Tuesday, June 28, 2022
HomeEditor PicksWhich Cheerios Are Gluten Free

Which Cheerios Are Gluten Free

- Advertisment -

Who Is A Gluten

Honey Nut Cheerios, Gluten-Free Just Got More Delicious

The benefits of a gluten-free diet are primarily for those with celiac disease and gluten sensitivity.

Celiac Disease

Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease. It is characterized by an abnormal response to ingested gluten. When people with celiac disease consume gluten, the body assumes it is toxic. In reaction, it stimulates a response from the immune system and the gastrointestinal tract is attacked.

These attacks caused by gluten can cause diarrhea, bloating, and other uncomfortable digestive issues, as well as long-term consequences. Repeated attacks can damage finger-like projections in the digestive lining that promote nutrient absorption. Eventually, it can cause a number of problems, including vitamin and mineral deficiencies, anemia, lack of nutrition, lactose intolerance, and osteoporosis or bone loss.

Arthritis

Following a strict gluten-free diet is currently the only treatment for celiac disease. Removing gluten from the diet can reduce the above risks. Protecting the digestive lining by removing gluten can help reduce such risks and ultimately improve the quality of life.

Irritable Bowel Syndrome

Irritable Bowel Syndrome is defined as a group of symptoms that affect the digestive system. Despite the absence of structural damage, individuals may experience symptoms similar to celiac disease, including abdominal pain and changes in bowel patterns. Symptoms can also result in anxiety and depression, as well as potentially reducing quality of life.

Schizophrenia

What If I Eat Cheerios And Have A Problem

We realize that some people with celiac disease will decide to eat Cheerios. The CCA recommends that if you experience a reaction to the cereal, you should notify the Canadian Food Inspection Agency , General Mills Canada, the store that sold you the package and the CCA.

Canadian Food Inspection Agency http://www.inspection.gc.ca/food/information-for-consumers/report-a-concern/contactus/eng/1390269985112/1390346078752

MAPAQ http://www.mapaq.gouv.qc.ca/fr/Restauration/Qualitedesaliments/Pages/plaintes.aspx

General Mills Customer Service http://consumercontacts.generalmills.com/ConsolidatedContact.aspx?page=http://www.lifemadedelicious.ca& js=True& language=en

Canadian Celiac Association: Email or Facebook

Please keep the remainder of the cereal package and any unopened boxes purchased at the same time until it is clear whether CFIA is interested in testing the package for gluten.

Best For Chocolate Lovers: Natures Path Cocoa Coconut Superflakes

Price: $

If youre a chocolate lover, Natures Path Cocoa Coconut Superflakes may be just what youre looking for.

It has the taste, crunch, and mouthfeel of traditional corn flake cereal, along with a more balanced nutrient profile and rich chocolatey flavor.

Primarily made from a combination of sprouted black bean flour, brown rice flour, fair trade cocoa, and coconut flakes, its lightly sweetened with honey and coconut sugar.

Each 1/2-cup serving provides 3 grams of fiber, 3 grams of protein, and only 3 grams of sugar.

Note the manufacturer recommends a serving size of 1 cup , and the product is certified gluten-free by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

Also Check: Jason’s Deli Gluten Free

Whats Worse Than Gluten In Your Morning Bowl: Sugar

Listen, were not big fans of gluten its why we left it out of our product line. But if we were to battle it out with one ingredient, and one ingredient only, we wouldnt be inviting gluten into the ring. Rather, wed love to duke it out with sugar.

Roughly 1% of the United States population, or about three million people, have celiac disease. Not exactly a fun statistic. But you know whats even more staggering? Almost 10%, or 30 million Americans, are now living with diabetes. When we bring in those who are prediabetic, the numbers skyrocket to 100 million. So before you tear open a box of sugary apple cinnamon gluten-free granola, allow us to direct your attention to another aspect of its nutrition label.

In many gluten-free cereals, sugar is one of the most prevalent ingredients. In Honey Nut Cheerios sugar is listed as the second ingredient. Three-fourths of a cup contains 22 grams of carbohydrates, nine of which come from sugar.

The American Heart Association recommends women consume 25 grams and men 36 grams of sugar per day. In other words, that small bowl of cereal youre pouring accounts for roughly one third of your allotted sugar for the day. A half cup of low-fat milk brings its up to over half.

Current Research On Oats

Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten Free Cereal, 27.2 oz Box ...

There have been a number of research studies performed to evaluate the safety of oat consumption. Many of them report that components in oat proteins cause inflammation and elicit damage in patients with gluten sensitivity. Most recently, a study published in the European Journal of Nutrition found that some forms of oat protein triggered and antibody reaction. Another study published in the Scandinavian Journal of Gastroenterology found two varieties of oat proteins were responsible for increased intraepithelial T-cell density and IFN- production .

In 2012 a research study was published identifying a

direct correlation of the immunogenicity of the different oat varieties with the toxicity of peptides present in their avenin sequences.

In plain English please Proteins in oat cereal stimulated an immune response similar to what is seen from wheat.

The studies above were all published after Jan. of 2011. In medicine, it can take 20-30 years for new information to become common knowledge among doctors. So I dont expect that many physicians will be talking about the potential for oat to be a problem for those with gluten sensitivity. That being said, lets take a look at a comprehensive review of the medical literature that was published in 2011 compiling 75 studies published on the topic since 1953. The summary from the authors are quoted below:

Resources:

  • Fric P, Gabrovska D, Nevoral J. Celiac disease, gluten-free diet, and oats. Nutr Rev. 2011 Feb 69:107-15.
  • You May Like: Einkorn Flour Gluten Free

    Natures Path Whole Os

    Natures Path Whole Os became one of my favorite gluten free alternatives to Cheerios over a decade ago. It contains no oats, no GMOs, and is certified through GFCO. This cereal boasts only 5 ingredients. The main ingredients include organic brown rice flour and organic corn flour. While not frequently available in bigger grocery stores, I find these at local health food stores, as well as .

    Are Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten

    Find out if Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free and fit into a gluten-free diet. Plus find out if theyre dairy-free and vegan.

    Note: I am a proud Amazon, Chomps, and Thrive Market affiliate and am happy to recommend their service and products to you. Please know that as an affiliate, I may receive a small commission on the products you purchase after clicking through my links. For more info, please see my disclosure policy here.

    Are you a big fan of Honey Nut Cheerios and love to grab a quick bowl of cereal in the morning to get out the door? This sweetened version of Original Cheerios is popular among kids and adults alike.

    With a sweet and nutty flavor, Honey Nut Cheerios are one of the Cheerios brands most popular products.

    If you follow a gluten-free diet, you know that you need to be careful about what foods and ingredients you add to your diet. So in this post, were going to talk about this flavor of Cheerios and find out if its gluten-free, dairy-free, and vegan.

    Well also talk about which of the Honey Nut Cheerios spin-off products, their Honey Nut Cheerios Medley Crunch and Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars are gluten-free.

    You May Like: Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    How Much Does Instacart Delivery Or Pickup Cost

    • Delivery fees start at $3.99 for same-day orders over $35. Fees vary for one-hour deliveries, club store deliveries, and deliveries under $35.
    • Service fees vary and are subject to change based on factors like location and the number and types of items in your cart. Orders containing alcohol have a separate service fee.
    • Tipping is optional but encouraged for delivery orders. It’s a great way to show your shopper appreciation and recognition for excellent service. 100% of your tip goes directly to the shopper who delivers your order.
    • There may be a “pickup fee” on your pick up order that is typically $1.99 for non-Express members. Express membership waives this like it would a delivery fee.
    • Pick up orders have no service fees, regardless of non-Express or Express membership.

    Are Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars Gluten

    Chocolate Cheerios, Gluten-Free Just Got More Delicious

    While Honey Nut Cheerios Treats Bars dont contain any obvious sources of wheat or gluten, this product doesnt have a gluten-free label on its packaging.

    This means that the Cheerios brand either 1) knows there is gluten in this product from cross contamination, or 2) doesnt test this product for the presence of gluten.

    Either way, if you follow a gluten-free diet, youll want to use your own discretion as to whether or not you eat this product. Use your best judgement based on what you know about your body and your own level of sensitivity to gluten to help you decide.

    If you choose to skip Honey Nut Cheerios Treats bars, you can always make your own at home using Honey Nut Cheerios and a gluten-free rice krispie treats recipe.

    Read Also: Where Are Graham Crackers In Walmart

    Why Is The Cca Concerned

    Oats are a naturally gluten-free grain however, it has been documented that oats are frequently cross contaminated with gluten-containing grains, especially barley and wheat. Health Canada scientists have tested commercial oat samples and found high levels of gluten contamination . Cross contamination can occur because oats often are grown in rotation with other crops, harvested and transported with equipment that is also used for gluten-containing grains.

    We know the following:

    1. Oats are an extremely high risk grain and even gluten-free oats are at high risk for gluten contamination.

    2. It is very difficult to remove gluten-containing grains from oats using optical and mechanical technology alone because barley and wheat are similar in size, shape and color as oats. Broken kernels present in the grain also add to the sorting challenge.

    3. General Mills is using a cleaning system that they developed based on mechanical sorting to remove barley and wheat from regular commercial oats.

    Natures Path Envirokidz Turtle Splash

    Price: $

    Natures Path produces a line of kid-friendly, gluten-free cereals called Envirokidz. Each variety features a wild animal on the package alongside fun, educational activities.

    The Turtle Splash cereal is chocolate-strawberry flavored and made primarily from brown rice and navy beans. Its sweetened with organic cane sugar and free of artificial flavors, colors, and preservatives.

    Each 1/2-cup of cereal provides 1 gram of fiber, 2 grams of protein, and 3 grams of added sugar.

    Note the manufacturer recommends a serving size of 1 cup , and this product is certified by the Gluten-Free Certification Organization.

    You May Like: Wish-bone Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    More Gluten Free Desserts

    Check out these other easy desserts that are gluten free.

    Gluten Free Peanut Butter Bars Another Honey Nut Cheerios Recipe that is a must make. Peanut Butter and Chocolate are a flavor combination thats hard to resist.

    Two Ingredient Macaroons Yes, these cookies are only two ingredients! Its crazy and it works.

    Whipped Coffee Dessert Step aside Dalgona, I want my cream and coffee whipped all together into a sweet dessert.

    Gluten Free No Fuss Banana Pudding Take some store bought help for this recipe that will make you a dessert hero.

    Gluten Free Classic Ice Box Cake Dont want to bake or turn on the oven? Make this classic dessert that cooks in the refrigerator.

    Ancient Harvest Quinoa Flakes

    Cheerios, Gluten Free, Cereal with Whole Grain Oats, 21.7 ...

    Price: $$$

    Although usually served as a lunch or dinner item, quinoa can also be used to make a comforting, nutritious, and hearty hot breakfast cereal.

    Much like oatmeal, Ancient Harvests quinoa flakes are shelf stable and cook quickly, but theyre made exclusively from organic white quinoa.

    A 1/2-cup serving provides approximately 5 grams of fiber, 9 grams of protein, and 0 grams of added sugar.

    Note the manufacturer recommends a serving size of 1/3 cup . Ancient Harvests quinoa flakes are labeled gluten-free but not certified gluten-free by a third-party organization.

    Price: $

    One major drawback of most breakfast cereals is their relatively low protein content.

    If youre looking for a convenient cereal that contains higher than average amounts of protein, Erin Bakers Ultra Protein Granola is worth a try.

    It packs 10 grams of plant-based protein in each 1/2-cup serving, alongside 4 grams of fiber and just 7 grams of sugar.

    Made from a combination of oats, peanut butter, and pea protein, its sweetened with brown rice syrup and molasses.

    This product is not certified gluten-free by a third-party organization, but Erin Bakers independently tests its products to ensure compliance with the FDAs gluten-free labeling requirements.

    You May Like: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    Gluten Free Alternatives To Cheerios

    Last Updated | By

    Gluten Free Cheerios. Who knew a small O shaped cereal could cause such controversy? People ask Do you feel Cheerios are safe or unsafe on a gluten-free diet? I suggest we remove ourselves from that specific conversation. Instead, we should speak up for companies who make unique gluten free alternatives to Cheerios.

    Many brands exist on the market who take extra strides to create and certify O shaped cereals for those of us who need it. Read through the whole post to see just how some of these companies are going above and beyond. Who knows, they may become your new favorite cereal!

    Were Always Working To Keep Cheerios Gluten

    Training: We are providing additional training to employees at all of our facilities.Sourcing: We are working with suppliers to continue to ensure all ingredients are always gluten free.Ingredient Handling: We have additional ingredient handling protocols.Testing: We have daily finished product testing.

    Also Check: Food For Life Gluten Free English Muffins

    The Answer Is: Unsure*

    *Updated September 2021: Because of multiple comments from users stating they had a reaction to Cheerios, weve updated our answer to Unsure. These are not certified gluten free and unfortunately too many people with severe allergies or Celiac Disease have reported problems and reactions.

    Here is Cheerios statement on gluten free:

    We know that lots of different families want to enjoy Cheerios together. Thats why we worked hard to remove stray wheat, rye, and barley grains from our oat supply. Now Cheerios still have the same great taste, but theyre also gluten-free.

    Bee Happy Bee Healthy Are Honey Nut Cheerios Gluten

    Gluten Free Cheerios Review – Honey Nut Cheerios

    Honey Nut Cheerios like the other types of company products are 100% gluten-free. Keeping Cheerios gluten-free has become a company policy over the years. They do their best to keep Cheerios gluten-free with the training they provide to their employees, their selective attitude during the supply of ingredients, and daily tests.

    • Training: Cheerios employees work with the awareness of producing gluten-free products and knowing how they should work, thanks to the additional training offered, regardless of the facility and at what level they work.
    • Sourcing: Before processing a product, the raw material to be processed must be gluten-free. At this point, Cheerios works with suppliers that provide gluten-free products.
    • Ingredient Processing: Thanks to the protocols they follow at the point of preparing the ingredients, they provide 90% certainty to the gluten-free point of the products.
    • Test: With the tests done at the end of the day, they make sure that they offer 100% gluten-free products to their customers.

    Your favorite breakfast cereal, Honey Nut Cheerios, is available to you as gluten-free. And as a company, Cheerios ensures that it stays that way. The main reason why they started gluten-free production is that Phil, one of the family members, cannot digest gluten. In order to continue to eat their family breakfasts together, they wanted to create a meal that Phil could also consume, and they started to produce Cheerios as gluten-free.

    Also Check: Is Kraft Zesty Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    Gluten Free Soy Free Bread

    Are Potato Rolls Gluten Free

    - Advertisment -