Thursday, September 29, 2022
HomeFactsBob Mills Gluten Free Oats

Bob Mills Gluten Free Oats

- Advertisment -

Cooking With Gluten Free Oatmeal

Gluten Free Quick Cooking Oats | Bob’s Red Mill

Cooking gluten free oatmeal is exactly the same as cooking with regular oatmeal, as there is no actual difference in the oats themselves. Try some of our favorite oatmeal recipes with any kind of oatmeal that you buy! Of course, if you are cooking for a gluten intolerant person, then it is important to ensure that your recipe does not include any additional ingredients that contain gluten! Watch out for wheat, barley, rye and triticale: you should be safe as long as the recipe does not call for those grains in any form.

In addition to eating it by the bowl, oatmeal is a great alternative ingredient in gluten free baking as well! We love using oatmeal in place of wheat flours in gluten-free recipes like this delicious Wheat Free Oatmeal Cake and these Peanut Butter Oatmeal Cookies, all gluten free! The oatmeal helps ingredients stick together, a similar purpose to flour in most recipes, and it also crumbles in a delicious, chewy texture which is perfect for muffins, pies, and cookies!

Are Bobs Red Mill Oats Really Gluten Free

Bobs Red Mill is a brand many people in the gluten-free community know and trust because the company makes many gluten-free products.

Bobs Red Mill does not use purity protocol oats instead relying on a combination of purity oats and optically-sorted oats to meet demand for its products. Bobs Red Mill oats are not certified gluten free either.

I took pause when I learned early on in my celiac disease life that Bobs Red Mill oats were neither purity oats nor third-party gluten-free certified. How could this be? Could someone with celiac disease safely consume Bobs Red Mill gluten-free oats?

Its easy to assume no and shut down the conversation based on what I have said so far, and many people have jumped to this conclusion.

However, Ive done a lot of digging into this topic, and know there is more than meets the eye when it comes to the Bobs Red Mill brand. Bottom line, Bobs Red Mill makes gluten-free oats safe for people with celiac disease and gluten sensitivities to consume. Heres why:

Batch Testing: Bobs Red Mill says its oats are batch tested before, during, and after processing using an ELISA Gluten Assay. The Gluten ELISA is a quantitative test able to detect low levels of gluten in food ingredients and in prepared and processed foods and beverages.

This means Bobs Red Mill batch tests its oats upon delivery, during production, and after packaging to ensure they contain less than 20 ppm of gluten in any given batch.

How To Use It

Bring salted water to a boil, then add a cup of these thick rolled oats. Wait 10-20 minutes, and youve got yourself a warm, wholesome meal, delicious at any time of day.

When you’re done…

The packaging is recyclable through TerraCycle by following our special instructions.

These are general guidelines for broadly-recyclable materials. Check with your local recycler to confirm what they take.

Recommended Reading: Gluten Free Vegan Meal Plan And Shopping List

What Are Commodity Oats

Commodity oats are grown in fields that also grow wheat. This means the oat grains contain quite a bit of wheat as well.

However, in order for a manufacturer to make sure a product contains only gluten-free oats, the oat grains are optically or mechanically sorted to separate the oat grain from the wheat. They are also scrubbed to remove any remnants of wheat gluten. This makes commodity oats more plentiful and much cheaper than purity oats.

Large-sized companies rely on commodity oats to meet larger consumer demand as well as to offer competitive pricing.

Large brands that rely on commodity oats include:

Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Old Fashioned Rolled Oats 907g

Bob

Add to FavouritesWhy Youll Love It

One ingredient is all we need to win you over! Our delicious Gluten Free Old Fashioned Rolled Oats have only one ingredient and no added sugar or additional junk. We carefully handle our oats to ensure that you get the most flavour and nutrients out of our rolled oats. Our rolled oats are rich in dietary fibre to give you long-lasting energy and no sugar spikes. Our rolled oats have a low glycemic index making them great for a healthy breakfast or healthy baking. And, with so many ways to cook oats, you’ll be able to use these oats in all kinds of recipes! The oat-abilities are endless!

Please be aware that a small percentage of people cannot tolerate even the purest of oat groats. If you are unsure whether oats are suitable for your diet, please check first with your health advisor before eating them.

SKU

Recommended Reading: How Much Gluten Is In Bud Light

Differences In Sensitivity Level

There are of course different sensitivity levels when it comes to gluten, which will change things as well. If you or your loved one has been diagnosed with celiac disease, this is typically the most extreme form of gluten intolerance with the most sensitivity to gluten contamination. If this is the case, then we would recommend avoiding all large commercial oatmeals, or oatmeals with additives, just to be on the safe side. Oat products that are labeled gluten free will be your best friend in the morning, though! If you have non-celiac gluten sensitivity, then you should just be aware of your own body and your own needs. You will always be safest if you look for the gluten free label, but there typically arent large amounts of gluten contamination in oatmeal, even if there is a little bit.

Be careful, though, as those weather patterns can make contamination vary from season to season you may eat a certain oatmeal for years and then develop a negative reaction to a certain batch of it one day. If it is someone else who has a gluten sensitivity that you are cooking for, then we definitely recommend erring on the side of caution, as you never know their individual needs!

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item

Gluten Free, Kosher Certified, Vegan
Brand
25 x 20 x 6 cm 907 Grams
Ingredients Gluten Free Whole Grain Oats
Item Weight
4.8 out of 5 stars
Date First Available

Gluten Free Whole Grain Oats

Legal Disclaimer

Actual product packaging and materials may contain more and different information than what is shown on our website. We recommend that you do not rely solely on the information presented and that you always read labels, warnings, and directions before using or consuming a product. Please see our full disclaimer below.

Read Also: Hanks Bagels Sherman Oaks

Natures Path Grain Free Hot Cereal

This gluten-free brand adds a unique twist to regular oat bran, as it is made of sweet maple, crunchy roasted almonds, and hearty chia. It is nutrient dense with nuts, seeds, and contains plant-based protein from watermelon seed protein powder, boosting your morning with healthy fats and daily nutrients. This is sure to start your day off right and give you the energy you need to power through your day.

This brand also comes in a cinnamon apple crisp flavor.

These are the ingredients found in Natures Path Grain Free Hot Cereal:

  • Chia seeds
  • Fiber: 3g

Bobs Red Mill Oat Bran

Gluten Free Steel Cut Oats | Bob’s Red Mill

This popular brand of oat bran is carefully milled from top quality oats. It features a remarkably satisfying creamy, soothing texture and nutty flavor.

This brand of oat bran is not only gluten-free, but also vegan and certified kosher.

These are the ingredients found in Bobs Red Mill Oat Bran:

  • Oat bran

Here is some important nutritional information to note for this brand :

  • Calories: 150
  • Total sugars: less than 1g
  • Protein: 6g

Don’t Miss: Is Knorr Spanish Rice Gluten Free

Are Trader Joes Rolled Oats Celiac Safe

Yes, gluten-free labeled Trader Joes Rolled Oats are safe for those with celiac disease and do not contain gluten. In fact, Trader Joes rolled oats are grown on dedicated gluten-free oat fields and packaged in a gluten-free facility.

I also tested Trader Joes gluten-free labeled rolled oats for hidden gluten with my Nima Sensor. A smile means no gluten found.

Additional Reading:Testing Trader Joes Gluten-Free Products for Hidden Gluten

Is Oat Bran Healthy

Oats are widely regarded as one of the healthiest grains you can eat because they are packed with important vitamins, minerals and fiber. Oat bran, specifically, is linked to many health benefits including improved blood sugar control, healthy bowel function, and lower blood pressure and cholesterol.

  • Oat bran is also a great source of polyphenols, which are plant-based molecules that act as antioxidants. Antioxidants protect the body from harmful molecules known as free radicals. In large amounts, free radicals can cause cell damage that is linked to chronic diseases like cancer.
  • Oat bran can also help reduce your risk of heart disease. Heart disease is responsible for approximately one in every three deaths worldwide. Adding oat bran into your diet can help reduce heart disease risk factors like body weight, high blood pressure and cholesterol.
  • Oat bran also helps control blood sugar levels. Type 2 diabetes affects over 400 million people. Those people may struggle to control their blood sugar levels. Poor blood sugar control can lead to blindness, heart attacks, strokes, and many other health problems.
  • As you can tell, oat bran is healthy for you. Adding oat bran into your diet can work wonders for your overall health.

    Recommended Reading: Costco Birthday Cake Granola

    Bob’s Red Mill Gluten Free Steel Cut Oats 680g

    Add to FavouritesWhy Youll Love It

    Our steel cut oats are the perfect addition to your gluten free diet! Our gluten free oats undergo R5 ELISA testing. These oats are then processed and packaged in our 100% dedicated gluten free facility and tested again to ensure they meet our strict standards. Oats are a delicious, nutritious breakfast. While the cooking time for steel cut oats is longer than many rolled oats, you can easily make steel cut oatmeal in a slow cooker. Theyre also ideal for overnight oats! Although a tiny fraction of the population cannot tolerate even the purest gluten free oats, most will find oats to be a deliciously welcomed addition to their diets. If you’re unsure, please consult first with your doctor.

    SKU

    Other Issues With Oatmeal And Gluten

    Purchase Bob

    Contamination isnt your only worry when it comes to ensuring that your oatmeal is gluten free. Oatmeal commonly comes in other flavors or varieties with added fruits, veggies or spices. These are delicious, but face the same risks that the oats do when it comes to gluten contamination. Youll want to make sure that none of the added ingredients contain gluten grains, but theres an additional step to take. Even fruits like apples and bananas, which do not naturally contain gluten, can still be in danger of that trace contamination from the fields or from the factories, so look for a gluten free stamp on all of your oatmeal to ensure you wont have any accidental issues.

    You May Like: Olive Garden Italian Dressing Gluten Free

    Are The Oats Used To Make Cheerios Safe

    Im asked almost daily about Cheerios. It is the most accessible cereal brand around, and most Cheerios flavors are labeled gluten free. The brand is also a sponsor of the Celiac Disease Foundation, which is basically an endorsement from one of the leading celiac non-profits in the world.

    Its important to understand a few things about Cheerios as you decide whether or not you feel safe consuming them.

    First, its important to note that the Canadian Celiac Association recommends that people with celiac disease or gluten sensitivity do not consume Cheerios, even if its labeled gluten free, due to concerns about the potential levels of gluten in each box, and due to what is says is General Mills unwillingness to be fully transparent in its testing methods.

    Cheerios uses optically- and mechanically-sorted commodity oats, but that isnt what concerns most people. Most concerning is that General Mills does not properly test each batch to ensure all boxes are free from gluten. You can read more about the baffling testing process in this article by the Gluten-Free Watchdog.

    On top of it all, the gluten-free community grew wary of Cheerios long ago after gluten made its way into nearly two million boxes, which General Mills recalled in 2015. The company blamed it on human error.

    I tested Cheerios and Apple Cinnamon Cheerios for hidden gluten with the Nima Sensor. You can see how they fared in my article, List of Gluten-Free Cereals.

    Are Oats Gluten Free

    As we mentioned, oats themselves are naturally gluten free. However, as with all foods, there are also some concerns with oatmeal that gluten intolerant people will want to be aware of to avoid any issues or painful flareups. Although many oats are safe for gluten intolerant individuals, cross-contamination can occur in facilities or even in fields where wheat, rye or barley are also present. But if not all oats are safe for gluten free diets, the follow up question is whether oatmeal is gluten free!

    Read Also: Gluten Free Breading Alternatives

    Why Cant Some People With Celiac Disease Tolerate Oats

    A very small number of people with celiac disease experience gluten cross reactivity when they eat oats, meaning their body confuses the protein in oats with the protein in wheat .

    If you have celiac disease and cannot tolerate oats, then it doesnt matter if the oats are commodity or purity oats just dont eat them. You can get tested for gluten cross reactivity. Learn more in this article, Understanding Gluten Cross Reactivity and Gluten Cross-Reactive Foods.

    Remember, not all of your digestive woes can be blamed on gluten. Consider if you might have a leaky gut or candida, for example, before giving up on an entire food group.

    Rest assured, the majority of people with celiac disease can tolerate oats just fine, including me. In fact, this study concludes that gluten-free oats can be tolerated by the vast majority of the celiac disease population, and oats can be a great addition to a balanced, gluten-free diet, offering up plenty of heart-healthy soluble fiber.

    Questions To Ask Oat Manufacturers

    Gluten Free Rolled Oats | Bob’s Red Mill

    If you want to eat oats while following a strict gluten-free diet, ask these important questions of any manufacturer making gluten-free claims regardless if they use purity or commodity oats:

    • Are the oats certified gluten free by a third-party agency?
    • Does the company have satisfactory practices in place to keep the processing and packaging of gluten-free oats separate from other products that contain gluten?
    • Does the company batch test the oats before they enter the facility and after processing with a reputable testing tool, such as ELISA?
    • Is the manufacturer transparent in reporting the results of its tests?

    Doing a little digging to understand how committed a company is to creating safe products for the gluten-free community can help you determine, for yourself, what you feel safe eating.

    Also Check: Jersey Mike’s Gluten Free Bread Review

    RELATED ARTICLES
    - Advertisment -

    Most Popular

    - Advertisment -