Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeNewsGluten Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks

Gluten Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks

- Advertisment -

Some Wineries Could Use Gluten

Gluten Free Vodka Kombucha Cocktail

Cross contamination is also possible during the aging stage. Thats when wines stored in barrels, stainless steel or ceramic tanks, or large wooden ovals to allow oxygen to get into it over a period of time. One outdated method of storing wine involved using oak barrels sealed with wheat paste .

Most wineries today use paraffin wax as a sealant instead, which is naturally gluten-free. They also may use stainless steel barrels that dont need a sealant. While the risk of contamination from that method is low, its still possible.

All The Alcohol You Can Drink On A Gluten

You’re not just stuck with wine.

Most ciders are gluten-free since they’re brewed from apples, not wheat like beer. These brands are safe bets: Angry Orchard, Crispin, and Strongbow.

BUY NOWAngry Orchard Crisp Apple Cider, from $2 drizly.com

There’s a major exception here: Vodka distilled from cereal grains is obviously not gluten-free. Look for bottles made from potatoes, grapes, or corn. They’re not as hard to find as you think. Big brands, including Tito’s and CÎROC, offer options.

BUY NOWTito’s Handmade Vodka, from $15 drizly.com

Rum is traditionally made from sugar cane. So while it’s not the healthiest alcohol, it’s often gluten-free. Look for plain bottles and add your own mixers. Flavored rums can sometimes hide ingredients that don’t fit into a gluten-free diet.

BUY NOWCruzan Aged Rum, from $12 drizly.com

Be sure to scout out tequila that’s 100 percent agave, which is naturally gluten-free. The same goes for mezcal, since tequila is actually just a specific type of that alcohol.

BUY NOWJose Cuervo Especial Gold, from $23 drizly.com

Anyone with Celiac disease can still enjoy a glass of vino. It’s made from grapes, which don’t affect people with gluten sensitivities. Red, white, rosé, and champagne all check out just watch for any additives that could trigger symptoms.

BUY NOWCupcake Vineyards Chardonnay, $9 wine.com

BUY NOWSpiked Seltzer, from $13 drizly.com

Whiskeys Distilled From Cereal Grains

  • BourbonBenjamin Prichard’s, Booker’s, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson’s Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
  • Canadian WhiskeyAlberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
  • Tenesse WhiskeyJack Daniels, George Dickel.
  • Irish WhiskeyBushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
  • Japanese Blended WhiskeyHibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,
  • Japanese Single Malt WhiskeyHakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
  • Rye WhiskeyAlberta Premium, Bulleitt
  • Scotch Whiskey BlendsBallentine’s, Bell’s, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar’s, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher’s, Whitehorse
  • Scotch Whiskey Single MaltsBowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker
  • Taiwanese WhiskeyKavalan Classic

You May Like: Is Dove Dark Chocolate Gluten Free

Gluten Free Alcohol 08

Looking to try some new cocktails on your Gluten-Free diet? You may be a little hesitant to go out while youre still navigating your new lifestyle, but lucky for you gluten-free cocktails are super easy to make at home! There are great gluten-free drink mixes, liquors, and recipes out there that wont taste any different than any other cocktail.

Typically when putting together any cocktail, you need to start with what gluten-free liquor or alcohol you plan to use. First, figure out what the base of your drink is.

Is Wine Gluten-Free?

If youre a wine drinker, your favorite type of wine could be the best place to start! But is wine gluten-free? The great majority of wines are already gluten-free such as most white wines, red wines, and rose!

There are plenty of wines that are gluten-free and do not use gluten during the process of preparing wine. Just look on the back of the label to make sure no gluten additives were used in the preparation process as this could cause upsets for someone with a gluten sensitivity. A great brand for gluten-free wines is Stella Rosa! They have all types of flavored white wines and Moscato that are gluten-free and taste the same as all other wines.

Gluten-Free Liquor

It may seem difficult trying to pick out a gluten-free liquor to drink, but there is an abundance of options to choose from such as gluten-free rum, tequila, gin, whiskey, vodka, and more!

Is Beer Gluten-Free?

Recipe:

Ingredients:

Rachel Katz

The Ultimate Gluten Free Alcohol List

Gluten Free Alcohol Guide

In this gluten free alcohol listing, youll find all the beers, hard ciders, vodkas, rums, tequilas, and other hard liquors that are gluten free. Just note that if a product or brand has its because its not truly safe for anyone with Celiac or a gluten sensitivity. Although those alcohols are gluten free or wheat free there is still a very small trace of gluten in them, even after the distillation process. Although this trace of gluten is microscopic, really sensitive Celiacs or gluten allergenic folks may have a negative reaction to those products.

So just be safe and drink what you think is best for your body.Heres what youll find in this gluten free alcohol listing.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix

A Guide To Alcoholic Drinks For The Gluten

When youre eliminating gluten, its important to consider which alcoholic drinks you will incorporate into your diet.

You may not have considered how much gluten there is in alcohol yet, but it can really affect your exposure to gluten.

Any beverages made from wheat, barley, or rye contain gluten, as do malted alcoholic beverages made from barley, such as beer. However, its worth noting that other malted beverages, like wine coolers, may also present a problem. Its important to make sure that before you drink an alcoholic beverage, you check the label to make sure it isnt made from wheat, barley, or rye.

The good news is that many companies are coming up with ways to remove the gluten from their products so you can enjoy them. They bear the gluten-free label. But theres even more good news.

Distilled beverages dont contain gluten. Even if theyre made from grains that might include gluten, the distillation process removes impuritiesand that includes gluten.

That leaves a wide range of spirits available to you if you have a gluten allergy or just want to remove gluten from your diet.

This means vodka, whiskey, tequila, bourbon and most other hard liquors are safe to drink. However, one thing you need to watch out for is added flavorings. If flavorings are added after the distillation process is complete and they contain gluten, you may have a problem on your hands.

Is Wine Gluten Free

Yes, all wine is gluten free!

Most wine tends to be gluten free from an ingredients perspective. The only time wine may be suspect to glutenous ingredients or cross contamination is from the wheat paste/sealant used in wine barrels.

This sealant sometimes tend to leak into the wine thus cross contaminating the wine.

However, most wineries are starting to remove this paste from their barrels.

So if you do have any questions about whether or not a wine contains gluten, its advised to contact the winery directly to see if their wines or barrels contain any wheat or glutenous ingredients.

But on a side note, if youre looking for delicious wines to experience and try, I suggest you check out one of these wine subscription boxes.

Basically the way it works is that each company will send you a box of wine that are all based on your tastes and palette.

It truly is a pretty awesome concept!

Read Also: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

What Should I Avoid At Bars When Gluten

There are a couple of things to avoid at bars when youre gluten-free. If you have celiac you must watch out for cross-contact. If you have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, cross-contact might not be a must, but there are still somethings to watch out for.

Regardless of celiac or gluten sensitivity, you likely want to:

  • Be cautious of anything on tap: ideally tap lines are sanitized between use but you wont know for sure if they are. This can be a point of cc, so ideally youre ordering drinks not from the tap.
  • Avoid beer: the most obvious drink to avoid is beer, which is mostly made from gluten containing grains.
  • Avoid gluten removed or gluten reduced beer: despite gluten being removed/reduced, we dont have any way of testing to confirm this. To learn more check out Celiac Simplifieds blog post.
  • Make sure your cup is actually washed and not just rinsed when serving your drink. You may need to specify a clean glass from the back of the house to ensure this.
  • Avoid anything youre unsure about: or anything the bartender is unsure about. My motto is if you dont know, say no.

The Perfect Blend Of Sweet And Spice Using Brandy Rum And Whiskey

Healthy Cozy Warm Holiday Cocktails | Vegan & Gluten Free

Gluten free alcoholic mixed drinks. Agave nectar, agave nectar, orange juice, vodka, vodka, frozen strawberries and 1 more. Although its source may initially contain gluten, the distilling process involved in its production removes the gluten in the end product, making it suitable for celiacs to consume. Each of the mixed drinks in this list are gluten free, very easy to make and absolutely delicious.

Any spirit can be mixed with club soda to make a tall, sparkling cocktail. You just need to verify the liquor that has been added to it. One tree hard ciders angry orchard hard ciders

Grated parmesan cheese, mixed fresh mushrooms, butter, vegetable stock and 19 more. Any distilled alcoholic beverage, including vodka, gin, whiskey, bourbon, rum, brandy, and tequila are considered gluten free. Ideal if its mixed in the glass.

Alcoholic beverages are defined as those containing more than 1.2% abv of alcohol. Making it homemade with frozen berries is loads better than a daiquiri mix from the store. And nowthe top 10 easy mixed drinks to try!

Another resource you might consider is the gluten free watchdog, a subscription service that has published an extensive report on gluten content of distilled alcohol reviewing brand name liquors by category, including rums, whiskey, gin, tequila and more. All of these are quick and simple: Hard selzer also tends to be vegan and gluten free so it’s often adopted by the more health conscious hedonist.

Recommended Reading: Substitute For Gluten Free Bread Crumbs

Alcohols That Are Usually Safe For Gluten

As always do you own research to determine the appropriateness of products for you, with that said there are some generally safe gluten-free and alcohols you can consume:

  • Hard Cider ).
  • Rum
  • Tequila

In the above list I specify alcohols made with gluten-free ingredients, but it is safe for you to consume distilled alcohols made from gluten-containing grains as long as no gluten-containing ingredients are added back in after distillation .

I specifically listed alcohols brewed with gluten-free ingredients because many have a preference for them. Additionally, some people find they still inexplicably react to gluten-derived alcohols .

Popular Gluten Free Alcoholic Drinks

Here are some awesome articles about some of the best gluten free alcoholic drinks and cocktails you can make with all the gluten free liquors listed above.

Plus, you can generally use this listing as a menu of all potential drinks that you can order at most bars and restaurants.

So with that being said, here are the most popular cocktails that can me made using the gluten free liquor. Just be sure to request one of the alcohols listed above to ensure a truly gluten free experience.

  • Old Fashioned
  • Moscow Mule
  • Mojito

Also Check: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs

Vodkas Distilled From Cereal Grains

  • Barley VodkaFinlandia
  • Grain VodkaAbsolwent, Blavod, Bowman’s, Fleischmann’s, Orloff, Polonaise, SKYY, Smirnoff, Stolichnaya,
  • Wheat VodkaAbsolut, Bong Spirit, Danzka, Grey Goose, Hangar One, Ketel One, P.i.n.k Vodka
  • Rye VodkaBelvedere, BiaÅa Dama, Platinka, Sobieski, Starka, Wisent, Wyborowa, Xellent Swiss, Å»ubrówka
  • Gluten-Free Whiskey

Nearly all whiskeys are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid whiskey, while many others drink it with no adverse effects.

What Kind Of Alcohol Is Gluten Free

Gluten

When it comes to alcohol, the most popular categories are beer, wine, and liquor. Gluten free options exist in each of these categories, but you need to know what youre looking for.

Generally speaking, you should avoid beer unless its specifically labeled certified gluten free. Beer is traditionally made from barley, water, hops, and yeast, though it can also be made with wheat or rye. Conventional beer may be off limits, but some brands have started to use gluten free grains like sorghum, rice, and millet. You may also see gluten-removed beers, but celiac sufferers should be wary of these also because they are treated with an enzyme that breaks down, but doesnt remove, the gluten protein from barley.

Here are some of the top gluten free beer brands you may want to consider:

  • Against the Grain
  • Sprechers Gluten Free Beer
  • Nickel Brook Gluten Free
  • Two Bays Brewing Co.
  • Ramapo Valley Brewery Honey Beer

Though beer is usually not safe, hard cider usually is. Popular brands like Angry Orchard, Woodchuck, and Strongbow are easy to find and some bars even have them on tap. Be wary of other beer alternatives, however, like malt beverages and hard soda these are almost always made with barley malt.

Hard beverages like these may not be safe:

  • Hard soda
  • Hard coffee
  • Spiked energy drinks

Here are some of the top brands of gluten free liquor:

Recommended Reading: What Does Gluten Free Means

How To Make Sure Youre Picking A Gluten

If youre looking for a wine thats totally gluten-free, there are a few ways to shop with confidence.

  • Look for the gluten-free label or certification mark. Keep in mind that the FDA doesnt require all foods that meet the definition of gluten-free be labeled gluten-free. The Alcohol and Tobacco Tax and Trade Bureau works with the FDA to regulate wine, and states that the gluten-free label can only be on a bottle of wine if its made with ingredients that do not contain gluten. Beverages created with grains that have gluten content must be labeled with the terms treated, processed, or crafted to remove gluten.
  • Avoid possible hidden ingredients. Wineries can include more than 60 ingredients in their wine that they dont have to disclose. This can include artificial colors, flavors, stabilizers, preservatives, and sulfites. If youre concerned, try to buy organic or natural wines that are made without additives.
  • Talk with the winery. Find out who produced the wine and start asking questions. You can ask about what kind of sealants or storage they use for the aging process, and how their fining process works.

Because of the distillation process, most distilled liquors are gluten-free. Gin and mixed drinks can be tricky since theres a possibility they might contain gluten. If youre looking for something alcoholic, some gluten-free drinks to try include:

Drop Bear Bonfire Stout

Smokier than Big DropsStout thanks to some smoked barley malt, Bonfire Stout is the first dark beerfrom South Wales Drop Bear Beer Co.

As well as a lightsmokiness, the flavours and aromas include cocoa, liquorice, espresso, oak,cedar and a touch of grapefruit from Chinook hops.

This one is useful alternative to Big Drops Stout if youre vegan theres no lactose in this stout.

Recommended Reading: Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -