What Foods Can I Have
Choose foods labeled as gluten-free. You may be able to eat gluten-free oats, or you may be able to eat regular oats in small amounts. Ask your dietitian if oats are safe for you to eat. You may eat foods that are made with the following types of grains and starches:
- Corn, potato starch, and potato flour
- Soy, tapioca, and teff
- Rice, rice bran, quinoa, sago, and sorghum
- Amaranth, arrowroot, and buckwheat
- Flours made from nuts, beans, and seeds
- Flax, millet, and montina
How Do I Eliminate Gluten And Dairy From My Diet
The first step to eliminating gluten and dairy is to educate yourself on their effects and where theyre most commonly found. Once youre aware of where gluten and dairy may be hiding in food, you can make more informed choices at the store and at the restaurant.
Stick to a whole foods diet naturally free of dairy and gluten. Dairy is naturally a gluten-free food. If you choose to purchase processed foods, be very mindful of ingredient labels and contamination warnings. Often, even if a product is gluten or dairy free, it may have been processed on the same equipment as gluten or dairy containing products. Get my clean eating food list.
When eating out at restaurants, inform your waiter that you cannot consume dairy or gluten. Restaurants may cook certain foods in butter, or prepare foods on a surface covered in flour or even put flour into foods such as omelets, to make them more presentable. You cannot always trust seemingly gluten or dairy-free dishes so make sure to ask. To avoid contamination, communicate with your server and impress the importance of your restriction upon them. Remain firmyou can even ask them their specific processes for avoiding contamination. Many restaurants will even have gluten-free and dairy-free options!
Make sure you know your alternatives for gluten and dairy. Its relatively easy now to find conforming recipes and substitutes for gluten and dairy. Here are some common swaps to get you started:
Sweets That Are Usually Safe:
- Chocolate: Chocolate does not naturally contain gluten, though some manufacturers have add-ins that do contain gluten. There is also a risk of cross-contamination, so it’s best to check the label on chocolate.
- Hard candy and gummies: These candies don’t usually don’t contain gluten avoid those listing “wheat flour” as an ingredient.
- Ice cream, sherbet, gelato, frozen yogurt: These treats are generally gluten-free, but steer clear of those with pretzels, cookie dough, graham crackers, brownie bites and other gluten-containing add-ins.
Also Check: Panko Gluten Free Substitute
Gluten Free Breakfast Foods That Mean You Dont Need To Miss Out
Being gluten intolerant or sensitive can be seriously frustrating. There are suddenly so many foods that you cant eat and countless meals that need to be tweaked before you can enjoy them. Thankfully, there are many amazing gluten free meals out there, including various gluten free breakfast foods.
Were focusing on breakfast in this post, partly because breakfast is such an important meal. Getting the right food into you first thing in the morning can have a huge impact on how the rest of the day progresses. Skipping breakfast or having something sugary may make it difficult to concentrate, while a hearty breakfast will give you energy to spare.
In fact, having a healthy gluten free breakfast doesnt need to be difficult at all.
Its becoming clear that many of our go-to breakfast foods, like toast and cereal, arent all that good for us anyway. Theyre often high in carbs and have been heavily processed. As a result, the energy that they provide simply doesnt last. You might even get an energy crash not long after breakfast and find yourself craving food long before lunchtime.
The foods featured in this list, on the other hand, tend to be heartier. Many are rich in protein and fiber, so theyll easily keep you satisfied.
- Paleo And Gluten Free Alternatives
What To Do If You Have Symptoms
If you have diarrhoea or you are vomiting, its important to keep yourself well hydrated by drinking lots of water.
Some people find that taking medication to treat constipation, diarrhoea or headaches can ease symptoms, but check with your pharmacist or GP.
The most important thing is to get back onto your gluten free diet to try to prevent further symptoms.
If your symptoms are very severe or do not improve, speak to your GP.
Coeliac UK support gluten free food safety for people with coeliac disease and gluten related conditions. To find out more, click here.
Don’t Miss: Does Jason’s Deli Have Gluten Free Bread
What Is A Gluten And Dairy
A non-dairy, gluten-free diet is fairly self-explanatory avoid dairy or dairy-derived products and avoid foods containing gluten. Some people must follow a gluten-free, dairy-free diet due to food allergies or sensitivities, while others find that this diet relieves digestive issues or helps them feel more energized. A typical American diet has historically included many dairy and gluten products, but there are still plenty of delicious food options available that are free of these ingredients. Besides whole foods like fruits, veggies, nuts, and non-wheat grains, nearly every grocery store now carries a variety of gluten-free and dairy-free alternatives to your favorite foods.Your reasons for starting a non-dairy, gluten-free diet might affect how you approach grocery shopping. For example, if you have severe allergies or intolerances, then avoiding potential cross-contamination will be much more urgent for you than for someone electing to ditch gluten and dairy for lifestyle reasons. No matter the circumstances, there are still plenty of foods to enjoy on a gluten and dairy-free diet.
Tips For Starting A Gluten
Learn how to improve your health, reduce inflammation, and fight chronic disease with these tips for starting a gluten-free and dairy-free diet. This article reviews the basics and a plan for eliminating both gluten and dairy.
The terms gluten-free and dairy-free seem to be everywhere lately. Many people go gluten-free and dairy-free to help manage chronic disease, food sensitivities, and inflammation.
Both gluten and dairy are common allergens and and can cause issues in many people. But, what are the best ways to get started on a gluten-free and dairy-free diet?
Read Also: Are Spiked Seltzers Gluten Free
What Is A Gluten
Before tackling the gluten-free diet, let’s get to know our culprit. Gluten is a specific type of protein, but one you won’t find in meat or eggs. Instead gluten is found primarily in wheat, rye, and barley. Going gluten-free means avoiding these grains. A gluten-free diet is essential for most people with gluten allergies or celiac disease, a condition which causes intestinal damage when gluten is eaten.
Eating Gluten Free At Restaurants
Once you get the hang of following the gluten free diet at home you may feel comfortable enough to go out to eat. Though it is still one of the more misunderstood dietary restrictions, the gluten free diet is becoming more and more commonplace. This means that you can find healthy and satisfying options at most restaurants if you know where to look and what substitutions to make.
The key to eating gluten free at a restaurant is to plan ahead. If you already know where youll be going, check the menu online or call the restaurant to see if they offer any gluten free options. Dont be afraid to ask the restaurant about their gluten free handling procedures to be sure they can address your needs.
Even if the restaurant doesnt offer a dedicated gluten free menu, certain options are likely to be available to you here are a few you can look for:
- Sandwiches or burgers either with a gluten free bun, or no bun at all
- Soups and stews prepared without flour used as a thickener
- Grilled, roasted, or smoked meats and seafood made with gluten free sauce or seasoning
- Steamed, stir-fried, or roasted vegetables and gluten free grains
- Salads with grilled meat, no croutons, and gluten free dressing
Recommended Reading: Are Dove Products Gluten Free
Will I Go Through Gluten Withdrawal If I Start Eating Gluten
Theres no scientific evidence to suggest that people actually go through withdrawal when they stop eating gluten. Some people report feeling dizziness, nausea, extreme hunger and even anxiety and depression when they suddenly go from eating a lot of gluten to being gluten-free. These symptoms usually go away after a few weeks on a gluten-free diet, but talk to your health care provider if they persist.
What Foods Are Gluten And Dairy
1. Fruits and Vegetables Virtually all fruits and vegetables are gluten and dairy-free, which allows for lots of variety in nutrients and flavors in your diet. Fresh fruits like berries, apples, bananas, peaches, citrus fruits, and more are all fair game, as are fresh vegetables like leafy greens, broccoli, asparagus, carrots, bell peppers, potatoes, and many others. If you’re purchasing frozen, pre-chopped, or canned fruits and veggies, take a different look at the food label as they might be processed in a facility that processes gluten or dairy products.
2. Whole Grains Just because you can’t have gluten or wheat doesn’t mean all grains are out of bounds. Rice, quinoa, amaranth, millet, corn, buckwheat, corn, and sorghum are all dairy and gluten-free grains. When purchasing oats, be sure to look for a gluten-free variety to ensure they haven’t been cross-contaminated with wheat during processing.
4. Beans and Legumes If you’re looking for ways to add satisfying protein, fiber, and carbs into a gluten-free and dairy-free diet, look no further than beans and legumes! Black beans, white beans, kidney beans, chickpeas, and lentils are all affordable, easily found in most grocery stores, and a great way to bulk up a plant-based meal. While all beans and legumes are inherently gluten-free and dairy-free, it’s smart to double-check the ingredients when buying canned beans to ensure no extra starches have been added.
Don’t Miss: Dove Gluten Free Products
The Gluten Free Diet Plan
The Gluten free diet plan is one where the dieter restricts or completely cuts out gluten from their everyday meals. This doesnt mean that all carbohydrates are excluded, just the ones that have the gluten protein. Foods that are restricted are triticale, barley, rye, sauces, beer, pasta, wheat and any other food that contains gluten. Wheat can be tricky because it can be called different names.
There are different versions of wheat that go by other names: durum, einkorn, emmer, kamut, spelt. All of these have gluten and should be avoided. Wheat flours also go by different names. They are enriched flour, farina, graham flour, self-rising flour, and semolina.
The Beginners Guide To Going Gluten Free
If you or someone you know has cut out gluten, it can mean a total diet revamp. This can seem a bit overwhelming at first. However, were here to help! Read our full guide to going gluten free below.
As awareness of celiac disease becomes increasingly widespread, the popularity of the gluten free diet continues to grow. Unlike many modern diets, the gluten free diet is more than just a fad for people with celiac disease and wheat allergies or sensitivities, its a medical necessity.
Even a decade ago, the gluten free diet was largely a mystery except to people with celiac disease, who followed it as a matter of medical necessity. Today, however, going gluten free has become something of a trend. Some people mistakenly believe that a gluten free diet is the key to weight loss, though many who follow the diet for this reason have very little knowledge about the diet or about gluten at all.
While there are certainly those who misunderstand the gluten free diet, its rise in popularity has led to a surge in awareness among the general public and the food industry regarding celiac disease, gluten sensitivity, and the gluten free diet in general. Restaurants have started to offer gluten free menus and gluten free food manufacturers are growing more and more numerous.
If you are thinking about making the switch to the gluten free diet or looking for some helpful tips, let this be your guide.
You May Like: Dove Ice Cream Bar Ingredients
Why Do I Need To Avoid Oats
Research by our patron Dr Robert Anderson has shown that approximately one in five people with coeliac disease react to pure, uncontaminated oats.
Since we cannot determine who the one in five is, who reacts to pure oats and we know that gut damage can occur even without symptoms the advice of both Dr Anderson and Coeliac New Zealand is that oats should not be consumed.
The only exception is if you receive a gastroscopy/biopsy before commencing eating oats, and after you have been consuming them for a time. This is currently the only test that can say whether it is safe for you to consume oats on a gluten free diet. Talk to your Dr. about whether this could be right for you.
Once you start your gluten-free diet your symptoms should gradually improve and your gut will start to heal. It can take from 6 months to five years for your gut to fully heal.
Coeliacs need strict gluten-free diet for life. Eating even small amounts of gluten can trigger your immune system and cause your symptoms to return, so adherence to a coeliac-safe gluten free diet is important for long-term health.
Recognise the common sources of gluten and what to avoid and always check food labels to ensure the food you are consuming is gluten free. The allergywell.co.nz food finder can also be a helpful guide.
People Looking To Lose Weight
Dont mistake the hype around the gluten-free diet as proof that its an effective or safe weight loss tool, says Phipps. “There is no scientific evidence that avoiding gluten will lead to weight loss.”
Some people who go on a gluten-free diet will lose weight, but usually thats because theyre cutting out foods like cookies, cake, and pasta foods containing gluten that are also high in calories. Because there are so many processed gluten-free foods packed with fat and sugar, you may even gain weight on a gluten-free diet, according to the Gluten Intolerance Group of North America.
Recommended Reading: Do Bud Light Seltzers Have Gluten