Tuesday, June 28, 2022
HomeEditor PicksAre Whole Grain Oats Gluten Free

Are Whole Grain Oats Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Health Benefits Of Oats

Gluten Free Rolled Oats | Bob’s Red Mill

Good quality oats are highly helpful to health. Many nutritionists and doctors are recommending having oats, especially in breakfast, as it makes the consumer better from the inside out.

Radiant SkinOatmeal is an excellent way to treat inflammatory conditions like eczema, dermatitis and skin rashes it also promotes healthy skin from within from the number of vitamins and minerals it contains. Oats are rich in zinc, which helps to cleanse the skin and remove toxins and other harmful compounds. Zinc also decreases the enlarged pores and rejuvenates the skin from the inside. Another mineral is iron, which is highly essential for nutrition and saturation of moisture in the skin cell. Magnesium promotes blood circulation and significant skin cell renewal. Manganese present in oats reduces swelling and inflammations and promotes rapid healing of the skin.

Suggested Blogs Cookbooks And Books

These days, there are a great many wonderful gluten-free cookbooks to guide those who want to eat gluten-free deliciously. Take a look at some of these:

The Complete Gluten-Free Whole Grains Cookbook by Judith Finlayson 125 Gluten-Free Vegetarian Recipes by Carol Fenster 100 Best Gluten-Free Recipes by Carol Fenster 1,000 Gluten-Free Recipes by Carol Fenster, PhD American Dietetic Association Easy Gluten-Free by Tricia Thompson, MS, RD and Marlisa Brown, MS, RD, Best Gluten-Free Family Cookbook by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt Complete Gluten-Free Cookbook by Donna Washburn and Heather Butt Cooking Free by Carol Fenster, PhD Food Allergy Survival Guide by Vesanto Melina, MS, RD, Jo Stepaniak, MSEd,Dina Aronson, MS, RD Gluten-Free 101 by Carol Fenster, PhD Gluten-Free Diet: A Comprehensive Resource Guide by Shelley Case, RD Gluten-Free Friends by Nancy Patin Falini, RD book for kidsGluten-Free Makeovers by Beth Hillson Gluten-Free Quick & Easy by Carol Fenster, PhD The Wheat-Free Cook by Jacqueline Mallorca Wheat-Free Recipes & Menus by Carol Fenster, PhD

What Are Whole Grain Oats

Whole grain oats are a type of oat that have not been modified, refined, or ground to a smaller side. This whole grain has all the parts any grain needs to be considered whole, including the bran, endosperm, and germ of each oat grain.

Each of these different parts of a whole grain are important to ones health. The bran provides fiber, the endosperm gives carbohydrates, and the germ has all the vitamins, minerals, and protein you need from a grain.

When oat grains or oat groats are broken down, the nutritional value of that grain is diminished, but whole grain oats has the most nutrients than all other types of oats and oatmeal.

Whole grain oats are used mostly as oatmeal and porridge as it takes a while to cook this type of grain down due to the hard bran shell of the oats. You can expect whole grain oats to cook for about 30 minutes until they are tender enough to eat.

You May Like: Jersey Mike Allergy Menu

Are All Whole Grain Oats Gluten Free

There had simply been this crucial missing piece of the puzzle had to hyperlink laboratory stats to real benets in humans.

This is not entire article. It continues …

  • How To Cook Easter Cake – Recipe
  • How To Cook Chunks Of Bacon With Dried Fruit And Melted Chee…
  • Dates – For A Healthy Heart And Without Anemia
  • How To Cook Beef Meatballs With Buckwheat In Tomato Sauce -…
  • Green Beans – Composition, Benefits And Contra…
  • How To Cook White Wine Cakes – Recipe
  • How To Cook Warm Chicken Salad With Potatoes And Pickles In…
  • Caramel
  • How To Cook Broccoli And Chickpea Pancakes With Spicy Ketchu…
  • How To Cook Milk Almond Pie – Recipe

Risks And Side Effects

Purchase Bob

Even when someone doesnt have a negative reaction to eating gluten, its possible that he or she might experience some symptoms when eating gluten-free grains.

What are the potential side effects of oats? These may include gastrointestinal troubles, including bloating, cramping or diarrhea.

This might be caused by the high level of fiber found in these grains. It is more likely to be a problem for people who arent used to eating high-fiber foods very often.

With some time, these should go away.

Soaking grains overnight and drinking lots of water can also help get rid of digestive problems. Like all other whole grains, soaking oats helps reduce antinutrients and enzymes that can mess with nutrient absorption and digestion.

Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Vegan Pizza Dough

Fact : Oat Processors Have Different Methods To Make Sure That Their Oats Are Gluten

There are two main ways that oat processors currently avoid or remove potential agricultural co-mingling with gluten grains. Both ways can be used to produce gluten-free oat products, and the two methods are often combined:

1. Purity Protocol takes place during the growing, harvesting, transporting, storage, processing, and manufacturing of oats. This process consists of a non-regulated set of steps to address the early stages of oat production.

2. Mechanical sorting takes place during the processing of the oats. A set of machines are used to sort oats to ensure proper size, shape, and color and to eliminate mold and other unwanted particles, including errant grains. Sorting happens after oats arrive at an oat processing facility, but in most cases the processor has limits on what level of gluten presence can be tolerated when the oats are received, and will reject oats with high levels of gluten grains.

Some oat processors use Purity Protocol alone as an assurance their oats are gluten-free. Some processors use a combination of Purity Protocol followed by mechanical sorting. Others rely on mechanical sorting to rid their oats of gluten grains.

While there is still no consistency in producing gluten-free oats, more consumers are demanding transparency in oat processing methods to feel confident the oats they are purchasing are safe to consume. Lets dig into both of these methods of oat processing that take place prior to packaging.

Reading Labels To Scout Out Gluten

Gluten hides in many unsuspecting places such as candy, sauces, and malt avoring. Other ingredients appear suspicious, but may be safe. To learn more, visit Gluten Free Living. If in doubt about a particular food, ask the manufacturer about the ingredients and the standards they use to assure your safety.

Reading labels is very important. In the U.S., the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act mandates that labels on foods manufactured after January, 2006, will list the word wheat to indicate the presence of wheat. But the label doesnt have to list other gluten-containing grains such as barley, rye, spelt, kamut, or triticale.

In mid-2013, the U.S. Food & Drug Administration released long-awaited standards for what food companies can label as gluten-free. These standards dene gluten-free as containing fewer than 20 parts per million of gluten a level consistent with standards in other countries.

Don’t Miss: Udi’s Gluten Free Pizza Crust Review

Are Quaker Oats Gluten

Quaker Oats are manufactured by the Quaker Oats Company and some of their products are gluten-free. While oats naturally do not have gluten in them, due to manufacturing products with lots of others that contain wheat and other gluten containing ingredients, some cross-contamination can occur.

Fortunately, the Quaker Oats Company has made an effort to provide a few of their products fully certified gluten-free! Just make sure to look for the gluten-free label on the front. It is important to note though that some people may still have issues because of the oats.

Some Quaker Oats are Gluten-Free!

According to the Quaker Oats Company, the following products are gluten-free:

  • Quaker Gluten-Free Quick 1-Minute Oats
  • Quaker Gluten-Free Instant Oatmeal Original
  • Quaker Gluten-Free Instant Oatmeal Maple & Brown Sugar

Fact : Oats Are Not Considered A Gluten Source In Many Countries

In the Lab with Grain Millers: Gluten-free Oat Bread

As we mentioned above, oats are not typically placed in the same category as wheat, barley, or rye when it comes to gluten regulations.

Canada, Europe, and many other countries follow a uniform set of guidelines to ensure food safety called Codex Alimentarius Standard_118-1979. The Codex includes oats in its definition of gluten grains. However, in a footnote, the Codex standard states:

Oats can be tolerated by most, but not all, people who are intolerant to gluten. Therefore, the allowance of oats that are not contaminated with wheat, rye or barley in foods covered by this standard may be determined at the national level.

Most European countries allow oats in products labeled gluten-free. Canada issued a Marketing Authorization in 2015 that allows the use of gluten-free claims for gluten-free oats, and foods that contain them, as ingredients. In this case, the oats must be specially grown or processed to ensure that they are gluten-free and are tested to have no more than 20 ppm of gluten grains.

In Canada, the term gluten-free oats must clearly identify the oats wherever they are referenced, including in the list of ingredients. Note that in the U.S., the FDA does not allow any descriptions in the ingredient lists on packaged food labels.

Exceptions to this rule are Australia and New Zealand, two countries that include oats as a restricted grain along with wheat, barley, and rye in any gluten-free products produced or sold in those countries.

Recommended Reading: Ulcerative Colitis Gluten Intolerance

Additional Benefits Of Oats

Do you know that oats are more than just healthy food? Some of the compounds present in them make them great natural skincare products as well. Oats for skin can be used as-

· Oats-based skin products and oatmeal masks to treat inflamed and irritated skin, especially during the dry season.

· The beta- glucan in oats makes them the main ingredient to heal wounds and chapped or inflamed skin in traditional treatment since centuries.

· Anti-itching agents owing to their high antioxidant levels.

Can Celiacs Eat Gluten

There is onemore thing to discuss. We previously mentioned that oats are safe for most people with gluten sensitivity.Now is agreat time to mention that some people face difficulty digesting oats. Researchsupports both sides of the coin on this matter.Gluten-free oats appear to be safe toeat for a large majority of people with celiac disease. However, evidence shows that the aveninprotein found in oats can trigger an immune responsewith symptoms similar to glutenintolerance.

The argument being that some researchers believe that the oats are tainted by trace amounts of cross-contamination while other academics have found indication that a small percentage of people show signs of oats side effects.As a result, some people may need to avoid oats due to a possible food allergy related to oats.

Also Check: Substitute For Gluten Free Bread Crumbs

Why Isn’t All Oatmeal Gluten

Since pure oats and pure oatmeal are gluten-free, you’re probably wondering how gluten can get in. The problem is gluten cross-contamination that starts in farmers’ fields and carries on through processing.

Most farmers and food processors who grow and handle oats also grow and handle the gluten grains wheat, barley, and rye. Using the same equipment for both oats and gluten grains means that a tiny amount of gluten winds up in your oatmeal.

Here’s the statement from Quaker Oats regarding this problem: “Yes, oats are naturally gluten-free. However, during farming, transportation, and storage, gluten-containing grains like wheat, rye, barley, and spelt may be unintentionally introduced.”

It’s possible to grow pure oats that are safe on the gluten-free diet, and companies selling certified gluten-free oatmeal are using oats that do not have any gluten cross-contamination. Those should be safe for the majority of people with celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity. However, some people will have reactions even with pure oats.

Are Bobs Red Mill Oats Really Gluten Free

Gluten Free whole grain rolled oats

Bobs Red Mill is a brand many people in the gluten-free community know and trust because the company makes many gluten-free products.

Bobs Red Mill does not use purity protocol oats instead relying on a combination of purity oats and optically-sorted oats to meet demand for its products. Bobs Red Mill oats are not certified gluten free either.

I took pause when I learned early on in my celiac disease life that Bobs Red Mill oats were neither purity oats nor third-party gluten-free certified. How could this be? Could someone with celiac disease safely consume Bobs Red Mill gluten-free oats?

Its easy to assume no and shut down the conversation based on what I have said so far, and many people have jumped to this conclusion.

However, Ive done a lot of digging into this topic, and know there is more than meets the eye when it comes to the Bobs Red Mill brand. Bottom line, Bobs Red Mill makes gluten-free oats safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities to consume. Heres why:

Batch Testing: Bobs Red Mill says its oats are batch tested before, during, and after processing using an ELISA Gluten Assay. The Gluten ELISA is a quantitative test able to detect low levels of gluten in food ingredients and in prepared and processed foods and beverages.

This means Bobs Red Mill batch tests its oats upon delivery, during production, and after packaging to ensure they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten in any given batch.

Read Also: Gluten Free Alternative To Couscous

Planning Against Gluten Contaminants

The same directive applies to all production steps: contamination, even by the smallest quantity of glutenous substance, must be ruled out during each phase of the technical processing of the oats. This is ensured by machines specially designed for processing gluten-free oats and by frequent checks.

Rolled Whole Grain Oat Nutrition:

  • One serving of rolled oats contains 140 calories, 5g protein, 2.5g fat, 27g carbs, 4g fiber, and 0g sugar.
  • Oats are considered a resistant starch due to its unique ability to bind with water in the body. This type of starch functions like fiber, escaping digestion and improving gut health by feeding your friendly gut bacteria.
  • The fiber in oats allows for slow digestion, leaving you feeling fuller and more satisfied for longer periods of time, helping to eat less.
  • Oats are packed with minerals such as manganese, phosphorus, copper, Vitamin B1, iron, selenium, magnesium, and zinc.
  • Some would call oats a superfood due to its antioxidant profile which includes avenathramide, ferulic acid, and phytic acid. These help reduce inflammation throughout the body.

You May Like: Paleo Diet Gluten Free

Are The Oats Used To Make Cheerios Safe

Im asked almost daily about Cheerios. It is the most accessible cereal brand around, and most Cheerios flavors are labeled gluten free. The brand is also a sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation, which is basically an endorsement from one of the leading celiac non-profits in the world.

Its important to understand a few things about Cheerios as you decide whether or not you feel safe consuming them.

First, its important to note that the Canadian Celiac Association recommends that people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity do not consume Cheerios, even if its labeled gluten free, due to concerns about the potential levels of gluten in each box, and due to what is says is General Mills unwillingness to be fully transparent in its testing methods.

Cheerios uses optically- and mechanically-sorted commodity oats, but that isnt what concerns most people. Most concerning is that General Mills does not properly test each batch to ensure all boxes are free from gluten. You can read more about the baffling testing process in this article by the Gluten-Free Watchdog.

On top of it all, the gluten-free community grew wary of Cheerios long ago after gluten made its way into nearly two million boxes, which General Mills recalled in 2015. The company blamed it on human error.

I tested Cheerios and Apple Cinnamon Cheerios for hidden gluten with the Nima Sensor. You can see how they fared in my article, List of Gluten-Free Cereals.

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

Gluten Free Soy Free Bread

Are Potato Rolls Gluten Free

- Advertisment -