Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeGeneral Mills Gluten Free Cereal

General Mills Gluten Free Cereal

- Advertisment -

The Answer Is: Unsure*

Lawsuit: General Mills Puts Wheat Flour in “Gluten-Free” Cereal

*Updated September 2021: Because of multiple comments from users stating they had a reaction to Cheerios, weve updated our answer to Unsure. These are not certified gluten free and unfortunately too many people with severe allergies or Celiac Disease have reported problems and reactions.

Here is Cheerios statement on gluten free:

We know that lots of different families want to enjoy Cheerios together. Thats why we worked hard to remove stray wheat, rye, and barley grains from our oat supply. Now Cheerios still have the same great taste, but theyre also gluten-free.

Gluten Free Oatmeal Cheerios Bars

Prep Time: 5 minutes

Directions:1. Preheat oven to 300°.2. Melt coconut oil by measuring it out into a bowl and place in microwave for about 30 seconds.3. Stir in honey and vanilla.4. Add in dry ingredients and with spoons or hands until thoroughly distributed.5. Press ingredients into a small cookie sheet.6. Put in oven for 20 minutes.7. Remove, let cool, and cut into bars. Store in ziplock bags in the fridge.

$15 Paypal GiveawayIf you would like to enter to win a $15 Paypal Giveaway, . Then, come back and comment below telling me what kind you want to try! Winner will be announced on July 1st!

Todays post is sponsored by General Mills, but my love for their gluten free cereal is all my own! So next time youre in need of a healthy, gluten free snack, be sure to try one of these General Meals cereal, by itself or in a recipe.

Wondering Which Brands Of Breakfast Cereals Are Gluten

Caption:

Celiac.com 12/31/2020 – One question we get a lot is about gluten-free breakfast cereals. Specifically, which brands of breakfast cereals are gluten-free and safe for people with celiac disease?

Finding a good gluten-free breakfast cereal can be a challenge. Fortunately more and more manufacturers are making gluten-free breakfast cereals, so the choices are many. Here are nearly a hundred of America’s top gluten-free cereal brands. These top breakfast cereal brands are labeled “Gluten-Free.” That means that you can breath extra easy about serving them to people with celiac disease.

Celiac.com Sponsor :Note that some cereals on this list use gluten-free oats, and ~10% of people with celiac disease also have an oat intolerance , so they may also need to exclude the cereals on this list that contain oats.

Do you have a favorite brand of gluten-free cereal that we might have missed? Share it below in the comments.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Food At Mcdonalds

Arrowhead Mills Maple Buckwheat Flakes

Arrowhead Mills is primarily known for its stone-milled organic baking products. But they also have two gluten-free cereals and proudly display a gluten-free label on these and their other gluten-free baking products as a symbol of their commitment to integrity and purity of the ingredients. They carefully monitor their production sites to make sure that there is no possibility of cross-contamination.

Arrowhead Mills has been making their Organic Gluten-Free Maple Buckwheat Flakes for many years now, and recently added the new Organic Gluten-Free Sprouted Corn Flakes.

Chex Cereals By General Mills

Original Cheerios 340g (12oz) General Mills Cereal GLUTEN ...

Chex cereals are one of the most popular brands on the market today, and General Mills makes Chex in Vanilla, Chocolate, Corn, Honey Nut, and Rice varieties that are gluten-free, as well as gluten-free granola. Look for the Gluten-Free label on the left side of the cereal box, just to make sure. The Wheat Chex cereal is obviously not gluten-free, so make sure you dont grab a box by mistake.

On the Chex website, you can find easy and tasty ideas for snacks and treats you can make with their gluten-free products, including fruit sundae cups, apple cereal muffins, and no-bake ginger peanut bites.

Read Also: Breyers Gluten Free Ice Cream

Erewhon Organics Crispy Rice Cereal

Erewhon was a leader in the organic foods revolution back in the 1960s, and promoting the philosophy that if what you eat is good, and pure, and true to its source, all else will follow. Erewhon offers a light and tasty Crispy Brown Rice cereal that is gluten-free. All of their cereals are USDA Organic, Non-GMO Project verified, and are made in a tree nut and peanut-free manufacturing facility.

A Taste Of General Mills Is The Official Company Blog Of General Mills

Our blog seeks to provide unique perspectives on news and behind-the-scenes stories from General Mills businesses and brands around the world. It also features employees who have dedicated their careers to the companys mission: Making Food the World Loves.

The primary bloggers of A Taste of General Mills are members of the companys Corporate Communications team. But you often see other contributors too, who represent a variety of voices and industry-leading experts at General Mills. From time to time, we also feature guest bloggers from outside the company.

Note that there are things we wont blog about or comment on, such as commodity markets, rumors, competitive actions, financial markets or speculation.

If you have a comment about our blog posts, or would like to suggest a topic, send an email to

You can subscribe to our posts via RSS or email.

Also, follow our updates and connect with us on , , , and GeneralMills.com.

Thanks for visiting A Taste of General Mills.

Also Check: Gluten Free Cinnamon Rolls Shipped

Is Kix Cereal Gluten

Kix Cereal is manufactured by General Mills Inc. and yes, they are gluten-free. However, while it doesnt have any ingredients that contain gluten, General Mills does not label their Kix Cereal products as gluten-free and they are not certified as gluten-free.

Kix Cereal is Gluten-Free!

All varieties of Kix Cereal do not contain any ingredients with gluten in them including:

  • Kix
  • Honey Kix

General Mills Has Finally Done It They Now Have Gluten

Are General Mills Cheerios gluten free? Gluten test #3.

Gluten can be a big problem for those who have celiac disease, or even those who dont. So many products are going gluten free now. Even though I do not suffer from have celiac disease, my stomach bloats like crazy whenever I eat gluten! Anyone can have a gluten intolerance and its becoming more of a problem for many people, even children! My daughter finally outgrew a ton of her allergies and can finally eat regular Cheerios ! That being said if and when we can, we like to avoid gluten. I have a few family members who have a gluten intolerance and celiac disease so we like to have options in our home for us and them as well.

Im so excited about Gluten-Free Cheerios Gifting to a friend! Buy a box, give a box, for free! Each box you buy you can give one to a friend! When my cousin was diagnosed with celiac disease it was really hard. He loved pizza, cookies, cakes and pretty much anything with gluten. It was extremely stressful and hard to figure out his new diet. When we had them over I made every effort to make sure that all of us could enjoy. I made the most incredible tacos with all gluten free ingredients. I even made it a point to shred the cheese as sometimes those pre-shredded cheeses may have a caking agent to keep it separated.

Once you buy your box of Gluten Free Cheerios definitely try our delicious and easy to make Gluten Free Cheerios No Bake Oatmeal Bites Recipe! Perfect treat for those who are gluten free or even if they arent!

Also Check: What Is Gluten Free Pasta

Gluten Free Cheerios No Bake Oatmeal Bites Recipe

This shop has been compensated by Collective Bias, Inc. and its advertiser. All opinions are mine alone. #GiveABox #CollectiveBias

As you may have heard, some select boxes of Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios produced over two weeks in July at the Lodi, California plant, have been recalled due to a wheat allergen. This recall only affects consumers with Celiac disease or a gluten-sensitivity. To learn more about the recall, and if your product is affected please go to: .

Gluten Free No Bake Oatmeal Bites Recipe With Cheerios

  • 1cupgluten free oatmeal
  • 3/4cupgluten free Cheerios
  • 1/2cuporganic natural peanut butter
  • 1/2cupground flax seed
  • 1/2cupchocolate chips
  • Stir all ingredients together until thoroughly mixed and cover.
  • Place mixture in the fridge for about a half hour.
  • Once mixture is chilled, roll into bite size balls.
  • Meanwhile mix together the 1/2 cup chocolate chips and coconut oil in a small sauce pan and melt. Use a fork to drizzle the chocolate over the bites.
  • Store refrigerated for up to 5 days.

Also Check: Gluten Free Pita Bread Whole Foods

A Camera And A Cookbook

My family and I love to go hiking. We enjoy hiking year round, so even on our summer vacations were usually in a location not far from hiking trails. Its important to be prepared when hiking by bringing water and a healthy snack. Fruit and some type of granola/fruit bar is usually my go to hiking snack, but Im always leary about most granola/fruit bars. Most granola or fruit bars arent as healthy as youd like them to be. Theyre packed with sugar and high fructose, many of which are also not gluten free. So for quite awhile Ive wanted to experiment with making my own. Im super appreciated to General Mills for sponsoring todays post and inspiring me to try these gluten free cereal option.

I was impressed by all the options of gluten free cereals by General Mills. I decided to go with my all time favorite cereal variety, which is Honey Nut Cheerios. Before making the bars, I was curious how this gluten free cereal would taste on its own and I will have to say I didnt taste much difference between it and the normal Honey Nut Cheerios that I have loved since childhood.

These bars are quick and easy to make. What I like about this recipe is its more of a guide than a recipe. You can mix and match cereals, fruits, and grains. You could try chocolate chips, coconut, different nuts.

General Mills Recalls 18m Boxes Of Gluten

General Mills Rice Chex

Posted

Reuters General Mills is recalling 1.8 million boxes of gluten-free Cheerios cereal because they may contain wheat, which can cause adverse reactions in people with gluten allergies.

The company said Monday it was recalling the original and honey nut-flavoured varieties of Cheerios produced on certain days at its Lodi, California facility, saying wheat flour may have been accidentally added to its gluten-free oat flour system at the facility.

The incident occurred when the facility lost rail service and the companys gluten-free oat flour was being offloaded from rail cars to trucks for delivery, said Jim Murphy, president of the companys cereal business, in a blog post on General Mills website. He said it was an isolated event and a result of human error.

We sincerely apologize to the gluten-free community and to anyone who may have been impacted, Murphy said.

Ingestion of gluten, a protein found in wheat, barley and rye, by individuals with celiac disease causes an autoimmune response that attacks the small intestine, damaging the bodys ability to properly absorb nutrients.

General Mills, like others in the industry, has been changing its brands to appeal to consumers who are increasingly seeking less-processed, healthier food. In particular, the cereal business has proven problematic as some U.S. consumers have shifted to other breakfast alternatives.

A company spokeswoman said General Mills did not yet have a cost estimate for the recall.

Read Also: Gluten Free Dairy Free Chocolate

Did You Know

To make glutenfree Cheerios, our sifter has to sort 3.5 million pounds of oats every day.

Then, the oats are milled into flour.

The oats go to a mill thats dedicated to making glutenfree flour. Once the oats are milled, the flour is checked to make sure its still glutenfree.

The oat flour gets shipped to the plant.

The flour travels in our dedicated glutenfree trucks and rail cars on its way to becoming Cheerios.

And then its made into Cheerios.

Using the same recipe as always, we puff and toast the oat flour into Cheerios. The finished Cheerios are checked once more to ensure theyre glutenfree.

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -