Frequently Asked Questions And Answers
What are people saying about vegan restaurants in San Antonio, TX?
This is a review for vegan restaurants in San Antonio, TX:
“It’s amazing to find a place where I can eat everything on the menu. It’s all gluten free and vegan. I ordered the Cobb salad and also had a lobster roll to go. My spouse got the southwest burger. All were delicious. The jalepeno Mac and cheese was a great side. We will be back to try more! Appreciate that not everything is fake meat products.”
You May Need To Prepare Your Own Food More Often
Generally speaking, there are not as many gluten-free vegan options in grocery stores as there are gluten-free options. Theres quite a wide variety of gluten-free breads, pastas, and sauces. But when you read the ingredients list, you may find that they contain milk or eggs. You may find that your best bet is to prepare your own gluten-free vegan foods.
White Castles Impossible Slider
White Castles Impossible Slider comes with smoked cheddar cheese, but people who follow a vegan diet can order it without the cheese.
Vegan sauces include the smoky BBQ sauce, Nashville-inspired hot sauce, and regular hot sauce.
The following sections list some plant-based Mexican options available in fast food establishments around the U.S.
Recommended Reading: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins
There Are Some Easy Gluten
- Gluten-Free bread: Check out brands like Udis Gluten-Freeand Schar Gluten-Free, which have gluten-free vegan options.
- Tortillas: Flour tortillas are not gluten-free. But corn tortillas hit the sweet spot of being both plant-based and gluten-free.
- Soy sauce: Many soy sauces contain wheat. However, tamari and coconut aminos are both gluten-free.
- Flour: Tapioca, coconut, cassava, white rice, brown rice, oat, and bean flours are all gluten-free.
- Pasta: Gluten-free pasta is fairly common in most supermarkets these days. However, some brands use eggs or egg whites as a binder. Your best bet may be rice noodles, which are typically vegan in addition to being gluten-free. As always, check the label before you buy!
Del Tacos Beyond Avocado Taco
Del Taco use seasoned Beyond Meat crumbles to create the Beyond Avocado Taco. The other ingredients include avocado, crisp lettuce, and tomatoes in a crunchy taco shell.
It is also possible to customize some of their Beyond vegetarian offerings to make them vegan. Simply ask the staff to make the Beyond 8-Layer Burrito or the Epic Beyond Cali Burrito without the cheese or sour cream.
Del Tacos crinkle-cut fries are also vegan.
Don’t Miss: Tapioca Starch Publix
Taco Bells Bean Burrito
People can alter many of Taco Bells items to be vegan. For example, they can order a bean burrito or other items Fresco style to omit the cheese and sour cream.
Use salsa, guacamole, or other salad items to make the burrito more filling.
The sections below list some plant-based pizzas available in fast food venues around the U.S.
Eating Healthy On The Road
So, there are times where despite our best efforts, our only options just might be fast food, especially on vacation or a trip. On a road trip or in a podunk town with little to zero options for a healthy meal, Ive found ways to navigate the fast food menu. I do not, I repeat, do not, advocate the consumption of fast food except for in a pinch and other compromising situations. So I suggest you print this blog in case of emergency!
Here are some of the biggies:
Subway: This one of the most veg and health friendly places if you are in a bind. You can always go with a veggie sub on Italian bread , hold the cheese and mayo, while piling on the veggies, avocado and mustard. You can also get this wrap style or forgo the carbs and chomp on a salad. They do have veggie patties however, if youre vegan, its a no go as they contain egg. For allergy sensitive folks, stick to the salads.
Quiznos : These guys arent far behind Subway. I do love a warm sandwich but Subway has better veggie options. Here I order a veggie sub, no cheese or mayo, add guac and vinaigrette. Toasty yumminess. Also, grab a salad if youre not doing bread! Again, for allergy sensitive folks, stick to the salads.
Pizza Hut: Vegans, we are screwed here unless we order multigrain dough with no sauce and tons of veggies. All other sauces and doughs contain dairy. For non vegans, go for the cheeseless veggie on multigrain.
Stay tuned as next week I navigate chain restaurants!! Be safe and conscious fast fooders!!
Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Dairy Free Bakery
Pf Chang’s China Bistro
The choices include a wide variety of appetizers, gluten-free egg drop soup, a noodle dish, plenty of entree options and even vegetarian options. You even can order a great dessert, P.F. Chang’s excellent GF flourless chocolate dome.
Gluten-free options at P.F. Chang’s include:
- Chang’s chicken lettuce wraps
- Pad Thai
- Chocolate souffle
All of P.F. Chang’s gluten-free dishes are served on a special plate with the chain’s logo so that you know you’re getting a safe meal. The restaurant also uses gluten-free soy sauce in its GF creations.
New Vegan Gluten Free Takeout Restaurant Coming To Grand Rapids
Dexter Marzette and Dorian Vonrossum are opening Dank Street, a takeout and delivery restaurant specializing in vegan and gluten free food.
GRAND RAPIDS, MI A new restaurant specializing in takeout and delivery of locally sourced vegan and gluten free food is coming to Grand Rapids.
Dank Street is being launched next month by Grand Rapids residents Dexter Marzette and Dorian Vonrossum, and will operate out of rented kitchen space at KJ Catering, 1808 Monroe Ave NW.
Note to readers: if you purchase something through one of our affiliate links we may earn a commission.
You May Like: Gluten Free Pita Bread Publix
Kfc: House Or Caesar Salad
Sorry, people with Celiac, but you’re basically beggars at the Colonel’s house. The gluten filter on the KFC site yields this sad mess of soft drink options, along with two salads that do not include dressing or croutons. To add insult to injury, they’reside salads. We suppose you could pass on the Caesar and load up on corn, coleslaw, and green beans, but that’ll just remind you of the other sides you’re missing.
Find Fast Food Gluten And Allergy Free In Us
More fast food / quick service restaurant chains are providing gluten free menus and allergy charts. In order to understand your menu options, we recommend you access and/or print out the gluten free menu and allergy chart from your favorite fast food chain website below.
Be sure to read the explanations provided by each chain describing food preparation and potential cross contamination considerations prior to ordering any menu items.
US Fast Food Chains Providing Gluten Free Menus and Allergy Charts
Fast food chains providing a gluten free menu are identified with “GF Menu”. Each allergy chart may or may not identify gluten depending upon the specific restaurant chain:
- Austria Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Czech Republic Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Europe Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- France Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Germany Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Greece Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Ireland Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Italy Gluten Free Travel Bundle
- Latvia Gluten Free Travel Bundle
Recommended Reading: Where Are Graham Crackers In Walmart
Nutrients From Our Gluten
Dried Apples – A great source of fiber, good for cardiovascular health, and an anti-inflammatory.
Cinnamon Can lower bad cholesterol, anti-inflammatory, has anti-fungal, anti-bacterial, and even anti-viral properties.
Dates Natural energy booster, prevents and relieves constipation , lowers cholesterol, good for bone health.
Dried Cranberries Anti-inflammatory, cardiovascular benefits, antioxidants, digestive tract benefits.
Pepitas An excellent source of zinc and other minerals, antimicrobial benefits, high in antioxidants.
Raw Hulled Sunflower Seeds Anti-inflammatory, good for cardiovascular health, helps lower cholesterol, excellent source of important minerals, such as folate, selenium, vitamin E, and more.
Chia Seeds An excellent source of fiber, good fat, good carbohydrate , lots of protein, important minerals.
Sesame Seeds These little seeds are the B.O.M.B.! If you only click on one link, this is the one.
- Great source of protein
- Good for skin and heart health
Mcdonalds Fruit And Maple Oatmeal
McDonalds is not the most vegan-friendly fast food outlet.
Its fruit and maple oatmeal, however containing diced apples and a cranberry-raisin blend is one of the few options suitable for vegans. To ensure that it is plant-based, ask for it without cream.
People who choose to become vegan do so for a number of reasons, including:
- health reasons
research also indicates that those who eat a mostly plant-based diet have a lower body mass index than people who mostly eat meat. The study also reports that vegans have lower rates of diabetes and heart disease than people who eat meat and dairy.
A in the Journal of the American Heart Association also supports the notion that those who eat predominantly plant-based foods have a lower risk of heart disease.
That being said, individuals who eat fast food regularly may not experience these health benefits, and this includes vegan fast food.
For optimal health, vegans should focus on eating whole foods and limiting their intake of processed and fast foods.
If people ate more plant-based foods directly, the study suggests that there would be more produce available to feed up to an additional 4 billion people.
Recommended Reading: Is Kraft Ranch Dressing Gluten Free
No You Wont Starve On A Gluten
If youre eating a gluten-free diet, you may have noticed that many of the foods are already plant-based: fruits, nuts, seeds, vegetables, and legumes. So if you are looking to adopt a gluten-free vegan diet, there are many foods to choose from.
Lets start with the basics. Gluten is the name of the proteins that are found in several grains: wheat, rye, barley, and a rye/barley hybrid called triticale. Grains that contain wheat include whole wheat, bulgur, farro, farina, spelt, graham, durum, bromated flour , kamut , and wheat berries. Wheat, rye, and barley are found in pastas, breads, and cereals, while barley is found in malt, food coloring, and brewers yeast. On a gluten-free diet, you also cannot eat couscous, which is made from semolina .
Most of the population can consume gluten without any issues. However, 1 in 100 people in the world become ill from eating foods containing gluten. This autoimmune disease is called celiac disease, sometimes also referred to as being gluten intolerant.
If you have celiac disease, consuming gluten can damage the lining of your small intestine and affect nutrient absorption, according to the Celiac Disease Foundation. Symptoms of celiac disease or gluten intolerance include diarrhea, bloating, abdominal pain, and an itchy rash.
Whether youre adopting a gluten-free vegan diet for health reasons or by choice, you have a lot of delicious options for foods to eat.
Subways Veggie Delite And Beyond Meatball Marinara
Subway have recently started serving their Beyond Meatball Marinara Sub. Until now, vegans had relied on Subway for their classic Veggie Delite Sub on Italian bread or wheat bread .
Some locations also stock the veggie patty, which is plant-based. Vegan-friendly sauces available at Subway include mustard, sweet onion sauce, fat-free Italian dressing, and the Subway vinaigrette.
The following sections list some plant-based savory snack options available in fast food venues around the U.S.
Recommended Reading: Jasons Deli Gluten Free Menu
On The Border Mexican Grill & Cantina
Until March 8, you can try On the Borders Beyond Meat Tacos as part of its Endless Tacos offerjust ask for no cheese to make them vegan. Other vegan offerings include the Portobello & Vegetables Fajitas without sour cream and cheese, the mango and fajita salads with grilled portobello mushrooms instead of chicken and without queso fresco, and the Veggie Burrito without cheese. Locations in San Diego also offer additional vegan selections, such as Sweet Potato and Corn Flautas and Spicy Avocado Enchiladas.
Stick To Split Pea Or Black Bean & Lime Soup
Dr. McDougalls split pea and black bean soups are both mostly pureed, so the not-boiling water from fast food restaurants can still cook them. Theyre also vegan and certified gluten free.
Ive found both split pea and black bean soup cups at Whole Foods, Giant, and Kroger. You can also get them in 6-packs on .
Also Check: Gluten Free Substitute For Bread Crumbs
The Carls Jr Veg It Burger
For a less meat-like option, choose any burger and ask the staff to veg it. This means that they will remove or substitute the meat patty.
Consider adding a side of fried zucchini in place of the patty. Make sure to ask them to cook it on a separate fryer to the one they use to prepare meat products.
Also, dont forget to hold the cheese, mayo, and special sauce. Enjoy the burger with a side salad .
Wendys Baked Potato With Chives
For a simple snack, the Baked Potato with Chives is one of the only vegan-friendly options at Wendys. Be sure to hold the butter, cheese, and sour cream.
The garden salad with red Italian dressing and no croutons and apple slices are also vegan.
The following sections list some plant-based sweet bites available in fast food eateries around the U.S.
Recommended Reading: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free
Ihop Hash Browns And Sides
IHOP have several vegan sides that people can combine to make a meal. For example, they can pair the vegan hash browns with sautéed spinach and mushrooms and a salad with avocado .
They can follow this up with a serving of fresh fruit.
The sections below list some plant-based burgers available in fast food venues around the U.S.
Burger Kings Impossible Whopper
Burger King use the famous Impossible Foods burger patty to make a plant-based version of their Whopper.
When ordering, ask for the burger without mayo or cheese and specify that the staff should prepare it away from any meat products.
Enjoy the Impossible Whopper with a side of garden salad , french fries, or hash browns. All of these sides are also vegan.
Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix