Eating Healthy What Do Organic Gmo
Americans are becoming more conscious of where their food comes from each passing day. Just recently, in Prop 37, California voters considered requiring labels on food that contained genetically engineered organisms.
Today Organic, GMO-free, Gluten-free, and other ingredient-sensitive terms have joined vegetarianism and veganism as popular lifestyle choices . What do these titles mean? Are labels on food to be trusted? Who makes the rules? This article will provide an overview of each, and hopefully point the reader to primary sources of information and law.
Out of the four terms discussed in this article Organic has the most government regulation. Organic foods, in general, are those grown without pesticides, herbicides, or chemical food additives. The term Organic therefore generally describes the manner in which the foods are produced as well as specific ingredients in the food.
Regulation of Organic Food. Regulations issued by the U.S. Department of Agriculture set standards for someone to label food as Organic. In fact food must go through a certification process, and there are three levels of Organic foods recognized by the USDA.
a. 100% Organic If the food is labeled 100% Organic, then all of the ingredients must also be certified organic, and any processing of the food must meet USDA qualifications to be organic.
Genetically Modified Organisms are living things which have been created or altered though modern genetic engineering.
Wheat Products Can Be Very Harsh On The Gastrointestinal Tract Gluten Sensitivities May Also Show Up In Other Areas Of The Body Such As Generalized Inflammation
Another reason to cut out gluten is that most of the wheat products consumed today are refined in some way which causes small to more extreme sugar imbalances in the bloodstream.
These are great reasons to try out a gluten-free lifestyle. It may do wonders for you!
What makes Holy Crap cereal a better choice over other gluten-free breakfast cereals?
Erika Weissenborn, B.Sc. FNH, CHN for Holy Crap Cereal answers:
Most of the gluten-free cereals on the market today are made with refined corn, rice or other flours and refined sugars.
Food products that are refined cause sugar imbalances in the body.
Holy Crap uses ingredients that are naturally gluten-free, nutrient dense and delicious.
If you are looking to not only cut out gluten but make positive changes to your diet then Holy Crap cereal is ideal for you.
What are the ingredients and nutritional content in Holy Crap cereal?
Arrowhead Mills Maple Buckwheat Flakes
Arrowhead Mills is primarily known for its stone-milled organic baking products. But they also have two gluten-free cereals and proudly display a gluten-free label on these and their other gluten-free baking products as a symbol of their commitment to integrity and purity of the ingredients. They carefully monitor their production sites to make sure that there is no possibility of cross-contamination.
Arrowhead Mills has been making their Organic Gluten-Free Maple Buckwheat Flakes for many years now, and recently added the new Organic Gluten-Free Sprouted Corn Flakes.
Read Also: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free
Transparency Safety And Quality
While weve tirelessly worked with our farmers and suppliers to source ingredients that are not genetically engineered, there are four items that we were not able to verify through the Non-GMO Project, either due to prohibitively heightened regulatory structure or manufacturing information that vendors deem proprietary. These include dairy, soy, corn and most microbial products such as yeasts, as well as the mixes that contain these items.
What does this mean for you? While these items are technically unverified, we continue to follow our internal food safety and quality programs of sourcing only non-GMO ingredients:
- Our vendors are required to provide annual documentation that the ingredients they sell to Bobs Red Mill are made without the use of modern biotechnology
- Our Food Safety and Quality team audits and verifies this documentation on an annual basis
- Our facility operates under strict Food Safety programs and Good Manufacturing Practices to ensure the integrity of our products is maintained and in compliance with U.S. Food Laws
- We also source organic ingredients whenever feasible, and by definition, foods that are Certified USDA Organic are made only with ingredients that have not been bioengineered
As always, were grateful for your confidence in us, and your business.
Gmo: Technological Advancement Or Health Threat
GMOs have been a hot topic of discussion for several years, and studies show that they could be harmful to humans but they are still being used in foods and supplements. Why is that? Learn everything you need to know about GMOs BEFORE deciding why GMO-free products are the best for you and your family.
Q: What are GMO foods?
A: GMO foods are products that have been genetically modified in a laboratory. The modification consists of injecting DNA of other species, such as: plants, animals, bacteria, insects, viruses and even human, into organisms with the purpose of altering their genetic map and creating better products. These new products will have a certain characteristic that the unaltered product doesnt have for example, in the case of GMO crops, the new crops will be able to resist pathogens, which supposedly enhances vitamins and supplements, better than natural, unaltered non-GMO crops. These genetically modified organisms are then used to produce food products and sold in markets and grocery stores all over the United States.
It is the start in a long chain of numerous products being transformed by just one GMO product. For example, corn. If a batch is GMOd, it isnt just the ears of corn at the grocery store that become altered, as that same corn can be used to feed livestock, which has now ingested the GMOs, but it doesnt stop there.
Did you know:
Q: What is the purpose of producing and selling GMO crops?
Q: So, are GMOs Safe to Consume?
Also Check: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix
Common Definitions Related To Gmos
Genetic Engineering The US FDA uses the term bioengineered interchangeably with modern biotechnology and adopts the CODEX definition for Modern Biotechnology which means the application of:2
a) In vitro nucleic acid techniques, including recombinant deoxyribonucleic acid and direct injection of nucleic acid into cells or organelles
b) Fusion of cells beyond the taxonomic family, that overcome natural physiological reproductive or recombinant barriers and that are not techniques used in traditional breeding and selection
Genetic modification happens when scientists insert DNA from one species into another in order to impart a trait that does not naturally occur in the modified species. Sweet corn, for example, is often engineered to resist insects by modifying its DNA with a bacteria strain known as Bacillus thuringiensis. This causes every cell in the corn plant to produce an insecticide that cant be washed off.
Non-GMO by Origin The original seed source has not been altered using genetic engineering.
Non GMO by Identity Preservation requires practices and processes for controlling contamination from at-risk GMO inputs and ingredients. While non-GMO by IP is acceptable for our standards, it is not required.
Processing Aids According to the FDA definition, processing aids include:3
Canyon Bakehouse Ancient Grain Bread
Canyon Bakehouse has been producing gluten-free breads for over 10 years in its dedicated gluten-free facility.
In addition to being certified gluten-free by GFCO, all of their products are soy-free, dairy-free, tree-nut-free, and peanut-free.
Canyon Bakehouse Ancient Grain Bread is made from a base of both tapioca and brown rice flour. It also contains several whole grains and seeds, including sorghum flour, oat flour, sunflower seeds, millet, teff, amaranth, and quinoa.
However, as it does contain egg whites, this bread is unsuitable for vegans or those with egg allergies.
In addition to containing high quality ingredients, Ancient Grain Bread is low in sugar and has a thickness similar to that of traditional sliced bread. Reviewers like that its enjoyable both toasted and straight from the package.
One slice provides 70 calories, 1.5 grams of fat, 0 grams of saturated fat, 90 mg of sodium, 13 grams of carbs, 1 gram of fiber, 2 grams of sugar, including 2 grams of added sugars, and 2 grams of protein .
Unlike many gluten-free breads, Canyon Bakehouse Ancient Grain Bread doesnt need to be frozen or refrigerated. Due to its packaging process, an unopened loaf will keep for 90 days after packaging. Once opened, it should be enjoyed within 5 days.
Read Also: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free
Little Northern Bakehouse Seeds And Grains Bread
Little Northern Bakehouse is a gluten-free, plant-based bakery that produces products in a facility that has been audited and certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Program and GFCO.
In addition to being gluten-free, all of its products are non-GMO-verified and free of major allergens, including eggs, soy, dairy, tree nuts, and peanuts.
Its Seeds and Grains Bread has an overall short ingredient list that includes a mixture of gluten-free flours, whole grains, and seeds, including flax, chia, and pumpkin seeds.
One slice provides approximately 85 calories, 2.5 grams of fat, less than 0.5 grams of saturated fat, 110 mg of sodium, 16 grams of carbs, 2 grams of fiber, 4 grams of sugar, and 1 gram of protein .
Little Northern Bakehouse Seeds and Grains Bread can be stored at room temperature for up to 9 days. However, for longer periods of storage, its recommended to keep the bread in the freezer for up to 6 months.
In addition to sandwich bread, the company offers gluten-free bagels and hamburger buns, both of which are likewise made with high quality ingredients and free of major allergens.
How Are Products Verified Non
Our Non-GMO Project Verified products are made from ingredients that have been produced in compliance with the Non-GMO Project Standard. In addition, our supply sources use an identity preservation system to track each raw material as it is received, processed, packaged and sold, to ensure its not mixed with unverified ingredients.
Recommended Reading: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free
Odoughs Multigrain Sandwich Thins
If you prefer a sub-style sandwich, ODoughs Multigrain Sandwich Thins are one of the best gluten-free options.
These long, bun-like thins are made from a mixture of gluten-free flours, including potato flour, and are perfect for stuffing with your favorite sub sandwich fillings.
All of ODoughs products, including its bagel thins, flatbreads, hot dog buns, and burger buns, are certified gluten-free by GFCO and vegan-friendly. However, theyre unsuitable for those with soy allergies.
While this bread doesnt contain as many whole grains or seeds as other options on this list, its still a good source of fiber.
One sandwich thin provides 160 calories, 2 grams of fat, less than 0.5 grams of saturated fat, 340 mg of sodium, 33 grams of carbs, 4 grams of fiber, 5 grams of sugar, and 3 grams of protein .
Differences Between Organic Natural Non
by Forma Vital | Feb 17, 2018 | Our blog |
Following green, organic, or gluten-free diets has become a trendy lifestyle in the last years. However, stores are packed with products wearing all kinds of confusing terms in their labels. Thats why we embarked on the task of finding out the meaning of these terms and help you understand them better.
Read Also: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free
Non Gmo Eggs And Egg Substitutes
Where GMOs hide: Commercial eggs often come from chickens fed with GMO feed. If you use xanthan gum, beware that it can be derived from GMO corn, milk, or soy-or derived from wheat.
Substitute: Non-GMO Project Verified or USDA Organic eggs. Or make a non-GMO egg substitute with organic flax seeds and water or chia seeds and water. These can substitute nicely for xanthan gum in some circumstances.
Why Is It Important To Shop Organic
Since you cant be sure non-GMO foods are always organic, its a much safer bet to shop organic. Then you can be reasonably certain that most of your organic foods will also be free of GMOs as well. Look for the USDA Certified Organic label. Youll notice that products like ourOrganic 7 Grain Pancake and Waffle Mix andOrganic Quick Cooking Steel Cut Oats have a little green-and-white label stating USDA Organic.
When shopping, thats the label you should look for. Moral of the story? Yes, organic usually means non-GMO. But be careful, because non-GMO does not always mean organic. Shop wisely.
Also Check: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs
Four General Tips To Help You Avoid Gmo Alcohol
If you have the time, do some research and find a good non-GMO alcohol option .
How To Find Non
One of the easiest ways to avoid GMO alcohol is to buy products that have the certified USDA organic label, a certification that prohibits the use of genetically modified organisms. And, even though you may not encounter many certified organic spirits, it never hurts to ask your local bartender if they carry any certified organic brands. These are typically from smaller producers and can be harder to come by. For instance, Buffalo Trace Distillery, owned by large producer, Sazerac, has a small-batch, certified organic bourbon.
Some smaller producers of certified organic spirits in the US include Square One vodka made from rye and Prairie vodka made from corn. Koval makes a single barrel, certified organic bourbon as does Wigle Pennsylvania Bourbon. As for rum, look for a bottle made with organic molasses and spices, like Los Angeles Crusoe or Minneapolis-based Drakes. And dont forget the tequila, with such certified organic producers as 123 Organic Tequila and 4 Copas. Del Maguey Single Village makes a certified organic mezcal. Although these tequilas and mezcals are from Mexico, they are certified USDA organic.
Even if its not certified organic, some of the larger US whiskey brands are quietly using non-GMO corn. As of right now, there are at least two popular whiskey brands on the market that use non-GMO corn Wild Turkey and Four Roses.
Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Pie Crust Publix
Chex Cereals By General Mills
Chex cereals are one of the most popular brands on the market today, and General Mills makes Chex in Vanilla, Chocolate, Corn, Honey Nut, and Rice varieties that are gluten-free, as well as gluten-free granola. Look for the Gluten-Free label on the left side of the cereal box, just to make sure. The Wheat Chex cereal is obviously not gluten-free, so make sure you dont grab a box by mistake.
On the Chex website, you can find easy and tasty ideas for snacks and treats you can make with their gluten-free products, including fruit sundae cups, apple cereal muffins, and no-bake ginger peanut bites.