

Additionally, oats provide several impressive health benefits:

Also Check: Is Liquid Iv Gluten Free

Fact : A Thorough Third

The best way to know oats are gluten-free is to look for a third-party gluten-free certification mark, like the one used by GFCO. The requirements of certification are intended to help processors identify and remove potential risks of cross-contact with gluten. Many processors of Purity Protocol and mechanically sorted oats come to GFCO to have their oats certified.

During GFCO certification, all procedures involved in oat processing are audited and oats are tested multiple times to verify that they are gluten-free. Testing alone does not guarantee oats are gluten-free because there are many steps before and after testing where cross-contact could happen if proper procedures arent followed.

The GFCO certification process includes 80 requirements for product certification that apply to any product, including oats and foods containing oats. These requirements include:

  • Supplier review and approval
  • Purchasing protocols to make sure the materials purchased are gluten-free
  • Examination and review of incoming shipments to make sure they are correct and that there has been no gluten cross-contact
  • Correct storage of gluten-free and gluten-containing raw materials
  • Proper facility set-up to avoid cross-contact
  • Cleaning protocols and schedules
  • Visual examinations in addition to testing products
  • Ongoing review of processes, particularly when there are changes in the plant
  • Training of staff on gluten sources and health risks
  • Can I Use Oat Flour Instead Of All Purpose Flour

    In comparison to all the other gluten free flours, in my experience oat flour behaves the most similarly to wheat flour. However regarding substituting a recipe that calls for all wheat flour it depends on what youre baking and the recipe. Like mentioned above, denser baked goods tend to do better with all oat flour versus baked goods with a fluffy crumb like cakes. And since there is no gluten, you will definitely need a binder due to its crumbly nature. So generally speaking, I do not recommend substituting all of the wheat flour for oat flour because it tends to get gummy and dense if not used in the right liquid to dry ratios. Instead, start with recipes that use just oat flour intentionally like these mug cakes, muffins and cookies.

    Don’t Miss: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free

    Oats Are Often Contaminated With Gluten

    Although oats themselves dont contain gluten, theyre often grown alongside other crops.

    The same equipment is typically used to harvest crops in neighboring fields, which leads to cross-contamination if one of those crops contains gluten.

    The sowing seed may also be impure, harboring a small amount of wheat, rye, or barley seeds.

    Additionally, products made with oats are usually processed, prepared, and packaged in the same facilities as gluten-containing products.

    Therefore, its unsurprising that studies analyzing regular oat products identified levels of gluten far exceeding the standard for gluten-free foods .

    One study in 109 oat-containing products on the market in North America and Europe found that the products contained over 200 parts per million of gluten, on average .

    Just 20 ppm of gluten may be enough to cause a reaction in someone with celiac disease .

    This high risk of contamination means that its unsafe to include conventionally grown oats in a strict gluten-free diet.

    Notably, a number of companies have begun to process oats with clean equipment and grow them in fields designated gluten-free. These oats can be marketed as gluten-free and must contain less than 20 ppm of gluten .

    Still, even gluten-free labels may not be completely reliable. One study discovered that gluten levels exceeded safety limits in 5% of products labeled gluten-free.

    More Gluten Free Pie Crusts

    How To Make Oat Flour » Gluten Free Flour

    Cheerios Pie Crust Cheerios can be controversial on a gluten free diet but if they dont bother you,this recipe is a perfect substitution for creamy no-bake pies that use a graham cracker crust.

    Gluten Free Vanilla Wafer Pie CrustThis Gluten Free Pie Crust recipe works great with no-bake pies, cheesecakes and more. Its sweet, buttery, and crisp.

    Find more gluten free recipes on and .

    Also Check: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    Risks And Side Effects

    As I said earlier, most people with celiac do well with truly gluten-free oats and oat flour. Oats and oats flour do not contain gluten inherently, but they do contain proteins called avenis. Most celiacs tolerate these non-toxic proteins just fine, but its estimated that possibly less than 1 percent of people with celiac show a reaction to a large amount of oats in their diets. If youre aiming to avoid gluten entirely, just make sure to buy oat flour thats certified gluten-free because cross-contamination with gluten-containing products is common with oats.

    If you dont normally consume oats or oat flour, you may notice some gastrointestinal symptoms at first, which is typically due to the increased fiber in your diet rather than a reaction to the oats.

    How To Make This Recipe

    These oat flour banana pancakes come together very quickly in just one bowl!

    Pro tip: Make a double batch on the weekend and freeze half for busy weekday mornings. Simply toast and serve!

  • Prepare the dairy free buttermilk. Place the almond milk in a measuring cup and stir in the lemon juice. Let stand at room temperature for 10 minutes. If using regular buttermilk, this step may be skipped.
  • Prepare the wet ingredients. Place the bananas into the bowl and mash. Its ok to leave a few chunks! Add the almond milk, eggs and oil and whisk well to combine.
  • Add the dry ingredients and cook. Add the oat flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt to the wet ingredients and whisk well to combine. Allow the mixture to stand for 5-10 minutes to thicken to the desired consistency. If the batter becomes too thick at any time, whisk in an additional tablespoon or two of milk.
  • Cook the pancakes. Heat a nonstick skillet or griddle over medium heat. Using an ice cream scoop or 1/3 cup measure, pour the batter onto the heated skillet and spread the batter out with the back of the scoop. Flip the pancakes once bubbles begin to form on top and the bottom is golden brown, and cook about 2 minutes longer or until browned. Place the cooked pancakes on a wire rack and repeat with the remaining pancake batter. If the pan becomes too hot, reduce the heat to medium low and adjust cooking time.
  • Read Also: Is Red Wine Gluten Free

    How To Store Oat Flour

    For both store bought and homemade oat flour, store in a air tight container covered in a cool dry place for up to 2 months. After 2 months, the flavour tends to get a little stale. If planning to keep it for longer, you can keep it in the refrigerator for up to 6 months and in the freezer for up to 1 year.

    Health Benefits Of Oat Flour

    Glebe Farm Gluten Free Oat Flour 300g

    1. Reduces Heart Disease Risk

    A epidemiologic study published in the Archives of Internal Medicine looked at the relationship between dietary fiber intake and the risk of coronary heart disease and cardiovascular disease in 9,776 adults . The researchers found that subjects consuming the most fiber, 20.7 grams per day, had 12 percent less CHD and 11 percent less CVD compared to those eating the least amount of fiber.

    The subjects who ate the most water-soluble dietary fiber had even more impressive results with a 15 percent reduction in CHD risk and a 10 percent reduction in CVD risk. Oats contain both soluble and insoluble fiber. This research confirms that eating high-fiber foods, like oat flour, can help prevent heart disease.

    2. Lowers Cholesterol

    Another reason that oat flour is so great for the heart is that its been shown to lower LDL cholesterol. Specifically, its the beta-glucan found mainly in the endosperm cell wall of oats thats believed to be responsible for decreasing total serum cholesterol and LDL cholesterol. How does it work? Well -glucan is a highly glutinous soluble fiber so as it travels through the small intestine, it actually limits the absorption of dietary cholesterol.

    Recent studies have shown that regularly consuming water-soluble, viscous-forming fibers like those found in oat flour can reduce total and LDL cholesterol levels by about 5 percent to 10 percent.

    3. Helps Diabetics

    4. Decreases Blood Pressure

    5. Satiety Star

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

    The Bottom Line About Gluten

    When in doubt about the safety of oats, look for a mark on the packaging that says Certified Gluten-Free for peace of mind or look for the new GFCO certification mark:

    Gluten-free consumers should be cautious of oat products that are not labeled or certified gluten-free. If an oat product is certified gluten-free, the certification mark verifies that the product is safe to eat.

    If someone believes they are sensitive to oats, they should consult with their physician before adding oats to their diet. If someone is sensitive to gluten or has been diagnosed with celiac disease, looking for a reliable certification on an oat product will offer the best assurances available that the product is safe. When ones health is on the line, erring on the side of caution can be the best route, but understanding the science and the facts around gluten-free oats can help put their safety into perspective.

    More On Oats In A Gluten

    The majority of information in the scientific literature supports the case that gluten-free oats are safe for the majority of individuals with celiac disease. Oats should only be introduced into the diets of people with celiac disease under the guidance of a personal healthcare team and in limited amounts.

    Why oats should be included in a diet at all if there is any question as to their safety? Oats are a good source of nutrients that are often lacking in the gluten-free diet. Since the gluten-free diet is already limited, adding additional restrictions can have negative effects on quality of life. The issue of oats can seem complex and confusing due primarily to the following factors:

    1. The risks of agricultural comingling and cross-contact: Unless certified gluten-free, oats may contain gluten-containing grains, potentially leading to the belief that the oats themselves are problematic. Gluten grains can still get into oats through wind, animals, and human error prior to processing. Over recent years, certified gluten-free oats and products containing certified gluten-free oats or oat flour have become more widely available, making this issue less prevalent.

    GIG and GFCO will continue to monitor research and food safety issues regarding oats and will update this article accordingly.

    Don’t Miss: Nicole Schwartz Sprinkles

    How To Make These Easy Cornbread

    Firstly, preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×8 pan or line it with parchment paper. I like lining my pan with parchment paper and greasing it with cooking spray. This makes it super easy to remove when its done baking.

    In a medium bowl, combine the fine cornmeal, oat flour, coconut sugar, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

    In a large bowl, whisk together the butter, almond milk and egg.

    Then, fold in the dry flour ingredients with a spoon or spatula.

    Lastly, pour the batter into the prepared loaf pan and bake for 22 minutes. Slice and enjoy!

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -