Tuesday, April 23, 2024
HomeExclusiveIs Hard Seltzer Gluten Free

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Hard Seltzers With Frozen Fruit Ice Cubes

Gluten Free White Claw Beer Review | Hard Seltzer Beer Taste Test | Low Carb Drinks | Fizz Mixology

June 24, 2019 By Rachel

Things I am on board with this summer: sun, warmth, and fruity drinks. Ill say it the amount of drinks I consume definitely increases in the summertime which is why I am always on the lookout for a more healthful alternative. Standing in the aisle of my local grocery, White Claws® Hard Seltzers variety pack caught my eye. Their drinks are made using a blend of seltzer water, a gluten free alcohol base, and a hint of fruit flavor. Umm sounds good to me! I served the seltzers over some fun fruit-filled ice cubes for a perfectly refreshing summer drink that doesnt break the calorie bank.

Seriously, yall, how fun are these drinks?! Frozen fruit ice cubes are simple to make you can use whatever fruit you already have on hand and it will instantly turn your drink into a festive summery beverage. I made a mixture of ice cubes to pair with my White Claw variety pack. The pack comes with Black Cherry, Natural Lime, Raspberry and Ruby Grapefruit.

The best part about these fruit flavored seltzers? Each one is 100 calories, 4 WW SmartPoints , 2 g of carbs, gluten free, and I love that the ingredients list is super short. They are light, crisp, and just slightly sweet they dont make you feel weighed down when youre sipping away in the sun!

How To Make Fruit Ice Cubes

Youre absolutely going to want to make these fun ice cubes arent they gorgeous?! The best part: theyre insanely simple to make and will mostly definitely impress your friends.

Is Hard Seltzer Gluten

Find out if hard seltzer has gluten, if its safe for a gluten-free diet, if your favorites are gluten-free, and what brands to look for.

Do you love hard seltzers but also follow a gluten free diet? Are you wondering if these White Claw hard seltzers are gluten-free? Or other brands?

These are great questions. Its just as important to know what drinks are gluten-free as it is to know what foods are safe on a gluten-free diet. Thats why I created my Gluten-free Alcohol Series.

I know that alcohol is a part of many of our diets, and knowing which options are better for us than others is imperative to not getting sick every time we want to serve up a drink.

There are a number of new hard seltzer brands on the market in the past few years, and I know personally Ive been wondering if these are safe for a gluten-free diet. I know that if I havent tried it because I wasnt sure, you might not know for sure either.

Lets answer the question is hard seltzer gluten-free? and tackle some popular brands to find out if theirs are safe for a gluten free diet too.

This post is part of the Gluten-free Alcohol Series, where were going to discuss different types of alcoholic drinks and how they fit into a gluten-free diet.

Gluten Free Hard Seltzer List Brands And Flavors

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

Looking for a light and refreshing alternative to canned cocktails, beer, or even hard cider thats also gluten free? If so then a gluten free hard seltzer is exactly what you need!

Best of all, many of the hard seltzers available are naturally gluten free which is awesome!

Below, youll find the complete listing of gluten free hard seltzers that are safe, yet delicious to drink for anyone living with Celiacs or just following a gluten free diet.

Also Check: How Do You Make Gluten Free Bread

How To Make Hard Seltzer At Home

A popular question I get on this website, is Is sparkling flavored water good for you?

The easy answer, is yes! By adding fruit to your sparkling water, youre more likely to drink more water, and skip diet, and full calorie sodas. Just like breaking your soda habit, fruity cocktails need to be removed from your diet as well if youre trying to lose weight.

Now, before I get a ton of hate mail for these hard seltzer recipes, I want to remind you that all alcohol should be consumed in moderation. The goal for this article is to supply you with healthy alternatives, so you can enjoy what youre craving without blowing your diet.

This section will show you how to make hard seltzer recipes at home, under 100 calories. As I stated above, all alcohol should be consumed in moderation, cocktails with sparkling water will be lower in calories, but if you have too many they will hurt your diet as well.

These vodka and seltzer drinks can help you indulge, without over indulging in calories. One healthy tip I have for you, once your vodka seltzer drink is halfway gone, top it off with more soda water. This will give you the illusion of drinking more, without actually adding any more calories or alcohol to your diet.

Hard Seltzer Brands: Whats The Best One

Is Vizzy Hard Seltzer Gluten Free?

There are no studies comparing the health effects of different hard seltzers, and many of them have similar ingredients. In general, most of them have a low number of calories and sugar, which makes them appealing to many people.

From an overall health perspective, sticking to the brands that have the lowest amount of alcohol is a good idea in order to limit the amount of alcohol youre consuming.

