Is Whey Protein Dairy And Gluten
If you are on a gluten-free diet, it is safe to consume whey protein as a gluten-free diet ingredient if it is labeled as whey concentrate, whey hydrosolate, or whey isolate. Because whey protein contains dairy, it is not a good choice if you are on a dairy-free and gluten-free diet. Whey contains no wheat.
What Is Whey Protein Powder
The whey protein powder which is commonly sold as a dietary supplement is a mixture of proteins that have been isolated from the whey. The 2 main types of protein found in milk are whey and casein, which both need to be processed before being sold as dietary supplements. Whey protein contains a complete range of easily absorbed essential amino acids. JOURNAL REFERENCEDOI: 10.1016/S0955-286300030-5
Protein Powders Are Of Three Types:
a) Protein Concentrates:
60-80% of protein concentrates is made of protein, while the rest comprises carbs and fat. These are extracted from whole foods, and the process of extraction requires heat, along with acids or enzymes.
b) Protein Isolates:
This form of protein powder comprises 90-95% protein. Thats because the process of making it involves an additional step of filtering. This helps to remove carbs and fat to concentrate the protein further.
c) Protein Hydrolysates:
The production process involves further exposure to heat and enzymes or acids, which breaks the bonds. The body absorbs hydrolysates quickly. They also raise levels of insulin, especially as a whey protein.
Some protein powders also contain other nutrients like vitamins and minerals. Calcium is predominantly found in some of them.
It is best to go for unsweetened protein powders so that the carb content in them is lower than the ones that are loaded with sweeteners.
If you are not heavily into gymming, bodybuilding, weight lifting, or athletics, you can benefit from the consumption of protein powders greatly.
They will help you meet your protein goals. This helps to maximize muscle mass and shed excess fat from the body in a healthy way.
Thats not all. Some people need more protein than others do because of their health conditions or age.
If you are a healthy adult and are not heavily into physical activities, on a regular diet with animal protein sources should be enough for you.
Also Check: Legs And Glutes Workout Gym
Garden Of Life Organic Vegan Protein Powder
This protein powder option has 22 grams of protein made from peas and sprouts, with no added sugar. Its also organic and dairy-free like the rest in this list. Garden of Life Raw Organic Protein is a certified gluten-free protein powder.
With 110 calories, this protein powder sets itself apart with 3 billion probiotics and enzymes, which makes it is an awesome protein powder choice for optimal digestion.
This protein powder contains 21 grams of plant-based protein with 120 calories per serving. With digestive enzymes included, this option promotes that its good for even those with sensitive stomachs and is free of all major allergens.
This powder is made with non-GMO ingredients, but has 4 grams of sugar per serving.
Best Gluten Free Protein Powders For Weight Loss
As recently as the 1990s, the few doctors and nutritionists that had heard of gluten only knew it to be the result of a chemical bond between the molecules of glutenin and gliadin that allowed things like pizza dough to have its sticky character.
Today, we know that about 1 percent of the population suffers from celiac disease, an intestinal condition triggered by exposure to this ingredient. But, many health professionals believe its danger do not stop there.
As such, gluten-free foods and supplements have become a hot item and there are a growing number of people who consume these types of products.
The following items are gluten-free and hence safe for those with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity who do not have celiac disease:
Also Check: Gluten Free Dairy Free Yogurt
Is Whey Protein Gluten Free
If youve got a gluten allergy, then you probably realised pretty early on that it can be in quite a few unsuspecting foods. So, is it in your beloved protein shake?
The answers no, whey protein isnt made with gluten containing ingredients. Although gluten is a protein, its quite different to the one found in your shake. Gluten is found in cereal grains, particularly wheat and is responsible for giving dough its shape during the baking process. Sources of gluten include wheat, barley, rye and oats.
However, you need to pay attention to the ingredients as a lot of different whey protein powders will contain additional ingredients, including flavourings that may contain gluten .
You also want to think about the risk of cross-contamination, as some products will be manufactured in a facility that handles other gluten-containing products.
Is Gold Standard Whey Gluten
The Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard Whey Protein is one of the products of the Glanbia company. The company and the website affirm that gold standard whey is gluten-free. However, because they admit alongside it too, that their facility is not 100% gluten-free because they also produce other nutritional products.
It is recommended that the gold standard be taken in moderation and with caution if you are following a strict gluten-free diet as it appears that it may not be entirely gluten-free.
Recommended Reading: Gluten And Sugar Free Recipes
Best Gluten Free Protein Powder Review
Want the best gluten free protein powder in Australia in 2022?
Even with so many gluten free whey protein powder formulas available in Australia, not all of them are up to scratch.
The results of this guide to gluten free whey protein powder in Australia focuses on how these two popular gluten free protein powders are formulated, whats the difference between them and why they could be the best gluten free protein powders to buy online in Australia.
Before you read the results below, want to know what we looked for? Our Protein Review Insider experts considered overall nutritional info, formula, specification, type and specification of active ingredients, clinical studies and price. Our experts found that each formula has distinct advantages and disadvantages with the goal of this review to help Australians make an informed and reasonable opinion on what is the best gluten free protein powder.
Kos Plant Based Protein Powder
This plant-based protein powder is organic, vegan-friendly, and gluten-free. It uses organic pea protein along with a variety of other healthy ingredients including flaxseed, coconut milk, and chia seeds.
As a company, KOS creates many products that are gluten-free, so you can check out their other vegan and gluten free supplements as well as their gluten-free protein powders.
- Taste: Reviews on Amazon for KOS powders are very favorable, describing a product that blends up smoothly with minimal chalkiness or grainy texture. It comes in tasty flavors like Chocolate Peanut Butter, Chocolate Chip Mint, and Blueberry Muffin, along with the classic vanilla and chocolate.
- Protein per Serving: 20g
- Pros: 100% organic, with a pea and seed-powered protein profile. A great choice for vegans or anyone looking to eat fewer animal products. It works well as a meal replacement since it’s high in carbs and fat. Flavors are sweetened naturally with monk fruit, coconut sugar, and stevia. We also like that KOS protein is available in an unflavored and unsweetened style.
- Cons: This protein powder is higher in fat than many others, but it’s helpful to know that they are coming from healthy sources like coconut and flaxseed.
Also Check: Gluten Free Dairy Free Sorbet Brands
Ancient Nutrition Bone Broth Protein Powder
- Animal/bone broth protein
- 20 g protein per serving
This Ancient Nutrition Bone Broth Protein Powder is made from real bone broth. Its made a point to be allergen friendly, and its free from dairy, gluten, and nuts. Each serving contains 20 grams of bone broth protein. It contains Collagen Type II, which is great for bones, joints, hair, nails, and skin. The bone broth collagen is sourced from animal protein, and through non-GMO chickens from the United States.
It comes in four flavors: Chocolate, Vanilla, Turmeric, and Pure.
Summary For These Nut Free Protein Powders
There is no perfect protein powder. Theres so many different sources of protein to choose from because people require different things. We all have different palettes and prefer different flavors and textures as well. My advice is to not spend too much time worrying about whatever is the best nut free protein powder, because the best nut free protein powder is whatever is the best fit for you, and whichever powder you will want to use consistently. Consistency is key. It all depends on what youre personally looking for.
We hope that our list introduced you to new nut free protein powders for your nut free kitchen. If you decided to try one of our suggestions, let us know which one! Hopefully you found what you were looking for!
Don’t Miss: Is Mott’s Apple Juice Gluten Free
Is Whey Protein Powder Gluten Free
Whey protein powders arent all gluten-free. Other than whey, powders used to help develop muscle generally contain additional components. Before using any whey powder, be sure its gluten-free by reading the ingredients list.
Because the government does not regulate dietary supplements like whey powders, even if the name or brand of whey protein powder states pure protein or 100% protein on the front label, the back label will generally have many more components besides whey. Because each flavor of whey protein powder is made with a distinct combination of components, double-check the label of each flavor before using.
What Is Whey Made From
Whey is basically the watery portion of milk after it is curdled and strained. Milk is 80% casein and 20% whey.
The whey is then isolated and processed to make whey powder which is the base component of almost all protein shakes used by bodybuilders in fast muscle build-up and as a substitute for dairy and carbonated drinks.
Whey can be made into isolates, concentrates, and can be modified to enhance enzymes for bodybuilding and for protein buildup. Some also come dried and are incorporated into baked goods. They are also turned into ice cream and other tasty products that everybody could enjoy without guilt.
Recommended Reading: Annie’s Gluten Free Graham Crackers
Plant Protein And Vegan Protein Powder: Are Pea Protein Powder Soy Protein Powder Rice Protein Powder And Hemp Protein Powder Gluten Free
Although whey protein is many peoples go-to protein powder, its not always an option for people who are vegetarian or have food allergies, sensitivities or intolerances especially those affected by dairy. Plant protein and vegan protein powders like pea protein, soy protein, rice protein and hemp protein offer muscle-building protein without the dairy.
But are they also gluten free?
Pea protein is the protein extracted from yellow split peas. Pea protein is gluten free . It does not contain any of the other top food allergens, such as peanuts, tree nuts, eggs, fish, shellfish and cows milk.
The protein from soybeans is also naturally gluten free. Soy protein is made from defatted soybean flakes that have been washed in either alcohol or water to remove extras like sugars and dietary fiber. Its one of the few plant-based complete proteins and contains very little fat and no cholesterol. Like whey protein, many soy protein powders are also often made with other gluten-containing ingredients. Its important to check the labels of your protein powders and other soy products. Choose soy products that are marked gluten free, as those are required to contain less than 20 ppm of gluten.
Best Vegan Protein Powder: Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Organic
Although there are many vegan protein powders, there is one that is highly recommended the Optimum Nutrition Gold Standard 100% Organic.
Per serving of this protein supplement gives 24 grams of protein 140 calories, 4 grams of branched-chain amino acids, 4 grams of glutamine, and 6 grams of carbohydrate.
This plant-based protein powder comes with a complete amino acid profile.
It also contains vitamin C to support immune health. Other ingredients include calcium, iron, potassium, and a gram of naturally occurring sugar.
Furthermore, the protein content is sourced from organic pea protein isolate, organic brown rice protein, and sacha inchi protein.
According to a study in Miami, the essential amino acid contents of brown rice are higher than whey isolate and concentrate. However, the latter offers better branched-chain AAs for muscle building.
So, if you want more essential AAs, go for brown rice proteins. For branched-chain AAs, go for whey proteins.
To use this plant-based protein as a meal replacement, add one scoop of the powder to 8 ounces of water, almond milk, or your favorite protein shakes!
1) USDA certified organic
This plant-based protein powder is certified organic, non-GMO, gluten-free, lactose-free, and soy-free, making it one of the best protein powders for those with celiac disease.
2) Smooth texture
Most users report that this protein supplement comes with no chalky taste. The texture is smooth and consistent.
1) No sustained delivery
Also Check: Bud Light Hard Seltzer Gluten Free
About The Celiac Diva
Gluten-free products have begun their takeover, and theres no stopping this healthy alternative to gluten-based products. Since 2010, The Celiac Diva has helped celiacs and those that are gluten intolerant. As an independent blog we review, suggest and report the best products and news to those who follow a Gluten-free lifestyle.
Vega Clean Protein Vanilla
Comprised of a unique blend of plant-based protein from hemp, pea, pumpkin and alfalfa sources, this protein powder boasts a full range of amino acids which form an easily-digestible protein.
At 25g protein per scoop, this powder is also low calorie and low sugar, with 133kcal and 0.2g sugar per serving.
- Low in sugar
- Non-GMO, suitable for vegetarians and vegans, gluten-free, non-dairy ingredients
“This is my go-to protein powder now. Taste isn’t overly sweet or overpowering like other ones I have used before. Reasonable price for the amount you get in each bag.“
- Suitable for vegans and vegetarians
“BEYOND HAPPY with this whey. I have tried loads of vegan protein powders, and none tick all the boxes like this one does: smells amazing like cocoa , tastes amazing – not overly sweet, just right, mixes well in liquid and oats or cream of rice, and the macros are really good, high protein and low fat and carbs which is also quite rare for a plant-based protein powder.
I use this everyday and can confirm, as a vegan bodybuilder, it works. Not a bad price either! This is now my new GOAT.”
This high quality plant-based protein powder is ideal if youre after something that is natural but tastes great.
Predominantly made using Pea Protein Isolate and Rice Protein Concentrate, this provides 21g of protein per serving.
- Just 104 calories per serving
- Made with natural flavouring and sweetener
- Suitable for vegans and vegetarians
Also Check: Is Ketel One Gluten Free
How Is Whey Protein Made
Whey protein is a high-quality protein source that is widely available in powder form.
Whey is a protein found in the watery part of milk. Its the liquid part that separates out when making cheese, and its the liquid that you can find floating on top of a yogurt.
After the liquid part is separated out, it then goes through several processing steps until it eventually becomes a powder form, what many would be able to recognize as whey protein powder .
Gnc Pro Performance 100% Whey Protein
GNC provides a large selection of protein powders, but only a few of them are gluten-free. Look for 100% whey protein from Pro Performance . Plain, creamy strawberry, chocolate supreme, vanilla cream, banana cream, and cookies & cream are among the six varieties available from GNC 100 percent Whey Protein.
There are gluten-free cookie crumbs in the cookies & cream taste . Milk and soy components and maize starch, sucralose, and other additives are included in the protein powder. Its gluten-free if theres less than 20 parts per million of gluten in it.
You May Like: Gluten Free Bakery Greensboro Nc
Choosing The Best Gluten Free Protein Supplement
As you have likely deduced by now, this can be a tricky ingredient to track down. The fact that protein powders are not subject to FDA regulations only complicates the matter, allowing companies to claim their protein is gluten-free while adding glutamine to their powder to make it more agreeable.
With that, when choosing a supplement, its imperative that you read labels carefully and thoroughly. Should you see any of the following on the ingredient list youll want to take a pass, especially if you have celiac disease:
The Bottom Line: How To Find The Best Gluten Free And Non Dairy Protein Powders For You
There are lots of protein powders available these days without gluten and dairy. But a lack of those two allergens doesnt make a product healthy or clean, like most of these brands claim to be.
Learn how to read and understand the ingredients list and nutrition facts label and then use the checklist above when evaluating protein brands.
Its the only way to see through the marketing hype and know if your protein powder is healthy.
Lastly, as we mentioned above, most folks rely on online reviews when choosing what protein to buy. This is a great approach but make sure you understand that most of the reviews you see are cherry-picked by brands.
Heres how to make sure youre getting the full picture:
Read Also: Gluten Free Dairy Free Biscuits