Wednesday, May 18, 2022
HomeFactsBest Gluten Free Mixed Drinks

Best Gluten Free Mixed Drinks

- Advertisment -

Best Overall: Glutenberg Blonde Ale

Gluten Free Vodka Kombucha Cocktail

Region: Canada | ABV: 4.5% | Tasting Notes: Grainy, balanced, bready

Glutenberg is a Quebec microbrewery that is completely gluten-free. Started in 2011, it has a growing distribution in Canada and the U.S. If you can find the brand near you, it’s sure to have a beer that matches your taste.

All of the beers are made with naturally gluten-free grains, including amaranth, buckwheat, corn, millet, and quinoa. The impressive portfolio starts off with Glutenberg Blonde Ale. This golden, refreshing, 4.5 percent ABV beer was the brewery’s first release, and it remains a favorite. Glutenberg also produces a hoppy American pale ale and a few IPAs, while Blanche is inspired by Belgian wheat ales but brewed without the wheat. A tart gose, robust stout, and nonalcoholic beer round off the collection, and each beer is so well-crafted that they taste like normal beer.

Pilsners To Sours Blondes To Wheat Beers The Industry Has Come A Long Way

  • Email

Our editors independently research, test, and recommend the bestproducts youcan learn more about ourreview process here.We may receive commissions on purchases made from our chosen links.

These days, you can get just about anything gluten-free, from cereal to jelly beans. And while the food industry was quick to adapt to the gluten-free trend, which brought more options to those with celiac disease, its taken years for the beer industry to catch up.

I have had so many conversations over the past years about the seriousness of celiac disease with distributors around the country, says Mark Ewald, owner of Vermont Beer Shepherd. Many initial reactions are that the gluten-free crowd is really just a lifestyle choice. I then get to explain the seriousness of celiac disease and the dangers that come from drinking a product that is either enzymatically altered or the gluten is removed. These altered and gluten-removed beers are still not safe for a true celiac.

Most beer drinkers wont notice a difference between gluten-full and gluten-free beer these daysthe industry has come a long way over the years, says Lindsi Kay, founder BestGlutenFreeBeers.com. “It can be tricky learning how to work with gluten-free malts, but once a brewer cracks that code it really allows them to color outside the barley lines and experiment with a diverse variety of flavors and textures.

Top 4 Best Gluten Free Alcohol Drinks

  • Titos Handmade Vodka

Just as the name suggests, Titos Handmade Vodka is a handsome vodka made specifically for those allergic to or warned against consuming glutinous substances.

Instead of using potatoes/wheat like many brands do, Titos Handmade Vodka is made from yellow corn. As a result, this brand has a mildly sweet after-taste.

It is also distilled six times consequently, Titos Handmade Vodka is not just gluten-free but impurity-free. So, make your evening more colorful by grabbing a bottle.

  • Blue Curacao

When it comes to Blue Curacao, its bright neon blue color is just enough to make you salivate. Additionally, Blue Curacao is a tasty and fun-making, especially when you drink next to a sea or swimming pool: everything will be blue-blue!

I know none of the above descriptions makes sense to those allergic to gluten. Anyway, this brand is made of oranges hence it has a well-balanced orange sweetness. More importantly, there is nothing glutinous inside Blue Curacao. So, take life easy!

  • Captain Morgan

This is another awesome option for anti-gluten colleagues. It is distilled from sugarcane hence it is full of sweetness. Actually, dont let your celiac disease deny you the opportunity to enjoy life, because you have all you need to be happy.

Other ingredients include distilled water, mash, and yeast. Although it is highly spiced, none of them is glutinous. Therefore, feel free to secure yourself a bottle of Captain Morgan.

  • Cabo Wabo Tequila

Don’t Miss: Are Pillsbury Crescent Rolls Gluten-free

Best Overall: Ghostfish Grapefruit Ipa

Courtesy of Drizly.com

  • ABV: 5.5%
  • Tasting Notes: Grapefruit rind, hops, bitter

Ghostfish Grapefruit IPA has racked up more medals than Michael Phelps at the Olympics, from bronze at the Great American Beer Festival to gold at the U.S. Open Beer Championship. It has a nice bitterness and the grapefruit is delicious, Ewald says. Kay is also a fan of this brew, saying on her blog, I highly recommend it for the grapefruit-lovers out there and also for anyone who loves citrusy IPAs.

Is Prosecco Gluten Free

10 Gluten

Yes, Prosecco is gluten free. Prosecco is one of several types of white wine made from the Glera grape, which is a white wine grape from Slovenia.

Since champagne doesnât involve any gluten ingredients, it can be safely consumed by those on a gluten-free diet. Simply double-check that your Prosecco didnât have any gluten fining agents at the end of its fermentation process.

Also Check: Michelob Ultra Seltzers Gluten Free

Brands Of Naturally Gluten

  • Broken Shed Vodka
  • Corn VodkaDeep Eddy, Nikolai, Rain, Tito’s, UV
  • Grape VodkaBombora, Cooranbong
  • Potato VodkaBoyd & Blair, Cirrus, Chase, Chopin, Cold River Vodka, Cracovia, Grand Teton, Karlsson’s, Luksusowa, Monopolowa, Schramm Organic, Zodiac
  • Rice VodkaKissui
  • Sugar CaneDownunder, DOT AU

Many vodkas are made with gluten-containing cereal grains. The final product does not contain gluten, but cannot be advertised or labeled as gluten-free. Many people with celiac disease choose to avoid these beverages, while many others drink them with no adverse effects.

Does Alcohol Have Gluten

Alcohol can have gluten ingredients in it or be gluten-free it all depends on what it was made from. For example, drinks like ale or malt beer arenât gluten free because theyâre made with ingredients containing gluten.

On the other hand, many other types of alcohol are gluten free. Many vodkas, wine varietals, and liqueurs are safe because they arenât made with grain ingredients or have a thorough distillation process. Similarly, many whiskeys can be consumed by gluten free drinkers because the distillation process vaporizes almost all of the proteins.

When looking for gluten free alcohol, make sure to research the productâs ingredients, company website, and distillation process. This will give you clear insight into whether or not gluten ingredients were used and the degree to which they may be present in the final product.

If you offer both regular and gluten-free brands at your bar or restaurant, itâs easy to feel overwhelmed trying to track them all. Not only can our bar inventory software BinWise record this info for you, it can track other essential data for you too. Monitor high demand products in our perpetual inventory system, easily restock merchandise inventory, and keep an eye on shrinkage with the variance report.

BinScan, our inventory scanning app, also eliminates up to 85% of the time youâd normally spend on inventory counts. Book a demo now to see how BinWise can streamline your management needs.

Recommended Reading: Is Dark Chocolate Gluten Free

Naturally Gluten Free Beers

So many new options are available to those of us eating and drinking gluten-free, and thats something to celebrate!

Prefer ales? Maybe a true lager? Greens Beers are made in the true Belgian style and simply cant be beat. Greens has a varied line of gluten free beers available in Europe and luckily has decided to share a few with us in the U.S.!

Blonde, Amber and Dubbel Dark Ales plus their Dry-Hopped Lager any and all are perfect for a hot day. I love baking with the Dark their Blonde and Amber are wonderful, full-bodied and easy drinking ales, and their lager is a refreshing, light beer boasting a Pinot Grigio-like grapefruit note, making it quite a unique brew.

Redbridge, Bards Tale and New Grist round out the easy drinking and geographically accessible gluten-free beers to consider.

Of these, I particularly enjoy New Grist, as you can see from the photo below.

Holidaily Brewing Company Using locally sourced malted, naturally gluten free grains, and brewing in Colorados only dedicated gluten-free brewing facility, Holidaily raises the bar on truly gluten free beer.

This woman-owned company began as a way to bring great GF brews to those, like its founder Karen Hertz, must live an entirely gluten free lifestyle. Offering a selection of blondes, IPAs and stouts, theres something for every beer lover with Holidaily.

Ghostfish Brewing is one of the new naturally gluten free breweries Im most enthusiastic about.

Beer Wine Cider And Sake

All The Types Of Alcohol That Are Gluten Free

As someone with celiac disease or non-celiac gluten sensitivity , you need to steer clear of gluten in all forms. Often, the first time this issue comes up is when someone offers you a beer. You may not be aware that the vast majority of beer is made from gluten grainsmainly barley but sometimes wheat and rye.

All conventional beer is off-limits.

Read Also: Active Dry Yeast Publix

Is Vermouth Gluten Free

Yes, vermouth is almost always gluten free. Vermouth is one of many sweet red wine types and has botanicals, spices, roots, and herbs added to it. Since vermouth is made from wine grapes, which arenât grains, thereâs no concern for gluten free individuals.

The only time this differs is if youâre drinking vermouth made in a shared facility or if a gluten-related ingredient was added to the vermouth. You can verify this by contacting the manufacturer of the vermouth and requesting ingredient details.

Is Champagne Gluten Free

Most champagne is gluten free because itâs made from a combination of three white wine grapes. Grapes donât have any gluten in them because they arenât grains and donât come in contact with grains during the growing process.

Champagne that was aged in oak barrels or used gluten as a fining agent is not gluten free. You may have symptoms of a wine allergy too, depending on what your sensitivities are and what ingredients were used in that champagne. To find out whether or not gluten was used for a particular champagne, take a look at the bottle’s label or contact the manufacturer.

Recommended Reading: Panko Bread Crumbs Walmart Aisle

Hard Ciders And Malt Beverages

Hard ciders are almost always gluten free, unless the manufacturer has added malt .

Ace Ciders are some of my favorite certified gluten free ciders just look at the range of flavor options .

Ace California Cider Company, opened in 1993, is the first family owned cider in the US. Its based in Sonoma, California and truly has some of the most unique and flavorful gluten free cider options Ive found. I also love that they have bottles and cans!

Unlike true ciders which are gluten free, malted beverages and wine coolers are NOT gluten free. Malt is derived from barley which contains gluten, and these drinks are not distilled, so the gluten remains in the bottle.

Pictured above: Bold Rock, Angry Orchard ARE gluten-free Henrys Hard Soda and Wild Leaf Hard Tea are NOT gluten free. So you can see why it can be tricky to shop for gluten free options on co-mingled shelves! Always read labels before buying dont rely on stores to accurately shelve gluten-free items apart from non-gluten free options.

Meads like Charm City Mead on the top shelf above, ARE gluten free. Mead is made from fermented fruits and honey, no grain.

Some brands of fermented, malted beverages are now claiming to be gluten-removed. Please use caution in choosing to try these types of beverages.

When fermented and malted beverages are made with gluten but claim to be processed to remove or break apart the gluten molecules, they are not able to verify the gluten content of the resulting beverage .

Whiskeys Distilled From Cereal Grains

10 Best Gluten Free Alcoholic Mixed Drinks Recipes
  • BourbonBenjamin Prichard’s, Booker’s, Buffalo Trace, Jim Beam, Early Times, Ezra Brooks, Jefferson’s Bourbon, Knob Creek, Makers Mark, Old Crow, Old Forester, Old Grand-Dad
  • Canadian WhiskeyAlberta Premium, Black Velvet, Canadian Club, Crown Royal,
  • Tenesse WhiskeyJack Daniels, George Dickel.
  • Irish WhiskeyBushmills, Jameson, Kilbeggan, Redbreast, Tullamore Dew
  • Japanese Blended WhiskeyHibiki, Kakubin, Nikka,
  • Japanese Single Malt WhiskeyHakushu, Yamazaki, Yoichi
  • Rye WhiskeyAlberta Premium, Bulleitt
  • Scotch Whiskey BlendsBallentine’s, Bell’s, Black Grouse, Chivas Regal, Cutty Sark, Dewar’s, Famous Grouse, Johnnie Walker, Teacher’s, Whitehorse
  • Scotch Whiskey Single MaltsBowmore, Glenfiddich, Glen Grant, The Glenlivet, Glenmorangie, Highland Park, Knockando, Lagavulin, Laphroaig, Macallan, Monkey Shoulder, Singleton, Talisker
  • Taiwanese WhiskeyKavalan Classic

Don’t Miss: Graham Cracker Crumbs Walmart

Is Blue Curacao Gluten Free

Blue Curacao is gluten free because itâs made with the Lahara fruit, not any grains. Lahara is a bitter citrus fruit thatâs too strong to be eaten by itself but is used in bitters and liqueurs.

Lahara grows on the island of Curacao, hence its name. The drinkâs blue appearance comes from color additives after the distillation process. Blue Curacao is in several popular cocktail recipes that call for an eye-catching blue hue, like Blue Bird and Blue Hawaiian.

Gluten Free Alcohol List

Last updated on by Adam Bryan. This post may contain affiliate links.

Finding a safe and delicious gluten free alcoholic beverage has become growingly difficult.

From the ongoing debate about distilled alcohol being gluten free or not to the accidental mix ups by the bartender, its a challenge to find a gluten free alcoholic beverage that works for you and your diet.

Recommended Reading: Rx Bars Gluten Free

Is Smirnoff Ice Gluten Free

Smirnoff Ice is not gluten free because itâs a malt-based beverage. Malt is made with barley which is one of the four grains that contain gluten.

However, regular Smirnoff is gluten free. Standard Smirnoff is just vodka, which is made from rye. Although rye contains gluten, the gluten protein is vaporized during the distillation process, similar to whiskey and bourbon.

Best Ale: Two Brothers Prairie Path Golden Ale

An Extensive List of the Best Gluten free Alcoholic Beverages

Region: Illinois | ABV: 5.1% | Tasting Notes: Grainy, smooth, balanced

Two Brothers Artisan Brewing produces some amazing beers that are sure to impress anyone. The Chicago brewery was founded by two brothers and remains family-owned. That independent spirit is evident in every well-crafted beer the brand produces.

Prairie Path is the bottle to look for when you want to cut gluten, and its not terribly difficult to find. This golden ale falls into the “gluten-removed” category but tastes like it is untouched. It’s bottled at 5.1 percent ABV and has a moderate 25 IBUs. The taste is mellow, creamy, and refreshing with its fruity notes. It’s designed to be enjoyed with a meal and there are few others that can touch it in that sense.

Region: Oregon | ABV: 4.6% | Tasting Notes: Fruity, hoppy

Omission Brewing Co. produces reduced-gluten barley beers that any beer aficionado can appreciate. The company is transparent about exactly how much gluten is in each batch on its website. The tests reveal that the gluten content is consistently at less than 10 ppm. Beyond that, Omission’s beers are simply enjoyable to drink.

Also Check: Schar Puff Pastry Recipes

RELATED ARTICLES
- Advertisment -

Most Popular

- Advertisment -