Recommended Reading: Is Greek Yogurt Gluten Free

Where Did Hard Seltzers Originate From

Hard seltzers first gained popularity in 2013 when Spiked Seltzer entered the alcohol industry. The brand has since been acquired by Anheuser-Busch and rebranded as Bon & Viv.

But hard seltzers arent an entirely new category of spirits. This low-alcoholic beverage concept was born in 1993 through Coors Zima. Unfortunately, the drink never took off and has since ceased production. Yet, the ever-flourishing wellness trend in recent years has given hard seltzers the perfect opportunity to reenter the market and secure a spot in an already crowded industry.

Long-time players, like Bud and Corona, have also jumped onto the hard seltzer bandwagon with their versions.

How Is Hard Seltzer Made

As with any alcoholic beverage , the key to its boozy nature lies in the fermentation process. That’s when yeast consumes any sugars that are present and converts them into alcohol. In winemaking, those sugars come from harvested grapes. For hard seltzer, it typically comes from straight-up fermented cane sugar. It could also come from malted barley, although technically that would make it a flavored malt beverage like Smirnoff Ice.

Pro tip: Most alcohol seltzers are gluten-free, but if you see the words “malt,” “barley malt,” or “malted” anywhere on the label, it has gluten.

The alcohol content of most spiked seltzers falls in the range of 4-6% alcohol by volume about the same as light beer although some can be as high as 12% ABV, which is the same amount as the standard five-ounce serving of wine.

Lower alcohol also means fewer calories. Most hard seltzers come in 12-ounce cans and hover around the 100-calorie mark. The amount of sugar varies from brand to brand, but you’ll usually find the most popular hard seltzer brands touting their low-sugar content, which tends to be no more than 3 grams of sugar per serving.

Don’t Miss: Is Yoplait Yogurt Gluten Free

Homemade Hard Seltzer Ingredients

Below, you will find 10 vodka seltzer recipes, and a shopping list for them.

I always recommend making cocktails with seltzer water from all natural ingredients. You can pick up fresh or frozen fruit for the recipes below. And some of them will be made much easier with frozen fruit fruit, such as the mango spiked seltzer recipe.

Here you will find the hard seltzer ingredients, I recommend taking a screenshot on your phone so you have it at your fingertips the next time you go to the grocery store.

Many Spiked Seltzers Are Gluten

White Claw Tangerine Hard Seltzer Review & Tasting.

Many stores group spiked seltzer with light beers because theyre low in calories. However, light beer and hard seltzer are very different. The alcohol in beer comes from fermented barley and other grains. In spiked seltzer, the alcohol comes from fermented sugar. This produces clean, neutral alcohol that is often gluten-free. While hard seltzers are not universally certified gluten-free, the brands offer tasty, refreshing options for the gluten-free crowds other than sugary ciders!

All of Bon & Vivs spiked seltzers are certified gluten-free we like Pear Elderflower.

Don’t Miss: Cream Of Mushroom Soup Gluten

How Many Calories Are In Hard Seltzers

Hard seltzers are spiked with alcohol.

Note: If they dont contain alcohol, theyre called just seltzers.

The alcohol by volume is similar to beer. It might vary between brands, but it usually ranges from 4% to 7%.

The calorie content, however, is what gives hard seltzers the competitive advantage over beers and wines. While a typical beer contains about 50-100 calories – or even more -, most alcoholic seltzers contain half this amount.

So, for consumers looking for a low-calorie, healthier alcoholic beverage, hard seltzers are the right choice.

Served Hard Seltzers contain just 23 calories, zero grams of sugar, and zero grams of carbs per 100ml.

Gluten Free Vodka Brands

Vodka is a very tricky alcohol for gluten free drinkers. You see, technically, during the distillation process of the vodka, the gluten proteins from wheat based vodkas is supposed to be removed. However, many people have claimed that these vodkas still contain gluten, thus leaving them feeling sick and nauseous. So to be safe, stay away from all wheat based vodkas if you have Celiac disease or a gluten sensitivity.

However, you can still opt for a non-wheat, potato, corn, or grape based vodka which are typically cleared for gluten free consumption.

Here are all the safe gluten free vodka brands that you can purchase and enjoy:

Also Check: Is Raisin Bran Gluten Free

The Quintessential Summertime Drink

It goes without saying that hard seltzers have turned into the quintessential summertime drink. After all, who doesnt love a low-sugar, low-carb, and low-calorie drink now and then?

Whether youre a die-hard fan or a newbie trying it out for the first time, Instacart offers an array of hard seltzer brands in every flavor imaginable!


Instacart Recommends

How Much Does Instacart Delivery Or Pickup Cost

Vizzy Pineapple Mango Gluten Free Hard Seltzer, Seltzer 6 ...
  • Delivery fees start at $3.99 for same-day orders over $35. Fees vary for one-hour deliveries, club store deliveries, and deliveries under $35.
  • Service fees vary and are subject to change based on factors like location and the number and types of items in your cart. Orders containing alcohol have a separate service fee.
  • Tipping is optional but encouraged for delivery orders. It’s a great way to show your shopper appreciation and recognition for excellent service. 100% of your tip goes directly to the shopper who delivers your order.
  • There may be a “pickup fee” on your pick up order that is typically $1.99 for non-Express members. Express membership waives this like it would a delivery fee.
  • Pick up orders have no service fees, regardless of non-Express or Express membership.

You May Like: What’s In Gluten Free Bread

Is Tequila Gluten Free

Yes, if the tequila is made the natural way using blue agave, it is gluten free.

However, if the tequila is sold or marketed as mix, then these variations will sometimes include gluten.

As a result, thats why its so important to opt for a tequila that has bee made with 100% agave and thats it.

And dont worry, the age or color of the tequila will not affect whether of not it contains gluten.

Is Gin Gluten Free

Yes, gin made from potatoes and grapes is gluten free.

Although most gin that is made from wheat, barley, and rye, is made gluten free through distillation, those that are allergic to gluten or live with Celiac Disease tend to react negatively to most gins.

Thats why its advised to stick with gin variations that have been made from grapes and potatoes.

Famous gin brands like Hendricks and Bombay are technically gluten free through distillation, but since they are made with wheat, barley, and rye, these are usually unsafe for those with sensitivities.

Also Check: Is Mccormick Taco Seasoning Gluten Free

What Can I Substitute For Hard Seltzers

If youre looking to switch up hard seltzers for other low-calorie and low-alcohol beverages, you can try:

  • Hard tea: This drink typically uses black tea or green tea as its base. It is then infused with alcohol and natural flavorings like berries and honey.
  • Hard coffee: Just like hard tea, hard coffee consists of a coffee base mixed with alcohol. Added flavorings usually range from cream to chocolate to sweeten things up.
  • Hard kombucha: This is a sparkling alternative to hard tea with a higher alcohol content than regular kombucha.

With so many low-calorie alcoholic beverages available, its easy to keep your caloric consumption low without boring your taste buds.

Hard Seltzer Vs Mixed Drinks

White Claw Hard Seltzer 5.0% ( Mango) # The Beer Review Guy

Mixed drinks are usually made with different types of liquor .

The serving size for liquor is usually 1 oz , and the calorie count is between around 100 to 115 and no sugar. Pure distilled liquor is also gluten-free.

Mixed drinks combine liquor with different drinks , like:

  • Soda

  • Cream

  • Premade mixers

Depending on the type of mixed drink, the sugar and calorie content can be quite high , so its important to know exactly whats in your drink.

Read Also: Gluten Free Bread And Crackers

What Happens If Vizzy Hard Seltzer Hard Seltzer Gluten Free Is Out Of Stock And I Need To Give Specific Instructions

  • Find Best Match: By default, your shopper will use their best judgement to pick a replacement for your item.
  • Pick Specific Replacement: You can pick a specific alternative for the shopper to purchase if your first choice is out-of-stock.
  • Don’t Replace: For items you’d rather not replace, choose “Don’t replace” to get a refund if the item is out of stock.

What Happens If Bud Light Platinum Hard Seltzer Variety Pack Gluten Free Slim Cans Is Out Of Stock And I Need To Give Specific Instructions

  • Find Best Match: By default, your shopper will use their best judgement to pick a replacement for your item.
  • Pick Specific Replacement: You can pick a specific alternative for the shopper to purchase if your first choice is out-of-stock.
  • Don’t Replace: For items you’d rather not replace, choose “Don’t replace” to get a refund if the item is out of stock.

Don’t Miss: Are Rice Chex Gluten Free

Is Hard Seltzer Healthy

Many hard seltzers claim to be healthier than other alcoholic drinks. Some have even advertised the health benefits of antioxidants and vitamin C in their drinks. And for sober curious people, their lower alcohol content can be a benefit.

But is hard seltzer actually healthy for you?

The short answer is no. Hard seltzer, like other alcohol, is not a good source of nutrients and has empty calories. Alcohol even in small amounts can increase your risk of certain cancers and other health problems.

But if youre looking for a low-calorie and low-sugar alcoholic drink, hard seltzer may be a better choice. Compared to many other alcoholic drinks, it is:

  • Lower calorie

  • Lower in sugar

  • Gluten-free

If you do drink hard seltzer, its important to drink in moderation. Some people may consider hard seltzer to be healthier, which could make it easier to over-drink . But remember, drinking less alcohol is better for your health, and this goes for hard seltzer too.

Here, well review how hard seltzer compares to other alcoholic drinks from a basic nutrition perspective.

- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Gluten Free Snacks At Walmart

Gluten Free Diet For Kids

- Advertisment -