Friday, November 18, 2022
HomeFactsDoes Dr Pepper Have Gluten

Does Dr Pepper Have Gluten

- Advertisment -

What Was Dr Pepper Originally Made For

Diet Dr Pepper You Deserve This :15

Its introduction in 1885 preceded the introduction of Coca-Cola by one year. It was formulated by Brooklyn-born pharmacist Charles Alderton in Morrisons Old Corner Drug Store in Waco, Texas. To test his new drink, he first offered it to store owner Wade Morrison, who also found it to his liking.

What Cereals Are Gluten Free

Below are four popular cereal varieties that are gluten-free.

  • Honey Nut Cheerios. Plain Cheerios and Honey Nut Cheerios are gluten-free products, as theyre made from oats, oat bran, and cornstarch.
  • Chex. Chex cereal is made from whole grain rice, making the product free of gluten.
  • Puffins.
  • Chocolate Honey Bunches of Oats.

A Special Variant Disappeared In 2012

Amit Gupta, Flickr // CC BY-NC 2.0

For 121 years, a bottling plant in Dublin, Texas made and bottled Dr Pepper. By 2012, the Dublin Bottling Works was the countryâs tiniest bottler and also the most unusual. Its âDublin Dr Pepperâ was still being made with cane sugar years after the rest of the country had switched to high fructose corn syrup. It was also sold in special retro bottles. After a yearlong legal dispute over distribution territories and labeling, in 2012 the Dr Pepper Snapple Group bought the franchise rights to the area and discontinued Dublin Dr Pepper. However, the news wasnât all bad for fans of the productâDr Pepper Snapple Group agreed to keep making real-sugar Dr Pepper for this region of Texas.

You May Like: Gluten Free Crescent Rolls

Who Owns Dr Pepper

At present, Dr Pepper belongs to a large conglomerate known as Keurig Dr Pepper. Mondelez owns this conglomerate, an American company, and JAB Holdings, an Austrian company.

Keurig Dr Pepper also owns several other brands, including the following:

  • Snapple,
  • Keurig, and
  • 7Up.
  • Among the beverage companies in the United States, Keurig Dr Pepper is the seventh-largest. The company has approximately 25,000 employees operating the facilities at its over 100 distribution centers across the United States.

    The companys business arrangement with Coca-Cola and PepsiCo is quite complex. When Dr Pepper filed for bankruptcy in 2008, Coca-Cola tried to buy it. However, antitrust problems prevented the merger from pushing through.

    But still, Coca-Cola owns some of the rights to distribute Dr Pepper in other countries such as in select European countries and South Korea. Likewise, PepsiCo also owns other international distribution rights to Dr Pepper.

    But PepsiCos rights are only effective in areas where Dr Peppers market share is not significant. Dr Pepper also utilizes some of Coca-Colas and PepsiCos bottling facilities and warehouses for its beverage products.

    The Austrian holdings company, JAB Holdings, as of 2019, owns the majority of Dr Peppers stocks . Mondelez, an American company known as a snack food conglomerate with its Kraft Foods, owns the rest. This company is based in Minnesota.

    Are Energy Drinks Gluten Free

    Dr Pepper 2L

    Energy drinks contain a stimulant drug and any number of ingredients such as flavorings, sweeteners, vitamins, minerals, herbal extracts and amino acids. Generally, energy drinks are considered to be gluten-free and suitable for people with . However, the more additives they have, the higher the risk of contamination with gluten. Therefore, always read the product label carefully and better avoid those with too many additives.

    Recommended Reading: Jimmy Dean Breakfast Bowls Gluten Free

    Diet Dr Pepper & Cream Soda

    Diet Dr Pepper & Cream Soda is generally considered vegan. It is possible for the caramel color or natural flavors to be sourced from animal-derived ingredients, but it is not likely.

    Diet Dr Pepper & Cream Soda Ingredients: carbonated water, caramel color, natural and artificial flavors, aspartame, sodium benzoate , phosphoric acid, caffeine, sodium phosphate.

    But I Read Somewhere Corns Not Safe

    So where does this idea some from? A website cites this study. Maize prolamins could induce a gluten like cellular immune response in some celiac disease patients. However, the abstract states, for some CD patients, as a rare event, peptides from maize prolamins could induce a celiac-like immune response. Also, this study was done in silico, which means computer simulation. Not in people. Therefore, this study is more hypothetical than practical.

    Can you have a corn intolerance or allergy? Absolutely, as explained in this post from Beyond Celiac. I am not dismissing the fact that corn may make you ill. I am simply addressing the false concept that all people with Celiac Disease cant eat corn. We have enough anxiety, and Id like to relieve some of yours, if I can.

    Also Check: Is Bud Light Platinum Gluten Free

    Dr Pepper Target Market

    Snapple Group has been in the soft drinks industry for a long time initially, they captured the older generations attention with their unique flavors. However, their marketing strategy has evolved, and they are now targeting the younger generation by embracing social network sites to boost sales.

    To achieve this objective, Dr. Pepper is assessing the average consumer and tapping into their needs to increase the number of light buyers accessing the drinks.

    Gamers In a denomination where loyalty can be elusive, gaining a foothold in the beverage market is an overwhelming experience. This is why Dr. Pepper is trying to tap into a significant audience of about 16-25-year-old young boys for brand exposure.

    Research proves that gamers spend a lot of time online, playing, and sharing information. They can act as a marketing medium on a social level to their advantage.

    Pricing Dr. Peppers price conforms to the soft drinks industry and category level as they have adapted competitive and unique strategies to boost sales. The companys products are relatively cheaper than other brands, and they price their items on a low budget to outdo competitors and gain increased market share.

    The strategy mentioned above builds a reliable connection between the consumer and the company. Dr. Peppers products demonstrate beneficial attributes meaning they have been in the industry for some time and are experienced.

    How Does Wheat Gluten Differ From Corn Gluten

    Caffeine in Dr. Pepper More or less than a cup of coffee?

    The concept of gluten causes confusion. Some will even tell you gluten doesnt exist without kneading. Technically, gluten is the combination of prolamins and glutelin. These are both found in the endosperm of the the grain. This What is Gluten diagram from Celiac Kids Connection explains it better than I ever could.

    In wheat, the specific glutelin is glutenin. For those with Celiac Disease, it is specifically the glutenin and the prolamin gliadin that cause a reaction. Sometimes people call the protein in corn gluten, but it isnt the same thing. Just like glutinous rice, those with Celiac Disease can also consume corn.

    You May Like: Gluten Free Alcoholic Beverages List

    Is Sunkist A Pepsi Product

    The firstlicensed by Sunkist Growers to the General Cinema Corporation,was later sold off due its success as an independent bottler who bottled Pepsi-Cola products at time. In 1980s this led them becoming #1 orange soda in America and 10th best selling soft drink globally with their tangy flavor that still today remains popular among consumers across generations

    Back To Vernors And Dr Pepper

    In light of all of this, I contacted Dr. Pepper. I asked if Vernors contained gluten, and if so, to name the source of the gluten in their soda. Specifically, I asked if it contained wheat, rye, barley or corn. This is the reply I received.

    Thank you for contacting us about Vernors. Were always excited to hear from our consumers. Your comments give us valuable input about our brands and how they are enjoyed.

    For a full list of our gluten free products please visit the following website: .

    Again, thank you for taking the time to contact us, Margaret. We greatly appreciate your feedback!

    Recommended Reading: Franz Gluten Free Bread Review

    How This All Started

    So, as stated, a reader expressed concern, after drinking Vernors. She stated she became ill after drinking it. She tested it with her NIMA, and it displayed gluten found. She called Dr. Pepper and they told her it contained gluten. So I did a quick online search, because I drink Vernors all the time. Nothing on the Vernors website about gluten, but I did find this on the Dr. Pepper website.

    True, while Dr. Pepper is obviously not Vernors, the above statement on their FAQ page concerned me. Their statement about corn gluten, , IMO, causes undue concern for those with Celiac Disease. So what is corn gluten?

    Dr Pepper & Cream Soda

    Dr Pepper 2L

    Dr Pepper & Cream Soda is generally considered vegan. It is possible for the caramel color or natural flavors to be sourced from animal-derived ingredients, but it is not likely.

    Dr Pepper & Cream Soda Ingredients carbonated water, high fructose corn syrup, caramel color, natural and artificial flavors, sodium benzoate , phosphoric acid, caffeine, sodium phosphate.

    Read Also: Gluten Free Vegan Crescent Rolls

    Began At A Small Town Waco

    In 1885, a pharmacist Charles Alderton, created a formula, which consisted of twenty-three ingredients. Charles presented the formula to his boss Mr. Morrison, who approved it. The event occurred in a small town in Waco, Texas. Different stories have emerged on the drinks invention, and no one is certain of who the mastermind was.

    What Is The Nutritional Profile Of Prune Juice

    Prunes are dried plums. Prunes are very rich in fiber and nutrients. Fiber helps us feel full longer and aids digestion. Prunes are also a great source of vitamin C, potassium, iron, calcium, magnesium, phosphorus, copper, zinc, niacin, thiamine, riboflavin, folate, pantothenic acid, and B6. How many calories are in prunes?

    You May Like: Is Jelly Belly Gluten Free

    Does Dr Pepper Contain Prune Juice

    While this brands flavor that produces an inimitable taste is hard to point out, multiple drink-related misinformation has emerged surrounding the presence of prune in this product. The brand has secured the formula and kept it out of the public for years hence sparking the rumors. The company has countlessly refuted the rumors claiming their products are prune-free and safe for consumption.

    The conventional notion that Dr Pepper dates back to 1930 during its early days. However, the company refuses to give the formula.

    There Is No Period In The Name

    Gluten Free Dr. Pepper Sheet Cake

    Dont correct anyone who spells Dr Pepper without a period. That is the correct spelling of Dr Pepper. It is not clear if the original owners of this beverage named it after a real doctor.

    In fact, they removed the period in the 1950s when they redesigned their corporate logo. Some believe that the modified logo is easier to read.

    You May Like: Costco Simple Mills Crackers

    The Original Recipe May Have Surfaced In 2009

    SimonQé«æ¿è, Flickr // CC BY-NC-ND 2.0

    Six years ago, Oklahoma manuscript collector Bill Waters paid $200 for an old store ledger at a Texas antique shop. Notations in the ledger referred to Morrisonâs Old Corner Drug Store, examples of Charles Andertonâs handwriting, and a curious recipe for âD Peppers Pepsin Bittersâ mixed from mandrake root and syrup. A spokesman from the Dr Pepper Snapple Group indicated that the notes were probably a recipe for a bitter digestive aid rather than a soft drink, but the historical find went up for auction as the original formula for the beloved soda. Attendees at the auction agreedâthe item did not fetch the $25,000 minimum reserve price.

    Whats Inside Dr Pepper

    You can find a clear list of the Dr. Pepper ingredients on their website and below.

    These include:

  • Sodium Benzoate
  • Caffeine
  • If you have read my article explaining whether or not Coca-Cola is gluten-free, youll notice that the ingredients are pretty similar. Most sodas are made of almost identical ingredients that are changed here and there depending on the color and flavor of the beverage.

    Below Ill break down and define each ingredient giving you extra peace of mind that this beverage does have any gluten-containing products. It will be a good idea to take a mental note that these ingredients are safe for consumption as they often appear in other products.

    Recommended Reading: Cheerios Recall 2017

    Which Sodas Are Gluten

    Bards gluten-free beers. Brewed from sorghum without barley, this beer is truly gluten-free. As with many gluten-free beers, however, its high in carbs, and therefore you should not drink more than one per day . Bud Light and Michelob Ultra.Missing:Dr. PepperMust include:Dr. Pepper

    Mozzarella cheese is gluten-free. Parmesan cheese is gluten-free. Provolone is gluten-free. Ricotta cheese is gluten-free. Swiss cheese is gluten-free. Cheese Products. Shredded cheese is usually gluten-free, but may use a gluten-containing starch to prevent the shreds from sticking together, so make sure to read the ingredients list.Missing:Dr. PepperMust include:Dr. Pepper

    The limit of detection depends on the number of drops taken from the extraction solution, please find some more information here. Test result: The test is negative. In this test Budweiser has less than 5 ppm gluten . However, it is not a medical advice please see my facts page.Missing:Dr. PepperMust include:Dr. Pepper

    See if we found Frontier White Pepper Ground to be gluten free in our exclusive testing. Eat smart: Use our test results to decide if Frontier White Pepper Ground is right for your diet.

    This establishment is NOT a dedicated gluten-free facility and may not be safe for those with celiac disease. Please contact the establishment directly to inquire about safety precautions.

    Pepper Snapples Key Brands

    Gluten

    Despite low sales experienced by the company presently, Dr. Pepper remains the third- largest soft drink producer in the United States. The company had to develop diverse brands in response to a sales drop experienced during the Corona Virus 2019 pandemic. Currently, Dr. Pepper focuses on rebranding their products to boost sales income.

    NCB Brand This section comprises integrated non-alcoholic beverages distributed in Canada, the United States, and Mexico. These non-carbonated drinks include juice drinks, mineral water, and other mixers.

    CSD Brand This beverage segment includes carbonated drinks such as Schweppes, sunskit, and Dr. Pepper. The drinks are sold all in the United States of America, Canada, and parts of Mexico. Being the third-largest company in the USA, they collectively hold up 70% of the CSD market.

    Don’t Miss: Gluten Free Products At Costco

    Does Dr Pepper Help With Constipation

    Dr Pepper was originally created by John S. Pemberton, a pharmacist, in 1885. It was named after the town where he lived, Atlanta, Georgia. It was originally known as French Wine Coca Cola. In 1886, he renamed it Coca-cola. It contains caffeine, phosphoric acid, caramel color, sodium benzoate preservative, potassium sorbate preservative, and natural flavors.

    Dr Pepper Vs Pepsico Stock Price Movement

    The enterprise revenue of Dr. Pepper has gained high revenue growth over the past two years. With a decrease in sales in the beverage industry due to the pandemic, KDP stocks have recently shot up to $28, displaying substantial upside potential. KDP stocks have increased by a 50% rise in total revenue over the past two years.

    The upsurge above was primarily boosted since the procurement of Dr. Pepper by Keurig Green Mountain. Despite the COVID-19 pandemic affecting a wide range of corporates worldwide, KDP appears to be immune to the effects of the ongoing crisis. Quarantine and home confinements seem to have boosted their sales.

    Despite the high extent of uncertainty, Dr. Pepper is benefiting directly from their bottled beverages, mostly sold in convenience stores, and is easily accessible to the average consumer. There was a shortage of these drinks in convenience stores early this year that prompted Dr. Pepper to increase soft drinks production.

    On the other hand, the pandemic has boosted PepsiCo snack brand sales beating analyst expectations. Their overall sales heightened up to 5% despite the ongoing volatility. In addition to that, Pepsi remains one of the leading companies in the beverage enterprise.

    You May Like: Costco Gluten Free Food

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -