Gluten Free Grains Pair With Other Healthy Substitutes
Many creative recipes have been developed for gluten-intolerant people, using the gluten-free grains above along with foods like nuts, arrowroot, beans, chestnuts, mesquite, potato, soy, and tapioca, all of which are gluten-free. Some of these ingredients make deliciously healthy breakfast cereals and side dishes, while others are ground into ours for avorful baked goods such as pizza, desserts, and breads.
For a quick and easy reference on cooking gluten free grains,
For more information on foods that are acceptable for the gluten-free diet, see the Quick Start Diet Guide at Gluten.net. It was jointly developed by the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America and the Celiac Disease Foundation.
Quinoa Buckwheat And Date Cereal
“I’m a huge fan of making my own cereal at home because I can control the ingredients better,” Layer says. One gluten-free staple that comes in handy when making your own cereal is quinoa, which is a good source of both fiber and protein. This recipe combines it with buckwheat and also includes dates, for sweetness. Have it as is, or add some yogurt or fruit on top.
Our Favorite Certified Gluten
We tasted more than 70 types of certified gluten-free cereal. Everyone on our team has different tastes and opinions when it comes to this morning staple and so there were lots of discussions as we reached consensus. Our top picks are organized by type of cereal and by choiceslightly sweetened or unsweetened for adults and sweetened or fun-flavored for kids. We know that many readers dont feed their kids sugary cereals, so choose the varieties that work the best for your family.
Brands are listed alphabetically within each category. Check our charts for nutritional information on the cereals mentioned.
Read Also: Premade Gluten Free Pizza Crust
Readers Favorite Gf Breakfast Cereal
Our readers ranked Natures Pathwith its Envirokidz, Qia and Natures Path linesas their best-liked certified gluten-free cereal brand. Natures Path offers more than 23 varieties of gluten-free cereal under three brands, available at natural grocery stores and many traditional grocery stores. Read the packaging closely, as Natures Path also produces some gluten-containing varieties with off-limits grains like kamut, spelt and barley.
GF& M Survey Says
We polled Gluten Free & More readers to see what really matters to them about cereal. Not surprisingly, most want cereal that tastes greatno bland flavors or strange textures.
A sample of what our readers say about cereal:
If I buy one more cereal that tastes like cardboard bits or sawdust, Im going to scream.
It is hard to find gluten-free cereal that is a decent price in smaller towns. Cost plays a huge difference in buying certified gluten-free versus scouring labels to find one that works.
Too many currently available cereals are nutritionally bereft. No fiber, no protein and what little nutrition they do have comes from additives.
The top things our readers care about when choosing a gluten-free cereal are:
#1: Taste#3: Availability
Fruity Pebbles And Cocoa Pebbles
Post Foods earned kudos from those with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity when it announced that it had made its popular Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles cereals gluten-free .
The company also said it was responding to health concerns by lowering the sugar content of its cereals to nine grams per serving.
Although most people think of Pebbles cereals as a kids’ product, I’ve known plenty of adults who like them. Gluten-free consumers can find Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles in most supermarkets.
Also Check: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins
Highkey Protein Cereal $1147
While this cereal is a bit low in fiber, one gram less than the four grams per serving Layer likes to see, it has a whopping 10 grams of protein per serving and it also has less than one gram of added sugar. The chocolate flavor makes it a pick kids will love just as much as you will.
Buy it now: HighKey Protein Cereal
Celiac Disease Gluten Intolerance And Wheat Allergies
Gluten is a protein in wheat , barley, rye and triticale that is hard for some people to digest.
This group includes the estimated 1-2% of the population with celiac disease an autoimmune form of gluten intolerance who must eat a gluten-free diet for life. Other people may not have celiac disease, but may be allergic to wheat or may have whats termed non-celiac gluten sensitivity though new research shows NCGS may not actually be the issue it was once thought to be.
Theres no reason for the rest of us to go gluten-free, no matter what fear-mongering books like Wheat Belly and Grain Brain may say. Peer-reviewed scientic journals like those below have rebutted the misconceptions in pop-science books like these, with a point-by-point approach:
Does Wheat Make Us Fat and Sick?Fred Brouns et al., Journal of Cereal Science. 58 209-15.
Another place to start to understand the facts is with these three videos from our November 2014 whole grains conference:
Why are Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity on the Rise?Keynote Speaker: Alessio Fasano, MD, Director, Center for Celiac Research, MassGeneral Hospital for Children or watch video of Dr. Fasanos presentation
Rooting Out Fiction to See the Facts of Todays WheatBrett Carver, PhD, Regents Professor, Oklahoma State University
Also Check: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins
Where Can I Buy Gluten And Dairy
Find more gluten and dairy-free cereal options on Thrive Market. Dont have a Thrive Market subscription? Sign up and get 25% off your first order using this link.
If you cant find any of these options at your local grocery store, Amazon is also a good source for finding these cereal options.
If youre looking for a quick and easy breakfast option, enjoy one of these five gluten-free dairy-free cereals. I hope this has helped you narrow down your search for an option that will work for your diet and life!
What Happens If Cheerios Whole Grain Oats Gluten
- Find Best Match: By default, your shopper will use their best judgement to pick a replacement for your item.
- Pick Specific Replacement: You can pick a specific alternative for the shopper to purchase if your first choice is out-of-stock.
- Don’t Replace: For items you’d rather not replace, choose “Don’t replace” to get a refund if the item is out of stock.
You May Like: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix
Reading Labels To Scout Out Gluten
Gluten hides in many unsuspecting places such as candy, sauces, and malt avoring. Other ingredients appear suspicious, but may be safe. To learn more, visit Gluten Free Living. If in doubt about a particular food, ask the manufacturer about the ingredients and the standards they use to assure your safety.
Reading labels is very important. In the U.S., the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act mandates that labels on foods manufactured after January, 2006, will list the word wheat to indicate the presence of wheat. But the label doesnt have to list other gluten-containing grains such as barley, rye, spelt, kamut, or triticale.
In mid-2013, the U.S. Food & Drug Administration released long-awaited standards for what food companies can label as gluten-free. These standards dene gluten-free as containing fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten a level consistent with standards in other countries.
Risks And Side Effects
Even when someone doesnt have a negative reaction to eating gluten, its possible that he or she might experience some symptoms when eating gluten-free grains.
What are the potential side effects of oats? These may include gastrointestinal troubles, including bloating, cramping or diarrhea.
This might be caused by the high level of fiber found in these grains. It is more likely to be a problem for people who arent used to eating high-fiber foods very often.
With some time, these should go away.
Soaking grains overnight and drinking lots of water can also help get rid of digestive problems. Like all other whole grains, soaking oats helps reduce antinutrients and enzymes that can mess with nutrient absorption and digestion.
Also Check: Jasons Deli Gluten Free Menu
Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast Cereal $13
Made with pea protein, this cereal is high protein and high fiber, with 11 grams and nine grams, respectively. What about the sugar content you ask? Zilch. This is the cinnamon toast cereal dupe gluten-free eaters have been waiting for. It’s also keto-approved, if that’s your thing.
Buy it now: Catalina Crunch Cinnamon Toast Cereal
Essential Whole Grains And Pseudo Cereals
Grains are the edible portion of cereal grasses that belong to the Gaminae family. The term whole grain refers to a grain or grain-based product that contains all three of its main parts the endosperm, bran and germ.
Whether you have coeliac disease or non-coeliac disease gluten intolerance, your health will depend on the strict adherence to a GF diet and removal of all wheat, rye and barley. Fortunately, despite having to avoid a number of gluten-containing whole grains, there are still a good variety of gluten free whole grains available, such as brown rice, corn, millet, sorghum, teff and wild rice as well as the pseudo-grains of amaranth, buckwheat and quinoa. Pseudo grains are those grains that are not grasses but are similar in content and can be used in a similar way to grains.
What are whole grains?
Whole grains not only ass nutritional value to products, but also add texture, flavour, visual appeal and variety to the diet. Eaten in combination with other whole foods, they are also generally more filling and satisfy for longer than refined grains.
Gluten free grains have become more readily available over the last few years. They have also started to appear in gluten free manufactured products, such as breads and breakfast cereals, but these still tend to be in small amounts.
Nutritional value of whole grains
Availability and Cost
How many whole grains to eat?
Ways to add whole grains to your diet
You May Like: Are Rice Chex Gluten Free
What Exactly Is A Whole Grain
According to the Whole Grains Council, whole grains or foods made from them contain all the essential parts and naturally occurring nutrients of the entire grain seed in their original proportions. If the grain has been processed , the food product should deliver the same rich balance of nutrients that are found in the original grain seed. In short, the bran, germ and endosperm of the grain must be present . Refined grains differ in that they are milled, which removes the bran and germ, and unfortunately much of the nutritional benefits. See Table 1 for a list of gluten-free whole grains.
Watch Out For These Ingredients
In general, I think its a good idea to limit or avoid artificial colors, sweeteners, flavors, and preservatives . I also suggest limiting heavily processed forms of soy, such as soy protein concentrate or isolate, which you might see in higher protein cereals. This is a cheap form of soy and I have a couple of issues with it. Healthwise, the jury is still out on whether this is a safe form of soy. And environmentally, these forms of soy are processed with an environmental toxin called hexane. Its an air pollutant and on top of that, workers exposed to high levels of these chemicals are at much greater risk for nerve damage, neurological disease, and vision impairments. Plus, there isnt much information about how hexane residues on everyday foods might impact human health. This isnt meant to scare you! If youre eating foods with these soy ingredients every so often, I wouldnt worry about it. But if youre eating them regularlywhether in whole grain cereals, protein bars, protein shakes, or plant-based meats, Id consider swapping them for soy-free versions.
One more thing before we move on: To be clear, whole food forms of soy, such as edamame, tofu, and even soy milk, are fine as long as you arent allergic and they dont trigger any food sensitivities.
Read Also: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free
Questions To Ask Before Eating Cheerios
Currently, celiac disease experts don’t recommend that anyone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity consume gluten-free Cheerios. However, if you want to consider trying them, you should first answer five questions.
Can you eat gluten-free oats?
Cheeriosincluding the gluten-free Cheerios varietiescontain oats. In fact, oats are the main ingredient. Those who can’t eat oats shouldn’t try Cheerios.
How sensitive are you to trace gluten?
General Mills isn’t using gluten-free oats to make its gluten-free Cheerios . Instead, the company has developed a process that sorts and sifts the raw grains to weed out anything that’s not oats, especially wheat, barley, and rye.
The problem is, this process isn’t perfectinevitably, some bits of gluten grains will get through the sorting process and be baked into the finished Cheerios. Some boxes will be better than others. But if you tend to react to lower levels of gluten, you should steer clear of gluten-free Cheerios.
Are you overdoing the oats?
Even if you have no problem eating oats, it’s possible to overdo itexperts advise starting slowly and ultimately consuming no more than about 50 grams of oats per day. That’s two cups of Cheerios.
How do you react to fiber?
Some people reporting reactions to Cheerios could be reacting instead to increased fiber in their diets. We all need fiber, and of course, many of us don’t get enough of it.
Are you buying the right kind of Cheerios?
The Complete List Of Gluten
If youve ever tried to go gluten-free, you probably found out pretty quickly just how difficult it really is.
Gluten is found in just about everything, which can make it a real challenge if youre sensitive to gluten or suffer from a wheat allergy or celiac disease.
It can get pretty frustrating.
Gluten sneaks in to foods youd never even imagine soy sauce, hot chocolate, and even pickles are often hiding gluten.
Looking for gluten-free grains can be even more of a hurdle. The big 3 grains when it comes to containing gluten are just about everywhere, taking a lot of grains out of the picture.
Luckily, there are plenty of options for you if youve decided to cut out gluten from your diet.
But before we get to our gluten-free grains list, lets explore what exactly gluten is and why you may not want it on your plate.
You May Like: Ezekiel Gluten Free English Muffins
Bobs Red Mill Cereal 8 Grain Gluten Free 27 Oz
|Get Fast, Free Shipping with|
|Bob’s Red Mill|
|Ingredients||Whole Grain Oats, Whole Grain Brown Rice, Whole Corn, Whole Soybeans, Whole Grain Millet, Whole Grain Sorghum, Oat Bran, Sunflower Seeds and Flaxseed|
- The package length of the product is 21.34 centimeters
- The package width of the product is 10.41 centimeters
- The package height of the product is 3.56 centimeters