Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeExclusiveDoes Oat Milk Have Gluten

Does Oat Milk Have Gluten

- Advertisment -

Oats/oat Milk In Drinks And Products

Does Oatmeal Have Gluten? Are Oats Gluten Free? Is Oatmeal Gluten Free? Do Oats Have Gluten? Facts

A new reason for glutencross-contamination-related to the widespread use of oat milk is here. This may be problematic if you have gluten intolerance or celiac disease.

If the oat milk used by an establishment is not gluten-free, this is a game-changer. The risk of cross-contamination of your coffee drink just skyrocketed. The pitchers, steam spigots, and blenders used to steam milk are typically shared with all milk varieties.

This means that quite possibly, that oat milk latte ordered by the person in front of you just got into your almond milk latte. How? One possibility is the steam spigot that went into the oat milk latte made for the person before you. It just went into your drink. Yes, it may have been wiped with a cloth, but that may not be sufficient.

My point is, now you must ask the barista if their oat milk is gluten-free. Ahhhh, and all you wanted was hot coffee!

If the oat milk used by a company or establishment is gluten-free, you are good to go. If you react to oats, you should avoid all products and drinks containing oat milk.

Does Oat Milk Cause Gas

Yes, oat milk can cause gas due to an upset stomach. This is due to the breakdown of fiber and sugar present in the oat milk.

Oat milk is carried via the large intestine. When oat milk does not break down easily it results in burping, gas, stomach pain, and flatulence.

Moreover, if you mix it with other ingredients like granola or toppings, the combination results in gas. Oat milk has whole grain carbs and beta-glucan soluble fiber that can result in upset stomach by slowing the digestion process.

What About Oat Flour

Some people are concerned about oat flour and the chances of cross-contact taking place during the milling of the flour. Oat flour, like any processed and packaged product, can be tested for gluten.

In fact, it is much easier to test for gluten in oat flour than in whole, unprocessed oat groats because if there are gluten grains present, they have been more evenly distributed throughout the flour. More even distribution means it is easier to detect gluten in much smaller samples taken for testing.

GFCO recognizes that the distribution of gluten in a milled oat flour is not 100% uniform and requires manufacturers to test all oat ingredients multiple times as part of certification.

You May Like: Are Tostitos Lime Gluten Free

But What About ‘low Gluten’ Oat Milk

I’m gonna tell you this straight: stop listening to this ‘low gluten’ crap if you have coeliac disease or are on a gluten free diet for medical reasons.

Being on a gluten free diet is exactly that – gluten FREE. Free from gluten.

Not a drop.

Low gluten is not gluten free.

Low gluten oat milk is not gluten free.

Baristas who try to tell you that it is are misinformed.

If you just have a minor intolerance or are avoiding gluten through choice, that’s fine.

But if you need to have a gluten free diet – and especially if you have coeliac disease – low gluten is not good enough.

Sorry to burst that bubble.

What Is The Difference Between Organic And Non

Is Oat Milk Gluten
  • Each label requires brands to go through a verification and testing process. In short, non-GMO ensures products do not contain genetically modified organisms. Organic follows the same guidelines with added protection against antibiotics, synthetic pesticides, and artificial flavors and colors.

  • Take a look at this handy chart from Boston Organics explaining the differences.

  • Also Check: Gluten Free Hello Fresh

    Like Milk Minus The Moo

    • Made from North American grown gluten free oats
    • Excellent source of calcium and 5g Omega-9 fatty acids
    • Lower sugar
    • Nut free, allergen-free, soy free, non-GMO Project Verified, gluten-free, kosher, vegan, carrageenan free, and BPA-Free

    Made with:

    Oatmilk , Sunflower Oil, Dipotassium Phosphate, Calcium Carbonate, Tricalcium Phosphate, Sea Salt. **Some sugars are created in the process of making Oatmilk.

    Perishable. Keep Refrigerated. Shake Well For Best Taste.

    Consume within 7-10 days of opening.

    Fact : Oat Processors Have Different Methods To Make Sure That Their Oats Are Gluten

    There are two main ways that oat processors currently avoid or remove potential agricultural co-mingling with gluten grains. Both ways can be used to produce gluten-free oat products, and the two methods are often combined:

    1. Purity Protocol takes place during the growing, harvesting, transporting, storage, processing, and manufacturing of oats. This process consists of a non-regulated set of steps to address the early stages of oat production.

    2. Mechanical sorting takes place during the processing of the oats. A set of machines are used to sort oats to ensure proper size, shape, and color and to eliminate mold and other unwanted particles, including errant grains. Sorting happens after oats arrive at an oat processing facility, but in most cases the processor has limits on what level of gluten presence can be tolerated when the oats are received, and will reject oats with high levels of gluten grains.

    Some oat processors use Purity Protocol alone as an assurance their oats are gluten-free. Some processors use a combination of Purity Protocol followed by mechanical sorting. Others rely on mechanical sorting to rid their oats of gluten grains.

    While there is still no consistency in producing gluten-free oats, more consumers are demanding transparency in oat processing methods to feel confident the oats they are purchasing are safe to consume. Lets dig into both of these methods of oat processing that take place prior to packaging.

    Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Onion Soup Mix

    Your Oat Milk Has Only Two Ingredients But 14

  • Our oat milk truly is simply water and oats. Regarding the sugar content, during production natural enzymes are used to break down the starches in the oats. Carbohydrates break down into smaller, simpler sugar molecules that provide for a smoother, sweeter taste. No sugars are added. The process almost mimics what your body would do.

  • Does Oat Milk Taste Good In Smoothies

    How to Make The Best Gluten Free Oat Milk | How to Avoid Slimy Oat Milk & 7 Benefits of Oat Milk

    It sure does! The great thing about oat milk is that is has a very subtle flavour and does not overpower the taste of the smoothie.

    It has an earthy taste that blends wonderfully with fruits like banana, strawberries, or other berries, and added ingredients like nut butter and protein powder.

    If you like the taste of oats or even oatmeal, youll notice that same subtle flavour in the oat milk, which makes it a great breakfast smoothie option.

    Don’t Miss: Substitute For Panko Bread Crumbs

    Should You Choose Oat Milk

    For vegans, vegetarians, and those with specific food intolerances, oat milk provides a tasty and nutritious avenue to getting some much-needed vitamins and minerals. On the other hand, those on a keto diet, for example, would not be permitted to drink oat milk because grains are off-limits. Its essential to match your dairy-free milk alternative to your diet and ensure youre checking all the nutrient boxes.

    Diet preferences aside, oat milk is simply delicious. Its smooth and creamy, making it more desirable to drink straight versus other plant-based milks. People have been enjoying it as an ingredient in other beverages or solo. With its growing popularity, oat milk is made by multiple brands and in all kinds of flavors. Sweetened and unsweetened are good places to start. Oat milk comes in low fat, chocolate, and super-foam versions whose thick consistency helps baristas craft latte art.

    All in all, oat milk has proven to have several health benefits that, depending on your current diet, could be hard to beat. From helping boost immunity to being great for the planet, oat milk is a healthy milk alternative.

    Further Reading

    Nutritional Benefits Of Oat Milk

    If you can find gluten-free oat milk, you can 100 percent enjoy it along with the nutritional benefits that come along with it.

    Protein: Oat milk contains about three grams of protein per one-cup serving. Milk contains about six grams per serving and soy milk contains about seven or eight grams of protein per serving. Oat milk does not, however, contain all nine essential amino acids like dairy milk and soy milk.

    Calories: One cup of unsweetened oat milk is about 80-120 calories compared to about 150 calories in a single cup of whole milk . The unsweetened version of soy milk has roughly 130 calories per cup, flax milk has 25, almond milk has 60, and coconut milk has 80.

    Nutrients: Oat milk offers a good source of vitamin D, vitamin B12, calcium and riboflavin, particularly if the brand of oat milk youre using is fortified . Oat milk also offers 2-4 grams of fiber while dairy milk offers none.

    Also Check: Caputo Gluten Free Pizza Recipe

    What Is The Nutrition Value Of Oat Milk

    Most oat milk is dairy-free, nut-free, and soy-free, but oat milks nutrition value varies pretty widely depending on the product. For example, some oat milks have added oils and sugars that drastically increase the products fat and carbohydrate content.

    Others are fortified with additional vitamins and minerals, such as calcium and vitamin D, that we would normally find in a standard glass of milk.

    One cup of a generic, unsweetened, and fortified oat milk has the following nutrients:

    • Calories: 139

    • Total Carbohydrates: 16 grams

    • Total Fiber: 1.9 grams

    • Calcium: 350 mg

    • Iron: 0.3 mg

    • Phosphorus: 269 mg

    • Potassium: 389 mg

    • Sodium: 101 mg

    • Riboflavin: 0.6 mg

    • Vitamin B12: 1.2 micrograms

    In general, most oat milks have about the same number of calories as whole milk. Oat milk, however, has a somewhat higher carbohydrate content and a little less protein. But, unlike whole milk, oat milk has more fiber and little to no saturated fat, making it a great heart-healthy alternative to full-fat cows milk.

    So Is It Safe To Order A Coffee At Costa Anymore

    How To Make Oat Milk Like Oatly (Vegan, Gluten Free, Dairy ...

    Though Id personally love to give you a clear yes or no, its probably better for me to point you to Coeliac UKs stance on the matter.

    A similar situation to this one happened at Starbucks back in 2018 when they first introduced oat milk. It was essentially the first introduction of non-gluten-free milk in coffee shop chains and, not surprisingly, was very poorly received by the gluten-free community.

    I bring this up as Coeliac UK made an official statement about Starbucks which is similar to the Costa situation. You can read the full statement here, but heres the important bits:

    We are concerned about this decision which seems to put people requiring gluten free at a real and unnecessary disadvantage.

    We have been in contact with Starbucks to understand the level of risk and been told that low levels of gluten may be found in these beverages due to the use of shared equipment, and that they highlight the allergen risk to customers.

    We believe it should be possible to accommodate the needs of people with milk or dairy issues without cutting choice for people with a medical need for gluten free.

    We will be urging Starbucks to reconsider its practices to ensure cross contamination risk is managed properly.

    In the meantime, as we do not know the levels of gluten involved, we advise our members to be aware of this risk in making purchasing decisions regarding these products.

    Coeliac UK, January 2018

    Don’t Miss: Carbs In Bud Light Platinum Seltzer

    How To Make Gluten Free Oat Milk

    In a medium size bowl add the oats and water. Cover and allow them to soak for at least 30 minutes, or up to a few hours.

    After the oats have soaked add them with the water to a high speed blender and blend until all of the oats are combined with the water.

    With your nut milk bag inside of a clean bowl, pour the oat milk into it. Then hold the bag closed with one hand and begin to squeeze. All of the oat milk will start draining out.

    Once all you have is the oat pulp left in the bag then you can stop squeezing. Store the milk in the fridge and you can throw out the oat pulp, or try to find a recipe to reuse it in .

    Thats it! I hope you enjoy this recipe and I am planning to create a coffee creamer recipe with it in the future. Remember to leave a review if you give this a try.

    This easy gluten free oat milk recipe is inexpensive and safe for those who are celiac.

    • 1cupGluten Free Oats
    • 3cupswater

    What Are Oat Milks Disadvantages

    Image by Canva Photos

    We know there are several benefits to choosing oat milk, but now look at some of the disadvantages of oat milk over alternative options. Oat milk disadvantages will largely depend on your unique dietary needs and preferences. Still, they are essential to keep in mind when determining if oat milk is right for you.

    Recommended Reading: Are Bud Light Seltzers Keto

    Good For Cereal And Smoothies

    Like with most dairy alternatives, oat milk is once again going to work perfectly in any smoothie that you can throw it in. As well, its going to work nicely poured over some of the less-sweet cereal varieties. Oat milk goes great with a bowl of Cheerios. Throw some oat milk into a protein shake or have it with your morning cereal for a great and grounded lactose-free breakfast.

    Are Oat Milk Lattes Bad For You

    How to make B├ęchamel Sauce gluten-free with oat milk (swap for your favourite milk)

    A large latte with oat milk would contain over 10 grams of rapeseed oil, much more oil than in a large fries. Every time you drink a latte with oat milk, youre getting the toxic and inflammatory equivalent of a medium to large serving of french fries.

    Also Check: Wishbone Zesty Italian Dressing Ingredients

    More On Oats In A Gluten

    The majority of information in the scientific literature supports the case that gluten-free oats are safe for the majority of individuals with celiac disease. Oats should only be introduced into the diets of people with celiac disease under the guidance of a personal healthcare team and in limited amounts.

    Why oats should be included in a diet at all if there is any question as to their safety? Oats are a good source of nutrients that are often lacking in the gluten-free diet. Since the gluten-free diet is already limited, adding additional restrictions can have negative effects on quality of life. The issue of oats can seem complex and confusing due primarily to the following factors:

    1. The risks of agricultural comingling and cross-contact: Unless certified gluten-free, oats may contain gluten-containing grains, potentially leading to the belief that the oats themselves are problematic. Gluten grains can still get into oats through wind, animals, and human error prior to processing. Over recent years, certified gluten-free oats and products containing certified gluten-free oats or oat flour have become more widely available, making this issue less prevalent.

    GIG and GFCO will continue to monitor research and food safety issues regarding oats and will update this article accordingly.

    How To Drink And Use Oat Milk

    Beyond a thicker consistency, the slightly sweet flavor of oat milk is pretty great too. “Its creaminess makes it popular to drink, such as in oat milk lattes and cappuccinos. It can also be used in smoothies, creamy soups, and baked goods,” says Gans. Try it for yourself: Elmhurst Unsweetened Oat Milk or Pacific Foods Organic Oat Milk.

    You can also use oat milk in the same way you might use cow’s milk or other plant-based milk when cooking. “You can use oat milk as your liquid in pancakes and waffles or in place of regular milk when making mashed potatoes or casseroles,” says Jones. While you might not want to down a glass of oat milk every day, it could be a great dairy-free milk that’s easy on the stomach and provides an immediate source of pre-workout energy.

      You May Like: Are Dove Bars Gluten-free

      RELATED ARTICLES
      - Advertisment -

      Most Popular

      - Advertisment -