Wednesday, September 21, 2022
HomeEditor PicksDo French Fries Have Gluten

Do French Fries Have Gluten

- Advertisment -

Are Burger King French Fries Gluten

Gluten Free French Fries | GLUTEN FREE EATING | StubbornMomDotCom

According to the Burger King website, their French fries do not contain gluten ingredients. However, they are made using a shared fryer as other foods that do contain gluten. Order at your own risk, knowing you may have symptoms after eating them if you are especially sensitive to gluten.

Read on: Are Burger King French fries gluten-free?

Why Is Gluten Sometimes Harder To Identify

Sometimes, it can feel like you need to be a detective to determine if a product you want to consume is safely gluten-free. Understanding all the variables of product production and labeling can be daunting. Even when you think youve checked everything and asked all the right questions, you can get glutened.

FDA-compliant food labels specify wheat in the ingredients list or in a Contains statement for any ingredient derived from wheat for people with wheat allergies. However, there are no required warnings for barley or rye, because those grains are not considered major allergens by the FDA. The Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act of 2004 identified eight foods as major food allergens: milk, eggs, fish, shellfish, tree nuts, peanuts, wheat, and soybean.

If youre sensitive to gluten derived from wheat, barley, and rye, you must be more diligent about reading food labels. Check out our article: 3 Tips for Reading Gluten-Free Food Labels.

To add to the confusion, some processed food items contain gluten like certain salad dressings but unless you read the ingredients label, it may not be obvious.

Finally, there are packaged foods that are usually gluten-free but may come in a specialty flavor or be made by a specialty product producer that could potentially contain gluten.

Brands Of Frozen Gluten

When shopping at the grocery store, you may be wondering if you can purchase frozen French fries to make at home in your oven or air fryer.

The answer is yes, you can absolutely enjoy frozen fries, but you must first be sure to read ingredient and disclosure labels carefully. You might be surprised seeing how easily gluten sneaks into packaged foods these days.

To help you decode frozen French fry labels, Ive looked up what the most common French fry brands say about gluten.

Recommended Reading: Does Chicken Stock Have Gluten

Are Burger King Fries Gluten Free

Burger King fries will routinely be made in fryers also used to make wheat-containing hash browns, the fast food chain announced today.

In a post appearing on the Food Allergy Research and Education website, Burger King said:

We are informing the food allergen community about the change in cooking procedure for our French Fries. Starting on August 3rd 2015, French Fries will no longer be cooked in a separate fryer. They will be cooked in the same fryer as Hash Browns that contain wheat flour, resulting in the likely risk of cross-contact with a known allergen for the French fries. Therefore, from now on, French Fries may contain wheat.

We are updating our website, bk.com to reflect this change. Our guests will continue to find complete and up-to-date nutritional and allergen information for BURGER KING® menu items on our website.

A Burger King spokesperson in an email said, As has always been the case, BURGER KING ® restaurants handle many products with wheat and other major food allergens, and therefore we cannot guarantee an allergen free environment.

My family has avoided Burger King fries for a long time after having found breaded onion rings mixed in a few times. It never gave us a lot of confidence in the gluten-free status of the fries.

But on its List for Guests with Gluten Sensitivity, which pointedly says it is not for those with celiac disease, theres a notation that the fries may be fried with gluten containing foods.

New to the gluten-free diet?

Is Fried Food Gluten Free

Crispy Gluten Free French Fries

Usually, fried food is not gluten free. This is because fried foods usually tend to have a batter or coating around them, which is usually made from wheat flour or breadcrumbs both of which contain gluten. However, if gluten free breadcrumbs or gluten free flour has been used, it’s highly likely that the fried food will be gluten free if it’s plain meat or vegetables!

Don’t Miss: Phyllo Dough Cost

Are Mcdonalds Home Fries Gluten

French fries are NOT gluten free, they are coated in a wheat beef flavoring. Contains: Wheat, Milk. Cooked In The Same Fryer That We Use For Donut Sticks Which Contain A Wheat And Milk Allergen. Beef patties do not contain gluten but risk cross contamination.

What Common Fast Food Items Contain Gluten

When dealing with gluten-intolerance, knowledge is safety. Knowing what food items you can eat, as well as those that are taboo, can be the difference between a good afternoon with friends and a painful allergy episode.

While the list of food items containing gluten is inexhaustible, some are more common in fast food circles.

The following food items should be avoided by gluten-intolerant people at fast food outlets: wheat, barley, rye, malt, triticale, wheat starch, and brewers yeast. You should also try to avoid foods that require frying.

Fried foods at fast food restaurants may be gluten-free but are at risk of cross-contamination due to the same oil being used for frying both gluten-free and gluten-containing products.

Read Also: Homemade Gluten Free Bread Crumbs

Engineered Fries Vs Potatoes

There are a lot of fries out there

Fast food fries, restaurant fries, store bought fries, and homemade fries. The first three types are special.

The fast food and restaurant industries in particular require some level of standardization with the food they servemeaning, they want to serve you a consistent, crispy, delicious french fry every time.

Achieving this goal of consistency is not just luckit is engineered.

Of course, picking the right potato, cutting it perfectly, and getting the perfect balance of starch are part of what they accomplish.

The flavor must be perfect as well. And thats where gluten may come into the picture.

For example, McDonalds french fries , have 10 ingredients . Wheat is one of those ingredients.

Chick-fil-as waffle fries come in with 4 ingredients so it is possible to find fast food fries that are gluten free as far as ingredients go

Based on the discussion so far, we know the first thing we need to find out is are the fries themselves gluten-free?

Its easy enough to askit might be even easier to look it up online.

Thats step 1. If yes, the fries are GF, then we move on to step 2

What about cross contamination from the fryer?

Are Ore Ida French Fries Gluten

2 Ingredient Keto French Fries Recipe | Vegan | Egg Free | Paleo | Gluten free | Low carb | LCHF

While this brand doesnt offer a simple way to review their products allergen information, I was able to find that many Ore Ida products are gluten-free from other sources, such as Verywell Fit and Gluten-free Homemaker.

In this case, it seems as though Ore Ida is a great option for gluten-free French fries you can make at home. Look for gluten-free on the packaging before buying.

Recommended Reading: Dove Milk Chocolate Gluten-free

Are Potatoes Gluten Free

Potatoes are naturally gluten free as they are not cereals they are a type of starchy vegetable. We make lots of potato products to suit different dietary needs and tastes. Some of our recipes include wheat, so please always check the ingredients on the back of pack or on our site. All allergens are shown in bold and capitalised here.

Are Mcdonalds French Fries Gluten Free The Answer Will Shock You

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

Whenever you go out to the restaurant and order some french fries, chances are theyre gluten free.

Really, the only time they wont be is if the restaurant shares a fryer with other glutenous food, which is a major cross contamination issue for Celiac diners.

However, there comes a time when some restaurants somehow doesnt have gluten free french fries, despite having a separate, dedicate french fry fryer. You see, some restaurants use a special flour to coat their fries, while others sometimes use dust their fries in a seasoning that contains gluten.

But what about McDonalds?

And with that well head straight into quite possibly the most controversial question in McDonalds gluten free history

Read Also: Does Nothing Bundt Cakes Have Vegan Options

What Fast Food And Fast Casual Restaurants Have A Gluten

Despite several campaigns against fast food as an unhealthy alternative, it is incredibly difficult to shake off. This is because fast food is cheap, convenient, and tastes good. As a gluten-sensitive person, your options with fast food chains are quite limited, but theres often something on offer for you.

You can find gluten-free food at most fast food chains. Many of these chains are beginning to make gluten-free options available to customers: Chick-Fila-A, Arbys, Chipotle and Burger King. However, you may have to know the exact meal that is gluten-free, and thats difficult for first-time buyers.

Chick-fil-A is one of the best places for people with gluten-sensitivity to eat. The fast-food chain offers a comprehensive gluten-free menu that can guide your decision-making when buying food. Its chicken nuggets and dipping sauces are gluten-free. Chick-fil-A sandwiches also come gluten-free without the bun. Some outlets even offer gluten-free buns made from millet, quinoa, and amaranth.

Arbys also offers a comprehensive menu for gluten-free customers. As long as you avoid the bread, most other things on the menu are gluten-free. You should also take great care when buying fries. Theres a slight risk of cross-contamination from the oil used.

Chipotle says all its foods are gluten-free except for the sour flour tortilla. The company also keeps a list of allergen-free foods that customers can buy.

Fried And Baked Potatoes

Are French Fries Gluten Free Mcdonalds

Order baked potatoes plain without any butter or oil. Butter in restaurant kitchens can become easily contaminated when utensils that have been used in gluten-containing foods are dipped in them.

Also avoid restaurant french fries. They may be cooked in the same fryer as gluten-containing foods like battered chicken or onion rings. The same goes for potato skins.

You May Like: Grain Free Tortilla Chips Costco

Do You Need Help With Your Health

We have the tools to discover why you may be having trouble with a weakened immune system. Its not difficult as long as youre ready to make some dietary and lifestyle changes. If that sounds daunting, dont worry. We will hold your hand through the changes and make each step of change an easy one.

Hash Browns Tater Tots Potato Cakes & Potato Croquettes:

Most of these potato recipes made with fried mashed potatoes use cheese and flour as a thickener, they may have a flour coating and they might have been processed or cooked in a place where they also make things containing gluten.

Make sure you ask questions to your server before ordering this dish!

Did I forget about anything? Please, if you are aware of some other occasions in which potatoes are not gluten free, dont hesitate to let me know by leaving a comment below!

Your tips and experience can definitely help a lot of other gluten free eaters so make sure to leave your feedback!

I send you all a big kiss from Italy and I will catch you next time!

Ambra

Recommended Reading: Publix White Pizza

Are French Fries Gluten

by Erin Collins

We dont blame you for wondering, Are French fries are gluten-free? Well give the full scoop on fast food French fries, so you can put the question to rest!

Whether you eat gluten-free or not, I think we can all agree that French fries are one food that can be hard to pass up. Theyre salty and satisfying. A hamburger or greasy diner sandwich is hardly complete without them!

So are French fries gluten-free?

Unfortunately, theres no quick, definitive answer.

In short, the ingredients for French fries are naturally gluten-free. But many fast food restaurants cook their French fries in oil that is cross-contaminated with foods that contain gluten, meaning their French fries cannot be considered gluten-free.

The only way to ensure French fries are gluten-free is if they are made in a dedicated French fry fryer, which uses separate oil for cooking French fries vs. chicken tenders, hash browns, etc.

Are Sweet Potato Fries Gluten

Simple Gluten-Free Rosemary French Fries | BURGERFIT FRIDAY

Some sweet potato fries may be gluten-free, as long as theyre cooked in a dedicated fryer and do not have any breading or coating. However, many restaurants use a shared fryer and cannot guarantee that their sweet potato fries are gluten-free.

When it comes to fast-food chains, the options for gluten-free sweet potato fries are slim.

But there is some good news! Red Robin lists sweet potato fries as one of their gluten-free items, noting that they are cooked in a dedicated fryer.

If you want to enjoy sweet potato fries at home, you can pick up Ore Ida gluten-free sweet potato fries or Tropicland organic sweet potato fries at the grocery store.

Or make your own roasted sweet potatoes!

Recommended Reading: Jason Deli Gluten Free Menu

Are Mcdonalds Fries Gluten Free 2020

French Fries

Theres some debate about whether there is major cross-contamination in their fries during the frying process. But according to McDonalds website, there is not! They do not cook their potatoey goodnesses in the same fryers as their gluten items making them safe to eat for our celiac friends.

Also Check: Is Better Than Bouillon Gluten Free

Casual Chain Restaurants Options

Gluten-free options in casual chain restaurants are increasing rapidly, but the chains have been slow to move to dedicated fryers for their fries. This means most fries you encounter in casual restaurants are not going to be gluten-free, even if they don’t include gluten ingredients.

Some restaurants serve fries coated with flour which makes them crispier, but unsafe if you can’t have gluten.

Red Robin is one of the nationwide chains with gluten-free options. Despite the fact that the chain has dedicated fryers for their steak fries, its website does warn of potential cross-contamination of gluten ingredients.

Others may offer gluten-free fries. Of course, it varies depending on location, demand, and the gluten-free awareness level of staff membersbut you’ll definitely need to ask.

Be aware that when you ask whether a restaurant’s fries are gluten-free, most will say “yes,” since the waitstaff and even the managers and chefs don’t always realize that frying them in a shared fryer means they’re no longer gluten-free. You’ll have to ask specifically whether the restaurant’s fries are prepared in a separate fryer.

Read Also: Jason’s Deli Gluten-free Bread Ingredients

Procedures For Making French Fries

Step 1- Peel, rinse and cut the potato into sticks. The thinner they are, the crispier. After this, put the cut potatoes in a large bowl filled with cool water. Leave it to soak for 20 minutes or an hour. Doing this will help to get rid of excess starch and will make your fries more crispy.

Step 2- Once you are done cooling, drain the potatoes and clean them with a kitchen towel. Once you are done with this, carefully arrange them on a baking sheet to air-dry them.

Step 3- Heat vegetable oil for some minutes. Once it gets hot, fry for 3 to 5 minutes. Its best to work in batches if you are making a lot of potatoes. Adding too many fries at a time will bring down the temperature of the oil and cause soggy fries. Fry until the potatoes are a little bit cooked. They should look as pale as they are when you placed them in the oil at first.

Step 4- The next step is to drain and the half-done fries. Carefully lift out of the oil and place on a cooling rack. Leave it to cool for about 30 minutes or some hours. You can also also keep it for some hours in a freezer and fry them the next day.

Step 5- Fry the potatoes again. Continue to fry until it turns crispy. Dont allow the potatoes to turn brown, rather golden.

Step 6- Once you are done frying, remove the fries from the oil and drain them. Sprinkle fries with this pure ocean sea salt while still hot.

Step 7- You can serve your french fries in a bowl and use any dipping sauces of your choice.

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -