Barbaras Organic Crisp Rice Cereal
- At A Glance: High quality ingredients, no corn syrup, great texture. Our all-around favorite!
- Cost: $4.19-5.99
- Where To Buy: Sprouts, Amazon, Walmart, Natural Grocers, Vitacost
Barbaras is our go-to gluten-free crisp rice cereal, simply because its the easiest for us to find. Barbaras crisp rice cereal is made from brown rice, so the color is slightly darker, even though it has a delicate crisp texture like the white-rice-based Rice Krispies brand.
Are Kelloggs Rice Krispies Gluten Free
Rice Krispies is a breakfast cereal that is produced and marketed by Kelloggs.
You will have most likely come across other brands of Rice Krispies online or at your local supermarket. In this review we will focus on Kelloggs Rice Krispies and if theyre gluten free.
It is the top-selling brand of rice krispies on the market, so lets find out if they are gluten free:
Tips For Making Gluten
- Line your pan with parchment paper. It makes it easy to remove the treats from the pan to easily cut.
- You can also grease the pan with gluten-free cooking spray . This method works best if you are going to cut the treats directly in the pan.
- Keep your heat on low, because you dont want your butter to brown.
- Dont use marshmallows that are sticky and clumped together in the bag. I try and buy a bag of marshmallows where I can see them not sticking together. They pour easily into the measuring cup too. Fresh marshmallows make for a better rice Krispies treat.
- If you do not have mini marshmallows, you can use these guidelines: 1 cup of Mini Marshmallows = 9 Regular Sized Marshmallows1 cup of Mini Marshmallows = 2 Â½ Jumbo Sized Marshmallows. I always use mini marshmallows to make my treats.
- Dont skip the step to reserve 2 cups of the mini marshmallows to stir in at the end. Trust me on this!
- Use a greased spatula to softly spread the mixture into the pan.
- After spreading the mixture, use wet hands to press the mixture into the pan.
- I have found that gluten-free crispy rice is a little different and needs to be firmly pressed into the pan so the treats will not be too soft.
Read Also: Gluten Free Costco
How To Avoid Hard Rice Krispies Treats
The trick to having the BEST gluten-free rice krispie treats is this: DO NOT PACK THE RICE KRISPIES IN THE PAN!
Packing the marshmallow cereal mixture creates hard, dense treats. My trick is to evenly spread out the marshmallow cereal mixture in the pan using a well-greased rubber spatula. Gently push down the treats and forming them to the pan, without compacting.
Kelloggs Rice Krispies Ingredients
So the first step in answering this question is to take a look at the ingredients.
The list of ingredients for Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal are:
- malt flavor
At first glance these ingredients appear harmless but when you start to scrutinize a few of them, things may get tricky.
While rice is gluten free as well as sugar and salt heres where we run into a gluten filled problem.
And its Malt flavoring.
Malt flavoring is often derived from barley which contains gluten. If it doesnt say Gluten Free or doesnt state its been derived from another source you should assume the worst in this case that it contains Gluten.
Nows a good time to hear what the company has to say about Rice Krispies, its Malt Flavoring and whether or not its Gluten Free.
Also Check: Are Heath Klondike Bars Gluten Free
Gluten Free Rice Krispies Treats
Thesegluten free rice krispies treats are gooey, crispy and buttery. Theyre made with brown butter, vanilla and just the right amount of marshmallow.
This post includes everything you need to know when it comes to gluten-free crispy rice treats. Youll find which brands of cereal are gluten-free and what to look for on the ingredient label.
This is also my TRIED-AND-TRUE recipe for the best crispy treats ever. Make this recipe today you wont be able to taste the difference!
Rice Krispies Treats are a simple pleasure that almost everyone has fond memories of enjoying at one time or another. With crispy rice cereal, butter and gooey marshmallows, whats not to love?
You also might like these gluten-free no bake cookies for another treat.
Is Rice Krispies Cereal Gluten
Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal is not gluten-free because it has malt flavor listed in the ingredients. Malt flavor is made from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain.
The good news is that there are several brands of gluten-free crispy rice cereal. The two brands I used to make these gluten-free rice Krispie treats are Malto O Meal and Natures Path Organic.
The Malto O Meal is a brand made and sold at Walmart and comes in a 36-ounce bag. This brand of crispy rice cereal was the closest to the traditional Kelloggs Rice Krispies.
I bought the Natures Path Organic Crispy Rice at Target, and it was a 26-ounce bag. Natures Path Organic cereal is made with brown rice and was a little different in flavor and texture than the traditional Kelloggs Rice Krispies.
Both brands of gluten-free crispy rice cereals made yummy rice crispy treats.
Also Check: Is Knorr Cheddar Broccoli Rice Gluten Free
Which Kelloggs Cereals Are Gluten Free
Which Kelloggs Cereals Are Gluten-Free?Special K Gluten-Free Cereal Touch of Brown Sugar.Kashi Simply Maize Cereal.Kashi Indigo Morning Cereal.Kashi Clusters, Vanilla Pepita.Bear Naked Cinnamon and Sunflower Butter Soft Baked Granola.Bear Naked Cacao and Cashew Butter Soft Baked Granola.More itemsFeb 25, 2020
Dont Miss: Krusteaz Gluten Free All Purpose Flour
Light And Crispy Rice Krispies Waffles Recipe
Rice Krispies is a breakfast cereal marketed by Kelloggs in 1927 and released to the public in 1928. Rice Krispies are made of crisped rice , and expand forming very thin and hollowed out walls that are crunchy and crisp.
Drain rice and immediately rinse with cold water until rice is room temperature, about 1 minutes. Step 3. Place 1 cup cooked rice in a medium bowl with sour cream stir to combine. Heat 2 tablespoons butter and oil in a well-seasoned 10-inch cast iron or nonstick skillet over medium-low heat until just melted.
May 18, 2018 26 of the best recipes for a Memorial Day Picnic! Pasta Salad, Baked Beans, Texas Sheet Cake, Fresh Peach Pie, Turkey Pinwheels, Shells and Cheese, Potato Salad, Blackberry Cobbler, Apple Salad, 7-Layer Dip, Taco Salad and more!
Melt the butter in a large sauce pot or Dutch oven on the stovetop. Stir the vanilla extract and salt into the butter. Add the mini marshmallows to the melted butter mixture, stirring until the marshmallows have fully melted.*. Remove the mixture from the heat, and quickly stir in the Rice Krispies cereal.
Step 2. In a separate bowl, beat the eggs. Stir in the milk, butter and vanilla. Pour the milk mixture into the flour mixture beat until blended. Step 3. Ladle the batter into a preheated waffle iron. Cook the waffles until golden and crisp. Serve immediately.
Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough Ice Cream
Is It Worth The Risk
If you feel the risk is worth taking, that choice is entirely yours. But I certainly wont be trying them any time soon. Especially as Im from the UK and the barley is clearly marked.
What I find frustrating is that it should be really simple to make a product like Rice Krispies gluten-free especially because the main ingredients are essentially sugar and rice! Even more frustratingly, in 2011 Rice Krispies launched a gluten-free cereal, but according to their website the sales were disappointing, and manufacturing constraints were an issue. The product was discontinued. Its a shame because I feel as though it would certainly be more popular now.
Barbaras Brown Rice Crisp
This cereal states that its gluten-free, but it isnt prepared in a separate gluten-free facility. So if youre super sensitive or celiac, it may be best to avoid this one. I always tend to avoid products that are may contain as they do set me off. However, I know plenty of gluten-intolerant individuals who are absolutely fine with products that are a may contain. This option is again, organic and is readily available at stores like Walmart. Its made from whole grain brown rice.
Recommended Reading: Costco Gluten Free
One Degree Organic Foods Gf Sprouted Brown Rice Crisp Cereal
I honestly had never heard of the One Degree brand before I started my search for gluten free rice crispy cereal varieties. The box is smaller than most at 8 ounces since most others are 10 ounces, a relatively universal price means that this variety is more expensive by 25%.
I really like these little puffy grains, though. Theyre unlike the Kelloggs Rice Krispies variety, which is wrinkled like a raisin. Thats neither good nor bad. Its just a matter of personal preference.
Theyre nice and snappy, stay crisp in milk, are only very lightly sweet, and the grains are sprouted which some say is better for your gut. They are great in Rice Krispy Treats , too.
Here are the other details about One Degree:
- Size of package: 8 ounces
- Price you should expect to pay: About $4.25
- Availability: Okay. I purchased this cereal at Vitacost.com, and have seen it on Target.com. Its sold on amazon.com, but the prices are terrible
- Other common allergens: none
- Ingredients: organic sprouted whole grain brown rice, organic coconut sugar, unrefined salt, tocopherols
Kellogg Rice Krispy Treat Flavors:
Original Rice Krispy Treats snack bars
Rice Krispies Treats® Original Bars
Rice Krispies Treats® Cookies N Crème
Rice Krispies Treats® Birthday Cake
Rice Krispies Treats® with Milk Chocolate M& Ms® Minis®
Rice Krispies Treats® Variety Pack
Rice Krispies Treats® Chocolatey Chip Marshmallow
Cocoa Krispies Treats® with Milk Chocolate M& Ms® Minis®
Cocoa Krispies Treats®
Rice Krispies Treats® Original Treats Sheets
Rice Krispies Treats® Mini-Squares
You May Like: Dove Dark Chocolate Gluten Free
Which Brands Of Rice Krispies Are Gluten Free
Asked by: Amy Gottlieb PhD
Look for rice based cereals from brands like One Degree, Nature’s Path, or Barbara’s all of which can be safely enjoyed by those with celiac disease or a sensitivity to gluten. Gluten-free alternatives to Rice Krispies treats are also available from retailers like Annie’s or Glenny’s.
Step By Step Instructions
First, line a baking dish with foil and spray with cooking spray. This makes slicing the treats easier once they are set, just lift the foil out of the pan and cut into squares with a sharp knife.
After you grease and line the baking dish, complete the recipe as follows:
Read Also: Nature Valley Bars Gluten Free
When Crisp Rice Cereal Isnt Just Rice
Since rice is naturally gluten free, you might wonder, are Rice Krispies are gluten free ? Conventional Kelloggs Rice Krispies are made with malt syrup, derived from barley, which is a gluten-containing grain. They are most definitely not gluten free.
In 2011, though, Kelloggs introduced a gluten free variety of their famous snap, crackle and pop Rice Krispies that was sold in conventional grocery stores all over the U.S. However, they were discontinued in the U.S. just a few years later. The gluten free variety is, however, still available in Canada.
When they were first available in the U.S., my gluten free son had only had Erewhon brand crisp rice cereal, and theyre great. Ive used them for baking for years.
But I had a fondness for Kelloggs brand, as I grew up eating them, so I bought a box. They were, well, pretty much the same as I rememberand tasted very similar to 3 of the 5 brands below.
Fortunately, now there are tons of brands of gluten free crisp rice cereals available for purchase. Some are a little more precious than others and are a bit more expensive.
Cereal is pretty expensive, in general, though . Ive always found cereal to be a poor investment for the mornings nutrition.
But its fast and always ready when you are. As long as its low in sugar and high in whole grains, Im fine with it for my kids.
*** Thanksgiving Recipes ***
These roasted brussels sprouts get a fair amount of spice from the crushed red pepper flakes, which cuts
After trying every turkey-roasting method under the sun, Ive finally settled on this as absolutely the
We love how the cinnamon-scented streusel topping lets the juicy berries peek through.
Italian sausage and a heap of Parmesan cheese lend signature flair to the easy Thanksgiving dressing
Its all about the layers and ruffles in this dramatic seasonal pie.
Poach quince in rosé with a dash of cocktail bitters and a few warm spices, then assemble into a tart
Leave the sausage, nuts, dried fruit behind in favor of this easy, vegetarian-friendly stuffing recipe
Alton Browns turkey brine recipe from Good Eats will give you a flavorful Thanksgiving turkey with juicy
Bone-in turkey breasts are easy to find, and as impressive as a whole bird when you roast them in butter
This recipe was handed down by my great-grandmother. It is a family favorite that we make every Thanksgiving.
Cutting leeks into large pieces gives them a presence equal
This crunchy crumble is the perfect topping for an ice cream sundae, easy apple crumble, or our Build-Your-Own
Recommended Reading: Jersey Mikes Allergy Menu
Human Right Violations Of Palm Oil In 2016
According to Amnesty International in 2016, Kellogg’s palm oil provider Wilmar International profited from 8 to 14-year-old child labor and forced labor. Some workers were extorted, threatened or not paid for work. Some workers suffered severe injuries from chemicals such as Paraquat. Kellogg’s alleged not being aware of the child abuses due to traceability Amnesty’s human rights director replied that “Using mealy-mouthed excuses about ‘traceability’ is a total cop-out.”
Why Is Sugar Not Considered Vegan
Some sugar is vegan. Those that use a bone char process are not considered to be ethically vegan. Bone char is a process of using charcoal made from animal bones to make sugar white. Beet and coconut sugars do not use a bone char process and therefore are vegan. If sugarcane granules or powder is bright white this indicates that a bone char process was used in the making of it. This means that almost all white cane sugar is not vegan.
Also Check: Gluten Free Pizza Crust Publix
Don’t Miss: Sonoma Creamery Pork Rinds Costco